Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jaysus how i love Clare

• 29-12-2010 6:13am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭

You know Clare seems to be one of those unique places. Honestly. Like when the floods come clare is not bad off. When the rest of the country is getting blizzards. Its like ibiza here(not really). I dont know if any of ye see it. But i F***ing love Clare. As my Grandfather says were a unique corner of the world. :D. we get away lightly i feel. and by god i love it. We have the beautiful cliffs of Moher to the rocks of Ireland. The powerful tides of the Atlantic to the Celie band of the world. We have Mohammad Ali. We have The Best smallest international Airport. We may not have many in numbers but we have an impact on Ireland
    Tell me. Does anyone else see Clare for what it is. Im probably on my own but sure......:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭CptSternn

True, but when the rest of the nation is washing up, we are without water. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 184 ✭✭Bob_the_dog

When I read the title I thought my wife was having an affair:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭shannon_tek

CptSternn wrote: »

Very true. Sickened :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 903 ✭✭✭bernardo mac

Been going on hols to Clare since my nappy days.Fond memories.Don't like the over development of Kilkee though.Still it's a special county:People,Music,The Burren,Dilisk.the fresh Atlantic air,the briny sea.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭Carry

Clare is special indeed, in good and bad ways.

The first thing I've learned was that Clare was the only place in the west of Europe with almost no fall-out of the Cernobyl-disaster in 1986 because of the strange weather and wind patterns. Don't have links to prove it right now, it's a long time ago.
    But it gives confidence that natural resources are as clean as possible. Apart what humans did and do to the country.

Clare is almost an isle: west is the Atlantic, north is the Galway Bay with sheltering mountains, south is the Shannon estuary with the sheltering Kerry mountains below and east is the Shannon.

There are no extremes whatsoever, apart the man-made ones (i. e. bad public water supply).

What about asking for independence? The Republic of Clare? :D

(Can I be president, please? In a mansion and with a pension? :pac:)

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭pedroThePirate

Clare is a unique place - both in the context of Ireland
    generally, and the world.
    -
    I speak with authority because I moved here by choice
    from the UK (another unique place but for the wrong reasons)
    about 15 years ago.

Clare is not at the cutting edge of technology (or the cutting
    edge of anything else), it embodies still the friendliness of
    a backwater whilst being aware of a world which is changing
    faster than is good for it. Sure, Clare has its faults - But let those
    places who are without sin cast the first stone.

Chris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭finbarrk

CptSternn wrote: »

No water problems back west.

Carry wrote: »

What about asking for independence? The Republic of Clare? :D

(Can I be president, please? In a mansion and with a pension? :pac:)

Regrettably, Carry, you can't sustain a national economy
    on dillisk harvesting, dairying and more pubs than Christy
    could shake his guitar-case at . . .

Would that it were only so.

Chris

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

Clare looked well on the Fr Ted documentary last night I thought. I moved up here a few years ago so anytime a friend or relation comes to stay I always bring them on a tour of all the Fr Ted locations :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭stevveyg

omahaid wrote: »
    Clare looked well on the Fr Ted documentary last night I thought. I moved up here a few years ago so anytime a friend or relation comes to stay I always bring them on a tour of all the Fr Ted locations :D

Raging i missed this last night, hopefully it will be repeated on more 4 some nite soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Battleflag

stevveyg wrote: »
    Raging i missed this last night, hopefully it will be repeated on more 4 some nite soon
    Sure watch it now! - http://www.channel4.com/programmes/father-ted/4od#3150032

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭stevveyg

exioot wrote: »

Fair play to ya, sound!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Balagan

Clare is a unique place - both in the context of Ireland
    generally, and the world.
    -
    I speak with authority because I moved here by choice
    from the UK (another unique place but for the wrong reasons)
    about 15 years ago.

Clare is not at the cutting edge of technology (or the cutting
    edge of anything else), it embodies still the friendliness of
    a backwater whilst being aware of a world which is changing
    faster than is good for it. Sure, Clare has its faults - But let those
    places who are without sin cast the first stone.

Chris

Careful now!

Balagan wrote: »
    Careful now!

Down with this sort of thing.

Chris

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭yermanoffthetv

Carry wrote: »
    Clare is special indeed, in good and bad ways.

