Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

some Bloody farmers breaking laws

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Most farmers are efficient agri-businessmen, and some are inbred semi-literate toothless cretins who are about 200 years behind the times. It's the latter who can't be trusted.

its very much the latter that cant be trusted the rest are essentiall to the economy and nice people

double GG wrote: »
    Sums it up.

No evidence, just speculation.

every autopsy said poison was used, a lot of it was illegal poison.

There you go, video evidence trumps your mindless stereotyping.

An eagle can carry a lamb or small sheep.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xjWjtNf3Fm0

I sincerly hope your joking with that one, you might of well have linked a video of a komodo dragon killing sheep. do you know what type of eagle is featured in the video and can you see any difference between a red kite or sea eagle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

There you go, video evidence trumps your mindless stereotyping.
    An eagle can carry a lamb or small sheep.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xjWjtNf3Fm0
    you know there are different types of eagles right?...
    mconigol wrote: »
    Why not reintroduce wolves and release a few bears while we're at it.

hopefully they will, there was vague talk of it and I think its being done in Scotland already.

Nodin wrote: »
    It has to be said that its the practice of putting out poisoned bait thats the problem. This is not something that was introduced to deal with the birds. Personally, I'm suprised the issue wasn't tackled before the eagles were re-introduced.

im not saying their delibratly targeting the eagles its the poison thats the problem its the baiting of lamb carcasses ect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

fontanalis wrote: »
    How about re-introducing wolves? They should love that!
    It would be a good reason for them to break out the hunting dog again.

just to say im not saying all farmers are bad or stupid as i said im friends with many many good ones an the majority of farmers care deeply about animal welfare. my great grand dad was a small farmer in carlow. when he was selling cows he used to have a tear in his eye.

there are some bad ones who cook the books, have no respect for wildlife or people (as i said what would happen if a child picked up a carcass laced with strycnine) 15 out of 77 sea eagles have been killed. a few kites in wickow poisoned also. the farmers are giving contradicting statements aranging from " well we should lay down less bait" to were not laying down any bait and the absurd "we should be notiied if eagles are in the area". its these farmers i have no problem labelling inbreed cretins.

if you are a farmer and have issue with a eagle killing your lambs contact the ifa and they will try and get compensation. dont kill indicriminatly.

Agricola wrote: »
    I know plenty of farmers and apart from a love of the country life, nature, and a good understanding of animals, one thing that most farmers Ive met have in common is a fairly uncompromising outlook when it comes to their livelihoods. This Eagle business is a case in point. In my experience anyone or anything that gets in the way of a farmer and his already unreliable income is going down to Chinatown!

not to mention the value of their assets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

About 2 years ago, there were loads of blackbirds laying out on the road and path outside my house. They had all been poisoned by farmers. I brought the last two that were alive down to the vet, because they were lieing on the path in the freezing cold, gulping for air. I gave them water - but in the end, the vet had to put them down.

Do farmers have no consideration at all for animal welfare? I love animals, so it was really upsetting to see the poor little birds shaking out on the ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

dlofnep wrote: »
    About 2 years ago, there were loads of blackbirds laying out on the road and path outside my house. They had all been poisoned by farmers. I brought the last two that were alive down to the vet, because they were lieing on the path in the freezing cold, gulping for air. I gave them water - but in the end, the vet had to put them down.

Do farmers have no consideration at all for animal welfare? I love animals, so it was really upsetting to see the poor little birds shaking out on the ground.

Are you trolling or did you not read the thread?

sea eagles went extinct in ireland a hundred years ago for the same reason they are going extinct now ie some people are as backward now as their ancestors was 100 years ago

Are you trolling or did you not read the thread?

if he put some in front of that sentence he would be right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Start leaving poisoned mars bars around farms..teach the c**ts a lesson

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0302/eagle.html#video

sheep and cattle rep saying he didnt know there were eagles in donegal and then blames wildlife officials for not informing farmers that eagles would be in the area. funny considering there was protests when farmers heard the eagle was being brought back in and yet he never heard about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Jayus chrissht Dixie we'll have to sart owt dat feckin big burd! Twill kill da sheeps Dixie!!! Twood pick em up & fly aff & ate it! We'll have a cup o tae & head owt & killed it.

Seriously embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭blackstairsboy

I lost a good gundog yesterday to strichnine poisoning. Bloody heartless farmer trying to kill badgers. I know it does not have much to do with the original post but it is relevant as it shows how some farmers are still using illegal outdated methods to control animals that are fully prtected ie eagles, badgers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Have you ever seen or had to deal with the damage a simple woman can do to a glass of wine never mind an gang of women??? I don't suppose most of you have.

