Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has anybody here quit drinking alcohol?

• Registered Users Posts: 4 sauso

Oh yeah and one other point someone else made. When you get to the stage where you're drinking affects other people then its time to stop. Obviously this can be very dramatic (family issues,violence etc) but at a base level, when your night out ends in a friend having to mind you or be your shoulder to cry on then you just need to realise that your need for a drink ends up being a really selfish act. Can you tell I was the 'minder' more than once???

Thats to story of my life since I started experimenting with alcohol at about 13. Either my personality changes and I become aggressive and argumentative or I end up bawling my eyes out, falling over, loosing stuff and needing to be minded. Of course thats not every night but in all the years now of drinking there's been enough of those bad nights to tell me now I need to stop completely, at least for a while and then reassess whether i'm capable of being an occasional & moderate drinker. Oh and to the triathlon lad, I told myself all year my drinking wasn't a problem because I was running my first half marathon & training a lot plus having a successful career but the reality is if you are dependent on drink it doesn't matter what else you do with your life...there is a thing called a functional alcoholic/alcohol abuser. Thats me anyway!
    Well done to all who've given up and wish me luck i'm going to need it.

• Registered Users Posts: 397 ✭✭jackthelad321

I've just quit for new year. It is actually on the advice of an ENT doctor, who advised me to quit for a few months to repair my nervous system.

Now, i think it may be a great thing. In the last year or so i've had a few altercations and 2 actual fights. Both were rooted in drink. One was the othere fellows fault, truthfully, but i was fueled with drink and eventually punched him in the head after a lot of provocation.

The other time i was in a bar, only recently, and had a feast of tequila and ended up swinging for a lad inside. Ended up losing a lot of ****, my ohone my wallet and was stranded in Dublin for 6 hours looking for my firends house.

My brother has truned into a heavy drinker (7 night) and his personality hs become very dark with it and, though hw is a good drinker and rarely gets angry, his behavious has become very erratic.

Anyway, i am worried about giving up but i hope i realise it's not for me. I don't know about all the associated benifits, but if you have patchy or dry skin i think you'll be surprised at all the skin comments you get. (gave up for 4 weeks before)

I know some of you will pick apart this and all the rest but drink causes me a lot of problems.

Also, if you're single and go into a bar, you will have a lot more chance of scoring as not all hot chicks think the pisshead in the corner is the man of their dreams.

I guess i am prematurly commenting here but i felt the need to join in.

• Registered Users Posts: 941 ✭✭✭pheasant tail

Havent drank in 21 long sad weeks due to strict medication :( fair play of anyone who goes of the drink and stil goes out as i certaintly cant,quiet the opposite!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

This thread is enough to put a thirst on you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Haven't quit it and I dont have a rigid routine of when,when not to have a drink but when my kidneys tell me it's had enough ( for now ) I listen and unless your a serious drinker ( would consider myself moderate ) your liver only needs 3 days without alcohol to recover to a stable , healthier position .My last drink was on new years eve and it will be wednesday before I have another drink ,meeting up with some peeps I didn't get to have a christmas drink with .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

mynamesjay wrote: »
    Its really dependant on the venue. And most places aren't up to much in Ireland because we except such low standards because most people are tanked up. Cheap drink alone can be a basis for a nightclub in Ireland...

Its so true! The number of times you go to meet friends, and they say "Yeah we're going to O'hooligans Club in town" and you go "Isn't that the place with the asbestos, that was closed because of the rat infestation, where that girl fell into the hole thats in the middle of the dance floor and got impaled on the beer taps. and the paramedic couldn't get there in time, and we listened to her take her last breath?" and they say "Yeah but they have 'Buy one get one free on Vodka tonight!'"

This thread is enough to put a thirst on you.

You again. Can you not just leave us alone, instead of trying to be funny?

syklops wrote: »

You should start drinking again.

You used to be fun when you drank.

• Registered Users Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

If you want love and support, go here.

I'm off for a pint.

If you want love and support, go here.

I'm off for a pint.

As I stated before, its nice to see a thread on AH where people are giving honest and mature answers to the question at hand. And there has to be a couple of idiots who try to be funny and get a few laughs out of it.

As a mod you should be disgusted with yourself for a comment like that.

