Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Singing lessons / vocal training Galway

• 03-01-2011 10:46pm
    Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭

Hey guys,

There are a few threads on this topic but all well out of date.

Anyone know the story with voice training in Galway?

• Registered Users Posts: 529 ✭✭✭eagle10

• Registered Users Posts: 829 ✭✭✭MattKid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭philbo

MattKid wrote: »

plus one on this. she's great.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,968 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

No idea what she's like, but http://helenwebb.com/ is another option.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭inisboffin

OP just to clarify, is it voice training for singing or for speech and drama? I know musicians who do the former privately and reasonably and also theatre folk who do the latter. There is also a guy who does voice training workshops for radio ads! Pm me if you want any contacts.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭wet-paint

I'll add in another vote for Michel Durham, she's fantastic. By far and away the best in town. Aye she works with theatre folk, public figures, company executives etc on public speaking, confidence, composure, body position etc, but it's mostly with singers she works with. She's qualified out the ying yang with degrees from prestigious universities, and is a treat to work with.

Highly recommended, but often busy, as she's that popular.

Yes, great reports from the pros about Michel's work. She's pricey, busy but good value for a high level. Depends on your budget OP and what you need from training. A lot of excellent pros do voice work as a nixer, so charge a bit less as they don't have overheads like advertising etc, and it's just word of mouth. If it's for pro level, tho, be prepared to shell out a bit more with the top folks.

• Registered Users Posts: 829 ✭✭✭MattKid

The reason Michel is more expensive is because of her approach, it's not have a lesson each week, it have a lesson and go away and work on it, come back when you are ready for the next lesson, rather than keep going back each week to just practice what we did last week thing.

So you tend to go back every 3 weeks or so so, making it cheaper than a weekly lesson approach

MattKid wrote: »
    The reason Michel is more expensive is because of her approach, it's not have a lesson each week, it have a lesson and go away and work on it, come back when you are ready for the next lesson, rather than keep going back each week to just practice what we did last week thing.

So you tend to go back every 3 weeks or so so, making it cheaper than a weekly lesson approach

Any good coach should have you work that way IMO. You use your voice every day, and every day is an opportunity to use what you have learned. I have recommended people to Michel as she is very good, but as mentioned she is busy and charges a higher but fair fee, as this is her primary profession. There are others with parallel training who do coaching as nixers, therefore don't need to charge as much. One friend of mine who gigs used Michel, but they even write off coaching as a tax expense, so a coach with a website is better for them in that case.

If OP is on a lower budget they may want to ask around. If it's a time sensitive thing then, as I agreed earlier, Michel is very reputable.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭galwaybabe

Yet another vote for Michel here. She is brilliant and very professional

• Registered Users Posts: 570 ✭✭✭stevecrow74

just seen this posted on facebook
    http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=178337588864997
    Time
    Sunday, January 9 · 3:00pm - 6:30pm
    Location Kelly s Pub, Galway
    Created By
    Galway Voice Studio, Cathal Jack, Andres Martorell
    More Info
    Sunday 9th January - Kelly s Galway - 15.30 to 18.30

Join Us and learn the Basic of Speech Level Singing technique.

The technique used by over 120 grammy winner in USA, including Stevie Wonder, Michael jackson, Ray Charles, Kelly Clarkson, Barbra Streisand, Michael Bolton, Amy Lee (evanescence) and many more...

This workshop is Free.

more info at 0860693518 or gvoicestudio@gmail.com
    www.gvoicestudio.com

• Registered Users Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

^^^^
    Nice one. Seems to be the only productive post in the Galway Forum tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭Miss Informed

Inisboffin, it's for singing. Guys thanks for the advice, I've emailed Michel Durham and she replied with an out of office reply, so she should get back to me after the 8th.Stevecrow, thanks a million for that info, there's no way I would've heard about it otherwise. Definitely going there. :)

Guys a friend of mine has recomended a lady named Martina Flaherty who teaches in a music school in Loughrea and also in St. Marys school in Galway. Anyone heard of her?

