Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prescription Costs WTF?

• 23-12-2010 11:05pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭

Hi all I take Hydrocortisone tabs, I was paying about €9.00 for 60, today I got my script dispensed and they were €71.00 fcuking mental increase.
    iasked the pharmacist and she said that the tabs were under priced for years but feck me an increase of €62 is a bit extreme.

Anyone else find their drugs gone up by extortionate rates.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

It's a weird one alright - HC tablets used to be available from the normal pharmaceutical wholesalers at a low cost price, they could be ordered electronically with all the other meds etc. Then they suddenly went in short supply, we couldn't get them at all for a while. And then suddenly they were only available from a completely different supplier, have to be ordered over the phone, don't usually get next day delivery as would have before and there's a minimum order of 10 boxes. Coupled with this the cost price shot up. I genuinely don't know why or how this was allowed to happen but unfortunately it is now the case with them

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭mamakitten

OMG thats some increase alright!!!!:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,038 ✭✭✭✭tk123

It pays to shop around! Ventolin Reliver - €9 in the chemist beside my GP, €8 in the chemist at Tescos then the next time I got my repeat they asked if I wanted to try a generic - €4 !!! Seretide 100 - €61 beisde the GP, €70 in Omni :mad:. Today I went to get my sertide 250 up at Tescos - they got me to fill in the form for the drugs payment scheme because could see I got one 3 weeks ago - €35 instead of €85 and they gave me a reliever too without me asking :D Delighted as I've spent a fortune on inhalers the last few months so nice to make a saving for a change!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭FluffyCat

tk123 wrote: »
    It pays to shop around!

Yeah there is more than one supplier for drugs to pharmacies. Alot now get parallel imports which kinda work out cheaper. Same drug from same company and all but had be packaged to another country and for its pricing, which as been said plenty of time on this forum, would be cheaper. All to do with wholesaler profit margin and all.

• Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭Ausone

Please don't take this post as a justification or agreement with price increases.
    It is not, I don't condone or agree with what has happened.
    However I do know how and why it happens.

Sometimes big pharma are left with off patent medications which are difficult to make. Not the technology, but sourcing of the active ingredient or low cost manufacturing. Off patent medicines are generally older and cheaper, their manufacture sometimes get limited to one source of active ingredient or perhaps one specialised manufacturing site.

Couple that situation with one where it is very difficult for the big pharma companies to get price increases, and big pharma tend to sell the license for those product to niche companies, who sometimes only have one product to market. Those smaller companies have a lot less to lose in negotiating with government.

As they may now be the only supplier in Europe they can effectively bully the govt into a price increase, 90c to over €20. No Problem!

The new price modulation agreement with IPHA will lead to more of these sort of problems.

Specifically with Hydrocortone, I believe it was MSD that sold the rights to an English company. The UK company pulled the same stroke in the UK and then Ireland. Nothing anybody could do, they were the only licensed product available.

I hope this adds to your understanding of why and how these peculiarities occur.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭macadam

Yeah I gathered that myself MS&D used to supply the HC I use now its Auden Mckenzie, would these be any cheaper in the north as I am only 20mins from Newry

• Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭Ausone

I don't think you could get them cheaper in the north or the UK after looking at the tariff price in GB.

However, there is only one way to find out, ask a pharmacy up there.

It is complicated by your dose, usage of other medicines, and your family's usage on a monthly basis, ie the DPS scheme and med1 refunds.

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭gerryp2000

Ausone wrote: »
    I don't think you could get them cheaper in the north or the UK after looking at the tariff price in GB.

However, there is only one way to find out, ask a pharmacy up there.

It is complicated by your dose, usage of other medicines, and your family's usage on a monthly basis, ie the DPS scheme and med1 refunds.

You really do need to shop around these days -

I was, up until recently, paying an astronomical amount for my monthly supply of drugs. Comparing the euro amount below to the sterling equivalent is saving me hundreds of euro per year!!

Neurostil 100mg(x60)
    Euro €31
    Sterling £5

Simvastatin 40mg(x28)
    Euro €30
    Sterling £5

Protium 20mg(x28)
    Euro €21
    Sterling £5

• Registered Users Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cathy01

gerryp2000 wrote: »
    You really do need to shop around these days -

I was, up until recently, paying an astronomical amount for my monthly supply of drugs. Comparing the euro amount below to the sterling equivalent is saving me hundreds of euro per year!!

