Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Every new beginning comes from some other beginning's end

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 The Fiddler

I have just started running again after a very long break and done my first 10K last Sunday. However i think it was all a bit much a bit too soon!! I ended up jogging/walking. I done it in 1hr 5 mins but half way around all my muscle fuel had been used up! I was very close to "meeting the wall" by the time i was finished. It felt like my stomach deflated and i started getting cold! Also during the race i got pains in my ankles but kept running through the pain and also had slight pain in the arch of my feet. I ended up with achilles tendonitis after all my efforts!!

I got a gait analysis done a few months ago and the result was i overpronate!

But i still caught the running bug and as soon as i crossed the finish line i wanted to do another one.

I would love to increase my fitness level and to be able to run a full 10K. Any advice would be great.

• Registered Users Posts: 612 ✭✭✭runrabbit

Hi The Fiddler - there probably aren't too many reading my log so you should post your query out in the main forum

Well I'm still out of action - and it feels a lot longer than 9 days! I'm much improved from the horrible aftermath of the half but I know if I ran tomorrow I'd be back to square one. It was a silly move running the half marathon injured but I went into it with my eyes open!

I did a couple of spinning classes and a couple of gentle sessions on the cross-trainer last week and I'm hoping to do a little extra this week since I'm feeling better. I've also been making the most of my free time and lack of training pressure with a lot of socialising! So it's all been nice and enjoyable... but I'm dying to get back running!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,902 ✭✭✭Emer911

Best of luck with the recovery...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Bally8

How are you doing now runrabbit? Still out of action?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭RubyK

Oh no, that sounds like a really painful injury you have picked up. I don't know how you completed the half. And in such a great time too :eek:

Hope you are well on the road to recovery. Mind yourself :)

Thanks all the kind thoughts. I'm still out of action! The dreaded fracture word was mentioned by the physio last night as I'm just not healing - however he thinks it's unlikely that I would have been physically able to run 13 miles on a fracture and also the injured area (metatarsal head joint) is tough and difficult to break! He thinks it's just a bone bruise, and that once the soft tissue around it settles I should be ok. Nonetheless if there's not a significant improvement in the next week it's xray time.

So I've just been sticking with the cross-trainer and spinning. I've already missed some fun races and will be missing more in the coming week - it sucks!

• Registered Users Posts: 371 ✭✭AJCOT

It's easier said than done but take it handy & be patient. Have you had an X-ray? It may be worthwhile if only to reassure yourself that it's not a fracture.

AJCOT wrote: »
    It's easier said than done but take it handy & be patient. Have you had an X-ray? It may be worthwhile if only to reassure yourself that it's not a fracture.

Thanks AJ - I haven't had an xray yet, as all the indications suggest that it's not a fracture (apart from the fact that it's not healing). If it's still bad towards the end of next week then I'll be sent for one.

At least my BHAA money is in the bag already ;-)

6 weeks on and I'm still out of action BUT I have improved a lot in the last 2 weeks and am now walking normally and with only minor pain. I've started some rehab exercises and I've been working hard at the cross-training, however I know when I get back to running I'll be starting from scratch again, barely managing a few 10-minute miles :-(

I made so much progress this year so this has been a gigantic leap back for me, I just hope I can start back to it in another few weeks and start training properly in 2012

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

sorry to hear you're injured RR :( It takes so much patience not to jump back into it too soon but sounds like you're doing great with the cross training.

Slow and steady RR. I know patience can be hard to find at a time like this. Hope the recovery is speedy.

Oh dear - I've really let this log slip since the half marathon - which is nearly 3 months ago now! Here's a summary of the last few months:

For 7 weeks after the half I did no running at all. I was in a lot of pain with my foot and even walking was uncomfortable. After a couple of weeks I got into the swing of the cross-training and that really helped keep my spirits and fitness up - I generally did 2 spinning classes a week and then 2-3 more sessions on the cross trainer. These were the only activities that were pain-free.

The first week in November I started back with a few short jogs. After the first couple I realised I had maintained a lot of fitness, which was great. My foot was still sore though, so I took it very easy for a couple of weeks. Eventually it seemed to strengthen, and midway through November I started to add a bit of distance. I ran the BHAA 6k in Dollymount with a friend - this was my first bit of "speedwork" and the surface was lovely and forgiving on my foot. I didn't break any records (to say the least) and I found it tough going but it was nice to get back out there.

