Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Thurs 13th - Dublin Docklands

• 05-01-2011 1:26pm
    Registered Users Posts: 424 ✭✭

Well here's the first photowalk of 2011.

Yes the Docklands have been done before - I organised a few last year - but going on my numbers last time (13) there is always somebody who wants to venture around there.

Anyway I was thinking of:
    Time: 7pm
    Date: Thursday 13th Jan
    Start: The Point
    Direction: Down to Samuel Beckett Bridge and back to Grand Canal Dock.

Can somebody confirm if Grand Canal Dock is private land? If I take photos can I sell them?

Who is welcome?
    Everybody! Even if you have a Point & Shoot or a film camera, are an amateur or Pro. Everybody is welcome.
    You will need a tripod, if you don't have one then say so here and someone may have a spare for you.

Register your interest here and I will DM you my mobile num nearer the date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭chevron

Will have defiantly try make it to this and drag my brother along to.
    we could use the experience of a photowalk with experienced photographers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,159 ✭✭✭frag420

I hope to have my new Canon 500d this weekend and would love to tag along. I wont have a tripod however. Will only have kit lens too but hope to learn something. I work across from the point so a bit of overtime in the office and then out for a few pics would be ideal,

THanx

frAg

• Registered Users Posts: 424 ✭✭SinisterDexter

Yes, please tell us what camera you use as we may have spare lenses to bring along. I have spare Olympus lenses.

What kit lens are you getting with it? I have a 17-85 and a 70-300.

The lovely Covey says for those who don't have a Tripod - he will teach you how to take great shots without one! <-- This may be a joke!

(it is):P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭sumsar

Count me in im inexperienced but this is just what i need right now i have a sony a200 with kit lense. I also have a tripod.

This will be my first photowalk and hopefully many more after.

Yes, please tell us what camera you use as we may have spare lenses to bring along. I have spare Olympus lenses.

What kit lens are you getting with it? I have a 17-85 and a 70-300.

IL know what lens when I pick it up on sat. I didnt know there were different kit lenses.

frAg

I could have gotten a 17-55 or 17-85. Depending on the shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,250 ✭✭✭pixbyjohn

Thanks Sinister Dexter,
    I wil join you all on this photowalk. Great to get out again :D
    I have a few spare cheapy tripods if anyone wants a loan.

Cant seem to find my tripod, (Possibly lost in the move during the week).
    May need a loan of one of them pixbyjohn.

Will confirm at the weekend.

Cheers
    Danny

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭pullandbang

Count me in too and I should have a spare tripod if MissusP&B isn't using it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,197 ✭✭✭kensutz

Will there be unicorns, swans and rainbows too?

There's a special breed of HDR swans on the Liffey.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,637 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Love to tag along. :)

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭bren2002

Room for a first timer?

bren2002 wrote: »
    Room for a first timer?

Of course, you are very welcome

• Registered Users Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭Cakes.

Yous should move this to Dundalk....

:P

pixbyjohn wrote: »
    Thanks Sinister Dexter,
    I wil join you all on this photowalk. Great to get out again :D
    I have a few spare cheapy tripods if anyone wants a loan.

il take you up on that offer cheers

frAg

always! - hmmm, never noticed the 2nd page.... but PixByJohn replied anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Yous should move this to Dundalk....
    :P

If your serious I would go up to Dundalk. It only 40minutes up the road. Maybe a photowalk in the Cooleys from Lordship some Sunday morning?????

Thanks Sinsterdexter for organising this. I enjoyed the one I was on last year. I hope to tag along and could probably bring a few along with me.

Pixbyjohn, kindly helping out again. Fair play to you both.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭Cakes.

LeoB wrote: »
    If your serious I would go up to Dundalk. It only 40minutes up the road. Maybe a photowalk in the Cooleys from Lordship some Sunday morning?????

Maybe when the weather gets better...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭pete4130

I'll be there with NooSixty. We'll both try to be as sober as possible ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Scamp-

I've never been on a photowalk.

Can you just turn up and look nervous?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 marcuscomedy

I'm with scamp on this one! dying to go, is there an numbers limit on the whole thing?

@ scamp & marcuscomedy - no limit on people and yes you can look nervous! Looking dodgy is reserved for me!

This is purely a way for you to get out and about with your camera, to places you might not have ventured too alone. While you're on the walk you will see and interact with others like you while they take shots you might not have thought of. If you have questions then there is a good chance that someone may have the answer - I just got my Canon and I know very little, I'll find another Canon user and ask questions.

Everybody, stop giving yourself excuses and sign up! :o)

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭Stevokenevo

Hi all - definitely up for this one.

Havent managed to get out and about for a walk since we went around the dodder/Aviva!

Thanks for organising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

Looking forward to this one. count me in :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭xia

Looks like a huge meetup! Anyhow, I'm in too and a friend. As she isn't sure if maybe her tripod still is in storage:
    John would you mind bringing another one with you, if available?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭T-rev

hope I can make this. Only a kit lens too with a canon 300D but have tripod. I'll confirm next week.

xia wrote: »
    Looks like a huge meetup! Anyhow, I'm in too and a friend. As she isn't sure if maybe her tripod still is in storage:
    John would you mind bringing another one with you, if available?

yes she can have 1, thats my 3 spares accounted for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,725 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

I'd be up for it if it isn't absolutely miserable out :p

Anybody have a spare tripod? it's still on my list of things to get :o

I'll be bringing my nikon d200, a 50mm 1.8 and a sigma 70-300, it'll be my first time doing any night shots, so don't expect much :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

Count me in unless something goes mad, hopefully drag the OH out too (she got a tripod for Christmas, no more sharing huzzah! ;))

Cheers Sinister for setting it up. :)

Cheers all. I remember last years docklands shoot, got some nice pics (including the photobook one) so fingers crossed for good weather!