Have you ever had to deal with animals that have been savaged by a drinking session? Covered in an animals blood who's just had it's hands cut from falling through a window when acting the bolix when drunk? Had to untangle an animal from the bed it's ripped itself to pieces on while it was running out of their face on coke and Heineken? Spend night after night awake out in a cold hotel lobby protecting you're building from being destroyed by pissed oul wans? Spent weeks trying to help a weak sale for it to disappear as soon as it's put into action. Doubt it....I could go on and on.

It must be great to live in this wishy washy fantasy land where it so easy to pontificate to people who have more knowledge & experience about animal welfare than you could ever possibly hope to have.

FYP. See, there are **** parts to every job. Farming is an outdoors job, and you have to deal with ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I lost a good gundog yesterday to strichnine poisoning. Bloody heartless farmer trying to kill badgers. I know it does not have much to do with the original post but it is relevant as it shows how some farmers are still using illegal outdated methods to control animals that are fully prtected ie eagles, badgers.

When I was kid spending the holliers down on relatives' farms the thick c**ts used to put DDT on their dog to kill fleas and that. They were then suprised when it wound up with a tumor the size of a turnip. Their attitude to wildlife was that anything bigger than a rabbit should be shot or poisoned..durty badgers..durty foxes..durty crows..durty everything.

Only thing that will sort out the irish countryside would be to get Cromwellian on those backwards savages...

it has a lot to do with the original post and the ifa are doing sweet f*ck all to deal with the retards doing this. have you contacted the police? im a very sorry for your loss a dog is like a member of the family to me

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

What about the cruelty to slugs??Who uses blue pellets?Poor, sweet little slugssies...:D:D

Garden birds eat the dying slugs and so on up the food chain.

Bambi wrote: »
    When I was kid spending the holliers down on relatives' farms the thick c**ts used to put DDT on their dog to kill fleas and that. They were then suprised when it wound up with a tumor the size of a turnip. Their attitude to wildlife was that anything bigger than a rabbit should be shot or poisoned..durty badgers..durty foxes..durty crows..durty everything.

Only thing that will sort out the irish countryside would be to get Cromwellian on those backwards savages...

a rep from the golden eagle project had to go in tv and explain to said bad farmers with a few extra chromosomes that eagles dont fly of with sheep

Wolf Club wrote: »
    Even the cute wittle wabbits? :eek:

IMO farming is seriously taken for granted in this country. Many people seem to think it takes no intelligence to run a farm, and that it is an unneeded and unnecessary practice for thick mucksavages that only do it because they wouldn't be capable of doing anything else. These eagles may not be capable of carrying away an entire sheep, but I'd imagine they'd be able to kill a sheep/lamb and feast on the carcass, which would be a massive inconvenience for any farmer. Poisoning them is very wrong, there's no doubt about it, but from a farmer's point of view, this is about protecting their stock, not killing a bird for sport.

its illegal to kill them full stop if farmers think their killing eagles then they should get a vet in to prove it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭double GG

People who drop some chocolate on the street 'by accident' should be jailed 'cos dogs or birds could eat it and it'll kill them.

People who throw onions or fruits with their seeds still in them could kill birds.

People who drop some chocolate on the street 'by accident' should be jailed 'cos dogs or birds could eat it and it'll kill them.

People who throw onions or fruits with their seeds still in them could kill birds.

are you classing chocolate and bird seed in a class with strychnine

steddyeddy wrote: »
    are you classing chocolate and bird seed in a class with strychnine

Not Bird seed, fruit such as apples with the pits left in them.

I wasn't classing them in the same category, but just saying both are considered 'poisonous' to such animals.

Not Bird seed, fruit such as apples with the pits left in them.

I wasn't classing them in the same category, but just saying both are considered 'poisonous' to such animals.

the difference is strycnine is poisoness to all animals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭tommylimerick

i am a farmer sometimes approching the winter
    i would put down poison for vermin
    farmers don t really work with nature
    we manipulate (use) nature to our advantage
    it would only take one or two prosecutions
    to stop this i would imagine

the difference is strycnine is poisoness to all animals

Chocolate is poisonous to birds, cats and dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

if you are a farmer and have issue with a eagle killing your lambs contact the ifa and they will try and get compensation. dont kill indicriminatly.

so basically you're saying you've no problem with introducing a wild animal into an area where it hasn't been for over 100 years and screw all the other animals that suffer as a result?? It's not just a matter of compensation, its to do with the time, energy and care that goes into raising these animals.

If a bunch of cattle run into your garden and destroy the whole thing would you simply be happy with the owner walking up to you and telling you that if you have an issue with it go talk to your insurance company? Farming is a way of life as much as it is a business.

Is that a poem?

Chocolate is poisonous to birds, cats and dogs.

yea but putting down a toxin like strycnine is slightly more dangerous than putting down chocolates

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Is that a poem?

Now its a limerick.

FYP. See, there are **** parts to every job. Farming is an outdoors job, and you have to deal with ****.

