Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Could anyone lend me forty grand?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

Ahhhhh... That's explains why ya like the S60 so ;):p

Clutching at straws here, Limerick man.
    Much nicer

That's the US model, which we don't even get here. The fact that it's a lot uglier and you didn't even notice tells how far you are going out of your way to dislike the new S60.

On the contrary, here's an advert from Sniff Petrol:

SPAD_VolvoV60.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

Zonda999 wrote: »
    Well the 2011 Audi A6's 2.0 lite diesel will have 177bhp...

That car will also have a 3.0 V6 TDi with 204 bhp. Despite this, with a multitronic gearbox, it will only emit 137g Co2/km, which compared to, say a 525d auto, with exactly the same output(and the same 0-60 time), that emits 160g Co2/km. BMW are beaten hands down here, and it involves whats been talked about all thread, a V6 engine. The audi also has a higher top speed. By the way, that new A6 with the 3.0 tdi auto emits the same Co2 as a 520d auto

And btw, BMW produce a 2.0 litre diesel with 204bhp, in the form of the 123d

thats because the 204bhp 3.0 diesel your on about is a heavily detuned version of the 243bhp 3.0 v6 currently available. BMW beats this engine too a little with 245bhp from the current 530d. as you mentioned BMW can get the same power out of a 2.0 4cyl twin turbo, i think Audi lose out in this occasion with the power output, in fact with most Audi vs BMW power output, the BMW is on top. just look at the 4.0 v8 in the m3 vs the bigger 4.2 v8 is the rs4 same 414bhp

the e60 2.0d with 176bhp vs audis 2.0d with 170bhp.

its not always about bhp either, the 316d is a detuned 2.0d that has been reported to do between 65 and 70mpg. what competes with that? 114bhp.

yes i am a fan boy but what im trying to point out here, BMW are leaders when it comes to sqeezing out horsies from engines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

This guy thinks its it’s pretty hopeless.

JJJJNR wrote: »
    This guy thinks its it’s pretty hopeless.

that guy is sometimes an idiot....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭johnplayerblue

Thats a good looking car as is the price tag but the interior is from a 15 year old Toyota and ironically from the front side shot it looks like a Volvo.

Spec up a grand or two for leather, so.

ye but then your into Mk6 Golf 2.0 TDI GTD 170bhp money and I know what I'd choose hands down every time.

LOL, aye aye. The Mazda;)

What happened to you Limerick man? Was it the MK4 that turned you towards the Asian market?

Tell you what! We'll let Mazda do the wiring and electronics and the Germans do everything else.

What happened to you Limerick man? Was it the MK4 that turned you towards the Asian market?

Tell you what! We'll let Mazda do the wiring and electronics and the Germans do everything else.

I'll have the Golf so :P

anyway all joking aside, apart from wasting 40 grand on a brand new ugly volvo, with in reason what would you spend it on to get say an 09-10 used car

personally id save 8 grand and get this
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1789594

twice the car in every way.

bmw535d wrote: »
    anyway all joking aside, apart from wasting 40 grand on a brand new ugly volvo, with in reason what would you spend it on to get say an 09-10 used car

I'm as true to VW as you are to BMW and love BMW. They just have it and theres no two ways about it but for me I'd still have to go VW and to be precise a Passat CC.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volkswagen/Passat-CC/R-LINE-C/201041199857800/advert?channel=CARS

The candy white is a bit much. Maybe something in a gun metal grey and a petrol engine

• Subscribers Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭TCP/IP

That car is nearly unsellable with a manual box. What clown speced a 5 Series like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

TCP/IP wrote: »
    That car is nearly unsellable with a manual box. What clown speced a 5 Series like that

Oh I dont know about that, a lot of people see Autos as a fun destroying crutch still. My sisters e60 520d is a Manual, they wanted it that way. I know the new 8speed Autos suit the Diesel power band perfectly, but in the real world the Manual box means higher MPG (even if paper spec doesnt always say this anymore), lesser maintenance issues and a more direct feel of the drive.. if you were into that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

yes i am a fan boy but what im trying to point out here, BMW are leaders when it comes to sqeezing out horsies from engines.
    In recent times, their diesels are excellent, but leaders of squeezing bhp out of engines is pushing it. If you want to play the numbers game there's Mitsubishi with 400bhp from a 2 litre, and even Nissan with 197bhp from a 1.6 N/A.
    unkel wrote: »
    And 0-100km/h in a bit over 5s and yet only 162g/km of CO2 with an 8 speed autobox in a big heavy car (5-series) eek.gif

I want one of them biggrin.gif

Sorry for off topic...
    A bit over 5 seconds? You mean a bit under 6 seconds. There is a big difference to be fair. Still a great car though.
    A sh!tty cramped and overpriced Golf over a spacious D-segment car that would teach it a lesson in handling? Whatever turns you on I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

I've been looking around at a few 5-series's for a while and autos sit in dealers a lot longer than manuals. Not such a clown after all!