Neurostil 100mg(x60)
    Euro €31
    Sterling £5

Simvastatin 40mg(x28)
    Euro €30
    Sterling £5

Protium 20mg(x28)
    Euro €21
    Sterling £5

Can you really save that much??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

We have been advised by the Irish board of Medicines that importing prescription drugs is illegal in Ireland, and meds imported will be seized by customs and destroyed. We do not allow discussion of this on the forum - please don't mention it again.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Condo131

tbh wrote: »
    We have been advised by the Irish board of Medicines that importing prescription drugs is illegal in Ireland, and meds imported will be seized by customs and destroyed. We do not allow discussion of this on the forum - please don't mention it again.
    Sorry to mention it again.....However, for clarification....

It is illegal to import prescription drugs, without a licence, by post, courier etc. Full stop - No argument. An individual will NOT be granted such a licence.

You may bring personal prescription drugs with you when entering the country from abroad. The amount must be within the 'terms' of your prescription, i.e. repeat x 3 (or whatever) AND within reason. I spoke to the IMB about this, about two years ago, and afaicr, a reasonable amount to bring in with me was 3 months supply. This will obviously vary depending on the particular drug in question. If you are bringing back medicine from abroad you must have a copy of your prescription and it is advisable to have a letter from your GP/Consultant too. The medicines must be for yourself or someone that is accompanying you. Keep the medicines in their original containers - putting them all into your own personal container, to save space/bulk is NOT a good idea.

At the time, I was making an enquiry about obtaining a licence and got a point blank refusal. I pointed out that I could fly to the UK, see a UK doctor (you must have a prescription issued by a UK practitioner to get your prescription filled there), get my prescription filled there and fly back....and still have change!! ...and that was for only one months supply.

It wasn't all bad news from the IMB. They asked what specific drugs I was talking about and when I told them they said that they were both covered under the Drugs Repayment Scheme, something that several pharmacies had said otherwise. A few phone calls confirmed this and I ended up relatively happy....and my pharmacists learnt something too...but only after they made their own confirmatory phone calls.

thanks for the clarification condo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 762 ✭✭✭SeaSide

tbh wrote: »

Just as a curiosity what is the position on importing drugs which are non-prescription in that country into Ireland where they are prescription?

As an aside would the discussion of importing condoms into Ireland prior to 1978 be allowed?

I know the position that this is a privately owned site so not to expect any right to free speech but there have been findings that there are competition issues in the pharmacy sector and I don't believe that the Irish Medicines Board is entirely separate from this cartel. So I do think that as this is mainly a patients forum some discussion should be tolerable.

SeaSide wrote: »
    Just as a curiosity what is the position on importing drugs which are non-prescription in that country into Ireland where they are prescription?

As an aside would the discussion of importing condoms into Ireland prior to 1978 be allowed?

I know the position that this is a privately owned site so not to expect any right to free speech but there have been findings that there are competition issues in the pharmacy sector and I don't believe that the Irish Medicines Board is entirely separate from this cartel. So I do think that as this is mainly a patients forum some discussion should be tolerable.

understand where you're coming from seaside.
    We have a duty of care to our users and we can only provide that care to the best of our abilities and given the best advice we can get.
    Importing meds from online pharmacies without a license is illegal, first and foremost. If we allowed posts on this forum which encouraged people to do that, we are failing them, imo. There are a number of reasons for this.
    As a mod on boards, I sometimes have to disallow discussion of topics I personally have no problem with. Unfortunately that's just the way it is.
    However if, for example, we allowed topics to be discussed which ultimately caused harm to someone (either physical or, say, legal or financial) then there simply wouldn't be a forum at all.

So, does that mean its illegal to even go up to belfast nd get say nurophen or canseteen, stuff you need a perscription for?
    Cathy

From reading Condo131's input above it would look like bringing more than 3 months supply back with you could be illegal or bringing anything back for anyone else is too. I will be surrendering myself at the local garda station this evening.

I would agree that ordering medicines from an online "pharmacy" would be deserving of a Darwin Award. Personally I would say that ordering something from for instance Boots in the UK would be ok but I would understand that if this was discussed further we'd eventually end up with something dodgy being mentioned.

This seems to be another example of a failure of the common market to benefit the consumre and I must make a point of getting the views of the European Consumer Centre which I'll share if I get a response

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

cathy01 wrote: »
    So, does that mean its illegal to even go up to belfast nd get say nurophen or canseteen, stuff you need a perscription for?
    Cathy

neurofen are not prescription meds

canesten cream and pessaries are not prescription

• Registered Users Posts: 6,141 ✭✭✭colrow

I see my post has been removed, the pharmacy I used is a registered UK pharmacy, nothing dodgy about it as far as I can see.

