Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

How did ya make your way to Boards.ie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

Google! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I was stalking someone.

Stayed out of loneliness. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 688 ✭✭✭lalee17

I was researching where I could find the best bass guitar about four or five years ago.. But I only registered last year. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

barefooted it up the motorway from tuam *shakes staff*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Dr_Phil

Winty wrote: »
    Look busy Jesus is coming
    I'm still laughing :D

I think I was trying to find out what do Irish girls think of Polish lads, didn't find out but at the end I stayed to post some crap from time to time.

Ah, and I like to read AH, funny, very funny :)

• Registered Users Posts: 209 ✭✭babyfratelli_x

found the youth travel section through google.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

Stumbled across Feeky McGee's epic thread and have been here ever since

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

wandered on here and this hot guy sent me a PM me and I got hooked :)

hot guy you know who you are ;)

pics were good :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

hondasam wrote: »
    wandered on here and this hot guy sent me a PM me and I got hooked :)

hot guy you know who you are ;)

pics were good :p

There was no hot guy, was there?? :pac:

KeithM89 wrote: »
    There was no hot guy, was there?? :pac:

keith a lady never tells but I have the pic ;)

he is smoking hot :)

So thats a no... :D:D

no its a yes ;)

you will have to take my word for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭kiwi123

boyfriend at the time showed me the cat picture thread :cool:
    and after seeing some I figured close to assignment submission time was a good time to register for some reason!

Forward me the pic, we need a second opinion :pac:

come on I cant do that princess he would not like it ;)

You would have to be a nice person!

Mystery man if your reading this, send me the picture also! Topless preferentially.

You would have to be a nice person!

Mystery man if your reading this, send me the picture also! Topless preferentially.

Im still betting he doesnt exist... :D

No I believe he exists. Whether it was actually a picture of himself is a different matter :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

I used to play computer games all night long in DNC and other internet cafes.

• Registered Users Posts: 155 ✭✭Elliejo

A friend died suddenly earlier this year, and I heard that there were many tributes to him on boards.ie. I wanted to read them and got sucked into the abyss that is boards.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I think I saw the Tattoos and Piercings forum on Google and then opened myself up to a whole new world.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I was looking for info about hooking my PS3 up to the internet on google and one link led me here. I ended up looking around the site and i found AH.

The fact i would get thanked for making smart-arse comments sealed the deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Willbbz

Came from 4chan after my gold account expired..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭STIG83

From one of my mates, he now a mod on it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Started on here at the time of my leaving cert (my username came from shakespeare who was on the english course at the time), made a few posts then forgot about boards for a while.

Came back about a year ago, seen AH and though I'd jump in, and im still here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭shannon_tek

Googling something. Jumped onto the site (couldnt make head nor tale of it) left. A friend told me recently(2010) about it. Came to the site found out i had an account open for the last year ,ha ha ha. good times:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Found Ireland Offline on here as an angry 56k IOL No Limits customer. *licks wounds*

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭BASHIR

Friend showed me the trent storys in creative writing section. was the funniest thing i ever read. http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055716814 .use other sections a little too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 527 ✭✭✭shuvly

Emmm, cant rembefr , will get bak 2 ye on that...!

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,927 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

baz2009 wrote: »
    I think I saw the Tattoos and Piercings forum on Google and then opened myself up to a whole new world.:pac:

Same here, I think I was googling to look for reputable tattoo studios in Dublin and came across it, and then to post a question I had to register, and it's been a slippery slope from there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Rockery Woman

Oddly I made my way to Boards.ie because I was looking for Fine Gael jokes and a girl in work told me to check out Boards for some.

I didnt find any "Enda Kenny walked into a bar....." jokes, but enjoyed reading other peoples posts here and after doing that for a while (maybe a week) I took the plunge and became Rockery Woman.

I love Boards because its so varied. Where else could you discuss "foreigner (sic) workers" and cats destroying christmas trees, ask about fitting a bulb in my car, ponder over the purchase of winter tyres, discuss everything from health to smoking, the beer Im drinking this week, and the legendary Face kicker - all in one forum!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

I liked Quake.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

The voices in my head told me to.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,104 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

a moderator told me to join saying the place needed me, then I spammed it to **** :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

I was just looking for a forum for and by Irish people. And then I found it. And then I barely used it. I lurk quite a bit but tend not to post too often. Although, having said that, I just posted some fairly sarcastic guff over in the LGBTXYPRBFJTT@266BiTransHyperGender:C## (or whatever it is they're calling themselves these days) forum about gays in the military. I actually really like afterhours - it's always good for a laugh. Carry on.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

A friend was using it for some advice to fix my computer, i noticed a load of other forums but never got hooked really. Then i happened across the mobile site one night 4 years ago i couldnt sleep.

I havent slept since.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

Nemanja91 wrote: »
    Advertising on a porn website

Fúck off Boards, I'm trying to have a ****!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Joined in 2006 to post in the humour forum.

Within a few posts i was escorted into a little dark virtual room and interrogated.. but not penetrated

• Registered Users Posts: 428 ✭✭ciagr297

Novella wrote: »
    Was kind of seeing a guy or something and he always mentioned it, disappeared to go online and stuff, so I thought I'd check it out and been here since. :)
    same for me, wonder if it was the same guy:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

I was lurking in the car forum for a few months before I registered this account.
    Can't remember why I started posting in AH.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Redlion wrote: »
    I'm really not too sure how I found boards, I think I was looking for an Irish gaming forum and Google made me stumble upon this gem of a website. I continue to use boards, as I find the Irish perspectives familiar and to a large extent, some of the funniest stuff I've read online ;)

So, how did the rest of ya's find out about boards.ie? and what made ya stay as a regular poster?

I came to find out how to get affordable housing in 2006. Still, I don't bear a grudge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Originally needed to ask a techy question, then forgot about it for over a year til I needed to ask something else and it told me I had already registered. Then, same as everyone else, stumbled across here. Had a quiet few months in work so got hooked on here because it looked like I was actually working.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

Counterstrike.

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭TKline

Snakeblood wrote: »
    I came to find out how to get affordable housing in 2006. Still, I don't bear a grudge.

At least you get that now in Ireland. House prices still bubbling away here in Australia!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

I used to see it whenever I searched on google, I started using it and now it's become an addiction :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I was contracted by some Russians to infiltrate this site 6 years ago (my username was just Duggy) so I could get the layout of this site, observe the users here.

As time grew I began to learn and accept their ways, as they did me. I began to adapt to their sarcastic ways and so I decided not to bring down the site that brought so much enjoyable misery to everyone.

But eventually more opinionated people came along, reading into too many of my and others posts too much and taking them seriously, all the while feeling a certain self-fulfillment of satisfaction that they have somehow won the high-brow award.

Enraged, I got in contact with my Russian superiors and decided to hack the site earlier this......................

.........eh...............

.........disregard that..................I, uh, joined here seeking Lolcats................um.........lol? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Years ago the company I worked for were getting a lot of abuse on boards so the really entertaining complaints on here was a soure of great amusement for everyone working in the company

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Was looking for a game forum and ended up on boards :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,821 ✭✭✭phill106

So am i the only one who has no idea how i found this place?
    Seriously, it was years ago! Though i worry for the people who registered a few months ago and can't remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Googled something about 3 Mobile broadband and was led to the megathread.

Then I needed to ask a question about something a couple of weeks after that so I registered. Looked around the site, found AH and have been here since.

Visit pretty much every day.