Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Anyone else ever realise they're a snob???

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭Aldito

yes like the guy earlier having a go at me over being from tallaght,i really hate the way people think that if you are from tallaght that you are a scumbag/knacker,most people wouldnt bother to find out that the bad rep tallaght has stems from the 80s and 90s and mostly from west tallaght estates(im not saying all the bad things in tallaght happen in the west tallaght estates as i do know some ****heads my way)there are ****heads everywhere i know from experience working in foxrock and all the little daddys boys hassling people and starting fights in town.

Didn't realise you could get internet in Tallaght tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

Piriz wrote: »
    c'mon explain what you think of these lads in the photo...

i see 2 lads involved in a gaa team hardly tracksuits of scangers

Aldito wrote: »

what a ****ing idiotic response

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

curlzy wrote: »
    Ok,

So I was just in the Square in Tallaght. I was on a packed escalater and just ahead of me was a group of young fellas pushing and shoving, I was thinking "****ing skanger scumbags, messing on an escalator". It was only when we got to the top of the escalator that I realised what had happened; an elderly man's shopping bag had broken and he fell backwards, the young fellas caught him and held him up and when they got to the top, they retreived his hat, took all their own shopping outta their bags and put his in the bag, gave him the shopping and asked him if he wanted to go to McDonalds for a cup of sugary tea as he looked a bit shaken. I felt like a real snob for thinking they were scum just for wearing baseball caps and tracksuits when, in fact, they in all likelihood saved his life (he was very elderly and didn't look like a fall would have turned out well for him). So just wondering if any of you have seen things that made you realise you're a bit of a snob?

Curlzy.

You don't really have a concept of what a snob is, do you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Aldito wrote: »

Mr Current Affairs eh, They were the first to have NTL BB ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭jesmed

rubadub wrote: »
    I don't see this as being necessarily snobby, you were prejudging then and I think prejuding is a totally normal & sensible think to do though some people treat "prejudiced" like a dirty word.

In many instances I am prejudiced myself and consider it perfectly normal and sensible way to be. I offered help to several old men & old women during the snow who appearred to be having trouble crossing over piles of snow near the road, I am not ashamed for my presumptions that they may have needed help when some politely declined.

If I saw a 3 "gentlemen" in top hats & tails with monocles and one took a dump on the side of the road I would not go off ashamed thinking I am an "anti-snob" or something.

How would the "tails" work when said gent was taking his dump in the snow ?

Exactly. Nothing's changed out there based on my experience. I'm from Clontarf, and I grew up (in the 80's and 90's) always hearing what a sh*thole Tallaght was. It was always used as the measuring stick for how much of a knacker someone was acting between me & my mates - e.g. "aww you knacker - they wouldn't even do that in Tallaght!".
    Then the first (and only) time I ever go out there in 2006 someone puts a dent in the roof of my car. What am I supposed to think after that, tallaghtmick? It lived up to it's stereotype 100%.
    People's opinions are formed based on experiences & stereotypes. And most stereotypes stem from experiences of other people in the first place.

so you who is from clontarf went to a event in tallaght and your car gets damaged,are you telling me everyone there bar you was from tallaght?you assume it was someone from tallaght yet someone from the country could have been down for the event and decided to be a dickhead.I was in meath one night and a friend got attacked for no reason....turns out it was 3 english lads over for the day who attacked him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭daithi2011

It'd take you a long time to walk around all the estates in Tallaght tbf :rolleyes:

Tell you what, if you don't think Ireland/Europe is just one big sh*thole why don't you walk around all the estates there and let us know how you get on. Believe it or not Tallaght is a big place and like all big places you get good and bad.

Now there are areas where Tallaght is still very bad but tallaghtmick is right in that it stems from the 80s and 90s; that's when these estates got to be the way they are, the problem is that even throughout the boom they never improved because they never really got the benefits of the Celtic Tiger. But other parts have improved a lot.

Yeah... carry on like that and you'll end up with a brick in your car alright. Sounds like karma more than anything else. And how the hell can you say nothing's changed based on your experience when you've only been there once? :confused:

You're from Clontarf, that's near Fairview Park right? I might drop by there next time I want to be stabbed or kicked to death. Stones and glass houses come to mind!

I can give you a list of places to take the walk then. It would be a looong list too. If I were to give a similar list for say, Bray, It would only have maybe 4 or 5 places in Bray on it, if that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭TrollHammaren

There's snobbery, which is "look at those scumbags in their tracksuits, they're probably going to mug me", and there's common sense, which is "them lads look a bit rough, I better be careful". It's all in the attitude, and if you're looking down on someone because they're a "skanger", "scobe" or whatever else you want to call them, you're a snob. If you recognise that the lads wearing their tracksuits are behaving a bit dodgey, then no one can blame you for being careful.

There seems to be this attitude on boards that reads "yeah, I'm a bit of a snob, LOL", as if we're expected to find it endearing.

The behaviour of "scobes" and "scumbags" stems from an inherent need to find a niche group, and when you grow up in a council estate, surrounded by flats, drugs, and crime, good look finding a niche that doesn't centre around rough behaviour. They're no different from the Abercrombie and Canterbury-clad middle-class teens with their peroxide blonde hair; they just weren't given the privilege of choosing to get in with the rugby and Dundrum shopping crowd.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

I look down on the wannabes and D4's..

I make funnies for my friends by copying their ridiculous accent.
    Good times :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

The behaviour of "scobes" and "scumbags" stems from an inherent need to find a niche group, and when you grow up in a council estate, surrounded by flats, drugs, and crime, good look finding a niche that doesn't centre around rough behaviour. They're no different from the Abercrombie and Canterbury-clad middle-class teens with their peroxide blonde hair; they just weren't given the privilege of choosing to get in with the rugby and Dundrum shopping crowd.
    Very true, though it still doesn't detract from the reality that some of them are nuisance at best, and a danger at worst, to society in general.

