Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arsenal -v- City, 19.45, SS2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Frisbee wrote: »
    We didn't hit the post three times. We hit it twice.

Walcott hit the post after being flagged offside, if he had scored it you wouldn't say it was 0-0 but we scored once.

Did he not hit the post off a rebound from the post? Don't remember him being flagged.

Forgive me for making an error please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,043 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

amacachi wrote: »
    Did he not hit the post off a rebound from the post? Don't remember him being flagged.

Forgive me for making an error please?

He was flagged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

After City's performance I cannot believe I was worried about this match. From an attacking perspective yes they were a disgrace and given the amount of cash they have flashed they played like they were Bolton (no offense to Bolton fans!) which if I was a city fan would be embarrassing.

It could be worse, we could have lost like Chelsea :)

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Jesus, I just checked the other results. Man United fans won't need any porn tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

Ah if we go on a run like 1998 I won't complain. Similar situation.

Chris Wreh come back! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Scuba Ste

Good result for us. Spurs lost, Chelsea lost, Arsenal drew and we're still second. You won't see me complaining about playing for a nil all at the Emirates.

I'm warming to Mancini more and more.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Scuba Ste wrote: »
    Good result for us. Spurs lost, Chelsea lost, Arsenal drew and we're still second. You won't see me complaining about playing for a nil all at the Emirates.

I'm warming to Mancini more and more.
    You're still 2nd....... and have played 2 more games than UTD, and one more than Arsenal.

How any city fan can be happy with that result is beyond me.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭CR 7

You're still 2nd....... and have played 2 more games than UTD, and one more than Arsenal.

They've just forgotten that you can do better than 2nd place.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭darsar

It's the bigger picture. As Roberto said himself, 10 points from 4 games in 10 days. Very happy with that. When a team are battering you all you can do is defend good and that we did.

You're still 2nd

Yeah I know, I said that.

Since when did a draw away to Arsenal become a bad result. We're still above them, happy days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

I can't see myself watching too many remaining City games, with maybe the exception of the derby.

Watching them is comparable to having a bag of **** poured over your face.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

The inferiority complex that many City fans have about going for the league is strange to me!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Yeah I know, I said that.

Since when did a draw away to Arsenal become a bad result. We're still above them, happy days.
    If you're aiming for 2nd place, then you should be happy.

If you want to win the title, then you should not be happy, because you took a step backwards this evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Well earned point away from home with Hart, Tevez and Woodwork all superb. Great being amongst all the frustrated Gooners at full time :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭shano_88

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Well earned point away from home with Hart, Tevez and Woodwork all superb. Great being amongst all the frustrated Gooners at full time :D

Did you celebrate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Fizman wrote: »
    I can't see myself watching too many remaining City games, with maybe the exception of the derby.

Watching them is comparable to having a bag of **** poured over your face.

They'll fix you up over in the United superthread.

A point at the Emirates is a good result no matter the performance,we have enough fans,we're not trying to win anyone over with champagne style football...we'll wait for Dzeko to arrive for that!

And I'm sure Mancini would have been looking at our next 3 league games against Wolves,Villa and Birmingham to get maximum points rather then tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Man of the match
    stock-photo-soccer-goal-post-705455.jpg

If you want to win the title, then you should not be happy, because you took a step backwards this evening.

I honestly don't believe we will win the league this year. And. I would be very happy to finish in the top four.

Since the Premier league was established only four teams have managed to win it so the people who believe that spending lots of money simply equals titles are naive. In the last few season's we have finished 15th, 14th, 9th, 10th and 5th and this year for the first time in decades we will, most likely, finish in the top four and play in the Champions League, which until last year was the seemingly exclusive right of only four clubs.

I also don't need to apologise for a lack of ambition because I don't lack it, and neither do any City fans, because we know top four is something to aim for and be proud of and we know that Champions League football will attract a lot more players, and, we know it's only a matter of when not if we win the league.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭Dr.Winston O'Boogie

Look its not pleasant viewing but a 0-0 away to a team who basically are your main rivals now United are cantering towards the trophy is a good result. I however don't agree with all this "defended great" stuff, we were pretty lucky not to concede with the woodwork doing us a massive favour. Fairly blessed I think overall, just like the Spurs away game but you can't fault the lads for effort. Could of also been 2/3-0 to Arsenal and there would be plenty of City fans having a go at Bob.

Dzeko will make a big difference for games like these, really give the attack a focal point and one that will hopefully give the defence a breather so looking forward to that element for the away trips to United and Chelsea.

Oh and I can't believe he sent Pablo off for getting butted!! What the hell.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭the untitled user

Since the Premier league was established only four teams have managed to win it so the people who believe that spending lots of money simply equals titles are naive.

And those 4 teams who won it?

United, who have the largest fan base in the world and who've consistently broken the British transfer record until the advent of Citeh and Chelsea.

Blackburn, bank rolled by Walker.

Chelsea, bank rolled by Ambramovich

Arsenal, well not bank rolled by anyone but they do have some of the richest fans in the world which means they are able to sustain a wage bill considerably higher than most other teams in the Prem, with the exception of United of course.

niallo24 wrote: »
    Oh and I can't believe he sent Pablo off for getting butted!! What the hell.

Was Zabaleta not sent off for the initial elbow to Sagna's face?

Disclaimer: not actually sure it was an elbow, but that's what I thought it looked like on my dodgy stream.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

0-0 is a bloody good result for City tonight in the circumstances of what happened elsewhere.

Even better for Utd though.

Thanks Bobby.:D

shano_88 wrote: »
    Did you celebrate?

God no. I was in the section beside the away fans so the abuse back and forth was relentless. No way was I localising the target.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭Dr.Winston O'Boogie

Was Zabaleta not sent off for the initial elbow to Sagna's face?

