Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Some help with spiced beef please!

Options
  • 17-12-2010 3:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭

Hi,

I am planning to make some spiced beef for Christmas. I have never made it before (I am a fairly novice cook to be honest but like to give things a go). I came across this recipe from bord bia:

http://www.bordbia.ie/aboutfood/recipes/beef/pages/traditionaldryspicedbeef.aspx

It seems fairly complicated to me to be honest. Is this the normal way to cook it? Also there are a lot of ingredients that I wouldn't even know where to get them - (uniper berries? saltpetre?) Does anyone know of substitutes for these?

Any help would be appreciated.

thanks

Comments

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

Where are you located? Why not just buy some from your butcher and launch into your preparation next year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭Tupins

Yeah that seems like a plan ha ha!

I think it's a bit over complicated alright. So if I just buy it and boil it that should be ok.

Maybe I'll put my efforts into making a nice chutney to go with instead!

thanks

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

Tupins wrote: »
    ... thanks
    Pas de problem. There's another recipe linked to somewhere in this thread http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056121945 which is more in line with what I recall, including pressing the beef at the end.

• Registered Users Posts: 440 ✭✭biddywiddy