I genuinely don't see the point of your post??! It doesn't even seem to make sense :rolleyes:

yea but putting down a toxin like strycnine is slightly more dangerous than putting down chocolates

Dangerous yes, but both kill.

so basically you're saying you've no problem with introducing a wild animal into an area where it hasn't been for over 100 years and screw all the other animals that suffer as a result?? It's not just a matter of compensation, its to do with the time, energy and care that goes into raising these animals.

If a bunch of cattle run into your garden and destroy the whole thing would you simply be happy with the owner walking up to you and telling you that if you have an issue with it go talk to your insurance company? Farming is a way of life as much as it is a business.

the animal has been native to ireland for thousands of years so yes i have no problem at all with it being re-introduced. what animals are being harmed apart from the eagles

Dangerous yes, but both kill.

never become a chemist mate

I've never aspired to be a 'chemist', all I was doing was stating that both chocolate and Strychine can kill.

i stated earlier that i was most concerned with kids touching a strycnine laced carcass

by the way bud are the people laying down poison showing a concern for animals?

well without saying too much mate theres a lot more than prosecutions being done to stop of it, there is much illegal activities being done to stop it

the animal has been native to ireland for thousands of years so yes i have no problem at all with it being re-introduced. what animals are being harmed apart from the eagles

Well we're talking about eagles attacking farm livestock specifically sheep aren't we?

You say that 15 eagles have been killed so far (which don't get me wrong is appalling and totally wrong, as is the lacing of carcasses with strychnine) but 77 extra eagles plus whatever was there already could be more than capable of killing or maiming 15 lambs.

So basically you're of the opinion that a lambs life is not as valuable as an eagles and it's fine for those animals to be killed (simply because they're not endangered)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Having sat, at the age of 9, with my dog who ate poisoned meat left out for God knows what threat in those days, while he died slowly and in agony whilst waiting for the vet to come out to put him down, I despise anyone who leaves out poison for unwary animals. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Having sat, at the age of 9, with my dog who ate poisoned meat left out for God knows what threat in those days, while he died slowly and in agony whilst waiting for the vet to come out to put him down, I despise anyone who leaves out poison for unwary animals. :mad:

This. We had a dog and a,cat poisoned when I wqs a,kid. Inhumane way to kill something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭NWPat

Well we're talking about eagles attacking farm livestock specifically sheep aren't we?

You say that 15 eagles have been killed so far (which don't get me wrong is appalling and totally wrong, as is the lacing of carcasses with strychnine) but 77 extra eagles plus whatever was there already could be more than capable of killing or maiming 15 lambs.

So basically you're of the opinion that a lambs life is not as valuable as an eagles and it's fine for those animals to be killed (simply because they're not endangered)?

Aren't lambs bred to be killed? or are they kept as pets?

NWPat wrote: »
    Aren't lambs bred to be killed? or are they kept as pets?

so in essence i think he means are we not concerned with the money farmers lose (even though they can claim it back)

no were not, farmers speculated that it could happen but it hasnt been observed. eagles will scavenge dead or aborted lambs however, which have been laced with poison

Nevore wrote: »
    This. We had a dog and a,cat poisoned when I wqs a,kid. Inhumane way to kill something.

guys i hope you reprted this, its an illegal activity. if a farmer thought you were responsible for the death of one of his flock he would be at your door in a second

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

I grew up on a farm, I live on a farm, so don't give me this "Ah, you wouldn't understand the ways of the country" bullsh*t because this is beef country. Bullsh*t is in no short supply.

You do hear of mad old local farmers getting stupid ideas like this into their heads. Even if there are better or more efficient ways they won't change their minds out of a bit of ignorance and a lot of sheer stubbornness. Same with snares, or badger culling - they have it in their head that it should be done the way it used to be done, just because that's the way they're used to having it. 99% of farmers facepalm appropriately, but all it takes is a few stupid diehards, the lads who wear thirty four layers of tweed on a summer's day and wave their arms into combine harvesters, who use the local waterways as their own personal magical moving dumping ground, and seem to think it's alright when their own dog goes wandering and tearing other people's lambs apart.

They're bad farmers, and they make for bad neighbours. The vast majority of farmers see themselves as stewards of the land under their care and take that responsiblity seriously. That goes for wildlife as well as domesticated animals.

The kind of pigheaded idiocy at work in this stupid kind of indiscriminate, illegal poisoning is indefensible, and anybody trying to justify it would be embarrassed if they only had the wit. There's no excuse for it. It isn't the same as shooting foxes to keep pests down, so don't give me that. We had a chance to reclaim a part of our natural heritage that was long lost, and because a bunch of stupid old f*ckers thinking they're a law unto themselves, we may have lost it again for good.

The Scottish and Norwegian wildlife folks who are p*ssed off are right to be. We should be too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

guys i hope you reprted this, its an illegal activity. if a farmer thought you were responsible for the death of one of his flock he would be at your door in a second

Well I was only a kid at the time but I definitely would report it now if it happened again.