Since then I've been averaging 4 runs a week. I still have a very slight pain in my foot on every run (and there is a degree of stiffness in it), but it doesn't get any worse after a run and I'm not scared of hurting it anymore so I'm able to ignore it. I'm told there could be residual pain for up to 10 months. I haven't done any speedwork since I started back, which at this stage is just down to laziness (the first month or so it was fear of injury). So every run is just at a steady pace - which surprisingly seems slightly better than pre-injury :confused: I guess the cross-training really stood to me so I'm very happy I stuck with it.

I ran the Aware 5 miler on Saturday and amazed myself with a PB, so the plan for the remainder of 2011 is to just keep the fitness up. In 2012 I've set my sights on the Raheny 5, Ballycotton 10, and then Kildare Half, so from January 1st I'll hopefully have a plan with these races in mind.

I'm glad I'm finishing the year on a high - which is surprising after the last few months, so to anyone out there who's injured - stick with the cross-training, it works! I'm going to get back into the habit of keeping a log from now, as I find it useful to look back on my accounts of key sessions/races, which are so quickly forgotten!

Good to see you back runrabbit :) All the cross training seems to have really stood to you, fair play for keeping it up. Roll on 2012 and reaching your goals.

Nice to have you back! Sounds like you haven't been slacking off though... should be back up to speed in no time. :D

RubyK wrote: »
    Good to see you back runrabbit :) All the cross training seems to have really stood to you, fair play for keeping it up. Roll on 2012 and reaching your goals.
    Emer911 wrote: »
    Nice to have you back! Sounds like you haven't been slacking off though... should be back up to speed in no time. :D

Thanks - some super running on your logs in recent weeks too!

Right better get this log updated with the last 3 races of 2011:

Sat 19 Nov 2011: BHAA 6k Beach Race
    I was only back running a week or two when I rocked up for this one but I knew the surface would be forgiving to my foot and I planned to run it with a friend. We were told up front that the course had been cut short due to some kite surfers taking over part of the beach - needless to say the wind that they were enjoying was less appealing to us runners!

The course was an out and back course which we had to run twice - the first length we had the wind behind us so turning around and facing into the wind was tough! Again the 3rd length was easier, and turning the final time I knew the end was coming so I managed to keep the pace up. It felt much harder than it should have but I kept up with my friend to finish the garmin-measured 5.85km in 28:18. Good to be back racing and meeting friends.

Sat 10 Dec 2011: Aware 5 mile race
    I was in much better shape for this one, and felt that I should get a decent time. It was a freezing cold morning so I parked in Chapelizod and stayed warm in my car until just before the start. I took the little jog to the start line as a warm up - I was surprised by how much ice there was on the park roads. Sure enough at the start we were informed that there would be a delay while there was a second course inspection.

My feet were a little numb by the time we lined up at the very narrow start - I positioned myself a little way back but on hearing some of those around me discussing their hoped for times (<1hr 30mins!) I decided to push up a bit. It was the right decision as I got off to a fast start, around the first sharp corner, then settled into the race with plenty of space around me. The pace was "too fast" for me but it felt comfortable, and as I had no real aims I decided to go with it and deal with the consequences if I blew up later on! The first mile was flat, then downhill as we ran down Khyber Rd., so was a fast 7:05 for me. The climbing started halfway through the second mile and it felt like there was plenty over the next couple of miles, so my pace dropped to 7:20-ish. It felt like I was really pushing it throughout, but I managed to pick it up again in the last mile to drop it to 7:01 pace, to finish in 36:44 which I was over the moon with :D (Garmin stats – 5.08miles, Ave pace 7:14). A big PB to finish off the year

Thursday 15 Dec 2011: Club 5k Handicap
    A cold cold night for this one, and I felt a PB was there for the taking. The course was very familiar to me, with the start line only a mile from my house - so I jogged up to the start and arrived just in time for the first group to be let off. 7 minutes later it was time for me to go; a guest runner flew off at a very fast pace but I left the others behind me. 1km in and the guest runner was a good distance ahead of me, but the second km had a bit of climbing and all of a sudden I gained some ground on her. By 2km in I had caught her and I sat on her shoulder for the next 2km - the pace felt tough so I just couldn't pass her but I was delighted to be pulled along! We were passing runners from the earlier groups all the time.