The first thing I've learned was that Clare was the only place in the west of Europe with almost no fall-out of the Cernobyl-disaster in 1986 because of the strange weather and wind patterns. Don't have links to prove it right now, it's a long time ago.
    But it gives confidence that natural resources are as clean as possible. Apart what humans did and do to the country.....There are no extremes whatsoever, apart the man-made ones (i. e. bad public water supply).

Err...except for the highest radon livels in western Europe. And also the stuff going into the air/water at Moneypoint, Clarecastle & Aughinish to name but some :o

Dont think I share the OP's mighty level of enthusiasm but Clares not a bad auld spot. Ennis could do with more shops/3rd level college/an alternative to "da queenz" for socialising. One can dream :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭shannon_tek

Ennis could do with more shops/3rd level college/an alternative to "da queenz" for socialising. One can dream :rolleyes:

Came up with a better night club last night. one sure can dream, dreams are a long way off. But it could work if anyone will be left in ennis about 10 to 13 yrs lol:D

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭judosean2005

ok Im in total agreement with how awesome clare is,lol
    but we do need more activitied for teens,kids and adults.

like someone said we need somewhere else then the Queens in Ennis
    or the Watefront or Abyss in Kilkee.

I mean im proud that Someone recently re opened a pub in Kilrush and from what i hear is doing well.

but Kilrush is a big town and not to have one club,hotel,pub(till recently) is crazy,

And i grew up in Kilrush and i like Kilrush but i wish it would just be a better town.i have 11 month old twins and i only go to Kilrush to see family.

Anyway enough of me wining!what ye think?

Sean

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

I'm from Limerick, and would spend a bit of time playing music in East Clare mainly, up to Mountshannon, but have played in Ennis a fair bit too.
    I would also head down the coast a good bit too.
    A great county with great people.
    I think sometimes, it could be the happy balance between Limerick and Galway.

Limerick is always "too many nacks", Galway is always "too many pretentious d1cks". Clare is the happy medium! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭poppyvalley

You know Clare seems to be one of those unique places.

Totally agree, I just love the place. I've said this before. I'm not from Clare, but would not want to live anywhere else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭CptSternn

Ennis could do with more shops/3rd level college/an alternative to "da queenz" for socialising. One can dream :rolleyes:

They have tried to open a few alternatives. The problem is people get easily sucked into a scam.

When the club opened across the bridge last summer the Queens dropped all admission fees, had free drinks from 9-11 and then 3 for any drink you want afterwards.

After two months the alternative club closed due to the fact no one was coming in.

The very next week the Queens started charging €12 in plus mandatory €3 coat check and no more free drinks plus cocktails jumped to €8.

This is the third time in the past five years someone tried to open an alternative venue and each time this happens, yet everyone complains when they jack the prices after they pull this stunt. But alas, everyone seems to have memories which only go back about three weeks because it happens again and again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Referring to the Queens problem. I assume the alternative club was offering pretty much the same experience as the Queens was? This is the problem. Something different needs to be offered so that it won't matter two sh*tes if the QUeens is there or not. If the alternative is something different, it will attract people who don't want to go to the QUeens, who want to listen to different music, or who don't want the "cattle mart" experience.
    But maybe Ennis is too small for that...I dunno...
    I think a good late bar (not Brandons), with good indie/alt/rock music would be a winner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Balagan

Totally agree, I just love the place. I've said this before. I'm not from Clare, but would not want to live anywhere else

Well! A poem seems in order...

Postscript
    by Seamus Heaney

And some time make the time to drive out west
    Into County Clare, along the Flaggy Shore,
    In September or October, when the wind
    And the light are working off each other
    So that the ocean on one side is wild
    With foam and glitter, and inland among stones
    The surface of a slate-grey lake is lit
    By the earthed lightning of a flock of swans,
    Their feathers roughed and ruffling, white on white,
    Their fully grown headstrong-looking heads
    Tucked or cresting or busy underwater.
    Useless to think you'll park and capture it
    More thoroughly. You are neither here nor there,
    A hurry through which known and strange things pass
    As big soft buffetings come at the car sideways
    And catch the heart off guard and blow it open.

From THE SPIRIT LEVEL (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 1996)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,514 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Im from Limerick myself and I do quite a bit of business in Co Clare ( along with spending a few summers on the coast, but my memories of those are hazy to say the least...good times...) anyway you have a great county and are a very pleasant bunch to do business with...