Yes! She was one of the people I was thinking of when I first posted. She is also a great singer herself. She is based outside the city but think she does tuition stuff in town sometimes too. Lovely woman.

Didn't realise that she (Martina Flaherty) also has a website. She also does speech level tuition (the same method as the freebie taster on Sunday). A singer friend went to Martina, and her prices are very competitive, they're listed on her site. Follow your instinct if all the teachers are reputable. You'll likely learn most from someone you click with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭MiniSquish

There's a woman called Lucia Evans that does Singing Lessons. She's really good, she was in The Galway Musical Soceity. I'm not sure how to contact her but I'd say she has a facebook page. I saw her ad in the paper before. Her prices don't seem too dear.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

MiniSquish wrote: »
    There's a woman called Lucia Evans that does Singing Lessons. She's really good, she was in The Galway Musical Soceity. I'm not sure how to contact her but I'd say she has a facebook page. I saw her ad in the paper before. Her prices don't seem too dear.

Lucia's contact number can be found here

She's a SLS teacher too though.

wet-paint wrote: »
    She's a SLS teacher too though.

'though'?

Do you not approve of SLS? Just asking, not being funny :)

What I mean is that a lot of people here mentioned are SLS teachers, so they're all essentially selling the same product, AFAIK they've all been taught by yer man Martell.
    So if you're choosing where to go, keep that in mind.

What I mean is that a lot of people here mentioned are SLS teachers, so they're all essentially selling the same product, AFAIK they've all been taught by yer man Martell.
    So if you're choosing where to go, keep that in mind.

Ah fair enough :) I hear you, but I'd agree and disagree. While all the SLS people would have certification in that style, at least one on here has trained in other schools too.

A lot of people place big empahsis on certification, so a lot of musicians just pick a certain school or style under which they are accredited. I think most people who study voice have been exposed to various teachings (kind of like musicians being able to play different styles, but specialising in one).
    Most good teachers will always make their lessons their own, and tailor it to each student. I'd guess even each SLS teacher would have differences, and again, often it is which person you click with most, that can teach you most IMO :)

Anyone go to the session at Kellys?

Just to add, I realised when I last posted that it was still on in Kelly's! I said feckit and decided to be an intrepid reporter for the craic :)
    I popped in for the second part and found the guy to be very concise and a good communicator. I'd say he's a solid teacher, and smart move giving a free workshop, (as he'll definitely get clients from it I'd say). Another musician who gigs a lot around Galway and is also a teacher, was there with him. Their demos were simple and effective, even in that short time. I was impressed!

(and no, I have no professional affilation with him or SLS!) :p

The workshop was brilliant, guy seemed to know what he was talking about and seemed like someone you could get on with easily..

Just to complicate things, another friend of mine has now recommended two other people; Pat Lillis and Carol Duffy. Anyone heard of these guys?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭Eviledna

AFAIK Pat Lillis (who is a woman) is retired, which is a pity because she was brilliant.

I have seen friends go through both SLS and more traditional methods of training and I've got to throw in my vote for the traditional methods.
    IMO, Michael in the Durham Voice Studio is by far the best in town and is so down to earth and qualified. She aproaches training by looking at the whole picture, and her knowledge seems to know no bounds.

TBH, I always got the creeps from the SLS crowd. It seems like the scientology of voice training, and the results from it have always underwhelmed me. There is alot of money needed to attain your "qualifications" to become an SLS teacher and it seems that many students tend to end up teaching also, as opposed to performing. Just always got that pyramid vibe from it.

Having experienced many voice tutors around the country, the SLS method is not well respected, certainly in classical and traditional circles. Anything that claims results without having to put the work in over time is fool's gold. If you want an excellent voice you have to work hard. There is no quick fix, just like everything else! :)

Eviledna wrote: »
    AFAIK Pat Lillis (who is a woman) is retired, which is a pity because she was brilliant.

I have seen friends go through both SLS and more traditional methods of training and I've got to throw in my vote for the traditional methods.
    IMO, Michael in the Durham Voice Studio is by far the best in town and is so down to earth and qualified. She aproaches training by looking at the whole picture, and her knowledge seems to know no bounds.