I knew there was a hill in the last km and I thought this might be my chance to pass her - but as we came up to it I started to doubt my ability to push on. All of a sudden one of the male runners from a later group came past us, and we hit the bottom of the hill. I thought "feck it - I'm going with him" and I made my move - of course I couldn't catch him but I left the other girl behind. Cresting the hill and I was nearly there but I was wrecked, and I didn't know how far behind me she was. In the finishing straight I heard footsteps coming up behind me and I thought I was done for, but I glanced over my shoulder and saw one of the fastest guys instead - I couldn't even attempt a sprint finish against him and he flew by me! Over the "line" - I was 3rd finisher overall, first woman home (thanks to a soft-enough 5km PB) but more importantly second fastest woman time-wise which I was really happy and surprised with! My finish time was 22:04 which was another big PB - the only thing is that my garmin measured it slightly short (4.95km) but I'm told it was accurately measured so I don't know if I can take it as a PB :confused: I reckon I could add 15-ish seconds on for the full 5km but I'll do another 5k early in the new year and see how I get on.

2011 Stats:

23 Races - averaging 3ish per month in the 8 months I was racing (didn't race in Jan/Feb as I was recovering from injury, or for 2 months after the foot injury)

PBs:
    1 mile: 6:45 (BHAA Aviva Mile, 27 July)
    3k: 13:33 (BHAA ILP Track Race, 10 Aug)
    5k: 22:04 (Club 5k Handicap, 15 Dec) OR 23:49 (BHAA DCC 5k, 13 Jul) (not sure which to count)
    5 miles: 36:44 (Aware 5 mile, 10 Dec)
    10k: 49:03 (BHAA Firhouse 10k, 10 Sept)
    10 miles: 82:29 (Frank Duffy 10, 20 Aug)
    Half Marathon: 1:51:55 (Dublin Half, 17 Sept)

I feel I have unfinished business with the Half Marathon as I was injured for it, and I also think I can make some improvements on my 10km time, which will be my main aim in 2012.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭shazkea

Great racing RR, that's a cracking 5 miler PB. Well done and good to see you back

Super last 3 races runrabbit, brilliant times. A nice way to end the year :)

Sigh. I just didn't get back into keeping this log up to date.:( But I read an article in a magazine over the holidays about the importance of maintaining a log so I'm determined to get back into it.

I'm just back from a week of excess in the fattest country in the world over the greediest time of year - I haven't checked the damage yet but I'm definitely a few pounds heavier and finding it hard to get back into the routine with the boxes of choccies still hanging around the house. On the plus side I got out for a few runs over Christmas so all was not lost.

Wednesday 21st December: My first proper trail run in Djouce - and I loved it. Definitely something to be repeated in 2012. Was out for just over an hour

Thursday 22nd December: Last chance LSR while trying to finish up in work and pack for my trip away. I had 10 miles in the plan but I woke up with a dodgy stomach so I ended up having to do short laps near the house so I cut it short at 8.21 miles (1hr 15 minutes). Not an enjoyable run at all.

Saturday 24th December: I was away staying with relatives for Christmas and had spent 9 hours on a plane the previous day, and had little sleep, so this was a gentle jaunt just to keep things ticking over. 6 miles in 52 minutes. Was freezing cold the whole way through - my Irish-winter-running clothes just weren't warm enough

Monday 26th December: A slightly longer and more enjoyable run as I was feeling more rested. I took in a decent hill towards the end 7.22miles in 60 minutes exactly.

Tuesday 27th December: Another blah run cut short. 4.5 miles, 39 minutes

Thursday 29th December: Back on home soil after an overnight flight, but a couple of hours in bed and I thought I should try and get a run in. I hit the phoenix park for a bit of variety and to distract me from the strong wind - I managed to get 10 miles in, though I felt pretty tired in the last 2 miles. 10 miles in 87 minutes.

Saturday 31st December 2011: The last day of the year and my first ever run in cross-country spikes.

I woke early with a stinker of a hangover but it was my last chance to hit the fields so I stuck to the plan - after a dodgy first mile and losing a few layers of clothes (so warm) I settled into it nicely. The spikes felt light but hard and unsupportive - no pains or niggles though so I'm happy enough. Total of 5.46 miles covered (approx 4 in the new spikes) - in 46 minutes.

