Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Uefa Champions League Knock Out draw friday 11am

• 16-12-2010 3:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭

Draw tomorrow at 1pm should be intresting

Group winners

A: Tottenham Hotspur FC
    Can play: Lyon, Valencia, København, Roma, Marseille, Milan
    Qualified as: fourth place, England / began in play-offs
    Last season: did not enter
    Seasons in UEFA Champions League: 1
    Previous European Champion Clubs' Cup best: semi-finals

B: FC Schalke 04
    Can play: Inter, Valencia, København, Roma, Marseille, Milan, Arsenal
    Qualified as: runners-up, Germany
    Last season: did not enter
    Seasons in UEFA Champions League: 3
    Previous European Champion Clubs' Cup best: quarter-finals

C: Manchester United FC
    Can play: Inter, Lyon, København, Roma, Marseille, Milan
    Last season: quarter-finals
    Qualified as: runners-up, England
    Seasons in UEFA Champions League: 16
    Previous European Champion Clubs' Cup best: winners (three times)

D: FC Barcelona
    Can play: Inter, Lyon, Roma, Marseille, Milan, Arsenal
    Qualified as: champions, Spain
    Last season: semi-finals
    Seasons in UEFA Champions League: 15

E: FC Bayern München
    Can play: Inter, Lyon Valencia, København, Marseille, Milan, Arsenal
    Qualified as: champions, Germany
    Last season: runners-up
    Previous European Champion Clubs' Cup best: winners (four times)

F: Chelsea FC
    Can play: Inter, Lyon, Valencia, København, Roma, Milan
    Qualified as: champions, England
    Last season: round of 16
    Seasons in UEFA Champions League: 9
    Previous European Champion Clubs' Cup best: runners-up

G: Real Madrid CF
    Can play: Inter, Lyon, København, Roma, Marseille, Arsenal
    Qualified as: runners-up, Spain
    Previous European Champion Clubs' Cup best: winners (nine times)

H: FC Shakhtar Donetsk
    Can play: Inter, Lyon, Valencia, København, Roma, Marseille, Milan
    Qualified as: champions, Ukraine
    Last season: UEFA Europa League round of 32
    Seasons in UEFA Champions League: 6
    Previous European Champion Clubs' Cup best: group stage

Runners-up

A: FC Internazionale Milano
    Can play: Schalke, Man United, Barcelona, Bayern, Chelsea, Madrid, Shakhtar
    Qualified as: holders / champions, Italy
    Last season: winners
    Seasons in UEFA Champions League: 10

B: Olympique Lyonnais
    Can play: Tottenham, Man United, Barcelona, Bayern, Chelsea, Madrid, Shakhtar
    Qualified as: runners-up, France
    Last season: semi-finals
    Seasons in UEFA Champions League: 11
    Previous European Champion Clubs' Cup best: semi-finals

C: Valencia CF
    Can play: Tottenham, Schalke, Bayern, Chelsea, Shakhtar
    Last season: UEFA Europa League quarter-finals
    Qualified as: third place, Spain
    Seasons in UEFA Champions League: 7

D: FC København
    Can play: Tottenham, Schalke, Man United, Bayern, Chelsea, Madrid, Shakhtar
    Qualified as: champions, Denmark / began in third qualifying round
    Seasons in UEFA Champions League: 2
    Previous European Champion Clubs' Cup best: group stage

E: AS Roma
    Can play: Tottenham, Schalke, Man United, Barcelona, Chelsea, Madrid, Shakhtar
    Qualified as: runners-up, Italy
    F: Olympique de Marseille
    Can play: Tottenham, Schalke, Man United, Barcelona, Bayern, Madrid, Shakhtar
    Qualified as: champions, France
    Last season: UEFA Europa League round of 16
    Previous European Champion Clubs' Cup best: winners (once)

G: AC Milan
    Can play: Tottenham, Schalke, Man United, Barcelona, Bayern, Chelsea, Shakhtar
    Qualified as: third place, Italy
    Seasons in UEFA Champions League: 14
    Previous European Champion Clubs' Cup best: winners (seven times)

H: Arsenal FC
    Can play: Schalke, Barcelona, Bayern, Madrid
    Qualified as: third place, England
    Last season: quarter-finals
    Seasons in UEFA Champions League: 13

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

United absolutely certain to get one of the Milan clubs.

An Arsenal vs Barca/Madrid draw would also make for a great game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭FreeOSCAR

Barcelona V Milan.

Would Ibra be able to play?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Arsenal draw Barca/Madrid - I'm resigned to a mauling.

Arsenal draw Bayern - Should be a decent game that would be 50-50.

Arsenal draw Schalke - Best draw of the lot from our POV.

