Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chucky ár Lá... DigDig's gonna get you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭digger2d2

Tuesday - Met up with Meno and Aimmo (who did some 1k repeats after warming up with us) in Marlay, did 5 and then some 3/4 strides, total of 6 at 8.22.

Wednesday - Rest and my last cans of Guinness before the Rathfarnham 5k on Sunday. Having not done much faster stuff for a while I'm not sure how I'll get on but I'd love to take a crack at sub 19 - or maybe even beat Meno's PB of 18.52 - That said, goal race is Berlin so unless I feel 100% on Sunday morning there'll be no risks taken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

Just thinking about it. In the space of 7 days you could take menos 5k time, beat him in Berlin and take his marathon pb. He must be running scared :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

TRR wrote: »
    Just thinking about it. In the space of 7 days you could take menos 5k time, beat him in Berlin and take his marathon pb. He must be running scared :)

:rolleyes: Only if he starts taking CL's EPO and even then I'd expect a blow up around mile 20. :pac:. Just remember Digs, sub 3:27 is the magic number should the worst come to the worst. There's a pint in it for you should that happen.

Seriously though I fully expect him to beat my 5k PB on sunday, just a pity I can't be there myself to defend it :mad:. I promise to rectify things later in the year.

Haha... I think he has enough on his plate watching back over his shoulder for the Longford Express before he loses sight of her as he looks forward in the last 4 miles :D;)

menoscemo wrote: »
    :rolleyes: Only if he starts taking CL's EPO and even then I'd expect a blow up around mile 20. :pac:. Just remember Digs, sub 3:27 is the magic number should the worst come to the worst. There's a pint in it for you should that happen.

Seriously though I fully expect him to beat my 5k PB on sunday, just a pity I can't be there myself to defend it :mad:. I promise to rectify things later in the year.

So, the 3.27 must be the side bet between yourself and Brian? That's absolutely in the bag as long as I don't go seeking a sub 3;)

Gen-Linely don't know what to expect on Sunday... As long as I'm feeling good I'll give it my all but the slightest twinge and I'm yogging to the finish. Saving my vial of rocket fuel for my Berlin-skin ;):D

Thursday - 12 miles @ 8.22 pace - Actually wasn't sure whether this was to be at recovery or easy pace, either way, all felt grand until the last mile or so when my legs went D-E-A-D...... :eek:

Right so, whilst everyone doing Berlin is mid taper madness I decided to have a right fall this morning compliments of a slippy bath - cue the innuendo - and despite whacking my head, back, foot and ankle I only ended up with a very sore big toe... I was sooo lucky! I know this post is likely to have RQ rabbiting on about Stair Masters, seats in the bath and a helper but I can handle the slagging ;)

digger2d2 wrote: »
    Right so, whilst everyone doing Berlin is mid taper madness I decided to have a right fall this morning compliments of a slippy bath - cue the innuendo - and despite whacking my head, back, foot and ankle I only ended up with a very sore big toe... I was sooo lucky! I know this post is likely to have RQ rabbiting on about Stair Masters, seats in the bath and a helper but I can handle the slagging ;)

It's amazing the difference 12 hours can make. This morning following a message from the auld lad I wad investigating mesenchymal stem cells and how they could be used to get you to the start line. For an auld fart you have the temperament and hysteria of a teenage girl :)

Can't believe you are spending your Friday night 'imagining me as a teenage girl, I really thought only swim coaches were that sick :);)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Marthastew

Have you forgotten that all the best athletes have some sort of bike/motorbike/bath accident in the week before their goal race? It's most definitely a good omen:)

I'm a little concerned about Officer Dig dig's truncheon though;) I hope it'll be in full working order for Berlin

• Registered Users Posts: 6,687 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

Oh my burning eyes - did not need to read that :)

Marthastew wrote: »

I'm a little concerned about Officer Dig dig's truncheon though;) I hope it'll be in full working order for Berlin

To the good people of the Free State, you need not worry, the truncheon is undamaged ;):D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Jesus, it pains me not to be able to whip out the comedy gold now you've beaten me to it. :(

Rathfarnham 5k race report

Official sub 19 attempt - Unofficial OAP Meno's PB :D

Although the advice was not to race this today with Berlin (The Goal/A race) looming, I felt I had a chance of a sub 19 despite doing mostly higher mileage and pretty much very little below HM pace for the last 6/8 weeks. The plan I had in mind was pretty much perfectly replicated which was quite unusual for me.

Off we went, I'd a few people to pass but in general felt most that started toward the front were sub 20 runners at least which was good. I got to the turn over the Dodder at a few seconds below 6 min/mile pace which was ideal, I allowed myself to drop a couple of seconds on the way up the hill which was a killer last year.