I was very haphazard at counting miles over the year so had quite a job to go back and add them up - needless to say I didn't hit the 1000, but considering I had the guts of 2 months off with injury I'm really surprised with the total! I won't be clocking up any "mad" mileage in 2012; I have no marathons planned or anything like that - I'm still really enjoying the shorter stuff and looking forward to starting the year off with a 5k race tomorrow! I won't be getting a PB after my few weeks of excess, so all I'm hoping for is an enjoyable day out.

Happy New Year everyone, and hope 2012 is a good running year for us all :D!

Total mileage 2011: 908.32

Sunday 1st January 2012: Tom Brennan 5k, Phoenix Park

My body still isn't back to Irish-time so it felt like the middle of the night getting up for today's race, and instead of planning my strategy on the drive in (as I usually do), I took advantage of the lift and slept the whole way in :o I'm also carrying a few extra chocolate-pounds, so I decided to just enjoy the race today, with the hope of coming in somewhere around 22:30 (I felt a PB was out).

After a little warm-up I lined up towards the middle/back of the crowd. The gun went off very suddenly so I was a second or two late starting my watch, I spent another few seconds trying to get moving towards the start line (no chip-timing today unfortunately), but it didn't take too much weaving to get a clear run and I settled down nicely then. I wanted to keep each km below 4:30, and the first couple were fine and below target. Somewhere around the 3k marker I looked at my watch and saw 4:35 so I just shrugged, decided to forget about times, and continued on my merry way, ignoring my watch from then on and just enjoying the run. I felt very comfortable for these 2 kms and thought once or twice that I should be pushing myself a bit harder.

At the 4k marker a couple of lads came past me and I kept up with them for 500m or so. I still felt good, and turning the last corner I put on a bit of a spurt. It was only then that I saw the clock ticking towards 22 minutes! Sadly it was too late to make sub-22 (my goal for 2012!) and I crossed the line at 22:01 official time, which is a 3-second PB. My Garmin moving time was 21:54, and while I'm very happy with how it went I can't help but feel annoyed with myself that I didn't push a bit harder and have a really good official PB to start the year!

Lesson learned - always try your best! And stop hanging at the back of the crowd! It was a nice morning out though and I'm looking forward to settling back into a training routine now.

Monday 2nd January: Gym; 45 minutes on the cross trainer and a strength circuit

Tuesday 3rd January: Just as well it's early in the plan and the motivation is still high as the weather was not inviting! I got blown about and soaked by rain on the way home from work and was feeling pretty cold but I went straight up to change and headed out the door. A 15 minute warm-up (with the wind at my back) followed by 8 x 1min hill repeats (jogging back down as recovery). It was tough but doable (I might need to find a steeper hill). The jog back was straight into the wind and offered no shelter so that was tough and VERY slow! Still, job done, 5.74 miles in 49:52

Wednesday 4th January: Spinning. New instructor who was great!

Thursday 5th January: Met up with the club for the first time in months - most were planning to run cross-country at the weekend so the plan was for an easy run. It was just as well as I struggled tonight. It was just one of those runs that felt harder than it should have; I'm glad tomorrow is a rest day, hopefully I'll have a bit more pep in my step by the weekend! 5.13 miles, 43:28

Mileage 2012 YTD: 15.87

Friday 6th January: Rest

Saturday 7th January: BHAA SDCC Cross-Country, Tymon Park.
    I felt a bit "meh" about this race - I had no idea what to expect or how to pace myself, and I wasn't too enamoured with my spikes (I was missing my cushioning). The day was deceptively cold - I went for a 2-mile warm-up then got myself set-up at the start and tried to keep warm. A last-minute present of some gel heel-pads was most welcome and made the run much more enjoyable!

From the off I dropped way back - I managed to pass a few people and then I settled down. The first mile sped by without me realising it and I when my Garmin beeped and I realised the race was half over I decided I'd better make a move. I started overtaking a few people and got behind a group which included a couple of girls I knew I'd never beaten before (on the road). When we got a stretch that was slightly uphill and into the wind I made my move and passed them - a couple of hundred metres from the end I took a look over my shoulder and they had dropped way back. From there I just pushed it to the end - in the last 50 metres a girl came past me at a ferocious pace that I couldn't match in my wildest dreams but overall I was happy enough with my performance in the second half.

I'm not sure how to play it next time but I might try to position myself better at the start. Garmin stats show 2.03miles in 14:24 - I don't have my official time yet.