We're deservedly paying for gutless performances against Shakhtar and Braga now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

Inter, Lyon, Valencia, København, Roma, Milan.

I'll be happy to avoid Inter or AC Milan

• Registered Users Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭jaykay74

From a Utd point of view my preference in order (easiest to toughest imo) is :

København
    Marseille
    Lyon
    Roma
    Inter
    Milan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

jaykay74 wrote: »

København
    Marseille
    Lyon
    Roma
    Inter
    Milan
    Same for Spurs switiching Valencia for Inter wouldn't be overly bothered by who we get though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Realistically I cant really see any of the runners-up going on to win the CL this year. The Milan teams will be tough to beat as will Arsenal but aside from that, nothing to fear. Obv. every runner-up is looking for Schalke or Spurs as the rest of the winners are all top teams. Either way the tournament starts now and one bad performance can see a team out. Should be good.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Why can't teams from the same country play eachother yet? What's the official reason for that?

Bodhisopha wrote: »
    Why can't teams from the same country play eachother yet? What's the official reason for that?
    I'd imagine it increases TV revenue if you have all the "smaller"/less successful teams play the big teams first and then they play against each other.

Bodhisopha wrote: »

I think its best having different teams from different countries playing each other as otherwise its too familiar. The 1-4 finals are open anyways. No point in having the top Leagues squaring off against each other in the early rounds losing top teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Would love to see:

Copenhagen vs Man Utd
    Spurs vs Milan
    Real vs Inter
    Barca vs Arsenal

United gain a straightforward entry to the next round, Bale heads back to the San Siro, Barca and Arsenal dish up another footballing feast, and Mourinho gets the chance to knock out Rafa and engage in all the mind games he wants. (Assuming Rafa still has his job by that time)

Make it happen, Santa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

It's 11am, not 1pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

I did a mock draw, here's how it came out:

Tottenham Hotspur FC - FC København
    FC Schalke 04 - AC Milan
    Manchester United FC - FC Internazionale Milano
    Real Madrid CF - AS Roma
    Chelsea FC - Valencia CF
    FC Shakhtar Donetsk - Olympique de Marseille
    FC Barcelona - Arsenal FC
    FC Bayern München - Olympique Lyonnais

Daemos wrote: »
    It's 11am, not 1pm
    Damn CET messing with my head

FatherTed wrote: »

FC Schalke 04 - AC Milan
    Real Madrid CF - AS Roma
    Chelsea FC - Valencia CF
    I'd be pretty happy with that be intresting to se how close you are to the actual draw :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,043 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

We have a 50% chance of drawing one of the Spaniards :(
    The Spaniards have a 17% chance of drawing us.
    The Germans have a 14% chance of drawing us :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Expecting Chelsea to get a hard draw and United to get an easy one as usual. Hopefully Spurs avoid Milan and Valencia, although I reckon we'd have anyone.:D

THFC wrote: »
    Expecting Chelsea to get a hard draw and United to get an easy one as usual. Hopefully Spurs avoid Milan and Valencia, although I reckon we'd have anyone.:D

I think Milan might have yer number, but them aside ye should be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Er...last three opponents at this stage were Milan, Inter and Lyon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Just Contribute

I would like to see the following ties:

- Arsenal vs. Real Madrid. (To prove to KeithAFC that Arsenal won't beat Real Madrid.)
    - Inter vs. Real Madrid. (To see Jose return to Milan)
    - Tottenham vs. Inter. (I think this would be an exciting tie)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

I'd like a tough draw, but not Inter.

Any of Lyon, Roma, Milan would be good.

I think teams that win the CL get tough draws all the way through. It builds up their confidence and ability. Better to get it going sooner, than go from København to Barca.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

I'm sorry, we can't have any facts here. United get easy draws because the system favours them. Everyone knows this, everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

UTD and Inter would be fascinating

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Just Contribute

PHB wrote: »
    I think teams that win the CL get tough draws all the way through. It builds up their confidence and ability. Better to get it going sooner, than go from København to Barca.

Well, I'd prefer to get København to be honest, because the longer you stay in the competition the better.

