Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Barmen Short Changing People

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Just on the other side, there was a scam which I came across as a barman.

Did hotel functions, maybe 300 people in a dark room and music blaring so I can't realy find you, it's difficult.

Customers orders a huge round and you serve away and they bring the drinks to the table in different trips, often with a tray

And you tell them the price and it's "oh and a pint of Guinness and I'll be back for it" and they walk back to their table with the drinks.

Firstly, everyone in Ireland knows you order Guinness first! Ok, I gave them 3-4 minutes to come back to me.
    Rarely did they ever come back to me, playing me like a fool. No matter how short staffed we were, I would go on the floor and hunt them down.

Sometimes I'd get ignored, I'm not exactly tall or imposing.
    But shaming them in front of all their table works! Tell their family and friends what happened. :D

Assholes, I could have served over thirty customers in the time I wasted on you! And then I'll get a bollocking from the manager for leaving the bar....

Just on the other side, there was a scam which I came across as a barman.

Did hotel functions, maybe 300 people in a dark room and music blaring so I can't realy find you, it's difficult.

Customers orders a huge round and you serve away and they bring the drinks to the table in different trips, often with a tray

And you tell them the price and it's "oh and a pint of Guinness and I'll be back for it" and they walk back to their table with the drinks.

Firstly, everyone in Ireland knows you order Guinness first! Ok, I gave them 3-4 minutes to come back to me.
    Rarely did they ever come back to me, playing me like a fool. No matter how short staffed we were, I would go on the floor and hunt them down.

Sometimes I'd get ignored, I'm not exactly tall or imposing.
    But shaming them in front of all their table works! Tell their family and friends what happened. :D

Assholes, I could have served over thirty customers in the time I wasted on you! And then I'll get a bollocking from the manager for leaving the bar....

I can't believe how many twats are out there. Can't afford the round? Don't order it! Fair play to you for going after them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭johnn

Degag wrote: »
    It doesn't. Please, please, please stop talking ****. First of all, most driptrays run directly into the sink. Second of all, putting the remnants of the driptray into a pint glass wouldn't look anywhere near a pint. Thirdly, i've worked in very busy pubs. At the end of any given night, i'd be surprised if there was more than 5 pints of slops in the trays - if it doesn't go down the sink - Think risk vs reward? Fourthly, No matter how drunk i was i'd know the difference between a pint of beer and a pint of slops. Fifthly, any pub that makes a regular habit of it would be named, shamed and out of business fairly quickly. So stop insulting our intelligence telling us it happens regularily when it does not.

I think you may have been one of the lucky ones not be served a dodgy pint, there is no need for you to be ignorant and tell people to not look out for this as it definitely goes on and people need to be aware of it. :rolleyes: The barman will obviously only pull this stunt on someone who is drunk so they are sure they will get away with it. This is common knowledge in bar-tending circles so I don't know which bar you were working in. I heard of a barman once who went a step further and actually pissed in a pint glass and gave it to some guy who was off his face and he knocked it back like it was a pint of Arthur's finest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭tatabubbly

I was at a function in a well known hotel in letterkenny, was a student function. Ordered my drink at the bar and was shortchanged. Asked for my receipt and was like, hey you only gave me say €10.60 instead of €30.60. The woman behind the bar just walked off and ignored me..

Then went out to reception to complaina and the man behind the desk was all "oh there's no managers here and if the bar staff shortchanged you, there's nothing i can do about it". Needless to say i'll never darken the doors of that place again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 pastylegs

johnn wrote: »
    This is common knowledge in bar-tending circles so I don't know which bar you were working in.

It really isn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭Degag

Firstly, everyone in Ireland knows you order Guinness first!
    Unfortunately they don't!
    I think you may have been one of the lucky ones not be served a dodgy pint, there is no need for you to be ignorant and tell people to not look out for this as it definitely goes on and people need to be aware of it. :rolleyes: The barman will obviously only pull this stunt on someone who is drunk so they are sure they will get away with it. This is common knowledge in bar-tending circles so I don't know which bar you were working in. I heard of a barman once who went a step further and actually pissed in a pint glass and gave it to some guy who was off his face and he knocked it back like it was a pint of Arthur's finest.

