Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DJaying. On the Mic! 1,2...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

A DJ shouting 'let's go fucking mental'? Really?

If you were at a gig, and saw a DJ do that, would that not make you cringe?

Not really. Unless he was really meek and you could tell he was embarrassed himself. If you can control a crowd, you'll know what to say to get them going and when to say it. I've been fortunate enough to cut my teeth in public speaking and MC-ing elsewhere so I've just applied that to another field.

But don't get me wrong: I've seen many DJs talk and just go over people's heads, many DJs who say the right things but at the wrong time or in the wrong way.

If the crowd was filled with people like you (not meant in a bad way) who WOULD cringe if I said that...then it's my job to realise that and act accordingly. Like I said, for me the role of a DJ is to see that crowd is in A and just take them to B however that needs to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Pandoras Twist

If I was at a gig and either the crowd or the DJ started a lets go ****ing mental chant or even worse a whoomph there it is chant not only would I cringe but I'd be seriously irritated. You're there for the tunes, not some pleb who wants to interact with the crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

If I was at a gig and either the crowd or the DJ started a lets go ****ing mental chant or even worse a whoomph there it is chant not only would I cringe but I'd be seriously irritated. You're there for the tunes, not some pleb who wants to interact with the crowd.

So i take you dont like scooter then:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

I imagine Leggo is a lot closer to 6:40.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Pandoras Twist

Only his earlier work /chinstroke :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Eddie Ere

Potentially bannable mention of a derogatory word.

I imagine Leggo is a lot closer to 6:40.

Damnit. I can't find that Peter Kay sketch where they take the piss out of 'DJs' who have to pay people to let them play in their club...or I'd be right back at ya! ;)

leggo wrote: »
    Damnit. I can't find that Peter Kay sketch where they take the piss out of 'DJs' who have to pay people to let them play in their club...or I'd be right back at ya! ;)

Huh? Who pays to DJ in a club? It's one thing to play for free to get recognition (bands have been doing that years) but paying to play?

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Huh? Who pays to DJ in a club? It's one thing to play for free to get recognition (bands have been doing that years) but paying to play?

Oh sorry. You call it being a 'promoter'. Right.

I call it a promoter? I asked you an honest question. Dunno why you have to answer with all the attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

Leggo I'm getting really annoyed at you insinuating everyone around here who's not a chart dj gets paid in pints or pays to play.
    I'm not going to discuss my personal finances on here, but I rarely ever played for free in Dublin.
    So let that be an end to that.

Well I don't particularly like my ability or love of music called into question simply based on genres I listen to or gigs that I play. Especially when I've kept quiet despite hearing not-so-flattering stories about the 'experts' now so quick to dismiss.

So it works two ways mate. Ever hear the phrase "judge not less ye be judged"?

Ever hear the phrase "judge not less ye be judged"?

Yes, its usually spouted by some headcase in a dress with a funny hat asking us to beleive in sky fairys.:D

Well I don't particularly like my ability or love of music called into question simply based on genres I listen to or gigs that I play. Especially when I've kept quiet despite hearing not-so-flattering stories about the 'experts' now so quick to dismiss.

oh do enlighten us.

So it works two ways mate. Ever hear the phrase "judge not less ye be judged"?

Wasn't it that deluded schizophrenic carpenter from around the Israel area that said that?
    I'm fairly sure it was.....

Get this, he also said
    "If a man abide not in me, he is cast forth as a branch, and is withered; and men gather them, and cast them into the fire, and they are burned."

I know I've a bit of a messiah complex but I'm not calling for my detractors to be thrown in a fire (but I'm a bit of snob like that- it just seems tacky).

jtsuited wrote: »
    I know I've a bit of a messiah complex but I'm not calling for my detractors to be thrown in a fire (but I'm a bit of snob like that- it just seems tacky).

Het hey, leave the messiah out of this,

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WjoKdIVBVfY

Oh sorry. I'll use the boards method of insult someone then cry about being insulted.

****...did I say cry? Sorry didn't mean to touch a nerve. You know who you are ;)

Oh sorry. I'll use the boards method of insult someone then cry about being insulted.

****...did I say cry? Sorry didn't mean to touch a nerve. You know who you are ;)

???????

Can't say more man. Sources and all that. One guy has a turtle-head peeking out reading this though. Let's just say that the Internet is a great tool for making someone believe they're an expert...until you see the REAL story behind the keyboard...

Let's not derail this dude's thread any further.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

I reckon there's a bit of leg(go) pulling going on here…

Can't say more man. Sources and all that. One guy has a turtle-head peeking out reading this though. Let's just say that the Internet is a great tool for making someone believe they're an expert...until you see the REAL story behind the keyboard...
    well if you want to check out my real world credentials you're more than welcome to.
    And I'm the one taking issue with your comments about non-commercial djs playing for free.
    So unless it's me you are referring to, your comments based on 'sources' are irrelevant.

I reckon there's a bit of leg(go) pulling going on here…

I actually thought it was billybigunz etc etc back again until i seen how many posts he had.

we've all thought that. or at least hoped.

Joebits wrote: »
    Djs. What do you say on the mic?

What do you say even when there is nothing to say?

Im looking for useful phrases and lines to throw down to keep the crowd entertained and to let them know i'm actually there..etc
    :P

'Its nice to be important, but its more important to be nice'

I'll go now.......

Leggo, the main reason we slag you about being a commercial DJ isn't because you're a commercial, it's because you're mental.

There's method to the madness, though ;).

For example, thanks for proving my point about any DJ-ing topic that doesn't suit niche DJs gets rubbished, littered with sarcastic comments and derailed. I believe I'm still the only one to actually answer the OP's question. Whereas, if people here didn't know, a simple "Dunno mate, my teddy bears don't react whether I get on the mic or not" would have sufficed.

There's method to the madness, though ;).

For example, thanks for proving my point about any DJ-ing topic that doesn't suit niche DJs gets rubbished, littered with sarcastic comments and derailed. I believe I'm still the only one to actually answer the OP's question. Whereas, if people here didn't know, a simple "Dunno mate, my teddy bears don't react whether I get on the mic or not" would have sufficed.

Again, with the implication we're all bedroom djs.

Welcome to the joke, my friend, thanks for joining us.

Mate, talking shite on the microphone doesn't not suit just niche DJs, it doesn't suit any DJs. Commerical/Mobile DJs just think they have to talk shite just because they've seen other shite mobile/commercial DJs do it.

A DJ talking on a horrible sounding microphone sounds just as bad over Rihanna as it does over Carl Craig.