I fnd it a bit funny/exasperating when posters here seem at a loss as to how scumbag types don't find themselves ridiculous looking. A knackery type in full tracksuit attire, white Air Max and a hat at a 90 degree angle may look absurd to you, but to the people with whom they want to identify and associate they are fashionable - and that matters more to them than what middle-class posters on an internet forum think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

I'm delighted the OP has received the reaction he/ she wanted...perhaps we should meet for a drinklet and compare hoodies while we compare tax havens.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Piriz

There's snobbery, which is "look at those scumbags in their tracksuits, they're probably going to mug me", and there's common sense, which is "them lads look a bit rough, I better be careful". It's all in the attitude, and if you're looking down on someone because they're a "skanger", "scobe" or whatever else you want to call them, you're a snob. If you recognise that the lads wearing their tracksuits are behaving a bit dodgey, then no one can blame you for being careful.

There seems to be this attitude on boards that reads "yeah, I'm a bit of a snob, LOL", as if we're expected to find it endearing.

Thank you..fine post!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

in all fairness every area has shítebags, just because some have daddys money doesnt make them any better , I know lots of heads who stroll around in tracksuits or live in tallaght and clondalkin who are grand and are nice people , i know a few who are knobs but theyd be that way anyway no matter where they lived,

that said , if that old man fell over in dundrum all the orange skinned / creatine armed daddys money snob kids wouldnt dare help , too busy buying hundreds of euro of clothes and shíte food.

I am a snob , any time i see somebody like that or see anyone who even looks like they went to trinity i instantly know im better than them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭curlzy

I'm delighted the OP has received the reaction he/ she wanted...perhaps we should meet for a drinklet and compare hoodies while we compare tax havens.:D

What do you mean? I asked if anyone else has ever realised they're snobs, people answered yay or nay. How are you surmising that I wanted a particular answer? And what answer are you saying I got. :confused: BTW I'm a she.

I am a snob , any time i see somebody like that or see anyone who even looks like they went to trinity i instantly know im better than them

Are you serious? I'm a Trinity student and I'm nothing like those orange-skinned, creatine-armed people you mentioned - I'm from Ballyfermot, for fúck's sake! I know I said I don't like the Abercrombie-Ugg boots brigade, but that doesn't mean to imply everyone from Ballsbridge or wherever is like that. You have no reason to believe you're better than me because I go to Trinity.

Unless you're just taking the piss, in which case I now look like a right knob :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Piriz

Are you serious? I'm a Trinity student and I'm nothing like those orange-skinned, creatine-armed people you mentioned - I'm from Ballyfermot, for fúck's sake! I know I said I don't like the Abercrombie-Ugg boots brigade, but that doesn't mean to imply everyone from Ballsbridge or wherever is like that. You have no reason to believe you're better than me because I go to Trinity.

Unless you're just taking the piss, in which case I now look like a right knob :D

jaysus, ever since Mary Byrne was on xfactor, everyone from Ballyfermot is shoutin about being from there! Get off your horse! haha

only jokin:)

P.s. Is Ballyfermot a mans a mans a mans world?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

ejmaztec wrote: »
    I'm not into necrophilia myself, but you obviously think it's a bit of armless fun.
    No, amputee pornography is armless fun.

Piriz wrote: »
    jaysus, ever since Mary Byrne was on xfactor, everyone from Ballyfermot is shoutin about being from there! Get off your horse! haha

only jokin:)

P.s. Is Ballyfermot a mans a mans a mans world?

If you've spoken to anyone from Ballyfermot any time recently you'd know we're sick of hearing that woman's name :p The days when it was it was cool to say "yeah, Mary totes served me Tesco" are long gone!

If the "mans a mans a mans world" thing is an X-Factor joke, I don't get it; I never watched that vile show! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Trololololol

nah I jsut hate the stereotypical trinity students, and the economics ones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭EuropeanSon

Trololololol

nah I jsut hate the stereotypical trinity students, and the economics ones
    Don't you mean UCD? There seems a far greater proportion of orangeness there than in TCD, in my experience.

And I know many economics students, none of whom are like that at all...

Don't you mean UCD? There seems a far greater proportion of orangeness there than in TCD, in my experience.

And I know many economics students, none of whom are like that at all...

Two of my best mates are economics students, and they're two of the most solid people I've ever met. I know where the stereotype comes from, though; there's no denying the sheer level of arse-hattery you see in Trinity. My fellow students very often annoy the fúck out of me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I was reaised to be a snob. I will look down on people for many a reason.

Probably not a good thing, but tis who I am!
    You could change... if you wanted.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

I'm proud to be a snob, and yes...i think i'm better then everyone else, 'cause i am!

(^ i'm not jesting, i really do belive this)

• Registered Users Posts: 361 ✭✭silverspoon

I'm even worse than a snob.

I am a culchie with notions!

• Registered Users Posts: 988 ✭✭✭wurzlitzer

I read the Irish times

does that make me a Snob?

OTOH, I have the worst grammar ever, living in Dublin so long I can not speak proper English no more

really have regressed

You know you are snob, when you jump a yard backwards when approached by a cream cracker looking for a smoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

I'm a middle class snob and proud of it also ----> Dont drink Bud, i'll have a Paulaner please.

No i dont have "a spare fag", you piece of tracksuit filth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

I'm a culchie so I can't be a snob.

Ye c*nts.
    Nonsense.

Culchies are potentially the worst kind of snobs. Especially culchies from farming backgrounds. I should know, i am one.

Jaysis, the trollin' in here is getting fierce.