Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

In big trouble, someone help me please :(

• 30-12-2010 3:25am
    Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭

Hi guys,

I regularly use an online gay irish chatroom and have done for the past while. Anyway over the last few months I have being chatting this couple, they are always at loggerheads with each other and have an on-off relationship. They both know me by my first name. Anyway last week one of them came into the chatroom and posted up his estranged boyfriends personal details, mobile number, where he worked and even a link to his picture and claimed he was a paedolphile! So I seen it and asked him to stop and that it was very serious what he was doing. He had they had fallen out after a row and this was his revenge. He seems crazy. Anyway last night I was talking to his so called partner in the room (they don't live together and come on at different times) I told him the story and he seemed calm. He asked me how I knew all this and who I was, I just gave my first name. These men are both in their thirties and I am 21. One has wanted to meet up with me but I would never.

Anyway I was in the chatroom tonight with my usual name and a guy starts to IM me from the same area and was also the same age as me. He was all nice and we had a good chat and we agreed to exchange pics. He said he would send me his pic first and asked for my number. Sure everything seemed fine and I gave out my mobile number. Then my phone rang briefly with a private number. I look back to the chatbox where the guy writes back to me saying, 'thank you *****, you won't diss me again, my pimps will track you down in no time, watch out!' I answered, 'Is this a joke, why?' , he replied, 'it ain't a joke, see how we can find you, we will be in touch, bye'

Ok so maybe I played these guys or annoyed them but I am shaking right now from this. First thing tomorrow morning I am going to change my number. I am Meteor, can they track me down via my mobile number? The phone is registed in my name, can I have that removed? Please can someone help me.......I'm so terrified ;(

• Registered Users Posts: 607 ✭✭✭t0mm13b

wealthyman wrote: »
    Hi guys,

I regularly use an online gay irish chatroom and have done for the past while. Anyway over the last few months I have being chatting this couple, they are always at loggerheads with each other and have an on-off relationship. They both know me by my first name. Anyway last week one of them came into the chatroom and posted up his estranged boyfriends personal details, mobile number, where he worked and even a link to his picture and claimed he was a paedolphile! So I seen it and asked him to stop and that it was very serious what he was doing. He had they had fallen out after a row and this was his revenge. He seems crazy. Anyway last night I was talking to his so called partner in the room (they don't live together and come on at different times) I told him the story and he seemed calm. He asked me how I knew all this and who I was, I just gave my first name. These men are both in their thirties and I am 21. One has wanted to meet up with me but I would never.

Anyway I was in the chatroom tonight with my usual name and a guy starts to IM me from the same area and was also the same age as me. He was all nice and we had a good chat and we agreed to exchange pics. He said he would send me his pic first and asked for my number. Sure everything seemed fine and I gave out my mobile number. Then my phone rang briefly with a private number. I look back to the chatbox where the guy writes back to me saying, 'thank you *****, you won't diss me again, my pimps will track you down in no time, watch out!' I answered, 'Is this a joke, why?' , he replied, 'it ain't a joke, see how we can find you, we will be in touch, bye'

Ok so maybe I played these guys or annoyed them but I am shaking right now from this. First thing tomorrow morning I am going to change my number. I am Meteor, can they track me down via my mobile number? The phone is registed in my name, can I have that removed? Please can someone help me.......I'm so terrified ;(

You need to get on to hotline.ie, phone the guards, are you near your local station or ring Harcourt Street station?, get in touch with meteor and see if you can get the number changed - perhaps you are on Pay as you go...? Do not delete the messages as they can be used as evidence... not alone that... it would have to be from the top of the police to acquire permissions to access the phone records which are stored there for 3 years IIRC....(A supreme court hearing would be warranted to get permissions - AFAIK) It might put your mind at ease...

I am not going to sound condescending but... never give out your mobile number in a place like the chat rooms....there are "crackheads" lurking on it and masquerading... you really do not know who they say they really are....

• Registered Users Posts: 624 ✭✭✭boatbuilder

Ah yes, the crazy world of chat rooms. I'd say its unlikely that anyone would be bothered tracking you down over an exchange in a chatroom. To me it seems more likely that they were just doing it for fun...somehow getting a kick out of tricking you.

I'd turn off your voicemail so no one can leave messages and then forget about it. I also learned the hard way that many people lie in chatrooms. Even people that you are 100% certain about can turn out to be complete frauds....its happened to me, someone I was chatting to online for two years had sent me photos of someone else claiming it was them....took me two years to discover this!!! But then a few years later, I met my wife online. So, be careful out there, there are some serious nutters around, but some genuine people as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭wealthyman

I am on pay as you go. I also want to contact the gay garda liaison officer. I don't have the messages so I can't prove it but they could send me messages on the phone so I will have them. These people sound deranged, just so scared right now, can't believe I was so stupid, I'm not out to all yet eirther so can't call the local guards.

• Registered Users Posts: 607 ✭✭✭t0mm13b

Cross posting into After Hours is frowned upon.... :rolleyes:

what on earth are you doing giving out your number to strangers online? Crazy behaviour. This will teach you to never do that again.

Anyway I doubt they will find you from the number. I also doubt anything would be done to you. Just loser cowards trying to scare you. Just change your number and forget all about it. Just don't give out your number again!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Unless they work for meteor they have absolutely no way of finding out who you are. If they bother you again contact the guards or change your number. Learn your lesson.

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭seanpjs93

what is more important, your safety or your secret? get on to the guards, it's the only way it will be sorted, unless they are messing with you

• Registered Users Posts: 42 Grahamatter

Don't bother changing your number, they can't track you. you need to be a specialist in the guards with a warrant to do that, not some idiot. Don't worry about his "pimps" lol. he was just trying to scare you. You can see from what he did to that other guy that he's just twisted in the head.

• Registered Users Posts: 41,062 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Garda LGBT liaison officers details can be found on www.queerid.com

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 899 ✭✭✭oisindoyle

I very much doubt ,you can or will be tracked ,however you may get more nonsense /threatening txts ,If you do ,IGNORE all of them ,do not reply as this will only encourage the nut.
    If you do feel scared ,go to the liasion garda and explain all ,He will ask you to make a note (write them down on paper,times dates ect ) of all future txts and keep them .
    If you are going to chat rooms ,you need to realise many people in these chat rooms are not you they say they are .
    Its easy to make up a "profile" and pic ..thats not to say there are not genuine people in these rooms there are ,but just be careful .
    Also Ii would suggest you get yourself another phone and use it purely for these meets/chat rooms ,i used to have one myself and called it my sex phone ,..lol
    Try not to worry too much ,whilst the txts were scarey its doubtful if you can be tracked ,