Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[CoD MW3] General News and Discussion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

Just been playing multiplayer.

The game plays very similarly to MW2, most of the maps are very close quarter combat.

I still think they should have made this a downloadable expansion to MW2 multiplayer, because that's what it is.

I think the hint for a lot of you people is in the name.

MODERN WARFARE THREE

not SOME OTHER NEW GAME ONE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,744 ✭✭✭kleefarr

Supervalu advertised this for €45. Anywhere doing better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

42 tesco..not gonna get anywhere better than that man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Soby wrote: »
    42 tesco..not gonna get anywhere better than that man
    Filthy liar!

€37

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056444724

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Tallon wrote: »

no other harvey norman is selling it at that though

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

There's a discussion on MW3 on The Last Word at some point between now and 7pm, Today FM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Nodferatu

i bought for €42 in tesco's almost bought from xtravision they have for €55 luckily i shopped around in town before buying. i actually wasn't going to buy MW3 at all. i never followed the game or had zero interest in it and the build up to it, when i bought it i didnt have a clue what to expect or what was new, etc etc.
    i was expecting much the same as mw2... and i was right... same cod really, not a bad game campaign is good so far about 6 missions in. MP is interesting, i like the new weapon ranking system and still not sure how the killstreaks work, overall i like the game but will always love waw the best for pure simple gameplay the most hated cod of the lot it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,744 ✭✭✭kleefarr

Um, no Tesco where I am so it looks like Supervalu is the place. Would cost me more than €3 petrol to get to the closest Tesco. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Well, spent a couple of hours with it now and early impressions are that it's a step back for the series after BLOPS. Depending on how much you like BLOPS will probably decide if thats a good thing or a bad thing but for me initially it feels like a big MW2 expansion pack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,764 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

Games class, hit detection is absolutely immense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,468 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Well, spent a couple of hours with it now and early impressions are that it's a step back for the series after BLOPS. Depending on how much you like BLOPS will probably decide if thats a good thing or a bad thing but for me initially it feels like a big MW2 expansion pack.

think I'll buy it after all..loved MW2..sure it had flaws but hated BLOPS..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Sc@recrow wrote: »

MW2 fun and maps + Blops balance= MW3. it fixes nearly everything wrong with MW2. loving the maps as well. Dome is fcuking brilliant fun

• Registered Users Posts: 711 ✭✭✭battser

Sc@recrow wrote: »
    Defo get it! I need friends on the PC :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭CORaven

Damn peer pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,788 ✭✭✭AGB_Ghost

only problem I can see is the Type 95, that thing is super OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,932 ✭✭✭YouSavedMyLife

Played the first 20 levels with the Quickdraw perk. Then made my own class without Quickdraw...Lets say all my class will have quickdraw from hence forth.

Coming from Blops (which i loved) the faster kill times in MW3 is really hurting me. Promotes camping since if you walk into a room and there is a camper he will 9/10 kill you since the kill time is higher and the guns have next to no recoil. In black ops you had a chance to turn on him and beat him with superior gunplay. Other than that im loving it. Killstreams dont seem mad overpowered like they where in MW2

Also noticed a hell of alot Irish players. Nearly half the lobby being Irish, they are easily spotted by their [EIRE] and the Irish flag emblem:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭NinjaK

Played the first 20 levels with the Quickdraw perk. Then made my own class without Quickdraw...Lets say all my class will have quickdraw from hence forth.

Coming from Blops (which i loved) the faster kill times in MW3 is really hurting me. Promotes camping since if you walk into a room and there is a camper he will 9/10 kill you since the kill time is higher and the guns have next to no recoil. In black ops you had a chance to turn on him and beat him with superior gunplay. Other than that im loving it. Killstreams dont seem mad overpowered like they where in MW2

Also noticed a hell of alot Irish players. Nearly half the lobby being Irish, they are easily spotted by their [EIRE] and the Irish flag emblem:rolleyes:

Why the :rolleyes: for Irish flag emblem??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

Probably because no other nation is as patriotic as Irish cod players. Rarely see British flags etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,068 ✭✭✭MarkY91

liking the game so far :) only complaint is every map is TOO ****ING SMALL...why even add sniper rifles into the game if they cannot even be used :S ?

great game, bit easy to get the pro perks i have 4 after like 6 hours gameplay allready, almost got gold M4A1 ammo xD

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 538 ✭✭✭little big planet 2

so what is mw3 like is it worth getting or is just as bad as black op (not saying black ops is bad just didnt live up to the hype)so should i get yes or no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,710 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Enderman wrote: »
    There's a discussion on MW3 on The Last Word at some point between now and 7pm, Today FM.

Any idea what was said?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭bmcc10

Im on the fence on this i,ve found myself playing fifa on cod launch day which can,t be good..

Where is my MP5K?

• Registered Users Posts: 711 ✭✭✭battser

CORaven wrote: »
    Where is my MP5K?

In the fcukin bin Bro cause it is shiiiiiiiiiit. MP5 Much better :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Jaysus that juggernaut suit with riot shield is some craic, mad easy to get too.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Mixed opinions on multiplayer is all I'll say for now.

bmcc10 wrote: »
    Im on the fence on this i,ve found myself playing fifa on cod launch day which can,t be good..

Gears of War 3 for me. Fecking Horde mode.