Disclaimer: not actually sure it was an elbow, but that's what I thought it looked like on my dodgy stream.

Didn't think so, his initial challenge didn't even look that bad but will have a second look now on MOTD!

Domo-kun wrote: »
    Why is there no City fans posting in the match thread?

I got up off my barstool for a change :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,137 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I got up off my barstool for a change :rolleyes:
    A strange game to go to. I admit I was thinking of you when I typed that because you usually are on but I thought this place was crawling with City fans.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

A strange game to go to. I admit I was thinking of you when I typed that because you usually are on but I thought this place was crawling with City fans.

There's only a handful of us on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭SDTimeout

Regardless of such a display of negative football, something which really kills the good of watching the match. What i wouldn't give for Arsenal to be able to totally kill and shut off a game like that.

There must be a lot of Liverpool fans that become temporary City fans just to wind up the United brigade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

A miserable display of football by City, some dirty dogged play frustrating a clearly superior team. I certainly wouldn't be proud to have to watch a team like that, let alone support them.

Christmas present before I go back to Australia next week so wasn't saying no.

A miserable display of football by City, some dirty dogged play frustrating a clearly superior team. I certainly wouldn't be proud to have to watch a team like that, let alone support them.

What a crock of sh*t. Every team puts in backs to the wall displays at times, some just do it more frequently than others. Points on the board is all that matters and I'm well proud of our current total. This 'holier than thou' bollox is just the latest flavour of the week to undermine City. The press have been at it for months and other fans are now firmly aboard the bandwagon. Funny thing is it just means we're doing something right.

The reason behind the criticism is that ye have a squad of players that are well capable of playing football, but sometimes just set out not to. You can't seriously be 100% happy with that, no more than I enjoyed our FA Cup win in '05? Good to win it and all, but I was seriously pissed off with the performance that afternoon!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Christmas present before I go back to Australia next week so wasn't saying no.

What did you think of The Emirates?

L'prof wrote: »
    The reason behind the criticism is that ye have a squad of players that are well capable of playing football, but sometimes just set out not to. You can't seriously be 100% happy with that, no more than I enjoyed our FA Cup win in '05? Good to win it and all, but I was seriously pissed off with the performance that afternoon!

See this is what other fans don't understand. You have the opportunity to pick and choose which trophy was nice to win and which wasn't. I couldn't give a flying f*ck right now how success comes as long as it does. Maybe after four or five I'll start to worry about performances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

I have no arguments with the result as an Arsenal fan. Should of won, could of ended the match after 10 minutes but we didn't score and we didn't win. City defended well, fair play to them. I think most of our squad as a unit has accepted that there is different ways to playing football.

Plus, we are getting better as a team. So its positive at the moment. Still in the race. Been out for it by now for a few times in the last 4-5 years.

OPENROAD wrote: »
    What did you think of The Emirates?

Fantastic stadium. Sure every seat is cushioned! Great view and the pitch was perfect. Super place to watch football.

See this is what other fans don't understand. You have the opportunity to pick and choose which trophy was nice to win and which wasn't. I couldn't give a flying f*ck right now how success comes as long as it does. Maybe after four or five I'll start to worry about performances.

It's not here yet, but ye'd really want to be getting a move on:

graphic.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

L'prof wrote: »
    It's not here yet, but ye'd really want to be getting a move on:

graphic.jpg

It will come.

karma_ wrote: »
    It will come.

Like I said, ye'd want to hurry up...not long left!

That projected increase in turnover is impressive :eek: Looks like they could be doing something right at least...

But look at the rate of wages increases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Everyone is focusing on how City restricted our chances by parking the bus, but no one mentions how we restricted their chances by not letting them touch the ball in our half....
    Had Arsenal had a bit of luck and one of those off the post shots went in there would be no praise for City's defensive performance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Just came home on sky sports news and they were going on about time wasting over 8 minutes wasted through goal kicks, substitutes and whatever else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Just came home on sky sports news and they were going on about time wasting over 8 minutes wasted through goal kicks, substitutes and whatever else

Saw that too..........:D
    Wenger=Whinger........................always complaining bout something if it's not Stoke dirty players or Utd pitch.....blah, blah, blah and SSN will broadcast any auld tripe for the fans to get their teeth stuck into :rolleyes:

Happy with the point gained as we look to achieve this years objective of 4th place, anything else as already suggested is a bonus:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Jeez, good job for you that you aren't a City supporter then....................btw, who do you support as a matter of interest??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Bad point for Arsenal, good for City. Would've liked to have seen City attack a bit more.

Wasn't overly impressed by them given the players they have at their disposal.

Arsenal were good but trying to constantly pass through City's defence was getting tedious and was snuffed out every time.

I *really* hope City miss out on CL by 1 or 2 points after that ridiculous cowardly display last night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Lads, this City bashing is a bit ridiculous.

They played for a draw last night and got one. It doesn't make a difference how much money they've spent - its the outlook of their manager.

Instead of going gung-ho at every game, he seems to believe that if City don't give points to their contenders and use their squad to beat everyone else, they'll have a great chance of winning the league.

Calling it cowardly is way wide of the mark. it's just a different approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭ironbluedun

gosplan wrote: »
    Lads, this City bashing is a bit ridiculous.

They played for a draw last night and got one. It doesn't make a difference how much money they've spent - its the outlook of their manager.

Instead of going gung-ho at every game, he seems to believe that if City don't give points to their contenders and use their squad to beat everyone else, they'll have a great chance of winning the league.

Calling it cowardly is way wide of the mark. it's just a different approach.

calling it cowardly is the easy cheap thing to do, loads of people do it shooting from the hip without looking at the situation in hand. It was a great result and how many times have we heard that its results that count.