Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Student Union Elections 2011

• Registered Users Posts: 12,612 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Have to agree with previous poster. Lacey and Danaher would just be the same old ****e.

Accosted that Brendan guy in ucd, and he actually has some good ideas which he promised to put in the manifesto,be interesting to see what makes it in!:)

could you explain just why Danaher, who has never had an su role, is more of an su hack then the current womens officer and current vice sec of welfare crew?

you don't need to explain why you'd vote for either rachel or regina more. those candidates are very good, and have perks that may in your opinion make them better, but saying danaher is more of a hack is just so unbelievably unfair. you have no idea what her opinions or ideas are, you just think that because her bf is involved she has no original ideas? you sir, shouldn't get a vote.

btw the same goes for lacey, like sure he's been a rep, but emma has been a rep and pro. lacey did a good job as sports officer. so what if he's been around a while, is this the only job that experience counts against you???

guys start being reasonable, none of these candidates, none of the 16 would be running if they didn't care, atleast grant them the respect of reading what they had to write and listening to what they have to say.

im as happy as anyone to see brendan running running from a reform agenda, and lorcan running with his slightly crazy socialist stance. but the amount of assumptions on here perpatrated as if they're the truth would turn anyone away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Eager_Beaver

could you explain just why Danaher, who has never had an su role, is more of an su hack then the current womens officer and current vice sec of welfare crew?

You clearly know Danaher, so ill ask you this, have you ever seen her out without SU friends? Ive been with her walking into gigs,meetings etc. Shes never paid a penny or queued. Her boyfriend gives her perks enjoyed by him by his higher up SU pals.SHE IS EVERYTHING THAT THE SU CLIQUE DENIES HAPPENS. I have to say, i actually like her as a person, but she would be the same old ****e! And im not saying any candidates for that role are good,actually quite the opposite, but you asked me to explain why i wouldnt want a couple as 2 of the officers?! Seriously?!!!

you have no idea what her opinions or ideas are, you just think that because her bf is involved she has no original ideas? you sir, shouldn't get a vote.

i know some of her views, which if you also know, differ from the other candidates in what major way? nada... and saying i shouldnt get a vote, need i even respond..

btw the same goes for lacey, like sure he's been a rep, but emma has been a rep and pro. lacey did a good job as sports officer. so what if he's been around a while, is this the only job that experience counts against you???

What did Lacey achieve as sports officer? a post created for him by his mates...

lorcan running with his slightly crazy socialist stance.[/QUOTE]

Couldnt agree more,should be funny

*apologies for any typos,rushing :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 peas

while they are kinda mad, u got to admire lorcan and suzanne. they knwo they can't win but they run to raise their issues! Theres alot to be said for that. (im nto saying i in anyway support them or their issues, just saying i think in a way its admirable)

Not problem with Suzanne, genuinely believes in what she says.

Lorcan.. saw him throw a lump of wood at the Gardai during the student protest and then had the neck to claim him and his crew were assualted... would love to see him and the gaurd he hit find themselves in a dark alleyway..

oh dear... well can't argue much with that....i like enthusiasm but thats just the other end of the spectrum!!! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Sanchez13

Smurph89 wrote: »
    I've heard Regina Brady has a good shot at welfare. She was the women's officer apparently and sure she must have been good with all the women running for once

smooth. . .haha, cant believe you went there. . . . please dont make me laugh.

If your campaigning for her fair enough spin it that way but dont lead readers to belive you've any other intention. . . . apparently

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Georgie1989

Sanchez13 wrote: »

Darcy doesnt really instill confidence in that he avoided two elections due to competition. Heard he was close to pulling out again this year but a high profile name who I wont name decided against running at the last minute.

Long time reader, first time poster.

You have to be pretty stupid to make a comment like that. I can't believe no one else has caught you up on that.

I am a hack, I won't deny it BUT the thing with hacks is they have the best experience for the jobs. Darcy has been in ents for 5 years now and if that doesn't put confidence in you alone, maybe this will: he was running Rio's nightclub. He's also supported a number of winning candidates. Darcy is obviously the man with the plan. 5 years in ents - he knows the show like.

Secondly, Darcy not running for ents is not a show of cowardice as you are hinting unscrupulously, like. He didn't run for the f*cking positiong, because he was most likely concentrating on other things like college like, or f*cking Rio's!!!!!! like. In those two years he decided not to run he gained serious experience that other candidates won't have. He ran a nightclub, what has anyone else done, like??????

Darcy is quite clearly the best candidate out there and I don't know how you can say you've no confidence in him just because he didn't run for election. I mean Brian Cowen didn't run in the last election, does that mean nobody had any confidence in him, like? NO, people have loads of confidence in him, he just decided he had other responsibilities - like his family - which is just like Darcy who wanted to get on other things.