As I stated before, its nice to see a thread on AH where people are giving honest and mature answers to the question at hand. And there has to be a couple of idiots who try to be funny and get a few laughs out of it.

I don't think you fully understand the concept behind After Hours.

It's "pub talk", not an Alcoholics Anonymous meeting.

Are you for real?

While I respect your choice for not drinking, respect mine for not giving up.

There is a dedicated forum for those who want to discuss it, use it if you don't want to be mixing with drinking types.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Gave up drinking over 2 years ago. Never really plan on drinking again. Sure, i used to enjoy the booze, but i just had to admit that it was bad for me.

The funniest thing is people's reactions to that fact that you don't drink at all, they normally look at you like you have two heads for the first minute or two, then they forget and ask you if you want a pint.:pac:

I don't think you fully understand the concept behind After Hours.

It's "pub talk", not an Alcoholics Anonymous meeting.

I have been a member of Boards for over 6 years. I understand the concept behind After Hours, and appreciate it has changed significantly in that time. Its just a shame it has become less "pub chat" and more a kind of Irish 4chan.
    Are you for real?

While I respect your choice for not drinking, respect mine for not giving up.

There is a dedicated forum for those who want to discuss it, use it if you don't want to be mixing with drinking types.

Not once, has one non-drinker, or ex-drinker suggested to you or anyone else that they give up. There has been no preaching what so ever. All that has happened is people have come and told their stories in relation to alcohol in a main stream forum.

Funnily enough I do drink, and have no problem being around people who do. That is not what I am objecting to. I am objecting to people trying to make light of a serious issue for 'thanks'.

Now if you think that this thread is not suited to After Hours, that the majority of the users of After Hours can not act in a mature enough manner to treat a serious discussion topic seriously, then lock it or move it elsewhere.

My mother didn't raise a quitter.

I have been a member of Boards for over 6 years. I understand the concept behind After Hours, and appreciate it has changed significantly in that time. Its just a shame it has become less "pub chat" and more a kind of Irish 4chan.

It hasn't really. The majority of posters come here for a bit of craic & discussion, the same as you would do in any pub.

It's also well modded, in that the trolls usually get stopped before they get started & the Mods aren't afraid of using the ban hammer if needs be.

You're suggestion that it has become less like pub chat, is a bit rich too - in that you keep pulling up anyone who tries to make a lighthearted comment on what you consider to be a serious discussion.

Now, the last time I was in the pub, every serious discussion is open to lighthearted comments. That's the nature of pub talk. As Mickey said, there are dedicated forums for serious discussions... and there are also many discussions here that are mostly serious & aren't shipped off to specialist forums, because they are open to all to discuss seriously or to throw in a funny comment, as people see fit.

If you want to go around policing the forum as you have been doing the last few days, maybe you should try & become a Mod, or just stay clear of AH, as it really doesn't seem to suit you very well.

This will be the last thing I say on the matter. I have not been policing the forum. The only person I said anything to was you. That's because in six pages of comments spanning 7 days the only stupid comments and 'thanks whoring' was done by you.

I've been posting in AH for a long time & refuse to allow anyone other than the Mods to tell me in which threads I can post or what I can post in them.

If you have a problem with me or my posts, then report them, take it to feedback or use the ignore button. It's that simple.

Ok, I know I am partly to blame for this little debate. so I include myself in the following.

Lads, let it go.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

In all fairness this is After Hours. Last stop before Seriousville.

Hug?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

I feel sorry for those who don't drink. They wake up in the morning and that's the best they'll feel all day.

- Dean Martin.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

I would LOVE to stop drinking. Not a big drinker at all but the prospect of facing a social situation without a glass of vino fills me with fear.

Plus, as I draw on memories of my twenties, how do non-drinkers last the pace until the crucial 10-to-2 rush to score in a nightclub?

I can see how non-drinking men will be swamped by single women in awe of such a magical creature, but how do equally abstemious young women fare? Any wimmins have first hand experience on this?

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

I would LOVE to stop drinking. Not a big drinker at all but the prospect of facing a social situation without a glass of vino fills me with fear.

Plus, as I draw on memories of my twenties, how do non-drinkers last the pace until the crucial 10-to-2 rush to score in a nightclub?

I can see how non-drinking men will be swamped by single women in awe of such a magical creature, but how do equally abstemious young women fare? Any wimmins have first hand experience on this?