Bars - plural - my friend, up and down the country, in England, Australia and New York for 6 months, if it's been done on a regular basis i've seen it, and believe me, i've seen some shít behind the counter. So do me and the rest of the forum a favour and stop talking shíte.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

slops wouldnt even have a head on it like a pint? so now we've to watch out for people pissing into our glasses? thanks for the heads up.
    god i wish i taught of all these great ideas since i work in a pub and if only i knew it was so easy to do i would of drank their pints and pissed it into the glass for them because they will never notice.
    do you care to shame these pubs if it really happens so we all know where to stay away from?

garv123 wrote: »
    slops wouldnt even have a head on it like a pint? so now we've to watch out for people pissing into our glasses? thanks for the heads up.
    god i wish i taught of all these great ideas since i work in a pub and if only i knew it was so easy to do i would of drank their pints and pissed it into the glass for them because they will never notice.
    do you care to shame these pubs if it really happens so we all know where to stay away from?

I don't think I can name the pubs I have seen this go on in due to the forum charter but I only got back from a fairly prominent dublin city center club now where I saw the slops being poured into a pint glass, I didnt' see who they gave it to though. The situation is bad enough without the likes of you talking about serving honest punters your piss :rolleyes: Some barman you are.

I don't think I can name the pubs I have seen this go on in due to the forum charter but I only got back from a fairly prominent dublin city center club now where I saw the slops being poured into a pint glass,.

If you are telling the truth then name the pub.
    But we all you won't as you are making this up!

Stroll over to motors forum, there are garages getting named and shamed every week.
    If you have the correct information on a pub then post it.

My post is pointless, I know you won't
    The situation is bad enough without the likes of you talking about serving honest punters your piss :rolleyes: Some barman you are.
    Whoosh!!!
    The sarcastic reply from garv123 went straight over your head, not too sharp tonight johnn
    Go read the post again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

Most barmen in town empty the contents of the trays under the taps into pint glasses near the end of the night and start offloading them on the drunkest customers, then keep their money rather than charge it to the til, they're making a fortune off it. Scum :rolleyes:
    ahh but thats just not really true at all is it.

I've had a look over my history, I started a fairly busy thread on the 10pm off license rule

And you were trolling there too!
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056121124&page=11

Give it a rest and go start your own threads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

Quite right about the €5 and the €20, they're ridiculously alike. A €5 coin is long overdue.

Thanks for posting boasts about your stealing, all those who ripped off customers or failed to hand back incorrect change - it's very handy for employers to be able to look at your posts if they're thinking about giving you a job. Or not, of course.

Qualitymark, whom are you replying to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

Qualitymark, whom are you replying to?

Look back through the thread. A bunch of people have chortled at how they cheated customers or barmen.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Short changing does happen, but its rare.
    More often than not its a simple mistake.

I've run bars and clubs for a while and I still have done it once or twice recently. But I've realised before the customer as I'm walking back to them or when they say they gave me a $20 not a $10. Going back in your head its you can remember if they did or not. Eat some humble pie, admit a mistake and move on.

Staff can fiddle tills and hide sales, but we do watch them as much as possible.

Sometimes the customer is the scammer. I'll often check my camera over each till and then bring the customer over to see it. Queue the apologies from an embarrassed customers. Lets say nothing about people that set up credit card tabs and walk out without settling the bill knowing it won't work.

To the person that said bars pour the drip dray back in the keg. That doesn't happen. You can't re tap kegs (easily).

• Registered Users Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Dj Stiggie

I've ended up with a fiver or tenner extra in my float once or twice working on the floor in a bar. I usually go up to the last person I served if its a quiet night (on a busy night it could be any number of people and I probably wouldn't remember who it was), they're always very quick to say yes when I ask if I left them short, funny that they'd never mention it unless I asked them though.

With regards to waste being poured into pint glasses and sold on, it doesn't happen. The closest thing it could resemble is a regurgitated pint of Smithwicks with no head. We always measure it out and pour it down the sink so we can calculate how much we lost.

And any time I've given someone too much change on the floor they've pointed it out to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Dj Stiggie wrote: »
    And any time I've given someone too much change on the floor they've pointed it out to me.

Generally its older people will point our you've given them too much. Younger people won't.
    What about all the times people hand over two notes stuck together and don't realise until we split them and hand one back.
    No thanks there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

Dj Stiggie wrote: »
    You only give back too much change by mistake.
    How about the times you gave them too much change and they did not correct your mistake?

