Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Thurs 13th - Dublin Docklands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Scamp-

I'm more than likely going to be late.
    I need to get from Sandyford-Ranelagh-cycle to Sean O'Grady Bridge and walk to the Point.

Can someone PM me their number so I can track ye down.

(Although I'm sure 50 photographers won't be hard to miss).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭bren2002

Have to cry off too, something's come ITRW. Looking forward to seeing some results soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,250 ✭✭✭pixbyjohn

Mine will be luminous green :) Watch out for me! :) I'll watch out for you!

5353389818_3980033082_z.jpg
    DSC_2223 by pixbyjohn, on Flickr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Big thanks to Will for organising the walk, great to meet everybody.

A great night had by all, thank you Will/SinisterDexter. What a great group turned up and the weather was so mild. The drinks session in the Ferryman was super.
    5352788987_3c56f7c3fb_z.jpg
    DSC_2269 by pixbyjohn, on Flickr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭chevron

Thanks to will, We had a great turn out and a very enjoyable time.
    Also thanks to john for loaning me one of his tripods to enable me to attend and enjoy a great night walk.
    always good to be able to put faces to names :)

And heres one of my attempts of the night. no PP done. will have to get around to doing some on some pics.

A84478AEF0444565B151BDD973F2B2D9-0000328349-0002124146-00800L-C487C2A57F674602B7794F1CA5B0103E.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

I had a trip to Dentist this evening and after 2 sleepless nights just could not make it in.

Well done to Will and John for the help they give everyone. Will be at next one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭foamcutter

A great night, the weather was mild with plenty of togs out in force.
    Thanks Will for organising and to all the people that helped me out with tips, advice & things to think about. Sorry I couldn't stay for beverages ..... next time. Cheers

2558A412526E4C79A19C9EEEAED8B315-0000316072-0002124173-00800L-D5596B839E924DA5B4D784B216A633ED.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭sumsar

Brilliant night guy's. After that now I think it's time I got more active on this site.

Thanks Will for organising such a good night and good turn out everyone was good to talk to ya's, Now let's see the pictures!

DBE5AE550CF94BDF99D9FB774D325D46-0000327448-0002124179-00800L-63B0AA009FC54CD49CA8F5779D0C192B.jpg

7662484C93B64696A4E250662EA2CE9B-0000314346-0002124156-00800L-3E7358419EB3472EA44076A2F6C20C98.jpg

EFCF86FE13224B85A26513C87F40F939-0000314346-0002124158-00800L-7B9F0797CAA84FA399702CD1EA39E81C.jpg

F1A9E1DD533A483196C393CC76353CF2-0000314346-0002124159-00800L-AFE85428699F491A9120126BAD34EF6A.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,637 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Made the walk
    Missed the beers
    What a nice bunch of people. :)

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭T-rev

Raging I missed it, work took precedence. Ah well I'll hopefully make the next one. Nice shots border fox. Can you tell me what settings you used on the top two?

• Registered Users Posts: 820 ✭✭✭jaansu

I'm new to photography and new here.

Would have loved to joined you guys on the walk, it looks like it was a great night. Hopefully I'll be able to go on the next one.

T-rev wrote: »
    Raging I missed it, work took precedence. Ah well I'll hopefully make the next one. Nice shots border fox. Can you tell me what settings you used on the top two?

1st one is a three shot panoramic from a 5d with a 24mm tse lens using the shift setting left to right, Av f8 and around 20 second exposure for each shot.

2nd one is a 5d with a 24-70L @24mm shot in Av f8 cant remember the shutter speed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭eightcell

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,433 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Driving down North Wall last night I wondered what was going on.
    Glad ye got some decent weather for your event.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Thecageyone

Good night, Great to meet you all, anyone I chatted to was dead on :) Thanks to Borderfox for the lift, sound out.

May as well get my wheel in :D :

FD0C3432FFEC499583FFA7C81E08AB4B-0000326929-0002124313-00800L-C08FEA15156C4030ACEFEDE5C517D86F.jpg

A few others from the night, not been through them all yet:

A176192939F44BA29E834749205DDA48-0000326929-0002124311-00800L-40654A96F5F049E5A3A6B1DE852C482D.jpg

E627EFADE1E5459AB6BD8AAE11FB1114-0000326929-0002124310-00800L-BA677E58934841A88C75889D4CF281D4.jpg

1C0844404505472CB7B9582028330A31-0000326929-0002124309-00800L-95A2FA075B1240CA853CF1F3C4407A66.jpg

31C350670CC0462EAB93E8AAF762E773-0000326929-0002124308-00800L-4360784812864D4A91AD41CDAAC7C4EB.jpg

4682FB0A656543A1B0B61DA5B0A5132B-0000326929-0002124306-00800L-9A318BD56C6E4E36B505281AFCF97E92.jpg

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,433 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

