Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

World XI. One club, one player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,320 ✭✭✭sonic85

Seaneh wrote: »
    Zambrotta, are you ****ting me?
    Song, really?

Do you watch football!?!

entitled to his opinion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭genericgoon

Buffon
    Lahm Ferdinand Juan A. Cole
    De Jong Fabregas
    Van Der Vaart
    Messi Etoo C. Ronaldo

G. Buffon (Juventus)

P. Lahm (Bayern Munich)
    R. Ferdinand (Manchester United)
    Juan (Roma)
    A. Cole (Chelsea)

N. de Jong (Manchester City)
    C. Fabregas (Arsenal)
    R. Van Der Vaart (Tottenham)

L. Messi (Barcelona)
    S. Eto'o (Inter Milan)
    C. Ronaldo (Real Madrid)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

I can't see how Cashley can't be the first choice left back, even if he is a hateful twit. Surprised that Seaneh is so keen on Samuel considering that his own Milan team have one of the tightest defences in Europe. Decided to lob Javi Martinez in there for the craic too, he is a little gem in a team of turds. As for Ibrahimovic? Lolerskates, I would take Eto'o over him every day of the week (Eto'o was integral to winning 3 Champions League trophies for fecks sake!). As for Ronaldo and Messi - they are undroppable on current form.

GK. Buffon (Juventus)
    LB. A. Cole (Chelsea)
    RB. Lahm (Bayern)
    CB. Vidic (Man. United)
    CB. Nesta (Milan)
    LCM. Yaya. Toure (Man City)
    RCM. Fabregas (Arsenal)
    CM. Javi Martinez (Bilbao)
    LCF. Ronaldo (Madrid)
    RCF. Eto'o (Inter)
    CF. Messi (Barcelona)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

1. Pepe Reina (Liverpool)

2. Lahm (Bayern)
    5. Terry (Chelsea)
    6. Chiellieni (Juventus)
    3. Bale (Tottenham)

7. Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
    4. Yaya Toure (Man City)
    8. Ganso (Santos)
    11. Nani (Man Utd)

9. Eto'o (Inter Milan)
    10. Messi (Barcelona)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

I can't see how Cashley can't be the first choice left back, even if he is a hateful twit. Surprised that Seaneh is so keen on Samuel considering that his own Milan team have one of the tightest defences in Europe. Decided to lob Javi Martinez in there for the craic too, he is a little gem in a team of turds. As for Ibrahimovic? Lolerskates, I would take Eto'o over him every day of the week (Eto'o was integral to winning 3 Champions League trophies for fecks sake!). As for Ronaldo and Messi - they are undroppable on current form.

GK. Buffon (Juventus)
    LB. A. Cole (Chelsea)
    RB. Lahm (Bayern)
    CB. Vidic (Man. United)
    CB. Nesta (Milan)
    LCM. Yaya. Toure (Man City)
    RCM. Fabregas (Arsenal)
    CM. Javi Martinez (Bilbao)
    LCF. Ronaldo (Madrid)
    RCF. Eto'o (Inter)
    CF. Messi (Barcelona)

Ibra > your mum, it's that simple!

I think, in relation to their importance to their clubs, Ibra and Samuel are the two standouts for Miland and Inter.
    Especially the latter.

sonic85 wrote: »
    entitled to his opinion?

Some opinions are just wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,431 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

#15 wrote: »
    Why? :confused:

Cause he ain't even one the top 3 goal keepers in England.

How many times have I seen him make mistakes this season.

Most Overrated player in PL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭#15

Cause he ain't even one the top 3 goal keepers in England.

How many times have I seen him make mistakes this season.

Most Overrated player in PL

Yes, but who would you put in the team ahead of him?

Casillas - then you can't pick Ronaldo.
    Buffon - no Chiellini.
    etc etc

It's about finding the balance, I don't think having Reina in the team is lolworthy at all.

Yes, but who would you put in the team ahead of him?

Casillas - then you can't pick Ronaldo.
    Buffon - no Chiellini.
    etc etc

It's about finding the balance, I don't think having Reina in the team is lolworthy at all.

