Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stolen Goods

• Registered Users Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭magentas

mikom wrote: »
    Did you ever hear the saying "Help us Help you".
    you never seem to help anyone, just make posts that only you find funny:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Quote:
    Originally Posted by mikom viewpost.gif

magentas wrote: »
    you never seem to help anyone, just make posts that only you find funny:rolleyes:

I'll take that as a no.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by mikom viewpost.gif

I'll take that as a no.
    you take that whatever way you want

so back on topic, did anybody see anyone acting suspiciously around 11am outside church on presentation road sunday morning that may be of assistance to OP or guards?
    or anytime that day carrying a silver case like what's in the pic

PS sorry about your stuff getting stolen OP, hopefully some helpful boardsies will have spotted something and let you know

there's a lot of scum in this town unfortunately, I've heard of a lot of stuff stolen over Christmas and houses broken into, very upsetting for victims of these crimes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Now let me see.
    This thread.
    Someone looking for information : check.
    Someone repeatedly having the craic : check.

rewind.........
    My first post on this board. I've heard nothing but rave reviews about the city but have never actually went out in it (went to college in Dublin for a few years, had a few nights out in Limerick and had stag weekends in Waterford and Kilkenny)....what should I be looking out for that particular weekend (November 12 and 13), what bars/clubs would come highly recommended and what sort of policy have the hotspots regards stag dos? We're a crowd of GAA lads up from Wexford for the weekend FWIW*

*my attendance very much depends on how my club fairs in the Leinster club championship this weekend!!
    eagle10 wrote: »
    Stage door in woodquay is great craic especially if your on the pull
    Forgot to mention it's a big gaa pub
    Glad we could help dont forget the stage door great craic and your gauranteed to pull!
    3967597369_7757d6b0f4.jpg

Good deal going here sea views B&B only 29pps
    Ms-Gay-Wexford-flyer1.jpg

It's all fun and games until somebody loses an eye silver flight case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Its more about how he asked than what he asked!

And please dont tell me what i thought!!

Point out to me EXACTLY, where I supposedly told YOU what YOU thought.

Good boy.

• Registered Users Posts: 529 ✭✭✭eagle10

Looks like this thread is going nowhere no one seen anyone acting suspiciously no one seen anyone with a silver flightcase.

Thanks to everyone that had some positive feedback, and to the rest of you I hope your in the same situation someday and got the same reaction I did:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

OP sorry if this is obvious but
    You should keep a look out on Buy and Sell, adverts.ie and especially Gumtree.ie (always seems to me a lot dodgier than the first two) that said I can't see some lad selling it in Galway knowing the size of the city and the likelyhood your looking for it but via gumtree in Limerick or Dublin could be worth a look.

Cheers gumtree never crossed my mind

• Registered Users Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

Looks like this thread is going nowhere no one seen anyone acting suspiciously no one seen anyone with a silver flightcase.

Thanks to everyone that had some positive feedback, and to the rest of you I hope your in the same situation someday and got the same reaction I did:)
    OP i hope you find your belongings. I do think you came across quite aggressive early on. Maybe your annoyance to having your property stolen came through. I hope i'm never in this situation myself but if i am i think i'll try be a little bit more gracious in asking for help.
    Best of luck OP.

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭Galwayps

I have a place just around the corner from this incident. I have removed a guy from around my premises twice over the last week who was eastern european. He had a back pack, a black woolly hat and was most likely homeless due to his appearance.
    When I confronted him he said he was looking for a money that people might have dropped in the car park.
    Anyway if I see him again I will contact garda.

Galwayps wrote: »
    I have a place just around the corner from this incident. I have removed a guy from around my premises twice over the last week who was eastern european. He had a back pack, a black woolly hat and was most likely homeless due to his appearance.
    When I confronted him he said he was looking for a money that people might have dropped in the car park.
    Anyway if I see him again I will contact garda.

Thank you that sounds like the guy that was seen Sunday every piece of information helps thank you

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

kraggy wrote: »
    Point out to me EXACTLY, where I supposedly told YOU what YOU thought.