E627EFADE1E5459AB6BD8AAE11FB1114-0000326929-0002124310-00800L-BA677E58934841A88C75889D4CF281D4.jpg

You might consider posting this pic in the Ghost Signs thread.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

Shots look great, guys, looks like a fab night. Hopefully will make the next one. :)

Couple of photowalkers
    358287CA64154773B499B4BA06310983-0000314346-0002124323-00800L-EB0F6DED894B4F0A97C839F20A37C191.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭chevron

Randomly placed my tripod down to chat and just so happened to get this frame :)

Sometimes its better to be lucky than good.
    D47BC100E9E0436EAA4AD26C2368F0B2-0000328349-0002124175-00800L-79AFB60781954763A963BE56600C46BA.jpg

5353424188_a2d80cbe18_z.jpg
    DSC_2218 by pixbyjohn, on Flickr

5353788113_d889f25876_z.jpg
    DSC_2221 by pixbyjohn, on Flickr

Hermy wrote: »
    You might consider posting this pic in the Ghost Signs thread.

Will do :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭eightcell

:D5354481268_98eaeb4c01_z.jpg
    DSC_2245 by pixbyjohn, on Flickr

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭Stevokenevo

Great night for it, thanks for organising!

5353970231_78bf2a278c.jpg
    P1040009 by SteveMurph, on Flickr

5353970429_0c386cfb57.jpg
    P1040042 by SteveMurph, on Flickr

• Registered Users Posts: 424 ✭✭SinisterDexter

I suppose I should get up......

... from the workdesk that is. Power up the PC and transfer the pics.

Thank you to all 40 of ye that came along last night. I think it turned out well, people seemed happy enough walking along. And from looking at the pics here some great shots were taken. Great banter was had on the walk (and in the pub).

So the main question I have is:

Where too next?

There was some suggestions being bandied about in the pub last night, but where would you like to go? (This is really a question about Dublin City/Suburbs)

I will have a few pics up later and hope to see a pic or two from everybody - just to encourage yourself!

Regards,
    Will

Fair play for organising, I might even chance the next one too.

A few more from the night:

C307D8F6CB224444A998FF0BF77BFF98-0000326929-0002124405-00800L-1F759DB13BE8498686015190287B2D46.jpg

91A9349FA3F94E21AE793AA2D7B384F7-0000326929-0002124412-00800L-FB6559C479E745FB87A0F55D29EEB388.jpg

C8B92AF4FD8E40918A6AD84F3C2AE153-0000326929-0002124312-00800L-CDB0CD1BD9F14F4CB4A67797CEFBA461.jpg

CB1BC1B4C9354195AA7C17AB7CCA8055-0000326929-0002124410-00800L-71E72B9FA19A4774A8B2849A7E9D25B1.jpg

Fair play for organising, I might even chance the next one too.

A few more from the night:

C307D8F6CB224444A998FF0BF77BFF98-0000326929-0002124405-00800L-1F759DB13BE8498686015190287B2D46.jpg
    That is nice! Shimmer does a good job!

Cheers. Along the way I was getting impatient with all the long exposure, so fired off some quicker shots free-hand, had to ramp up the ISO though, which I was dying to try out on the D90 anyhow.

Like this one @ ISO 2000!

C29A23AD3860430A806AB9EEDD41131C-0000326929-0002124414-00800L-1AC9CD8EE14A4E8FB57E18C470F03814.jpg

No idea who those random people are ... :P

haha well there i am with the red and black jacket on the right hand side, trying to look like i know what im doing!

Quick check as to which is left and which is right...... I'm the red and black on the left! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭xia

Thanks to all (especially the ones I got to chat to ;)) for a lovely evening. Even like some of my results, so here you go :)

19D307C384174179A1DC76336CD812E9-0000335714-0002124170-00800L-E182BC7FE482417D8B25DF4C0FD7DDF4.jpg

A9878375C97A4EAEAD9A2441CA481F04-0000335714-0002124172-00800L-752F80A0086745F1ADC27B3653F38211.jpg

0B274768AD8B4BA7BD4E1662F37DD44D-0000335714-0002124171-00800L-CA35E371E6B14983B2644D48D11CAA33.jpg

56721A5E66EB4D0ABC31E0DF97F4A8EA-0000335714-0002124167-00800L-F7B4F98CFE6848009F3088E05686A7C9.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Scamp-

I've never seen so many tripods at once.

Or terrified joggers.