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    In recent times, their diesels are excellent, but leaders of squeezing bhp out of engines is pushing it. If you want to play the numbers game there's Mitsubishi with 400bhp from a 2 litre, and even Nissan with 197bhp from a 1.6 N/A.

A bit over 5 seconds? You mean a bit under 6 seconds. There is a big difference to be fair. Still a great car though.

A sh!tty cramped and overpriced Golf over a spacious D-segment car that would teach it a lesson in handling? Whatever turns you on I suppose.

what i ment was, thier diesels for the last 10 years are always a few bhp ahead of the compition. yea the 405bhp evo is the highest output per liter of a turbo charged engine stock, bmw arnt close to the japs when it comes to small petrol engines, thats just the japs thing and no one will ever beat them at it. but when it comes to big na engines, bmw's v12 used in the mc laren f1 is a serious contender.

Let's keep an eye on it and see does the market agree with your view. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭J77

unkel wrote: »

Indeed. It has been around for several years and I don't think any other manufacturer comes even close to 200BHP from a 2l diesel. Or close to the 300BHP (and 600NM torque) from the current BMW 3l diesel...

C 250 CDI puts out just over 200bhp. Fair enough it's a 2.1, but you also get an extra 100NM torque. I think that takes the win.

Would like to see a reasonable attempt from Audi and Merc to rival the 35d engine, I think that engine steals more sales than the guys at the other companies think.

Just read there that Audi has a new 3l V6 twin-turbo diesel rated at 300bhp/650nm. They would be seriously stupid not to put this into the new A6 to take on the 535d. Matches bhp and beats it with torque. Odds are it would have quattro all wheel drive as well.

J77 wrote: »
    Just read there that Audi has a new 3l V6 twin-turbo diesel rated at 300bhp/650nm. They would be seriously stupid not to put this into the new A6 to take on the 535d. Matches bhp and beats it with torque. Odds are it would have quattro all wheel drive as well.

its about time they got their asses into gear and discovered 2 turbos are better than 1.

A single Variable geometry turbocharger on a base engine that produces a large'ish swath of torque through the rev range is a better design... :P

Saw a D5 one of these tonight (twin tail pipes) in Chameleon Blue and I still stand by my comment, it looked fantastic! Definitely worth considering over the C-Class considering they've messed that up with the latest facelift, as well as the ageing E90 3 Series and the uncomfortable A4.

VolvoMan wrote: »
    Saw a D5 one of these tonight (twin tail pipes) in Chameleon Blue and I still stand by my comment, it looked fantastic! Definitely worth considering over the C-Class considering they've messed that up with the latest facelift, as well as the ageing E90 3 Series and the uncomfortable A4.

In Ireland?? I saw one in Heathrow last week. Ridiculous number of nice cars in the carpark there!

Wouldn't mind a go in a D5 SE Lux S60!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭rickyjb

But I don't understand, why would anyone spend 40k on a Volvo, what exactly are you getting?? It's not fast, it's certainly not stylish, I can't imagine the engine sounding particularly great... I could go on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

rickyjb wrote: »
    But I don't understand, why would anyone spend 40k on a Volvo, what exactly are you getting?? It's not fast, it's certainly not stylish, I can't imagine the engine sounding particularly great... I could go on.

But I don't understand, why would anyone spend 40k on a 3-Series, A4, C-Class, what exactly are you getting?? It's not fast, it's certainly not stylish, I can't imagine the engine sounding particularly great... I could go on.

R.O.R wrote: »
    But I don't understand, why would anyone spend 40k on a 3-Series, A4, C-Class, what exactly are you getting?? It's not fast, it's certainly not stylish, I can't imagine the engine sounding particularly great... I could go on.