Case closed. vote Darcy.

You have to be pretty stupid to make a comment like that. I can't believe no one else has caught you up on that.

I am a hack, I won't deny it BUT the thing with hacks is they have the best experience for the jobs. Darcy has been in ents for 5 years now and if that doesn't put confidence in you alone, maybe this will: he was running Rio's nightclub. He's also supported a number of winning candidates. Darcy is obviously the man with the plan. 5 years in ents - he knows the show like.

Secondly, Darcy not running for ents is not a show of cowardice as you are hinting unscrupulously, like. He didn't run for the f*cking positiong, because he was most likely concentrating on other things like college like, or f*cking Rio's!!!!!! like. In those two years he decided not to run he gained serious experience that other candidates won't have. He ran a nightclub, what has anyone else done, like??????

Darcy is quite clearly the best candidate out there and I don't know how you can say you've no confidence in him just because he didn't run for election. I mean Brian Cowen didn't run in the last election, does that mean nobody had any confidence in him, like? NO, people have loads of confidence in him, he just decided he had other responsibilities - like his family - which is just like Darcy who wanted to get on other things.

Case closed. vote Darcy.

He ran Rios? I dont know a single student who has ever been there,and he took time out of college to do that? Bravo.

How many clubnights was Johnny running in the last few years,a clubs that he packed out every night?

Running a nightclub over going to college is not something to be hugely proud of, and you know damn well he backed down because the candidates in the last few years have been far better.

To put it briefly, if Heffo had decided to run instead of continuing his degree, he would have wiped the floor with him!

this isn't a dig, but didn't darcy run rios into the ground? and get fired?

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭Offside

I mean Brian Cowen didn't run in the last election, does that mean nobody had any confidence in him, like? NO, people have loads of confidence in him, he just decided he had other responsibilities - like his family - .

I'm sorry is that a joke?? Barely anyone had any confidence in Cowen!!

To put it briefly, if Heffo had decided to run instead of continuing his degree, he would have wiped the floor with him!

Oh here we go, Heffo didn't run because he wanted to finish his degree like, whereas Darcy didn't run because he was afraid of the other candidates. Why isn't it the other way round, like has been claimed for Darcy? Heffo probably didn't run because he knew Darcy was like.

At least keep the logic cohesive, or does this prove my point that Darcy not running had nothing to do with the other candidates???????

heffo would have walked it...

to the last few previous posts!!

We all kno Heffo would have strolled it, you have to be seriously dillusional to think any different.

Ye Darcy does have serious experience. . that much is unarguable. . sadly it comes at a price.

Number1: Darcy ran Rio's into the ground, a publicly known fact, soon. Funny you brought that up. . . Even though I wouldnt be a fan of his I would have never stooped that low. So serious mental pat on the back to Stephen for destroying the reputation of what was a busy, profitable nightclub!! They sacked him as the ship was sinking, Rio's RIP!

Number2: He's been doing an arts degree for what 5 years now?? What actual age is he!! If he's been biding his time gathering experience, he may have waited a winter too many, bit long in the tooth considering the average first year is what, 17, 18, and this is a serious pecentage of the market that ENTS is directed at.

Number3: He ran away from Mike Pat when he ran, he ran away from Jonny Cosgrove when Jonny ran, he would have jibbed this year if Heffo ran. Fact

Personally ive met the guy a couple of times and he's not a bad bloke, maybe im being a bit harsh, but those previous comments directed at what I said riled me up. I really believe that Darcy is a good ENTS crew member, and a good background organiser and stuff, but anything higher up. . . . I dont think so.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

Darcy has been in ents for 5 years now and if that doesn't put confidence in you alone, maybe this will: he was running Rio's nightclub. He's also supported a number of winning candidates. Darcy is obviously the man with the plan. 5 years in ents - he knows the show like.

While I think he could be a reasonably good Ents officer, your facts are incorrect.

Regarding Rios (now called NV) he was let go by the management after only a few months, over which time the club closed down. I wouldn't highlight "running Rios" as a plus in this case as it was quite obviously a total failure resulting in the closing down of the club.

Incidentally, many previous SU officers, Ents or otherwise have ran nightclubs and nightclub nights (the job title is usually "nightclub promotor"). In many cases, they continue to run nightclub events during their employment as SU officers, at times making money from the SU by using their own nightclub nights as SU nights. I would therefore regard any affiliation with particular nightclubs or continuing to work as a promotor during an SU position as a negative.

Regarding not running in the last two elections, I can't comment on two years ago, but I was informed by several people in his camp last year that the reason he did not run was out of respect to Johnny.

Again, I think he could do a good job as Ents officer, provided there was more transparency regarding remaining a nightclub promotor whilst working as Ents officer, which I regard as a clear conflict of interest, in his case or anyone elses.