Not big into nightclubs, would leave by midnight

• Registered Users Posts: 598 ✭✭✭DepecheHead101

I find rolling around and relishing your newfound slick, sharp as a tack sober weekend persona can help in beating the booze. That's how I done it about a year ago. They may be pissed but you can get off in your own way in the knowledge that you are the fastest head in the room, you know exactly what's going on and you are going to be the first person people come to in those distressed, wasted states. Your job is the intake of information and the dispensing of statements that make the impaired ones laugh or perk their interest.

It sounds pretentious as hell I know but ride with it. I also find giving up drink and cigarettes frees you up to be more blisfully ignorant in other areas of ones life. It's not the most scientific system in the world I know but if I'm stoned out of my brains wolfing down bacon double cheese burgers in Burger King I always use the defense 'well I don't smoke or drink' and it puts my mind at ease.

Luckily I never rated booze against dope so I had an easy time giving up I guess. Even that 'it's social, innit?' for me holds more water with smoking weed. I smoke outside pubs, come back in just as chatty as anyone else, and wake up feeling a lot better the next morning.

With a fat wallet. Ready to do the same thing all over again to Saturday morning cartoons. But I understand that's not everyones thing. Just always found it a more interesting, concequence free ride. And for some reason I have that Shorty from Scary Movie thing going on and have just as little inhibition as someone pissed, whereas most people I know smoking the doob would make them more reserved.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,737 ✭✭✭Naos

I find rolling around and relishing your newfound slick, sharp as a tack sober weekend persona can help in beating the booze. That's how I done it about a year ago. They may be pissed but you can get off in your own way in the knowledge that you are the fastest head in the room, you know exactly what's going on and you are going to be the first person people come to in those distressed, wasted states. Your job is the intake of information and the dispensing of statements that make the impaired ones laugh or perk their interest.

It sounds pretentious as hell I know but ride with it. I also find giving up drink and cigarettes frees you up to be more blisfully ignorant in other areas of ones life. It's not the most scientific system in the world I know but if I'm stoned out of my brains wolfing down bacon double cheese burgers in Burger King I always use the defense 'well I don't smoke or drink' and it puts my mind at ease.

Luckily I never rated booze against dope so I had an easy time giving up I guess. Even that 'it's social, innit?' for me holds more water with smoking weed. I smoke outside pubs, come back in just as chatty as anyone else, and wake up feeling a lot better the next morning.

With a fat wallet. Ready to do the same thing all over again to Saturday morning cartoons. But I understand that's not everyones thing. Just always found it a more interesting, concequence free ride. And for some reason I have that Shorty from Scary Movie thing going on and have just as little inhibition as someone pissed, whereas most people I know smoking the doob would make them more reserved.

Hate to break it to you, but you're hardly the fastest head in the room if you're stoned.

• Registered Users Posts: 459 ✭✭hellyeah

Naos wrote: »
    Hate to break it to you, but you're hardly the fastest head in the room if you're stoned.
    lol:D

• Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭colc1

What have been the benefits and drawbacks, and how have you found the experience in general?

Yeah best thing I ever did...just regret ever starting benefits really outweigh any negatives...

• Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭colc1

As a non-drinking bloke I can tell you I had much greater success when I drank women seem to get all uptight and self-conscious when you let out your 'dark secret' haha I would love to meet a lass who didnt drink most seem to be pissheads to be honest who cant stop once they start the idea seems to be to drink into oblivion.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I drink - i do on occasion like getting so ****faced that THIS happens

However that been said it it a very rare occasion i get intoxicated, i dont have the patience for hangovers and ive too many responsibilities to be getting smashed. I enjoy a social drink, but my biggest saving grace is that i couldnt care less if i never had a drink again -too many of my extended family relatives were heavily burdened by drinking and its long term effects on their lives, and i swore it would never happen to me - so in essance when i was 22 and working in my first full time job after college i gave up drinking for a few years until i done some things i wanted to do - like build a house etc etc.

Coming up on my ninth year. I was at deaths door, rock bottom as they say. Havent looked back since. I almost gave up though. The doctors at the Hospital didnt want me to leave when I wanted to leave, with one saying to me, you'll be back here within the week.

Well, Doc, you were wrong.

As they say in AA, not glad Im an alcoholic, but glad to know I am one.