It might be illegal to import medecines here, but I don't think its unethicalt my gp was fine with it, agreeing that the costs here are excessive

The drug i was getting was over €100 euro at my local pharmacy, €96 at boots in Killarney, €46 at boots uk, and €43 at xxxxx

sam34 wrote: »
    neurofen are not prescription meds

canesten cream and pessaries are not prescription

Canestaen Tablet!

colrow wrote: »
    I see my post has been removed, the pharmacy I used is a registered UK pharmacy, nothing dodgy about it as far as I can see.

no - you're right. It was just to simplify things, no reflection on your post.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭anotherlostie

Perhaps some people have noted a significant reduction in the cost of their medication this month? The cost price of drugs that are still on patent (i.e. no generics) like Zyprexa, Cymbalta, Lipitor have come down significantly Jan 1st. A prescription item that was €50 in December should cost €32 this month.

Did notice the change today down to 20 from 30

and just to show how current we are an article on the subject from the paper of record

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/health/2011/0125/1224288224054.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭tfrancer

Apologies if this has been answered but is it legal to purchase and import non-prescription medicines (which are available over the counter in Ireland) from online-pharmacies in, for example, the UK?

I know what the dangers are of buying medicines on the internet, but I am still unclear whether it is illegal or not.

• Registered Users Posts: 17 brianbrain63

I also got stung by the hike in Hydrocortisone tablets . I now pay €70 for 60 - a unit cost of €1.16 whereas before the unit cost was 9 cents .

As I don't qualify for a medical card I pay all of this myself. Fortunately I was able to pick up several month's supply cheaply when I went to Argentina some month's back.
    These are running out fast . Does anyone know of a European country where these can be bought cheaply at the 'old' price ? At these prices it would be worthwhile taking a cheap flight to say Eastern Europe and buying 6 months worth.

Any ideas ? I know this price increase didn't happen in all markets since it was still at the old price in Argentina - but that's a bit far away.

I also got stung by the hike in Hydrocortisone tablets . I now pay €70 for 60 - a unit cost of €1.16 whereas before the unit cost was 9 cents .

As I don't qualify for a medical card I pay all of this myself. Fortunately I was able to pick up several month's supply cheaply when I went to Argentina some month's back.
    These are running out fast . Does anyone know of a European country where these can be bought cheaply at the 'old' price ? At these prices it would be worthwhile taking a cheap flight to say Eastern Europe and buying 6 months worth.

Any ideas ? I know this price increase didn't happen in all markets since it was still at the old price in Argentina - but that's a bit far away.

Just back from Lanzarote, and before ye all start yes i did break the law. i purchased 2 years supply of my tablets for €156 which would have cost me €1700 here plus doctors fees, all in all a very cheap and worth while holiday.
    brianbrain pm me if you need any info..

macadam wrote: »
    Just back from Lanzarote, and before ye all start yes i did break the law. i purchased 2 years supply of my tablets for €156 which would have cost me €1700 here plus doctors fees, all in all a very cheap and worth while holiday.

Fair play

Did you bring this situation to the attention of any canvassers?

I had a look at the IMB board and livestock seem to have a better representation than anyone here. Though funnily all details have disappeared since I last looked...

I don't think that's breaking the law - if you buy the meds yourself and bring them back, afaik that's ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭FluffyCat

In Ireland we have the manufacture, wholesaler, distributer, pharmacy and then patient.

Thats alot of tax and profit to be paid at each stage.

Alot of European countries supply direct to patient and alot of steps are skipped and meds and products in general are cheaper.

Please dont all jump dont my throat about this!! This is info I got told in college so go blame the lecturer if its wrong!!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,038 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Just back from Lanzarote, and before ye all start yes i did break the law.

Do they speak english in the chemists? If I still need my inhalers when I go over I'm planning on stocking up if they have the Ivax ones..but I don't speak spanish!

tk123 wrote: »
    Do they speak english in the chemists? If I still need my inhalers when I go over I'm planning on stocking up if they have the Ivax ones..but I don't speak spanish!

Most do speak some english, I brought a prescription but you wont need one just bring your inhaler or the box, you may need a prescription for the revenue just to be on the safe side.