Well, eye of the beholder and all, but most people think those 3 cars look a lot nicer than Volvos. We passed a 2008 S40 (afaik) Volvo on the motorway 2days ago and my other half was smirking and muttered, "what an ugly car... " (note she doesnt drive one of the big 3 germans before)

And it was pretty ugly. The big German 3 may be too common, maybe be bought in specs that undermine any performance heritage, but they at least are designed by people that can design cars (mostly Italians as it happens).

Until Volvos arent an offront to ones eyes, they will go nowhere. As has been said before, they do not get kudos for looking "different" than the competition, they need to look better!

I see what you've done there, very clever....:rolleyes:

I didn't mention alternatives by the way, what I was getting at was why anyone would be enthusiastic enough about this to splash out 40 grand on it, not why wouldn't they spend their hard-earned 40k on car x or car y.

I can kind of understand a car enthusiast spending that much on a car that really grabs them or they feel passionate about that has a definite appeal either looks wise or performance wise (and I wouldn't necessarily include the big three you've mentioned above in that) but on an underpowered Volvo??

That was my point I guess.

I see what you've done there, very clever....:rolleyes:

I didn't mention alternatives by the way, what I was getting at was why anyone would be enthusiastic enough about this to splash out 40 grand on it, not why wouldn't they spend their hard-earned 40k on car x or car y.

I can kind of understand a car enthusiast spending that much on a car that really grabs them or they feel passionate about that has a definite appeal either looks wise or performance wise (and I wouldn't necessarily include the big three you've mentioned above in that) but on an underpowered Volvo??

That was my point I guess.

Have you driven one of these "underpowered" Volvo's, along with the competition that it's up against?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

i was expecting to see some exotic sexy car...

i love volvos, but this is just ugly... it should be shot...

Matt Simis wrote: »
    Well, eye of the beholder and all, but most people think those 3 cars look a lot nicer than Volvos. We passed a 2008 S40 (afaik) Volvo on the motorway 2days ago and my other half was smirking and muttered, "what an ugly car... " (note she doesnt drive one of the big 3 germans before)

The S40 is a totally different car launched in 2004 and doesn't exactly compete in the same segment, so your point is irrelevant to this thread.
    Have you driven one of these "underpowered" Volvo's, along with the competition that it's up against?

I think the fact that it's a Volvo has something to do with it rather than the car itself. It's apparently okay to spend 40k on a 3 Series or A4, but not an S60.

Again you're just not getting it are you. I'm not trying to compare it to any other car I just don't understand the concept of paying 40k for a Volvo, what could possibly excite anyone that much about this car. I haven't driven this car no but I highly doubt I'd be blown away by a 160something bhp diesel engine

Nothing to do with BMWs or mercs or audis.

I think the fact that it's a Volvo has something to do with it rather than the car itself.

I couldn't have said it better myself... VolvoMan ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭messymess

You mean for 40k? Sure, how do you think it would fair against this?

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Porsche/911/3.6-TURB/201040199795424/advert?channel=CARS

With a big of haggling.

Or this:
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/M3/4.0-V8-S/201101200745813/advert?channel=CARS

OK, fine get in my face about servicing and running costs etc .. but it's not really the point. Why on earth would you spend 40k on that Volvo when you could actually drive a proper car for the same money?

Ultimately each to their own but I do appreciate people who buy cars like the Volvo posted ..... because they make those of us know better feel a lot smugger :)

messymess wrote: »
    You mean for 40k? Sure, how do you think it would fair against this?

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Porsche/911/3.6-TURB/201040199795424/advert?channel=CARS

With a big of haggling.

Or this:
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/M3/4.0-V8-S/201101200745813/advert?channel=CARS

OK, fine get in my face about servicing and running costs etc .. but it's not really the point. Why on earth would you spend 40k on that Volvo when you could actually drive a proper car for the same money?

Ultimately each to their own but I do appreciate people who buy cars like the Volvo posted ..... because they make those of us know better feel a lot smugger :)

Haven't even bothered opening either of those links, as you are being ridiculous now.

How much was either of those cars new? If people don't buy new cars, then there are no lovely used cars for people to buy.