Good boy.
    Did you pick that username yourself, or did someone nominate you for it?

bye luv!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Did you pick that username yourself, or did someone nominate you for it?

bye luv!!

Weak return.

And you never answered my question.

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭tightropetom

Now let me see.
    This thread.

rewind.........

[Prank answers which some of us can see the funny side of...]

It's all fun and games until somebody loses an eye silver flight case.

In fairness - I thought those replies were funny. That was someone looking for information which was A LITTLE less serious than this situation to say the least.

At the end of the day, somebody broke into the OP's car and stole property. I can understand his apparent annoyance at people asking questions about the contents - he wasn't asking if you'd been sold anything or seen the contents, he was asking if anyone saw a suspicous person acting suspiciously and carrying a case. Nothing more.

Instead of yes or no answers, he got questions about the contents which are not really all that relevant. Who cares if it was a case of heroin or methamphetamine or whatever? The question was simple, did anyone see anything. The contents are irrelevant. Somebody stole from him.

No need to be getting up on your high horses because he wasn't forthcoming with gory details.

Sheesh...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,042 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

No need to be getting up on your high horses because he wasn't forthcoming with gory details.

Sheesh...

Don't mind your sheesh, I think all people wanted was a bit of manners from the OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 laidarnuca

I really cant see what OP did wrong.

Am I missing something.

OP'S stuff was stolen he asked did anyone see anything

It was clear to me that OP was appealling to people that may have been in the area or may have seen someonewith a silver case to pass on some information.

Then people started to quiz them about what wasin the case, does it really matter?

Could someone please explain to me what the OP did wrong.

In my opinion OP done nothing wrong.
    It is also my opinion that people took advantage of OP's distressed state and just tried to RISE him.

Please review this thread post by post and you will see OP really done nothing wrong;)

Don't mind your sheesh, I think all people wanted was a bit of manners from the OP.
    manners FROM the OP...how about showing manners towards the OP???

you have property stolen from your car, you go looking for help asking did anyone see anyone/thing suspicious in a very specific area at a specific time and you get harrassed with accusations suggestions of illegal contents

have a look on the link OP posted to music forum about their stolen gear and see what "helpful" responses look like, makes the galway city forum look pretty sh!tty in comparison:(

laidarnuca wrote: »

Please review this thread post by post and you will see OP really done nothing wrong;)

Maybe you should read post 2 and 3. Post 2 was a genuine query. The OP's response could have been better. Got it?

By the way OP I hope you do get it back, I have friends that work down that side and I did ask them if they noticed anything amiss, to no avail unfortunately.

Maybe you should read post 2 and 3. Post 2 was a genuine query. The OP's response could have been better. Got it?

By the way OP I hope you do get it back, I have friends that work down that side and I did ask them if they noticed anything amiss, to no avail unfortunately.
    POST 2:Are we to be suspicious of any items that will fit inside those dimensions or have you a few more details maybe?

POST 3:What do you mean by this post and Why do you need more details?
    If you seen nothing dont bother posting, If you know or seen something pm me or contact millstreet station

why would someone ask is there something suspicious about the contents?
    why wouldn't someone ask why would someone ask such a stupid ignorant and irrelevant question?

Bing_IRL wrote: »
    Are we to be suspicious of any items that will fit inside those dimensions or have you a few more details maybe?
    What do you mean by this post and Why do you need more details?
    If you seen nothing dont bother posting, If you know or seen something pm me or contact millstreet station

Why would Bing ask eagle would he be suspicious of what was in the case?
    When eagle clearly states in post 1 that if anyone had information they could contact millstreet station.
    Why on earth would bing require more details?
    I cant understand why bing would want more details maybe outscan or bing can explain why he wanted more details.

Eagle replied asking why Bing neede more details, I dont think Bing ever answered eagle outscan maybe you could tell us????????

"If you seen nothing dont bother posting, If you know or seen something pm me or contact millstreet station"

I think thats fair enough clearly eagle had nothing to hide if he suggested going to millstreet if bing had nothing of relevance to add.

Really I cant see why people are suggesting that eagle has no manners.

magentas wrote: »
    POST 2:Are we to be suspicious of any items that will fit inside those dimensions or have you a few more details maybe?