When I turned the corner at Cripps I found myself settling into an easy-ish pace, the plan all along was to try negotiate this long drag and get to the lights at 6:03 average. A couple of strange things happened along this section, I began to feel very confident and even started to daydream about what 5k time I could do if I trained specifically for this distance :D The bit alongside the start of Bushy seemed to go on forever but I passed a clubmate who is definitely a much better runner than me (probably coming back from injury) and on up by Our Lady's to hit the lights at 6:03 pace, perfect.

The first downhill bit allowed me to get to 6:02 but the legs and breathing began to bite and the pace went back to 6:03. I was very aware that this was now psychologically important, if the watch went to 6:04 it might have been a problem, so... the watch was made go to 6:02 (who said I'm a clock watcher or did I slightly mishear them;):D)

Anyway, held it all together all along this stretch by the Dodder, got a shout from Emily Dowling to relax my arms but also use them more. 800m to go, then 600m, 400m, waited until 200m to go before I put the boot down for the line for a new PB of 18:47. Sixth in my class, there were 4 x 45-49 year olds who ran sub 17, amazing.

Really happy I raced, was a lovely morning despite the bit of wind in the last 1k. Good to see some other Boardsies, jcsmum, raycun, dotcomdolly, micilin, mrslow (supporting), mrslow's buddy who had a great race, vaggabond who actually turned up for a pacing gig;) and of course the delightful CL who paced a friend to sub 25. She was delighted for me and it was good to restore a little male pride having had my h0le kicked by her in the last six months in distances from 10 miles to Ultras, her turn in Berlin :D

Splits as follows but probably not of much use in a 5k as they are in old money.....:D HR details also (whatever they mean ;))

Mile 1. 5:53
    Mile 2. 6.12
    Mile 3 6:03
    Mile .13 4:56

3.13 miles at an average of 6:00 min/mile pace

Average HR of 169 and Max HR of 176 (resting HR is 49/50 which I discovered yesterday morning)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Marthastew

Woo hoo! Officer Dig dig is on fire:D well done, I'm thrilled for you. Berlin is looking real good for you. We'll have lots to celebrate on Sunday night:)

• Registered Users Posts: 369 ✭✭banner_phoenix

Super result digs, well done on the PB. Good luck for next week - I'll be cursing you all wishing you all well :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,687 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

Great work - all set for next week; dark horse in the meno -v- cl celb death match maybe :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭Izoard

Great stuff - I spotted you at Terenure College, as I skived off the u6 football training for a few minutes and you were looking good.

All the best for Berlin.

1 down 2 to go :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

What sort of multivits are you oap's taking these days? Between you and Ray, feckers.

Edit: well done, I'm not bitter because I'm more like a crocked oap at all :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Dory Dory

Between you and CL, we need to bottle whatever "it" is and make a million!! Well done on your PB. I guess training with someone faster than you really does payoff!! ;) Good luck in Berlin. :)

What sort of multivits are you oap's taking these days? Between you and Ray, feckers.

Viagra, may not have the same benefits for you RQ. Why do you think they are always going on about diggers truncheon :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭jcsmum

Well done again, amazing time!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭claralara

I fear Digs is losing sight - it's all about speed...Viagra are going to give him the chop if he doesn't slow down and get back in line!

claralara wrote: »
    I fear Digs is losing sight - it's all about speed...Viagra are going to give him the chop if he doesn't slow down and get back in line!

More futile hyperbole ;)

The glow of Sunday's achievement was well and truly but a soggy ember as I set out yesterday evening with me burd. It was lashing rain and there were rivulets running across paths inside Marlay Park but we splased our way through them. Nothing especially interesting to report other than I was under orders not to do 2 x HM pace in the middle as I was recovering. So, in any event it was 6 miles at 8:22 pace. Hamstrings still a little tender from Sunday but I've been icing etc so all should be fine by tomorrow.

Rest day today.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭chinguetti

Great going on Sunday and all the best next Sunday. Give it socks boss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Since you seem to be the forgotten one ;) can I just wish you all the best of luck on sunday :D

• Registered Users Posts: 19,524 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Best of luck digger. McMillan says you're worth 3:03:01.
    Care to prove him wrong (in a good way?).

Best of luck digger. McMillan says you're worth 3:03:01.
    Care to prove him wrong (in a good way?).

Thanks KC...He says nearer 3:10 off my recent HM pb and it's 3:18 if I do the 2 X plus 10%, that said, would be very happy at this stage with something inside 3:20 considering I may be all fast twitch ;)