TBH, I always got the creeps from the SLS crowd. It seems like the scientology of voice training, and the results from it have always underwhelmed me. There is alot of money needed to attain your "qualifications" to become an SLS teacher and it seems that many students tend to end up teaching also, as opposed to performing. Just always got that pyramid vibe from it.

Having experienced many voice tutors around the country, the SLS method is not well respected, certainly in classical and traditional circles. Anything that claims results without having to put the work in over time is fool's gold. If you want an excellent voice you have to work hard. There is no quick fix, just like everything else! :)

I hear what you are saying about the SLS structure itself, it did come across to me initially as quite (forgive the comment my US friends!) 'Corporate and American'. But saying that, I'd disagree about it being respected, in that I know a good few professional musicians who used it and swear by it here (Their US list of musicians who regularly use it is impressive). Anyone I know who does it seem to take it with a grain of salt (the corporate stuff) as the methods used are very simple and do work. I don't think there is an SLS 'crowd' as much as is perceived. I am surprised you say the classical and traditional communities don't respect it, as at the free thing yesterday there were representations from both groups that regularly take classes with the SLS teachers. Basically they seem to have taken a lot of the Bel Canto school and formulated a lot of it into a very simple system that can be accredited.

I know you are saying it costs a lot to be a teacher, but what I LIKE about that system (and I only fully understood it after going yesterday)is that *each year* the teachers themselves are reassessed on their own standards. But most importantly, their *own students* are part of the assessment. I think that's brilliant. We all know people who are very talented and have qualifications up the wazoo, but it is being able to translate that into a teachable thing that is the other half of the equation. I was really impressed with the guy yesterday in particular.
    The reverse of what you mentioned, is that a lot of performers end up teaching, and just because they are brilliant, doesn't mean they can translate that into teaching. It's hit and miss with some.

The people I know who went to Michel for example, ALL rave about her, but I don't think they would necessarily call her teaching 'traditional', as she also tailors various schools to suit. She's got a great reputation (as she IS great), but that doesn't mean that she or ANY teacher is the best fit for everyone. The folks I know who practice SLS are all gigging musicians and part of what I found impressive is the sustainability in a working environment that they attribute a lot to their SLS training.

I guess I am posting this because it seems like there is a cheese and onion/salt and vinegar thing going on here :) (bad analogy, as I have a preference!!) but what I mean is that I don't think it is so black and white. I think that whatever 'traditional', 'mid' or 'progressive' school you use, it is down to factors like professional qualification, life experience, teaching ability, and how often you go OR practice (this can be affected by location and cost for sure). It is whatever works best for YOU.

You are of course right, Eviledna, and hard work and practice are absolutely the way to go. I'd agree about a quick fix too, and would avoid anyone who endorses that.

inisboffin wrote: »
    You are of course right, Eviledna, and hard work and practice are absolutely the way to go. I'd agree about a quick fix too, and would avoid anyone who endorses that.

Actually, now that you mention it, I do remember seeing ads in I think the advertiser, from one of those SLS teachers, can't remember who, selling their wares in the vein of "So you want to be a Popstar," and that turned me off it hugely.

It would turn me off too :) but then again so does a lot of daft advertisement for a product that is actually ok:p.
    It seems like I have shares in SLS, the fact I keep posting, but the point that I am reiterating is that it is just a method that *individual* teachers utilise as their primary method, along with other stuff that they find useful.

We could pick other 'schools' and tar a good teacher mentioned on here with 'one of them Linklater' or 'one of them Alexander teachers' did so and so. I've had a well dodgey experience with an 'Alexander practitioner' when in college years ago, but I don't assume all that practice the same!

There seems to bit of a witch hunt on here about 'SLS', and it seems the voice community is divided on it, but all I'd say is ask people you trust, go meet the person, and trust your instinct, as opposed to generalities.

Now if the ad had said, do you want to be a popstar with street cred, then maybe...:p