Sunday 8th January: 12 mile LSR

I was up a couple of hours before the crack of dawn for this one :eek: A quick bowl of porridge and then I drove over to my folks to drop off my car - from there I headed out towards Killiney and took in a bit of a hill. I looped back around and the sun was still barely peeking over the Irish sea - it was far too early for a Sunday morning! All the same I was delighted to be out and felt pretty good.

I hit the park at 7 miles (feeling a bit tired at this stage) and met up with a (fellow U-40) club-mate for a few easy miles in the park. From there it was back to the folks' for a quick shower before my morning helping at the Masters cross-country. I had an enjoyable day on registration and taking results at the finish line cheering my club-mates to victory once again :D Great performances all around! 12.41 miles in 1:49:16

Mileage 2012 YTD: 32.28

Great training runrabbit, and well done on the cross-country race!

RubyK wrote: »
    Great training runrabbit, and well done on the cross-country race!

Thanks Ruby, training is going well at the moment, long may it last!

Monday 9th January: My legs felt surprisingly fresh today after the weekend. Still, the plan was for the gym so I stuck to it - 30 minutes on the cross trainer and my usual strength/resistance circuit.

Tuesday 10th January: It really was back to normality today after a slightly easier week last week. Pilates was tough after the long break! The kids training was also back and they were all feeling a little unfit after the few weeks off so they faded in the second half of the run - we covered 2.96 miles in 30-ish minutes.

Nicely warmed-up, I ran downhill from there to the prom where I had mapped out a 800m section for my intervals. My course was flat and straight but crowded with people and dogs - if I had tried the same session in December I guarantee it would have been empty! 5 x 800m intervals at 5k pace were in the plan, and I managed to do them without too much difficulty (nice and even at 3:28/3:30/3:29/3:27/3:28), though I was feeling pretty wrecked at the end and wouldn't have fancied a 6th one! Sadly it was all uphill for the last mile home so I took it very slowly to try and ease out the legs. 5.08 miles covered in 41:58.

Mileage 2012 YTD: 40.32

You're flying recently RR. Well done on the recent races. Must plan a (shortish) LSR one of these days :D Are you going to be hitting the park again this Sunday? PM me if you are...

Emer911 wrote: »
    You're flying recently RR. Well done on the recent races. Must plan a (shortish) LSR one of these days :D Are you going to be hitting the park again this Sunday? PM me if you are...

Only seeing this now, sorry! Will contact you!

Wednesday 11th January: Spinning

Thursday 12th January: One of those runs where I didn't have a set plan going out and as a result it didn't really serve any purpose. Not to worry, still an enjoyable run after a tough day in work. 6.19 miles, 53:26

Friday 13th January: Rest (and a beer!) :D

Saturday 14th January: Up early for my LSR - I had company today and I got to try out a new route, which had plenty of ups and downs. Fitness-wise I felt more than comfortable for the whole run, but my legs and glutes were feeling tired from 8/9 miles on - I really need to work on my strength. 12.17 miles in 1:42:29

Mileage 2012 YTD: 58.68

Sunday 15th January - 5 miles pace were in the plan but the poor legs were feeling tired and my left calf was feeling very tight. I met up with Emer911 for this one and we covered the 5 miles together at a nice comfortable pace. 5.04 miles, 48:47

Monday 16th January - My calf was even tighter today and I had a late day in work so all I managed was a half-hearted 30 minutes on the cross-trainer

Tuesday 17th January - Work work and more work, so an unplanned rest day :(

Wednesday 18th January - Finally made it out for a run - 10 x 1 min hill repeats. It was supposed to be 9 but I lost count! The legs felt good and with warm-up and cool-down I managed 6.18 miles in 53:01

Thursday 19th January - Today's run was experimental! I have some plans for the weekend so I decided I'd like to get my LSR out of the way today if possible. I decided to run the 13 miles home from work - I was strangely nervous as it felt like a very long way (I'm used to running out-and-back or a loop). It was... okay. The route was dual-carriageway most of the way so it was noisy and boring, and lots of roads to cross.

Instead of being happy to be out running I found myself just wanting it to be over and to be home eating my chicken jalfrezi!. From around 4 miles to go I was starving, and my tummy was a bit dodgy too, but I made it! The big plus was the time-saving as I would have spent an hour commuting anyway. 13.14 miles, 1:51:42

Mileage 2012 YTD: 83.04