POST 3:What do you mean by this post and Why do you need more details?

why would someone ask is there something suspicious about the contents?
    why wouldn't someone ask why would someone ask such a stupid ignorant and irrelevant question?

I still don't get what the hullabaloo over Post 2 is about? Sure it could have been worded better but he was only implying why the contents weren't given in the original description of the stolen goods (I'd guess). I'd agree it would have been better if he said 'Can we have more details as to the contents please?' but I don't think his original merits the ongoing witch hunt. I certainly in no way see his question as being stupid, ignorant or irrelevant, I mean how else were we to know what was stolen???

Why on earth would bing require more details?
    I cant understand why bing would want more details maybe outscan or bing can explain why he wanted more details.

In case he was walking down the street and was approached by someone who asked him 'Would he like to buy any guitar pedals' perhaps?

I still don't get what the hullabaloo over Post 2 is about? Sure it could have been worded better but he was only implying why the contents weren't given in the original description of the stolen goods (I'd guess). I'd agree it would have been better if he said 'Can we have more details as to the contents please?' but I don't think his original merits the ongoing witch hunt. I certainly in no way see his question as being stupid, ignorant or irrelevant, I mean how else were we to know what was stolen???

IMO it's clear that Eagle was loking for information about a silver case or anyone acting out of the normal.

The last thing he needed was [EMAIL="smart@$$e$"]smart@$$e$[/EMAIL] questionng him about his personal belonings.

It's clear from later posts that were specialised pieces of equipment that I'm sure would not be offered under any circumstances to 99 percent of people.

However the items had been posted on the relevant forms in detail to people who may be in a position to recieve such items.

In case he was walking down the street and was approached by someone who asked him 'Would he like to buy any guitar pedals' perhaps?

Who on earth would walk up to a complete stranger on the street and offer them guitar pedals?
    Has it ever hapened to you?

I know this is a long shot but basically.
    There was a theft from a car at 11am yesterday (sunday 1/1/2011) outside st josephs church on presentation road in the city.

A man was seen acting suspicious trying to interfere with a pay and display machine perhaps this is the person responsible fro the theft.
    The stolen items were containd within a silver colour flightcase measuring approx 1.5' x 1.5' x 6"

If any one thinks they may know anything I would really appreciate some info.

This incident has been reported to the guards but anyone has any information please feel free to pm me or report to guards in millstreet.

Just to remind readers what this thread is about

Who on earth would walk up to a complete stranger on the street and offer them guitar pedals?
    Has it ever hapened to you?

As a matter of fact yes, on a few occasions actually. Once in Westside (crossing the green one evening around 6 years ago), 1 time when leaving college (laptop offered 4 years ago) and twice when working in Salthill (in 2001 van pulls up, opens side door and asks a few of us on our lunch break do we need anything).

REALLY????
    Guitar pedals?
    Were you carrying a guitar?
    No one ever offered me guitar pedals or any kind of specialised equipment of any description.

Are you a goth? Or maybe you look like one of those musical types?

BTW did you contact the Gardai when you were offered these goods.

REALLY????
    Guitar pedals?
    Were you carrying a guitar?
    No one ever offered me guitar pedals or any kind of specialised equipment of any description.

Are you a goth? Or maybe you look like one of those musical types?

BTW did you contact the Gardai when you were offered these goods.

Just because you have never been offered any 'stolen goods' doesn't mean it doesn't happen. Ok?

Why are you asking me if I'm a goth or a musical type? I don't see the point behind the question to be honest.

And yes, the guards were contacted.

Just because you have never been offered any 'stolen goods' doesn't mean it doesn't happen. Ok?

Why are you asking me if I'm a goth or a musical type? I don't see the point behind the question to be honest.

And yes, the guards were contacted.

I'm asking because often goths play guitars and you often see goths carrying them thats why I asked I did not mean to offend you.

I just really find it hard to believe that someone walked up to you in westside and offered you guitar pedals however if you were a goth or musical type I coud fully understand how someone would make the connection.

Just to clarify it was guitar pedals you were offered wasn't it?