Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running GPS Tracker for 2011

Options
  • 01-01-2011 4:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 31

Hi all...

I'm relatively new to running (only doing it a year) and I'd like to now invest in a GPS style device to map my running distance.

I do not have an iPhone or any other GPS mobile device so I'm wondering what would be my best option?

I have been looking at the Garmin 405/305 watch variety, but as they are very bulky looking and are a little outside my budget I'm wondering is there a less pricey alternative?

Comments

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

I got the 205 on Amazon.co.uk for about £100 sterling. If you don't need a HRT it's pretty sweet. It's the same size as a 305 though, so bulky, but it's not an intrusive size or anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,524 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

The 205 would be the cheapest option for you. You could also look out for a Garmin 110, which would be more expensive, bit is a far more slender watch, so would tick most of your boxes (except price). Of course if you had a smart phone you could get a much cheaper (but less effective) solution.

I would start saving, and figure out if you really need one first. Then buy the one that's right for you. January 1st is never the right day to go out and buy a new fitness device!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 cargorlaur

Hi there, thanks for the replies Fluorescence and Krusty!