Zo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

ME ME ME! I would love to go! I'm off Thursday! :)

I only have a little Canon Ixus but would love to hang out with a few pros and take a few snaps! :)

I don't have a tripod though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,393 ✭✭✭AnCatDubh

I only have a little Canon Ixus but would love to hang out with a few pros and take a few snaps! :)

Stick it into night mode, put it on a loaned tripod / gorilla pod / mono pod / the ground / a bench / a railing / or anything else that will keep it still and you'll be grand. Use self timer too - 2 second option to avoid any induced shake.

Seriously, don't be put off by having a P&S - a camera is a camera (albeit some will have more options than others). The purpose of the walk is to get out and meet - socialise with new people with a common interest. In my experience the forum folk and those who turn up at these events are really interesting individuals and nice folk all sharing a common interest. While you won't have as many settings with the Ixus to be figuring out, that could be an advantage :)

Can't make it myself folks. I will be busy turning another year that night (well technically earlier that day). I've been on a night time walk down this area previously and there are some gems of locations available. Have fun everyone, and post up the results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭DK32

I hope to be there. Looking like a good turn out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭foamcutter

If I can get away early I'll be there.

Where's the best place to park... on the quay? TIA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,393 ✭✭✭AnCatDubh

foamcutter wrote: »
    If I can get away early I'll be there.

Where's the best place to park... on the quay? TIA

Last time I went on such a walk starting at the point, ahem... O2... :) I used the multi-story attached to Jury's - costs a few euro. There's on street parking down that direction last I checked. If there's a gig on it will be mostly taken but you could be lucky. Multi story probably more secure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭foamcutter

Thanks AnCatDubh. I don't see an events at the O2 that evening so parking shouldn't be to bad. Cheers

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭JTER

Newbie here without a tripod but I would love to come along to learn some things, bought a 550d for myself for xmas . If there is a spare tripod going that would be great, waiting for payday at the end of month before getting one. Roll on the 27th!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭bigmanhole

Hope to make it myself, first timer aswell.

01.SinisterDexter
    02.Chevron + 1
    03.frag420
    04.sumsar
    05.Pullandbang
    06.OldGoat
    07.bren2002
    08.LeoB + ?
    09.pete4130
    10.NooSixty
    11.Scamp
    12.marcuscomedy
    13.Stevokenevo
    14.Swingking
    15.Xia + 1
    16.T-rev
    17.Stetyrrell
    18.Zoegh + 1
    19.Squeakyduck
    20.DK32
    21.Foamcutter
    22.Jter
    23.Bigmanhole
    24.Pixbyjohn
    25.Cork_Girl
    26.jam_mac_jam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,637 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

pixbyjohn wrote: »
    01.SinisterDexter
    02.Chevron + 1
    24.Pixbyjohn

I assume by this that Sinister is buying the first round, Chevron the second and third and so on.
    I notice that PixByJohn has put himself bottom on the list when the round will be at it's smallest. Forward planning. :D

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

01.SinisterDexter
    02.Chevron + 1 = sumsar
    03.frag420
    04.sumsar

haha.. nice try old goat.

blood , stone :pac:

Scary scary numbers!

I 'think' PixByJohn will tell you Jury's hotel Car Park closes at 10.... or is that a different car park I am thinking of?

Anyway. I was up at The Point on Sat evening and the ferris wheel 'Harry's Wheel' looked great in the dark. I foresee people, when they arrive, wanting to go and take some shots of it (this would quite easily take up 30 mins). I would prefer to stick to the original plan and move down the docklands at 7pm. So here is a solution!

ADD-ON TO ORIGINAL WALK!
    I will be at Harry's Wheel at 6:30pm. Allowing people to take photos for a half hour before meeting over beside the liffey at 7pm for the original walk.

On another note, it was bloody cold on the docks, wrap up well!

ADD-ON TO ORIGINAL WALK!
    I will be at Harry's Wheel at 6:30pm. Allowing people to take photos for a half hour before meeting over beside the liffey at 7pm for the original walk.

On another note, it was bloody cold on the docks, wrap up well!

Will try make it for 6.30 for sure.
    Im never near dublin city area for pictures so i know myself and sumsar will try make it for 6.30

Car Parking
    If Jury's hotel Car Park closes at 10.
    Is there any were some one would recommend for parking ?

Cheers
    Danny

I, myself, never have any problem with parking on the Docklands (and I have never heard of cars being damaged there, unless a car ran into them). Especially if there is nothing on in The Point (o2).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭Hecklar

Theres parking all along upper sheriff street (where FM104 is located) so you'll have no problem finding parking around there.

You should have no problems parking in Jurys though, Ive used that place before and it was open all night.

Hecklar wrote: »
    Theres parking all along upper sheriff street

If anyone is worried about parking in Sheriff Street - don't.
    It's not a problem, because no matter where you park your car in Dublin, it'll be in Sheriff Street when you get back :D

If anyone is worried about parking in Sheriff Street - don't.
    It's not a problem, because no matter where you park your car in Dublin, it'll be in Sheriff Street when you get back :D
    - Valid point! Might be in several parts though. :p

The Royal College of Surgeons car park have a great deal. If you prepay after 17.00 hrs it only costs €6 til 08.00 next morning. It might be too far to walk to the O2 from there but is an option.
    Yes Jurys closes at 22.00hrs unless there is a show at the O2. A fiver for the evening when I last used Jurys.
    The Quays are quite safe for parking usually and are free after 19.00hrs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Thecageyone

Would love to join in this, but I've no transport ... or money :(