Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bertie Ahern steps aside

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Cool, I just am interested in the different constituencies and the all the potential outcomes

I'll stroll over to Wicklow forum, most regional forums have an election thread at this stage

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

No surprise that this rat left the sinking ship. He holds a large slice of the responsibility for the mess that we are now in.

As for all this eulogising about how Armageddon would have occurred without his input into the Northern Ireland peace process all I can say is what a utter pile of balderdash that is. Yes he did have a part to play in the peace process but he was one person in a long line of people who brought about peace. The only person I would elevate above the rest would be John Hume and not that chancer from Drumcondra.

The man was obviously driven by greed and vanity. He had no problems getting payments from "friends" which could be viewed as having compromised his position as Minister of Finance and then Taoiseach. He even had the cheek to claim artists tax exemption on his so-called memoirs. And he is so vain that he believes that he should run for president after the wrongs his decisions have meted upon this nation and its citizens.

Now if we could only get someone into power who will go after the pensions of these wasters retrospectively?

* "friends" covers a wide variety of people normally developers and some of whom funnily found themselves on semi-state boards after a while as well ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Wide Road

It's of no matter. If you work in a chip shop and your mother dies you return to work within a day or two. Or are you suggesting when holding the most important office in the country, he could have opted to go missing for a few weeks? Well I guess it being FFail anything is possible.

Your opening line tells it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

He took his time ....right who's next ?

Hopefully , just hopefully seen our former no bank account minister of Finance , and former leader who presided over times that our country was allowed to gamble the economies of generations to come (and fail) has now left .... Can someone please pull the plug on the insane decision to build the N.C.H in his constituency .

He is gone , he is disgraced (IMO) so we owe him or his inner circle of friends (good oul Paddy the plasterer) nothing !

I will give him credit for holding his nerve during the Good Friday Agreement but I'm
    afraid history may show that to be over shadowed by his policies that wrecked the Republic of Irelands economy

Good luck Bertie enjoy your massive pension whilst the rest of us chip away at the shoite heap you have left us with .

I will sign off my rant with this ;

• Registered Users Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭M three

come off it wide road, the vast majority of people have called ahern a complete chancer because of all his thieving and lying.
    All you have to say in his defense is that he went back to work after his mother died.

give it a rest will ya and cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Magi11

Is his achievement of helping bring an end to the bloody mayhem on the island not a greater good then poor policies which leads to people losing their jobs?

To be honest I'd rather not have a job then living in a country where you risk getting blown up every time you go into a built up area, or walk past a police station. But thats just me.

You give the impression that having a job and living in peace are mutually exclusive.
    Ahern isn't slow about taking most of the credit for the peace process yet his refusal to accept any responsibility for the economic crisis speaks volumes about the man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Wide Road

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    I have no idea about Ross' plans; I was just replying to the inference that people couldn't list politicians that they admire and would vote for.

What paper does Ross write for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Wide Road wrote: »

Sunday Indo chipwrapper - I think. Is there a point to your question?

• Registered Users Posts: 282 ✭✭Nelson Muntz

Sindo business is a bit more respectable than Bertie in a cupboard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Sindo business is a bit more respectable than Bertie in a cupboard.

Marginally! Wasn't it the Sindo that carried the disgusting piece on Liam Lawlor's death in Moscow? Not that he was one of my favourite people but you have to have some standards and the Indo clearly have none. Sorry for going off topic.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

Marginally! Wasn't it the Sindo that carried the disgusting piece on Liam Lawlor's death in Moscow? Not that he was one of my favourite people but you have to have some standards and the Indo clearly have none. Sorry for going off topic.

Show us one shoddy article that Shane Ross has written in the Sunday Independant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Your opening line tells it all.

Any chance you'd lay off the attempts at glib sarcasm and actually make a point ?

What, pray tell, does his opening line tell a die-hard, blinkered FF apologist ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Sunday Indo chipwrapper - I think. Is there a point to your question?

I think he's trying to imply that I can't hate the Sindo and like Shane Ross :rolleyes:

Basically totally missing the point that journalism and politics are two separate jobs, and also the fact that even though Ross' articles are worthy, the other 99% of the paper means that it's not worth the price.

But hey, let's not let relevancy and facts get in the way of an irrlevant point-scoring attempt, or the irony that the reason I hate the Sindo is it's populism and unsubstantiated tabloid headlines, preferring to form my own opinion based on facts.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Simple question, one answer. Did John Bruton save or put himself in a position to save lives?