I think we're all getting a bit sidetracked with 1.) the Rio's thing and 2.)Heffo running.

1.) There was a recession on, like. Hello? Businesses go out of business all the time when there is a recession on and its nobody's fault. You can't blame one man. Now that the recession is over, I'm sure if Darcy were to go back to Rio's, it wouldn't have to close down. But thats all by-the-bye, because what have the other ents candidates done that is on a comparable level? At least he's been considered for it and in my opinion he did a good job. It was just at the wrong time.

2.) Heffo probably stepped down because of Darcy. Darcy has been building up his contacts for 5 years. He has a lot of people on his side. Heffo probably thought he couldn't compete with that and decided to run next year. I'm arguing that if u guys are gonna argue Darcy waas afraid of Mike Pat and Johnny, like. Its all spilt milk under the fridge now anyway, because Heffo isn't running, DARCY IS!!!!!!!!!!! LIKE!

I'd also like to mention that yeah maybe Darcy has seen a few summers more than the rest of us. BBUT thats a good thing like. You don't really want a 19 year old runnign the shop, its a big boy's game. He's got life experience. And as you've probably said when you're standing outside a Loreto's school 'Age is only a number like'.

So don't be so inbredly stupid as to throw around his 5 years in UCD crack. Thats a really good thing, like.

1.) There was a recession on, like. Hello? Businesses go out of business all the time when there is a recession on and its nobody's fault. You can't blame one man. Now that the recession is over, I'm sure if Darcy were to go back to Rio's, it wouldn't have to close down. But thats all by-the-bye, because what have the other ents candidates done that is on a comparable level? At least he's been considered for it and in my opinion he did a good job. It was just at the wrong time.

There's still a recession on, and most night clubs didn't go under.

I'm actually starting to wonder are you out to ruin him? The points you're making make no sense and I think you're doing him more harm than good.

mloc wrote: »
    There's still a recession on, and most night clubs didn't go under.

I'm actually starting to wonder are you out to ruin him? The points you're making make no sense and I think you're doing him more harm than good.

Ruin him? What have I done??

How do my points make no sense? Everyone here is saying that Heffo would have won, but he dropped out for college. Yet people are also saying that Darcy didn't run the last 2 years because he was afraid of the other candidates. Their logic makes no sense and I've constantly tried to raise that point.

My other point is that Darcy has had some role in running a nightclub. I don't see any of the other candidates with anything like this on their resumes.

Finally Darcy has been on ents for 5 years. He's built up his contacts and he knows the ropes, like. And someone here is trying to say 5 years in UCD is bad??? Like, wtf??

And yet you'll attack me and say my points aren't clear. I feel like a broken record, like.

How do my points make no sense? Everyone here is saying that Heffo would have won, but he dropped out for college. Yet people are also saying that Darcy didn't run the last 2 years because he was afraid of the other candidates. Their logic makes no sense and I've constantly tried to raise that point.

My other point is that Darcy has had some role in running a nightclub. I don't see any of the other candidates with anything like this on their resumes.

Finally Darcy has been on ents for 5 years. He's built up his contacts and he knows the ropes, like. And someone here is trying to say 5 years in UCD is bad??? Like, wtf??

And yet you'll attack me and say my points aren't clear. I feel like a broken record, like.

I can't speak for Heffo, I don't know him. Who knows why he didn't run, it isn't relevant. He's not in the race. Darcy didn't run last year because Jonny did; that is the point.

Darcy did have some role in running a nightclub, I agree. Under his guidance, the nightclub went under. I don't accept the recession argument, most other clubs in the same demographic didn't go under. I fail to see how this is a strength; he took a job as a nightclub promotor, and resultantly, the nightclub went bust.

I think the 5 years in Ents thing isn't really a bad thing. It is a lot of experience, sure. I think what is more important than the time spent working with Ents is what someone achieved in that time, what their roles were and what ultimately they gained from it. Perhaps a silly analogy but someone who is a very good doctor is not necessarily qualified to run a hospital.

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭Offside

Darcy did have some role in running a nightclub, I agree. Under his guidance, the nightclub went under. I don't accept the recession argument, most other clubs in the same demographic didn't go under. I fail to see how this is a strength; he took a job as a nightclub promotor, and resultantly, the nightclub went bust.

And Rio's replacement, NV, is thriving by adapting to market conditions. Maybe he's learnt from the experience and it would make him a better ENTS officer, who knows? Simple promotions like offering free bottles of vodka for groups of ten+ and 2 for 1 drinks on Fridays - anytime I've been there it's been packed, and the 2 for 1 fridays deal is even being copied by other clubs like citibar. So if the club is now operating successfully, completely down to its promoter, it kinda means he must have failed with Rio's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭ya-ba-da-ba-doo

The years have shown that if it keeps being run by 'hacks' it will be the same mediocre ents that it was and is now.

