Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Pub trade is dying - Minimum price for Alcohol?

• Registered Users Posts: 322 ✭✭Dwaegon

ardinn wrote: »
    Here ^^^^

Owned! Lol

• Registered Users Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Price is a huge issue - probably the main one. Yet, instead of trying to address that at source by trying to reduce the price the suppliers charge & by reducing overheads, they are going after the supermarkets for below cost selling... and not even for how they operate the below cost selling.

So you believe that the VFI (or IVF as you call it) do not try to bring Prices down from the source?? You have very little knowledge of the industry im afraid. and that is not meant to be slanderous.

Reducing overheads - You also have never heard a vfi representative calling for a reduction in rates???

Im sorry but i you have no real knowledge of whats going on if you believe this. Again im not trying to have a go at you but.... well.... your talking out your a**e

• Registered Users Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

i used to work in a pub during the boom years publicans make a mint.
    here is what publicans buy drink for i used to sign for delevery's
    24 corona was the most expensive crate 24 for 19 euro
    bud heineken 18 for 24
    miller 24 for 16.50
    12 pint bottles was 17.99
    1l of smirnoff was around 19 cant remember the exact price under 20 though
    splits(coke ect) was 11 euro for 24 bottles
    pubs are the only business that have a mark up off 400% and still complain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Your right, but still missing the point.

The pub has to deal with (I hate saying this but it is THE DECIDING factor) running costs that are just unsustainable to most - If I can get away from megapubs and clubs for a moment and concentrate on rural and small village/town pubs the price they currently charge is probably still not enough to "grow" a business (it may get them by) meaning currently - they need to sell volume at their current price, not volume at a lower price.

Just to say that the miller you buy for 24btls at €20 in tesco will cost the publican about €35 from a supplier - the gaps are bigger than you imagine.

Buy them from Tesco then for your pub then?:confused: Find a supplier that offers a better price!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Here ^^^^
    Dwaegon wrote: »
    Owned! Lol

Owned, my arse.

Below cost selling is good for competition. However, if there are restrictions put on it by the sellers, then clearly it isn't.

There is nothing hypocritical about me saying this. If had not clarified the point, you could have said that I was being contradictory, at worse.

However, if you are going to accuse me of being hypocritical, you could at least look up the meaning of the word as being contradictory & being hypocritical are two entirely different things.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

The only good thing the PD's ever offered was McDowells plan to introduce a cafe bar license.
    Even back then he had the insight to realise that drinking trends in ireland where changing.

But of course the VFI/FF cartel quickly ended this innovative idea in favour of keeping their nice little earner going.

You reap what you sow!

If the vintners are struggling then they should lobby more to reduce rates as opposed to keeping there inflated prices, introducing ridiculous closing
    hours for offies under the pretence of binge drinking! lol! binge drinkin at home is bad but drinking a ****load until 3am in a pub/club is somehow grand!!

Buy them from Tesco then for your pub then?:confused: Find a supplier that offers a better price!

A: they have quantity limits
    B: the country would then accuse us of being tax cheats, even if it was done legally!
    C: Supplier prices only vary a few cents on most occasions.
    D: I would love to buy out a tesco completely of alcohol and when they restock - Do it again, then again, then again, They would soon learn a big lesson, but they obviously wont let it happen. Would be funny tho.

Your right, but still missing the point.

The pub has to deal with (I hate saying this but it is THE DECIDING factor) running costs that are just unsustainable to most - If I can get away from megapubs and clubs for a moment and concentrate on rural and small village/town pubs the price they currently charge is probably still not enough to "grow" a business (it may get them by) meaning currently - they need to sell volume at their current price, not volume at a lower price.

Just to say that the miller you buy for 24btls at €20 in tesco will cost the publican about €35 from a supplier - the gaps are bigger than you imagine.

35 for a crate thats a lie or your just stupid

skelliser wrote: »
    The only good thing the PD's ever offered was McDowells plan to introduce a cafe bar license.
    Even back then he had the insight to realise that drinking trends in ireland where changing.

But of course the VFI/FF cartel quickly ended this innovative idea in favour of keeping their nice little earner going.

You reap what you sow!

If the vintners are struggling then they should lobby more to reduce rates as opposed to keepinf there inflated prices.