I know that, but you could still pick better keepers then him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Lloris (Lyon)

Lahm (Bayern)
    Vidic (Man U)
    Lúcio (Inter)
    Bale (Spurs)

Messi (Barca)
    Essien (Chelsea)
    Fabregas (Arsenal)
    Ronaldo (Real)

Ibrahimovic (Milan)
    Forlán (Atleti)

• Registered Users Posts: 700 ✭✭✭Prufrock

Neuer(Schalke 04)
    -Van der Wiel(Ajax)---Lucio(Inter)
    Chris(Lyon)
    Coentrão(Benfica)-
    Essien(Chelsea)

Fabregas(Arsenal)
    Schweinsteiger(Bayern)
    Messi(Barca)
    Rooney(United)
    Ronaldo(Real)

I know that, but you could still pick better keepers then him.

Give us a few names then, cos it's harder than it looks!!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,021 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Zambrotta, are you ****ting me?
    Song, really?

Do you watch football!?!
    Well I wasn't going to pass comment but your team is the worst one I've seen so far. Daniel De Ross lmfao and thats only for starters.

Give us a few names then, cos it's harder than it looks!!;)

Lloris, Neuer, Cech, Schwarzer, Friedel and Hart.

That's just keepers at clubs who prob not have another player in this type selection.

eagle eye wrote: »
    Well I wasn't going to pass comment but your team is the worst one I've seen so far. Daniel De Ross lmfao and thats only for starters.

You picked Alex Song ahead of players like Febregas and Nasari and Zambrotta, everything you say from now on is invalid... My team contains world class players in every position.

Just for starters, at 27 Di Rossi had over 70 Italy caps and 230 games for Roma, is one of the best midfielders in Italy and one of the most combative central players in the world. entirely justified.

Zambrotta is 33, has been **** for 2 seasons and is a back up player at Milan, behind Ignazio Abate, a converter winger...

Clearly, he is a powerhouse of world football...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

Buffon ( Juventus )

Maicon (Inter)
    David Luiz (Benfica)
    Vidic ( Manutd )
    A>Cole ( Chelsea )

Yaya Toure ( Man City )
    Schweinsteiger (Bayern Munich)
    Fabregas (Arsenal)

Messi ( Barcelona )
    Torres ( Liverpool )
    Ronaldo ( Real Madrid )

Manager: ME :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Vanbis wrote: »
    Iker Casillas ( Real Madrid )

Lahm ( Bayern )
    David Luiz (Benfica)
    Vidic ( Manutd )
    Evra ( Manutd )

Essien ( Chelsea )
    Schweinsteiger (Bayern Munich)
    Xavi (Barcelona)

Messi ( Barcelona )
    Torres ( Liverpool )
    Ronaldo ( Real Madrid )

Manager: ME :)

It's one player per club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,021 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

You picked Alex Song ahead of players like Febregas and Nasari and Zambrotta, everything you say from now on is invalid... My team contains world class players in every position.
    I picked a defensive midfielder, not a holding midfielder. Fabregas is closer to an attacking midfielder and he can't tackle. You seriously underestimate Alex Song.
    Just for starters, at 27 Di Rossi had over 70 Italy caps and 230 games for Roma, is one of the best midfielders in Italy and one of the most combative central players in the world. entirely justified.
    What? Are you giving me a history lesson now? This is about the last six months. De Rossi was always overrated imo but anyways this is about the last 6 months and he hasn't even been close to his best in that time.
    Zambrotta is 33, has been **** for 2 seasons and is a back up player at Milan, behind Ignazio Abate, a converter winger...

Clearly, he is a powerhouse of world football...
    I've seen him playing for the last couple of months in Serie A and the Champion's league and been impressed. Simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

GK: De Gea (Atlético Madrid)

RB: Lahm (Bayern Munich)
    CB: Vidic (Manchester United)
    CB: Chiellini (Juventus)
    LB: Coentrão (Benfica)

CM: Essien (Chelsea)
    CM: Sneijder (Inter)

RW: Messi (Barcelona)
    LW: Bale (Tottenham Hotspur)

CF: Tevez (Manchester City)
    CF: Ronaldo (Real Madrid)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

That's just keepers at clubs who prob not have another player in this type selection.