United fans cant take the anything that would diminish their achievements - at all. Any French side are handy enough, Inter were no where near the team they were last year when ye played them and that Milan team were atrocious to say the least. And (if I remember correctly) ye got Lille the year before that fyi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭fkt

Yeah Milan were a real European powerhouse last year weren't they.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

United fans cant take the anything that would diminish their achievements - at all. Any French side are handy enough, Inter were no where near the team they were last year when ye played them and that Milan team were atrocious to say the least. And (if I remember correctly) ye got Lille the year before that fyi.
    Rubbish, I'm not that precious at all, it just gets on my tits when people wheel out the tired 'United get easy draws all the time' party line. Fair enough Lille was the best draw on paper the year before (didn't turn out easy, mostly because we were **** over the two legs iirc) but to say that happens all the time is blatantly not true.
    fkt wrote: »
    Yeah Milan were a real European powerhouse last year weren't they.
    United could have drawn Bayern, Inter, Lyon, Milan, Porto, Stuttgart, or Olympiacos. I'd rank that as bang in the middle in terms of difficulty. Milan were no great shakes last season but if you think that was the easiest draw you're clinically insane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

FatherTed wrote: »

FC Schalke 04 - AC Milan
    Real Madrid CF - AS Roma
    Chelsea FC - Valencia CF

hope your right , would love that draw :D, but dont care who we get to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

flahavaj wrote: »
    United absolutely certain to get one of the Milan clubs.

An Arsenal vs Barca/Madrid draw would also make for a great game.

I'd love a Milan team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭#15

Any French side are handy enough, Inter were no where near the team they were last year when ye played them and that Milan team were atrocious to say the least. And (if I remember correctly) ye got Lille the year before that fyi.

Fúckin hell. Two French teams in the semis last season yet they're ''handy enough''.

This idea that teams outside the top 4 in England and top 2 in Spain are easy draws is complete shít.

Nearly all of the teams in the last 16 are capable of pulling off a result against the others, although to varying degrees.

Just because teams have flaws (e.g. Inter 09, Milan 2010, Lyon 08) does not mean that they are easy draws.

BERBA wrote: »
    hope your right , would love that draw :D, but dont care who we get to be honest.

I'd like Spurs to get Bayern or Barca, purely for entertainment value. Both would be cracking ties.

#15 wrote: »
    I'd like Spurs to get Bayern or Barca, purely for entertainment value. Both would be cracking ties.

They can't!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

#15 wrote: »

unfortunately that aint gonna happen tomorrow , joys of topping your group i suppose

L'prof wrote: »
    They can't!

I actually forgot spurs topped the group.:rolleyes:

Hard to get used to spurs not fúcking things up for themselves!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭d22ontour

It's only December, plenty of time for that ... :p

haha love this thread already! #15 you're too easy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

jaykay74 wrote: »

København
    Marseille
    Lyon
    Roma
    Inter
    Milan
    There's no way Copenhagen is the easier there.
    They would at least be middle.

Would love to see:

Copenhagen vs Man Utd
    Spurs vs Milan
    Real vs Inter
    Barca vs Arsenal

United gain a straightforward entry to the next round, Bale heads back to the San Siro, Barca and Arsenal dish up another footballing feast, and Mourinho gets the chance to knock out Rafa and engage in all the mind games he wants. (Assuming Rafa still has his job by that time)

Make it happen, Santa.
    nice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

Real Madrid- Kobehavn, Cristiano Ronaldo to get 8 goals over the 2 legs :cool:

CorkMan wrote: »
    Real Madird- Kobehavn, Cristiano Ronaldo to get 8 goals over the 2 legs :cool:
    :mad::cool::confused::confused::eek::(:mad::rolleyes::):p;):D:pac::P
    your of your tits.
    they'd be lucky to score 4 goals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

I think it's fair to say you'd expect the Spanish runners up with the considerable talents available to them to easily account for the Danish champions. Definitely by more than 4 if they were arsed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Inter are not the best team at all this year. Though if they can field a fit first team, they stand a chance. Still, don't think United would have anything to fear from them. (I realise that sounds cocky seeing as Inter are European champions and at least world finalists).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,434 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Milan and Inter are who I don't want from a United point of view. Milan have improved ridiculously from last season and while Inter aren't doing great this season they have world class players around the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

so....are Arsenal fans nervous?

or just praying to all their gods for Schalke?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

a few pointless predictions...

Inter v Barcelona

Lyon v Bayern Munich

Valencia v Spurs

Copenhagen v Manchester United

Roma v Schalke

Marseille v Shakhtar Donetsk

AC Milan v Chelsea

Arsenal v Real Madrid

I dont really care who Barcelona get as they will annihilate whoever it is anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

Love to draw Milan, Ibra needs to be taught a lesson after the sh*t himself and his agent spouted once he got his move. Or if Arsenal's passing is as sloppy as it was against Man Utd I'd be confident of beating them very comfortably if Barca continue their current intensity. Then again all that can change in a few months, but if the games were to be played tomorrow I'd be confident of beating Milan or Arsenal quite comfortably.

SlickRic wrote: »
    so....are Arsenal fans nervous?

or just praying to all their gods for Schalke?

Bayern or Schalke and I'll be absolutely delighted, anything else and we're gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

This isn't starting until about 1 right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Anyone got a link to the draw?