Why is this VFI/FF Thing creeping in? Who exactly are you referring to??

And I suppose the de-regulation of the taxi licences was a good idea for those who had shed hundreds of thousands on their plates too?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Just so you know it costs €600 per month for a sky subscription for a pub.

I cancelled mine this morning, meaning I will now not be able to offer the sports coverage alot of my customers demand. further reducing patrons, further pushing me towards the door.

Remarket your pub as something different to the rest of them. There's a huge number of people who want a pub where they can have a quiet chat. If your place gets a reputation for that, then more people will come. I was in Ranelagh some time back and I went into numerous pubs with a friend looking for a place to have a chat. None existed. I feel no pity for publicans who refuse to think outside the box and give us alternatives.

TVs in pubs are so late twentieth century. A pub should be about great craic, meeting interesting people and most of all having great, great chats with friends and family. It's a long time since the average soccer/tv/noise-saturated pub has been this in Ireland.

35 for a crate thats a lie or your just stupid

Prove me wrong? And im not lying or stupid!

Why is this VFI/FF Thing creeping in? Who exactly are you referring to??

And I suppose the de-regulation of the taxi licences was a good idea for those who had shed hundreds of thousands on their plates too?

Tell me how many FF TD's are publicans?
    Val Hanley? what party is he a member off?

Why where the plates so expensive??
    Tell me why before derugulation could a guy who drives a car make over 100k a year?

Dionysus wrote: »
    Remarket your pub as something different to the rest of them. There's a huge number of people who want a pub where they can have a quiet chat. If your place gets a reputation for that, then more people will come. I was in Ranelagh some time back and I went into numerous pubs with a friend looking for a place to have a chat. None existed. I feel no pity for publicans who refuse to think outside the box and give us alternatives.

TVs in pubs are so late twentieth century. A pub should be about great craic, meeting interesting people and most of all having great, great chats with friends and family. It's a long time since the average soccer/tv/noise-saturated pub has been this in Ireland.

Alot of people go to pubs to watch the match and have the craic with rival supporters and enjoy the game - the TV doesnt have to be blaring either and in my own situation there are plenty of nooks and cranny's where you have no tv or speakers and can enjoy a private, quiet chat.

You cannot blame a pub for catering for the majority (which at big match times are the supporters). But most pubs do have a quiet corner in fairness.

So you believe that the VFI (or IVF as you call it) do not try to bring Prices down from the source?? You have very little knowledge of the industry im afraid. and that is not meant to be slanderous.

Reducing overheads - You also have never heard a vfi representative calling for a reduction in rates???

Im sorry but i you have no real knowledge of whats going on if you believe this. Again im not trying to have a go at you but.... well.... your talking out your a**e

I never claimed to know anything about the pub trade, however I do know a little about business. I have run my own business for the last ten years and despite 70% of my competitors going out of business in the last 5 years, I'm still operating & doing very well. In fact, I expanded it on 2010.

I managed to do this by changing how we operate, by adjusting our business plan & business model to suit the current market place.

The pubs are failing because they haven't done the same. That's simple economics. Calling for protectionist measurements is clear evidence that your industry federation - the VFI, or whatever the fuck they are called - are incompetent and inept.

And instead of recognising that problem & addressing the real reasons why your & your competitors businesses are failing, instead of opening your mind to suggestions from other business owners as to how to address your problems - you seem more content to invest your energies into calling my posts "moronic", calling me a "hypocrite" and telling me that I'm talking through my arse.

Well, that's where I will leave this discussion, because it is clear that you are incapable of having a debate without resorting to name calling.

And it is pointless trying to discuss business sense with you as you have clearly not even learned the first & most basic rule of any business - which is to be nice to those you meet on the way up as you are just as likely to meet them on the way down.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

They can go and feck off.

These days I only go to a pub/club around once a month.
    House parties are so much better.

3.50 a pint should be the average price.

Prove me wrong? And im not lying or stupid!

well i cant understand how a case of beer would almost 100% more expensive in carlow in 2011 than sligo in 2006/2007 so i think you are lying .
    if you can get a case in tesco for 20 and your paying 35 well then you are stupid,(i wouldnt want you running my business anyway)

Tell me how many FF TD's are publicans?
    Val Hanley? what party is he a member off?