I thought my post was pretty clear and easy to understand.............

Anyone else in Bertie's position at the time would have done the same thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Sully wrote: »
    Bertie has confirmed that he is not contesting the next General Election. 40 years in politics this week

40 years too long

• Registered Users Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

Celia larkin (Bertie's failed businesswoman ex girlfriend)writes for the independent too.

What is your point ?

She has turned rogue on FF too. surprising after all that money she "loaned" from st lukes and getting appointed to the consumer agency board. When the trough gets empty the pigs turn on their keepers

Willie writes for the independent too

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,749 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Here are a select few quotes from him. It would be easy enough to get loads more but he really isn't worth the effort (some of which, I'm sure that you can guess the context).
    Bertie wrote:
    I do not know who they are
    Bertie wrote:
    I think decentralisation is a good thing for this country. We have to get away from this concept that Dublin is Ireland
    Bertie wrote:
    The reason it's on the rise is because probably the boom times are getting even more boomer.
    On rising inflation in the Irish economy.
    Bertie wrote:
    I've looked up every tree in north Dublin.
    Speaking of his investigations into Ray Burke's past.
    Bertie wrote:
    I'm one of the last socialists left in Irish politics.
    Bertie wrote:
    I always found him to be a proud honourable man, loyal and true, persevering and principled, caring and committed but tough and a person who often lost friends very easily. On behalf of the Government and particularly on behalf of the Fianna Fáil Party, I thank him for his distinguished years in the service of his constituents and his country.
    Speaking on Ray Burke on his resignation.
    Bertie wrote:
    The public are entitled to have an absolute guarantee of the financial probity and integrity of their elected representatives, their officials and above all of Ministers. They need to know that they are under financial obligations to nobody.
    Dáil Éireann transcript, December 1996.
    Bertie wrote:
    It is quite unacceptable that a member of Dáil Éireann and in particular a Cabinet Minister and Taoiseach, should be supported in his personal lifestyle by gifts made to him personally.
    On Charles Haughey, Dáil Éireann transcript, September 1997.
    Bertie wrote:
    I'm not answering what I got for my Holy Communion money, my Confirmation money, what I got for my birthday, what I got for anything else, I'm not into that.
    21 September 2006 responding to questions relating to a leak from The Mahon Tribunal that they would investigate payments he received in 1993.
    Bertie wrote:
    Many believed this day would never come and many would say it should have happened a long time ago but it has now come about
    Bertie Ahern.
    You are the primary cause for the position our country is in.
    Good riddance to you and hopefully the rest of your cronies will follow soon.

Clearly, all of the print media are trying to make up for giving bent bertie such an easy ride in the good times by putting the boot into FF now. Totally deserved of course.

When the leader of the country comes out & says you would basically be stupid not to buy a house at any price, he is at least partially responsible for the mortgage debt crisis.

• Registered Users Posts: 74 ✭✭JohnfromGalway

I was hoping to witness this prick losing his deposit in the next election.

40 years in politics? Anyone know what his pension will be? Does he get 3 pensions?

It is a disgrace what he will get. Not to mention that he will milk the peace process for every penny by going to the US on a speaking tour to exaggerate his involvement.

40 years in politics? Anyone know what his pension will be? Does he get 3 pensions?

It is a disgrace what he will get. Not to mention that he will milk the peace process for every penny by going to the US on a speaking tour to exaggerate his involvement.

Ain't I correct in saying that's the reason why all the FF Rats are jumping ship now before the changes to TD pensions kick in :mad:

Tainted til the end ... Least their consistent .

both that and the fact that they are slowly realising that they haven't a hope in hell of buying their way out of this political hole.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,413 ✭✭✭✭road_high

• Registered Users Posts: 903 ✭✭✭bernardo mac

He's not good at speeches but 'twouldn't matter over there either and he'll continue to write trite sh**e for the News of the World, similar in terms depth to what his daughter produces

Oh sweet Jesus. The man is insane!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭xflyer

It hope he goes for President, it would be a golden opportunity to humiliate him finally. Do he really think we haven't figured him out by now?

I would go out of my way to meet him on the campaign trail. I would enjoy telling him what I think of him and his party. After I asked him for a few tips on horseracing seeing as he made so much money from it.:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

bertieahern2.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 74 ✭✭JohnfromGalway

heard he gets abuse now from the general public every time he steps outside - good enough for him!

• Registered Users Posts: 903 ✭✭✭bernardo mac

Biggins wrote: »
    bertieahern2.jpg

That reminds me.I must rat poison