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭alyuciao

A good barman ( and the same goes for a customer ) should always state how much is been given to/by him.

I hand over drinks for say 15.50 and the customer hands me 20. I look them in the eye and say 20. Then give them their change and say 4.50.

Likewise, as a customer, when I buy something in a bar or shop, I always say how much I'm handing over.

Basic, common sense but sometimes mistakes do happen. Nobody is perfect.

Had this happen to me again last night :eek: Even saw the barman pour some poor drunk chap a drink from the slops at last orders and pocket the money!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Had this happen to me again last night :eek: Even saw the barman pour some poor drunk chap a drink from the slops at last orders and pocket the money!

A pint of slops? I don't know how drunk you'd have to be to miss that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 783 ✭✭✭No1J

That's just some sick pig getting his jollies. The vast majority of bar staff have far to much going on to have time to be acting the asshole, or are to tired, or want to finish the story they started an hour ago with their work mate. Now if a punter comes in and tries to dis the bar staff, different story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

I was in a pub on Saturday night with a few mates, handed over a twenty, got change of a 10, shouted at the barman who then tried to put me in the wrong and humiliate me in front of locals, Knew the twenty because it was marked. When I got the correct change back I gave him a filthy look and finished up quickly and moved on to another pub. This seems to be a common practice and I cannot understand why there is not CCTV over bar tills.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

I was in a pub on Saturday night with a few mates, handed over a twenty, got change of a 10, shouted at the barman who then tried to put me in the wrong and humiliate me in front of locals, Knew the twenty because it was marked. When I got the correct change back I gave him a filthy look and finished up quickly and moved on to another pub. This seems to be a common practice and I cannot understand why there is not CCTV over bar tills.

there's cctv over our tills in the country pub i work in.
    actually theres about 20 cameras in the entire country pub. more than most town/city pubs. people have often accuses us and its funny when they are proven wrong on the cctv.

I have a habit to put a crease om my note in the same place every time before I hand it over, I'm a long time in the game and this works for me. not telling where I put it, to many copycats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Maybe you should stop drinking in scum hole pubs?
    No1J wrote: »
    I have a habit to put a crease om my note in the same place every time before I hand it over, I'm a long time in the game and this works for me.

The going to the pub game?

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭futonic

Degag wrote: »
    To be fair to the barman, you can often have chancers (and i'm not saying you're one!) who say they handed you a fifty when they didn't. I normally tell them that they'll have to come back tomorrow when the till is counted. It's not really necessary to count the till then because the genuine person will come back while the chancer won't!
    Thats not true im afraid. I was short changed once on a pub in Dublin. was told to come back next day when till was counted, but I never bothered. Just wasnt worth t he hassle, as I knew I'd have wait around etc, all a bit embarrassing. I rarely go to that pub anymore as a result

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Maybe you should stop drinking in scum hole pubs?

The going to the pub game?

Go and have a few pints, have a laugh, and stop coming across so picky.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Maybe you should stop drinking in scum hole

I think you may have been one of the lucky ones not be served a dodgy pint, there is no need for you to be ignorant and tell people to not look out for this as it definitely goes on and people need to be aware of it. :rolleyes: The barman will obviously only pull this stunt on someone who is drunk so they are sure they will get away with it. This is common knowledge in bar-tending circles so I don't know which bar you drinking in if it never happens. I heard of a barman once who went a step further and actually pissed in a pint glass and gave it to some guy who was off his face and he knocked it back like it was a pint of Arthur's finest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

Short changing the drunks is a fact of life, as is the barman/cellarman on the make. But its not just pubs/clubs, its endemic in the hospitality industry, 20% goes out the back door, fairly well an industry average. My auld lad worked his life in the restaurant/club trade and was a specialist in reducing stock shrinkage-usually using his fists till the lads got the message. It is the nature of the trade. When you are out on the lash, try and keep half an eye on what you are paying/getting back in change, its just the way it is and its best to be aware. If you find you are short changed, if you are not yet drunk, call the barman on it and stand firm that you know what you gave/got back-90% don't want the hassle of a scene and will give you the right money back. The other 10% won't. If you are drunk, well, you probably won't even notice, but you will notice your empty wallet the next morning. Chalk it up to experience.