5354440451_7c35a6a248_z.jpg
    DSC_2210 by pixbyjohn, on Flickr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,725 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

I'd like to thank Will/SinisterDexter once again for a great night and experience :D

And the lovely pixbyjohn for lending me a tripod :pac:

It was great meeting everybody.

I'd post some of my shots but I've no laptop at the moment :( and they're quite crappy :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

Great night guys. I had so much fun learning how to use my camera, but I guess messing with the settings will be a learning experience! :)

Gonna upload a few of mine now!

5355111340_32f0c4a7d7_z.jpg
    20110113-DSC_2222 by pixbyjohn, on Flickr
    Camera Nikon D700
    Exposure 0.8
    Aperture f/22.0
    Focal Length 70 mm
    ISO Speed 4000

uch work done on that one John? ISO 4000! :eek: Oooh I want a D700

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

Took so many pictures, loads were deleted in the end....

i5qb02.jpg
    Loved the colour and the sparkles! God I'm such a girl!

263ixl5.jpg
    Sammy B's Bridge.

2yy6w08.jpg
    Love the reflection of the centre on the bench.

2it1nus.jpg
    Obsession with colour continues!

Photography is hard, but lots of fun! :)

So nobody got the money shot of bono or anything no??

alot of people were expecting to see a celeberity with the amount of us there they thought we were paparazzi :D

uch work done on that one John? ISO 4000! :eek: Oooh I want a D700

Cropped a little,exposure -2.35 and clarity brought up.

• Registered Users Posts: 309 ✭✭aidan18

Here's a sample or two of my efforts...Aidan

E991DA449FD744E7A5DAB3B7AD857DD4-0000316550-0002124757-00800L-2AABF790E4F74C16983D38CBF641DE2D.jpg

DD323AA28CD3411EAC702818BD80F0BF-0000316550-0002124754-00800L-BE6ACA489DA34CEC885F11BEC996411C.jpg

AD6798EE55144C2AB6F0991282D5FBFE-0000316550-0002124750-00800L-9A02BA6978764974A8D9C4C0ECFF2F44.jpg

E0389888263F470E87B31B5EAD950EE1-0000316550-0002124746-00800L-FDB28A2CE52C41B4821E4C4EDFCF6E69.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 9 Sp00ky

Was fun thanks.

IMG_3565.jpg

IMG_3625.jpg

IMG_3505.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭DK32

A few of mine, more up on pix.ie & flickr

FA3E751D29AC421291C72E6B0C41943F-0000316394-0002124774-00800L-BC11A99C6C634D2999A21597780A401A.jpg

79C9E0937DC94155AFFEE3E595DC7FC8-0000316394-0002124769-00800L-36831E17E3BA4958BFB61BF29174A97B.jpg

0C5F358879E94401BDD70E69498CE704-0000316394-0002124786-00800L-F8FC5E5348064000801F3F770F9BC473.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭pete4130

Took about 3 shots last night. The last one is a reshoot of a photo I took back in December 2007 down at grand canal dock.

5355338334_fdeb7788ab_z.jpg

5355355768_b381bc972d_z.jpg

5354768989_bb1cb0bdaa_z.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

Fantastic Night. Great to meet all the togs. Looking forward to the next photowalk.

5355062962_2f060d1b94.jpg

7DC6A1CF04FA4E28BC6FEC4659E67F2E-0000327511-0002124744-00800L-7A8812B3502E4FB2BD2318FB5CA8A3F6.jpg

8D7CD96276E14B268FF241DFEC91297E-0000327511-0002124742-00600L-DE73E79D862B4B0EBFC13FBA117BB9EF.jpg

3AD56CD3F8E544728285996550ADE003-0000327511-0002124076-00500L-E3B28A4136314CA1ACEBB6DE3601AE37.jpg

Last few from me:

6E2B0E010B4A468EBFE90F667BB20FCB-0000326929-0002124411-00800L-352E91BBF68341E0991DD67A439B9254.jpg

346ADADE90BD4D6DBBF399DE63235070-0000326929-0002124408-00800L-43E833A2FE8C47E5A13443BBC4807967.jpg

FEC4A62EFD5B4354B69B7BC7AE2C033F-0000326929-0002124407-00800L-7D1EE3543E064D0EBC15909E99F5F713.jpg

And a grainy Promac :D:

25C39F455F464035BB67401C23DF20BD-0000326929-0002124307-00640L-8A1C9E171A344041B61760B77C6DC19C.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 439 ✭✭NooSixty

5355364650_89a6d123b4_z.jpg

5355386278_842f69a9a3_z.jpg

Bronica ETRS 75mm 2.8 Lens
    Kodak Portra 800
    F8 1/2 sec