Really not feeling MW3 at all. Kill Confirmed is great but right now it's just brining back a lot of bad MW2 memories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭Egyptian

MarkY91 wrote: »
    almost got gold M4A1 ammo xD

You'll notice levels 1 through 30 are quite easy to get... it's getting from 30 to 31 that takes time.

Be another while before you have gold camo me thinks ;)

TYPE 95 FOOK ME:eek::eek:
    Best/most OP gun of any COD if its not patched!

TYPE 95 FOOK ME:eek::eek:
    Best/most OP gun of any COD if its not patched!

Agreed

I find MW3 a very team based game, if your playing solo, your going to have a hard time winning unless its TDM or KC

KSG-12 is a much better Shotty than the SPAS-12 :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Smiley Dave

I'm shaking I'm liking this game so much :D.

Mixed opinions on multiplayer is all I'll say for now.
    So you lost then? :p

What do you think of it Tal? I saw you uploaded a vid but tbh, to busy with MP to watch :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭The Little Fella

Lots of camping and overuse of sniper rifles. Miss the simplicity of black ops and how fast paced it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,932 ✭✭✭YouSavedMyLife

Probably because no other nation is as patriotic as Irish cod players. Rarely see British flags etc.

This. Although i dont quite get it. Patriotism and all that.

The more i play this game the more im loving it. All the killstreaks are really useful and really fun to use and not overpowered at all, and i love how the game rewards support type players and not just people how are really good at getting kills/killstreaks

Matchmaking is also superb! Im constantly in games with mostly Irish people so the connections are top notch. Very goodjob on whoever does that matchmaking type stuff...Sledgehammer/IW/Activisions

Also came up against my first Type 95 user in the last game in a TDM. My K/D at the end of the game was like 23/5 and all my deaths came from gun on gun with this Type 95. Does seem quite OP indeed

Anyone notice if you kill someone on the other team sometimes u can hear them rage for about 3 seconds. Probably while they watch the killcam.
    Brilliant little addition got a few laughs out of it!! :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 6,335 Mod ✭✭✭✭PerrinV2

Anyone notice if you kill someone on the other team sometimes u can hear them rage for about 3 seconds. Probably while they watch the killcam.

Ya I didn't know what was goin on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

Cant hear anything cos Sierra never shuts up

:pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

AGB_Ghost wrote: »
    Agreed

I find MW3 a very team based game, if your playing solo, your going to have a hard time winning unless its TDM or KC

KSG-12 is a much better Shotty than the SPAS-12 :P

I disagree, most people don't even participate in the objective in team games.

Confirmed Kill is absolutely brilliant. The amount on quick scoping already is not.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Well I'm hardly gonna post in megabitch or happy thread with the comment I originally made.

Ground War is unplayable I will say that, noob tubed to hell by assassin using campers. Tedious stuff. GW is usually fairly iffy but that was especially bad. The one and only 6 man game we played I enjoyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭iMuse

Well I'm hardly gonna post in megabitch or happy thread with the comment I originally made.

Ground War is unplayable I will say that, noob tubed to hell by assassin using campers. Tedious stuff. GW is usually fairly iffy but that was especially bad. The one and only 6 man game we played I enjoyed.

Ive played about 3 hours of GW and there was no tubing at all, just depends on the lobbies you get I suppose. Im enjoying it so far running the specialist package, having all the perks is sweet.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

I just find MW3 horribly unbalanced. That said, I've played the Wii version tonight and I quite like it. There isn't as many retarded killstreaks and noobtubing is at a minimum, the game feels MUCH more balanced than the console/PC counterparts.

Think I might blow the dust off it and warm it up before the new Zelda game :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

People complaining about being killed by snipers already? I think it's gotten to the stage where people just no matter what when they get killed by a sniper assume they've been quickscoped and go off crying. That person has one shot to kill you, if he misses and you don't kill him that's your problem. If you came up against the same person and they had an UMP they'd probably still kill you. What do you want snipers to do? Wait around aimed in until you kill them? Really don't understand people moaning about sniping in a game dominated by people who camp with SMGs and ARs.

I love the ballistic vests. Great for anti-sniper. However you get the whole "you sponge" muppets in FFA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Battleflag

Liam O wrote: »
    People complaining about being killed by snipers already? I think it's gotten to the stage where people just no matter what when they get killed by a sniper assume they've been quickscoped and go off crying. That person has one shot to kill you, if he misses and you don't kill him that's your problem. If you came up against the same person and they had an UMP they'd probably still kill you. What do you want snipers to do? Wait around aimed in until you kill them? Really don't understand people moaning about sniping in a game dominated by people who camp with SMGs and ARs.
    Same goes for campers, everyone seems to blame everything on campers when the game isnt going their way - its just an easy excuse - when really they themselves are just ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,409 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

my main causes of death are
    - lack of skill
    - lag
    - stupidity
    and alcohol

Love this game and would like to thank IW/Sledgehammer and even Activision for making it for me :)

This a thousand times!!

I cannot play it... FFFFFF

Sany Ravage is gonna have a hard time with this game :p

Also, UMP is going to ruin his game for me :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

I have to say I'm quite disappointed in this. I have been playing a good bit of BF3 TDM in the run up to this and truthfully I think it brings a lot more to the table then MW3 in it's simplicity and map design and I can see me probably jumping ship back to it sooner then I thought.

I find the match making in MW3 to be woeful. Why they can't put in something like HALO where everyone under say level 5 can play in a separate playlist to get use to the game is beyond me. Instead you are continually matched with other noobs against teams you tear you apart.