Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Social Work and grant advice

Options
  • 27-12-2010 9:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭

Hi all,

I am looking for some advice at the moment as I'm at a bit of a loss what to do
    I studied medicine in UCD and dropped out mid way through the fourth year as I really was not enjoying the course at all.
    I have been working for the last four years in the disability sector and have my heart set on social work for the last two years. I have two avenues to social work. One is a four year undergrad course in Trinity/UCC or the other is three years of a H.Dip in social policy with the Masters in Social work.

I have been offered this year ,by UCD medical school, a chance to receive a medical science degree after my four and a half years in med school.Despite the fact that I dropped out in 2008, the degree I will be awarded will be in the 2010/2011 term.This means I will be ineligible for any postgrad grants for next year as I will not have had a break of at least three years in my study.

I am seriously thinking about not getting the medical science degree from UCD. This would mean that I would have had at least four years break before re-entering education. My salary for the last four years has been very low and so I think I would be suitable for a grant. Would I still be eligible for a grant or free fee's despite having done four years of medicine and leaving without a degree?

I also feel that a four year undergrad would be less intensive and time consuming than a three year full time postgrad, which would give me more time to work to pay my rent etc?