Why where the plates so expensive??
    Tell me why before derugulation could a guy who drives a car make over 100k a year?

Tell me how many Labour/FG/Greens are publicans - its probably proportionate to the party td's but If you dont know then dont post your opinion, but if you do state the fact, Just because Val has a political stance doesnt mean the orgaisation he was formerly president of had to adopt that stance aswell. Val was put in place because of his knowledge and business background which lead him to having numerous pubs and hotels - If you think he was elected president because he's FF then i dont know what to tell you!!

well i cant understand how a case of beer would almost 100% more expensive in carlow in 2011 than sligo in 2006/2007 so i think you are lying .
    if you can get a case in tesco for 20 and your paying 35 well then you are stupid,(i wouldnt want you running my business anyway)

Attack the post not the poster, but as you seem to be attacking me then lets go.

The price for a returnable case of heineken not including bottle/case rental is around €35. I CAN prove this to you. That is the supplier price to all publicans.

And I would'nt work for you - you couldnt afford me!

The price in tesco is being sold at below cost you twat!

Goodbye & good riddance.

Apologies - got my back up. I'll remove!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

kfallon wrote: »
    I would put it to you that more people in this country play football (5 a side or 11 a side) each day/week than rugby, explain that if there are more rugby lovers!

Er, and of course these people make up the majority in Ireland? :confused:
    Dwaegon was spot-on: he was giving out that even if he wants to go to a pub to watch his favoured sport, all the average publican will show is British soccer. I'd have no interest in having any sport or any tv in any pub I go to, but I can see his point.

You appear to be seriously deluded about the popularity of British soccer in Ireland if you think it's anything like a majority interest. It's firmly a minority interest. It's only the constant thump-thumping of British channels into the little heads of soccer supporters which gives the impression that all of Ireland is interested in that commercialised incessantly-overhyped nonsense masquerading as "sport". The people who get all into it and bore the rest of us to tears with the latest goings-on of some overpaid soccer player are sad little shítehawks of the highest order. Once again: we're not interested in your silly little "sport" so please stop insisting that it should be rammed into our ears, eyes and conversation in every pub in Ireland.

Apologies - got my back up. I'll remove!

Too late. I've already reported it.

If you can't hold a civil debate without abusing people, you shouldn't be posting here.

It's not 4chan.

Too late. I've already reported it.

If you can't hold a civil debate without abusing people, you shouldn't be posting here.

It's not 4chan.

He called me stupid :mad:

And we were - but being accused of being a liar when I am not on 2 occasions gets you a little upset. I am explaining something i am very aware of and I am being shot down by someone who clearly isnt. As I said, my apologies.

no greens are publicans
    no one on the labour front bench is a publican

listen, stop trying to control the market. you are trying and are failing.
    But sure FF have done the same with the banks and NAMA.
    Why stop there, sure destroy the country further.

People simply cannot afford the price of pints anymore. Introducing a minimun price will only result in people buying less in the supermarket. It certainly wont drive them in droves to the local! GET REAL!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Tesco should also charge a minimum price for food - after all, how are restaurants supposed to compete?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,250 ✭✭✭Elessar

The day the pub trade dies in Ireland is the day hell freezes over.

no greens are publicans
    no one on the labour front bench is a publican

listen, stop trying to control the market. you are trying and are failing.
    But sure FF have done the same with the banks and NAMA.
    Why stop there, sure destroy the country further.

People simply cannot afford the price of pints anymore. Introducing a minimun price will only result in people buying less in the supermarket. It certainly wont drive them in droves to the local! GET REAL!

I never said it would? We are not trying to control the market - just make it fair.

BTW how many FF are publicans? I actually dont know!

goose2005 wrote: »
    Tesco should also charge a minimum price for food - after all, how are restaurants supposed to compete?

Not going there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭hsi

There was always way to many pubs in Ireland. In my small down of about 800 people there were 12 pubs!! 12, I think 2 closed but 10 is still too much. Some serve no food and have no live music. Personally I think pubs are a thing of the past, but some do make an effort.

I never said it would? We are not trying to control the market - just make it fair.

Tell me how was closing the offies an hour earlier fair?
    all those people lost an extra hours pay and no doubt sales in the busiest time of day, not to mention vat and excise for the exchequer.

In the same time i didnt see the price of a pint go down!