Reina is at least as good as all those players and probably better than a few. He's a grand choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

Interesting that Sneijder has only made one team so far.

Where are all the people who reckoned he should win the Ballon d'Or now?

yahoo_moe wrote: »

I'd say that people are struggling to find it hard to ignore Lucio or Samuel. There is a distinct lack of quality options there and you can still have Messi and Ronaldo in attack.

I could drop Samuel for Vidic and push in Sneijder instead of Fabregas....

/edits team :D

Back during the World Cup I never would have believed that I would be putting VDV into any team of mine, but he has really impressed at Spurs.

Sneijder is only suffering from being in a team that also has some very good defenders and Cesar. I would say everyone still thinks Sneijder is class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

Dempsey wrote: »
    I'd say that people are struggling to find it hard to ignore Lucio or Samuel. There is a distinct lack of quality options there and you can still have Messi and Ronaldo in attack.
    Possibly and you're probably right that there's an imbalance there in terms of options.

But so many people were so vocal about it that I'm just surprised/amused. Personally I thought the fact that Lucio and Samuel weren't even in the Ballon D'Or longlist was a far bigger injustice than Sneijder missing out on the shortlist to 3 excellent players who had big years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

i'm a mod, so this is obviously the best team...

De Gea (Atl Mad)
    Lahm (Bayern)
    Vidic (Utd)
    Juan (Roma)
    Cole (Che)
    de Jong (City)

Fabregas (Arsenal)
    Messi (Barca)
    Sneijder (Inter)
    Ronaldo (Real)
    Ibrahimovic (Milan)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

eagle eye wrote: »
    Zambrotta(Milan)

Good joke.

Does the same apply to Xavi? People are just trying to find a balance IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭the untitled user

Lloris - flaps like Almunia whenever I've watched him, Reina is far more commanding.
    Neuer - seen little of him but on those occasions I have I've felt his reactions aren't up to the same standard as Cesar/Buffon/Casillas etc.
    Cech - almost every team has had a Chelsea player selected
    Schwarezer - lolwtf?
    Friedel - Good shot stopper but was never world class, organisation and distribution could be better.
    Hart - young and capable of making silly mistakes, relatively unproven at the highest level still.

At the end of the day, Reina has proven himself at a higher level than all of the above (with the exception of Cech).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Lloris - flaps like Almunia whenever I've watched him, Reina is far more commanding.
    Neuer - seen little of him but on those occasions I have I've felt his reactions aren't up to the same standard as Cesar/Buffon/Casillas etc.
    Schwarezer - lolwtf?
    Friedel - Good shot stopper but was never world class, organisation and distribution could be better.
    Hart - young and capable of making silly mistakes, relatively unproven at the highest level still.

At the end of the day, Reina has proven himself at a higher level than all of the above (with the exception of Cech).

What higher level has Reina proven himself exactly? I do agree though that he is better than the above mentioned keepers except Hart. Reina is far more prone to errors than Hart and is also a good bit older.

Schwarezer - lolwtf?

But for World class keeper, he makes basic errors.

Just look this year alone.

But for World class keeper, he makes basic errors.

Just look this year alone.

So do all the keepers you mentioned.

He has had a bit of trouble this season but he's still a good keeper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Reina

Lahm
    Chiellini
    Samuel
    Evra

Essien
    Fabregas

Van Der Vaart

---Messi
    Ronaldo

Ibrahimovic

Had to compromise a couple of positions, tough enough i suppose

Pro. F wrote: »
    So do all the keepers you mentioned.

He has had a bit of trouble this season but he's still a good keeper.

I know every keeper makes mistakes, but he made quite few now.

Very good keeper maybe, but world class, no way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

Buffon

Maicon--Terry-- Nesta --Kolarov

Messi--Fabregas-Schweinstegger --Ronaldo

Torres---Rooney----

I know every keeper makes mistakes, but he made quite few now.

