Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dungarvan Top 3 pubs

• 19-12-2010 9:22pm
    Registered Users Posts: 957 ✭✭✭

what would be your top 3 Pubs in Dungarvan? & why!

for me
    1 The Local, crowded yes .... but great trad music & good crowd
    2 The Lady Belle, some top class live music in there at times
    3 The Gows ... just like the place

• Registered Users Posts: 954 ✭✭✭ComeraghBlue

1. The anchor
    2. Moorings
    3. Keanes
    (sorry about the reasons)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

1. Downeys - great pint, great price, brilliant jukebox, great staff + craic!
    2. Anchor. - Good music.
    3. Moorings. - Good smoking area!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Roanmore

deisedevil wrote: »
    1. Downeys - great pint, great price, brilliant jukebox, great staff + craic!
    2. Anchor. - Good music.
    3. Moorings. - Good smoking area!

Would be much the same, Downeys (love the jukebox ) in the Winter, Anchor in the Summer (long evenings). Maybe John Keanes / Lady Bell instead of Moorings.

Roanmore wrote: »
    Would be much the same, Downeys (love the juke ) in the Winter, Anchor in the Summer (long evenings). Maybe John Keanes / Lady Bell instead of Moorings.

There's nothing quite like a weekend off with sun splitting the stones and sitting outside the Anchor. Bliss.

Can't wait to spend the majority of my Christmas in Downeys. Home from home. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 35 irish rwd

where abouts is downeys?

http://cache.virtualtourist.com/1/4476491-Nightlife-Dungarvan.jpg

It's on Main Street, across the road from Shaws.

• Registered Users Posts: 35 irish rwd

ah yes , narrow dark pub with a pool table upstairs? nice spot alright

• Registered Users Posts: 14,546 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

It used to be 'The Schooner' :D
    Does anyone remember, Casey's Select, The Rusty Nail, Berties or The Barn?

I used to like Merries but I'm gone off it in the last couple of years.

The Moorings, The Anchor or Davitt's for a quick one.

http://www.waterfordcountyimages.org/exhibit/web/DisplayImage/K0pWLXgmaZ2fullstopw/1/The_Schooner_Main_Street_Dungarvan.html;jsessionid=27D7093E91999695CD00EE623DA43FD8

I think your showing your age there with that list of pubs Tom. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭Smiley Burnett

what about Fuges, or Maisie Drohans?? Duceys?? The Moonduster??
    peter queallys? The Log Cabin??:rolleyes:

But the Daddy of them all was "The Monkey House"!!!:eek:

That picture was taken on a good day....:D

Jeysus Smiley there's some memories....even before my time..

I used to love The Dev for a good pint and Zetas when it started first, I knew the carpet in that place intimately....:p

• Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭wagtail99

But the Daddy of them all was "The Monkey House"!!!:eek:

Was that the place accross the road from Ducey's, a cider house? I was too young to go inside.

wagtail99 wrote: »
    Was that the place accross the road from Ducey's, a cider house? I was too young to go inside.

I've often heard many people saying that tis a pity Ducey's closed. Was it that good?

Duceys was UNREAL!! The Leather factory, the creamery and the glass factory (later on) formed the mainstay of customers for Duceys. The busiest pub ever in Dungarvan. I reckon it will NEVER be topped! Busy at ALL times of the day!!!

But the real clincher for Duceys was the fact that it was unique in the sense that it was equally popular amongst Town Dwellers AND country Folk!!

Not there's not too many pubs can actually say that!!

The juke box was also good in Ducey's.....:D

Duceys was UNREAL!! The Leather factory, the creamery and the glass factory (later on) formed the mainstay of customers for Duceys. The busiest pub ever in Dungarvan. I reckon it will NEVER be topped! Busy at ALL times of the day!!!

But the real clincher for Duceys was the fact that it was unique in the sense that it was equally popular amongst Town Dwellers AND country Folk!!

Not there's not too many pubs can actually say that!!
    The juke box was also good in Ducey's.....:D

@ Smiley Was never in there myself as I'd have been a nipper but friends used to be in there with the parents and I'd be good friends with James Ducey's son and heard a few story's.

@Tom, seems like a good juke box can make for a good pub then. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Deise Musashi

Casey's Select, The Rusty Nail, Berties or The Barn

Dunno, Kiely's, Nope, and Intrigued!

All before I even noticed pubs in town, back in the day we had more pubs than restaurants and gastro pubs!

Dunno, Kiely's, Nope, and Intrigued!

All before I even noticed pubs in town, back in the day we had more pubs than restaurants and gastro pubs!
    Casey's Select was where Arachas Insurance is/was I think,
    The Rusty Nail went through a few changes since then, but it's Kiely's now.
    Berties was across the road from the Rusty Nail where Radley's Acutioneers are now.
    The Barn became An Bialann and then the Tavern in the square.

Jyaus Lads, how did we forget "the black hill"???
    do any of ye remember the welcome inn?? or the moonduster?? the angling centre?? lar condons?? the high chapparal??? kineens??

...and what about 'Byrnes' of which I was only told about, I was never there when it was a pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

If I went back in time I would be lost with all of these old pubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 tkdungarvan

Hi guys, just to let you all know that the official re-opening of Kiely's Bar on 22 O Connell Street is happening on Saturday 19th of Feb.
    It should be a great night out and the band is Live as Kings who are fantastic!
    Spread the word!

It's open now, isn't it?

ya it is but there will be an official opening to bring people in and hopefully keep them coming back :pac:

Yeah, it's good to see it open again....

more luck to any business trying to create employment in the town. I was in dungarvan today and it was frightening to see all the "for sale" and "to let" signs on what once were thriving businesses

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭flop

1. Merries - Great food and Good wine list too.
    2. Anchor - Saturday afternoon watching the 6 nations then fall into the Indian Ocean for a feed.
    3. The Lady Belle. - a Good pint and craic agus ceol.

Hourable mention for the Shandon Arms (Shap)

Flop

• Registered Users Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭STIG83

Downeys, had a few epic games in pool
    The Anchor, anytime i was in there you would see the same people
    John Keanes, knocked back a load of Baby Guiness' over the years

• Registered Users Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭mollybird

god i suppose when i used to live at home bout 8 years ago for me the best three pubs were

1. the parish ( what the heck happened to it??? )

2. the anchor ( got too old for it i felt)

3. lady belly ( my new place i'm checking out the odd time when home)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

mollybird wrote: »
    god i suppose when i used to live at home bout 8 years ago for me the best three pubs were

1. the parish ( what the heck happened to it??? )

2. the anchor ( got too old for it i felt)

3. lady belly ( my new place i'm checking out the odd time when home)

The Parish is a kip now tbh, this was the place to be before the Anchor imo 7/8 years ago

The Anchor is still pretty good (always try not to go but always end up there):D

The lady belle has really taken off in the last 12 months, very nice staff in there and a chilled atmosphere