Not to be taking a dig at him, but if he had been concentrating on college work i doubt he would still be in ucd. I didn't know about him and Rio's, but it can't be a good sign if the place got shut down. Also, as a poster said previously, we don't want another Ents officer that uses their position to increase numbers in their own nightclubs for their own benefit.

Case closed. vote Darcy.

I hope that's a joke, have you been living under a rock for the past few years?

I think we're all getting a bit sidetracked with 1.) the Rio's thing and 2.)Heffo running.

Where there is students there will be a demand for nights out. Also, I assure you that the recession isn't over. And I doubt he would be given another chance after what happened. It's a cut throat business and we need people to get it right first time.

How do my points make no sense? Everyone here is saying that Heffo would have won, but he dropped out for college.

Yet people are also saying that Darcy didn't run the last 2 years because he was afraid of the other candidates. Their logic makes no sense and I've constantly tried to raise that point.

I can't comment on the previous elections because I wasn't involved but i can see the logic in what people are saying; that he would have ran if he thought he would have got more support than the two previous ents officers, is that saying that this year if he is elected he will be a worse ents officer than the previous two?

Don't mean to be singling you out, but some of your comments are a bit ridiculous.

Offside wrote: »
    And Rio's replacement, NV, is thriving by adapting to market conditions. Maybe he's learnt from the experience and it would make him a better ENTS officer, who knows? Simple promotions like offering free bottles of vodka for groups of ten+ and 2 for 1 drinks on Fridays - anytime I've been there it's been packed, and the 2 for 1 fridays deal is even being copied by other clubs like citibar. So if the club is now operating successfully, completely down to its promoter, it kinda means he must have failed with Rio's.

I agree on this. It could have been a lesson, and made him more informed. You are right in noting, however, that under the guidance of another promoter, the same club is now very popular and doing very well.

Darcy did have some role in running a nightclub, I agree. Under his guidance, the nightclub went under. I don't accept the recession argument, most other clubs in the same demographic didn't go under. I fail to see how this is a strength; he took a job as a nightclub promotor, and resultantly, the nightclub went bust. QUOTE]

Imagine canvassing a 1st year, who well if ther from outside dublin would probably never have heard of Rio's, saying he did this, he did that, he ran Rio's. Sounds impressive at face value, but like we all know what happened.

Id like to know what Edel Ni Churraoin's manifesto will be like, little or nothing has been said about her on this thread. Think Ents will be the most entertaining race (oh the irony), followed by Welfare.

2.) Heffo probably stepped down because of Darcy. Darcy has been building up his contacts for 5 years. He has a lot of people on his side. Heffo probably thought he couldn't compete with that and decided to run next year.

Are you actually taking the piss???! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭pljudge321

I think the last few pages really highlights everything I hate about the SU and Ents in particular.

• Registered Users Posts: 28 Walnut.

pljudge321 wrote: »
    I think the last few pages really highlights everything I hate about the SU and Ents in particular.

Agreed, who's for RON!?!?

• Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭BDR

Sanchez13 wrote: »
    "He was concentraing on his ATHLETIC SCOLARSHIP"?? I may be wrong here but please, please and im begging you here tell me. . . did his scolarship extend along with his epic quest for an arts degree?

The debate isn't about how academically capable he is. It's whether he'll make a good Ents officer and the obvious answer is yes. Darcy has more experience than most of the candidates, as well as good contacts and he's an outgoing and friendly guy.

I met both Darragh and Stephen at the start of the year through friends and Stephen immediately introduced himself.
    It was probably the third time I was at a party with Darragh that I got to know him, and I had to approach him. Maybe it's not a big deal but I think whoever does gets Ents officer needs to be someone who you don't have to go out of your way to introduce yourself to.

I think the Ents race is going to be very close, no one has really mention Edel or Rob but they both have very strong campaign teams behind them and Rob also has a huge amount of experience.

Will be interesting to see the manifestos.

I agree that Stephen has an excellent personality in terms of running Ents. In terms of friendliness, I think he would be very well suited.

For me, personally, I think they key things I would look for in any candidate is focusing on making the SU more transparent and more orientated towards the students. I don't want someone who serves Ents well, I want someone who serves the students well. The SU works for the student body and as such, I'd like to see regularly published, easily accessible open accounts and fully vouched expenses for each member. I'd like to see an end to people profiteering from positions by running nights in nightclubs that they have an interest in. I'd like to see a union that is relevant to students, with more democracy and not just campaigns that follow a political agenda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

Belfield Boo has been banned, and his posts deleted. I've also pulled a few posts that were purely retorting to his.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,612 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Aine Gilhooley was eliminated today, her signature submission was around 40 seconds late, and the independent appeals board ruled that it was out.