The S60 is up against the A4, the 3 Series, the C-Class, the Accord, and to some extent, high specification versions of the Insignia, Mondeo etc. Against it's peers, it performs very, very well. The comparison to a Porsche or M3 show's you know sh1t, not better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

Next thing we'll have someone recommending spending €40k on a Skoda! :eek:

Gophur wrote: »
    Next thing we'll have someone recommending spending €40k on a Skoda! :eek:

€38,740 is the very maximum ex. works price that I'd spend on a Skoda - and that includes the tow bar!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

For an extra 5k you could have a spanking new S80 2.4 D5 205PS ES.

I'd sooner take an S80 personally.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volvo/S80/D5-SE-Ge/201013197458526/advert?channel=CARS - I wouldn't personally buy that colour with those wheels but you get the idea.

Haven't even bothered opening either of those links, as you are being ridiculous now.

How much was either of those cars new? If people don't buy new cars, then there are no lovely used cars for people to buy.

The S60 is up against the A4, the 3 Series, the C-Class, the Accord, and to some extent, high specification versions of the Insignia, Mondeo etc. Against it's peers, it performs very, very well. The comparison to a Porsche or M3 show's you know sh1t, not better.

If you didn't bother to open the links how do you know it was a Porsche and an M3 he was referring to?:pac:

Why buy a new car then, buy a decent car a couple of years old for the same money surely??:confused: At the end of the day you'll be sitting inside the car, who cares whether it says 11-XX-XXX or 08-XX-XXXX on your numberplate?

I know I was saying I wasn't making a comparison but a two year old M3 or a new Volvo, sounds like a no brainer to me...
    Maybe we should have a poll:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

If you didn't bother to open the links how do you know it was a Porsche and an M3 he was referring to?:pac:

Why buy a new car then, buy a decent car a couple of years old for the same money surely??:confused: At the end of the day you'll be sitting inside the car, who cares whether it says 11-XX-XXX or 08-XX-XXXX on your numberplate?

I know I was saying I wasn't making a comparison but a two year old M3 or a new Volvo, sounds like a no brainer to me...

Both the links say BMW M3 and Porsche on them, it's not rocket science.

And just read this bit of R.O.R's post again:
    If people don't buy new cars, then there are no lovely used cars for people to buy.

If people stop buying new, used car prices go through the roof.

There's a reason why that two year old M3 is half what it was new!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭messymess

So people who buy one of these Volvos are 'taking one for the team' then?
    Providing quality used, afforable cars for the masses because they care about the second hand market so much?

If yous had the choice between a brand new Punto and a second hand S60, what would you choose? 20k is the going estimate for 2008 model S60's by the way. Do you think that 911 or M3 are going to loose 20k in two years from their current age?

Good point, I didn't read the links just clicked on them:o

If people stopped buying new Volvos I'm pretty sure the result would be that there are no used Volvos around. A world without Volvos; I'm not sure I could bear it...

Why is it that people who I've never seen before on this forum are commenting on this thread?

Ricky, you clearly know nothing about cars, so GTFO.

Just to clarify, when I originally started this thread I just really wanted to talk about the car itself. I really can't believe what it has turned into with people comparing apples with pears and how Volvo is somehow a producer of budget cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭patrickc

I love it, but if I'd the cash today I'd buy the new Saab 95..

patrickc wrote: »
    I love it, but if I'd the cash today I'd buy the new Saab 95..

*Vectra

*Insignia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭gb153

I think the reason this thread received such a reaction is due to the title. It threw me off anyway. I was expecting to see a link to something which had some sort of drool factor which may have had a huge price reduction due to the recession or whatever. I definitely wasn't expecting a bland saloon. I'm sure its a great car but it would be a head over heart decision to buy one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭funkyouup

Why is it that people who I've never seen before on this forum are commenting on this thread?

Maybe if you made it clear to everyone that you owned the forum from the start all the people you dont know wouldnt have posted:D

Ricky, you clearly know nothing about cars, so GTFO.

Just to clarify, when I originally started this thread I just really wanted to talk about the car itself. I really can't believe what it has turned into with people comparing apples with pears and how Volvo is somehow a producer of budget cars.

You GTFO!!:pac: Who the hell do you think you are anyway, should only pre-approved people be allowed to reply to your thread?

Go to some Volvo forum if you want to talk s***e about one particular brand of car, last time I checked this was a general motoring forum. So you're original plan was that everyone would go "oh look what a lovely Volvo, I too would spend 40 grand on it if I had it, isn't it lovely" etc. and then VolvoMan would be happy in the knowledge that everyone loved Volvos?

What a douche.