Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Empty Shopping Centres - a new asset?

Options
  • 05-01-2011 5:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭

There has been a lot of talk about the amount of planning permission given to build large, out of town shopping centres and retail parks during the boom times, many of which now stand empty.

I'm currently doing a degree project based on the shopping centre as a centre for community, in terms of people meeting for a chat, and also cultural activity that goes on there.

I'm looking for people's opinions on shopping centres, are they a positive or negative in their lives?

I'd also love to hear more innovative ideas about what could be done with such spaces. There is an example below of a Dutch shopping street that was turned into a cultural centre.

So, keep the centres and revive them, or go back to the old-fashioned high-street in the future??

http://www.visionarythurrock.org.uk/docs/examples/destrip/index.html

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Heres a shopping centre in the UK that is being used as a airsoft venue. That would be ideal pursuit for some of vacent sites here.

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=90770717596

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,715 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

The biggest problem with shopping centres is a lack of choice and what is there tends to be foreign owned multiples.
    I hate shopping but would prefer going into a town centre as I can wander etc. The convenience and the parking are the only plus's to the centres.