Very good keeper maybe, but world class, no way.

World class isn't the point. Stop moving the goal posts.

The only suggestions you made in his place are probably inferior to him so you don't have a case for your argument. He remains a reasonable choice for this thing.

It's always easy to pick wholes in other peoples' teams. But you weren't brave enough to put forward a team yourself.

Buffon

Lamb--Vidic-- Nesta --Kolarov

Messi--Fabregas-Sneider --Ronaldo

Drogba---Rooney----

So close.:D

So close.:D

fixed

Pro. F wrote: »
    World class isn't the point. Stop moving the goal posts.

The only suggestions you made in his place are probably inferior to him so you don't have a case for your argument. He remains a reasonable choice for this thing.

It's always easy to pick wholes in other peoples' teams. But you weren't brave enough to put forward a team yourself.

Jesus im just giving my opinion.

I dont rate Reina, end of story.

I think at least 15 bette Keepers around, thats all

end of.

Buffon

Maicon--Terry-- Nesta --Kolarov

Messi--Fabregas-Schweinstegger --Ronaldo

Torres---Rooney----

Can't see this being bettered tbh:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

i already bettered it sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,946 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Adler

Vidic

Essien

Messi-Torres-Eto'o-Ibra-Llorente-Dzeko-Di Natale-Ronaldo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭basillarkin

Julio Cesar (Inter)

Lahm (Bayern Munich)
    Thiago Silva (Milan)
    Chiellini (Juventus)
    Evra (Manchester Utd)

Essien (Chelsea)
    De Rossi (Roma)
    Fabregas (Arsenal)

Messi (Barcelona)
    Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
    Torres (Liverpool)

I'm not sure about having De Rossi. I wanted to find another RB to replace Lahm and then put Schweinsteiger in midfield instead of De Rossi.
    Evra? I have been watching a lot of Utd games recently and imo his form has dipped and he is nowhere near the player he was a couple of seasons ago.

ShaneU wrote: »

Adler

Vidic

Essien

I know Essien can cover ground but....:pac:

ShaneU wrote: »

Adler

Vidic

Essien

Reina

Maicon-Ferdinand-Thiago Silva-Juan-Carvalho-Terry-Chiellini-Bale

Xavi

Forlan

would destroy your team tbh:pac::pac::pac::pac:

Hugo Lloris (Lyon)

Nemanja Vidic (Man United)
    Nesta (Milian)
    Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus)

Van DeVart (Spurs)
    Essien (Chelsea)
    Fabregas (Arsenal)
    Ribery (Munich)

Ronaldo (Real Madraid)
    Eto (Inter Milian)
    Messi (Barcalona)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Buffon (Juventus)

Lahm (Bayern) Vidic (Man. United) Nesta (AC. Milan) Zanetti (Inter)

VDV (Spurs) Fabrages (Arsenal) Silva (Man City)

Messi (Barca)

Ronaldo (Real) Barrios (Dortmund)
    We won't be too picky about positions. And I think Barrios is the best player in the world!:p

WallyGUFC wrote: »
    Buffon (Juventus)

Lahm (Bayern) Vidic (Man. United) Nesta (AC. Milan) Zanetti (Inter)
    VDV (Spurs) Fabrages (Arsenal) Silva (Man City)
    Messi (Barca)
    Ronaldo (Real) Barrios (Dortmund)
    We won't be too picky about positions. And I think Barrios is the best player in the world!:p
    Are you a Dortmund supporter?

WallyGUFC wrote: »

He's good in FM11 alright!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

De Gea

Samuel
    Chiellini
    --Rafael
    Lahm--
    Essien
    --Ronaldo
    Bale--
    Fabregas

Messi

Ibrahimovic

I like the looks of that team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Buffon (Juventus)

Vidic(United)---Terry(Chelsea)---Juan(Roma)

De Jong( M. City)

Schweinsteiger(Bayern)---Fabregas(Arsenal)
    Messi(Barca)
    Ronaldo(Real)
    Ibrahimovic(Milan)--Eto'o(Inter)

Offensive 3-5-2.