Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Anyone know what this car is?

• 07-01-2011 8:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭

Taken in Ul in Limerick (not by me) :p

166215_182186928472360_100000431633125_527568_3947364_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭smokie2008

407 maybe?

edit: (Just googled a few pics, think it is a 407)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

That rear door looks like it's off a Passat, but the door handles look a bit high to be from a Passat...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,702 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Its knackered whatever it is!

Looks a bit like a mark 1 skoda superb?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

smokie2008 wrote: »
    407 maybe?
    Damm you!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

That is quite clearly the 2011MY Hydramobile 9000.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭mle1324

smokie2008 wrote: »
    407 maybe?

edit: (Just googled a few pics, think it is a 407)

Maybe its the angle of the shot but does the side mirror look a bit too near the front to be a 407 ? :confused:

Well what is it OP?:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

ambulance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,412 ✭✭✭fletch

Astra saloon?

fletch wrote: »
    Astra saloon?

If your on about the 98-03 model then nah doubt it, look at the brake lights, they curve around from the back to the side in the op photo. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭alanmc

607?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

No idea what the car is but just like to say thanks OP. I was driving by and saw cops going into UL, little curious. Then 2 fire brigades and an ambulance. Curiousity got the better of me and I drove through but they wern't letting people down that way. My curiousity is now sated, cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭.Longshanks.

fletch wrote: »
    Astra saloon?

Me thinks so too. The 2007-10'ish version
    astra%20sedan.jpg

Me thinks so too. The 2007-10'ish version

+1 the back window does look very much like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭hi_im_fil

How did someone end up going in there?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

Astra saloon i think so too

model_image_large_92.jpg

166215_182186928472360_100000431633125_527568_3947364_n.jpg
    Zonda999 wrote: »
    Astra saloon i think so too

model_image_large_92.jpg

Tired of going from page 2 back to page 1 to compare.

Yeah its looking like the astra alright. Do the rear lights match though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

Could be anything from a focus to a peugeot, but it doesnt really matter as its not yours and its well and truly fu.....:D
    Hope whoever was driving it got out of it !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭cozzie55

+1 astra saloon. Would have guessed it before i saw the other comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,297 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

It looks like an Astra saloon alright. It's snowing here in Limerick since about 4pm, that road I presume towards the Concert Hall in the UL campus, has a pond at both sides of it with only a high curb between the pond and road. It is possible the car skidded, who knows though, maybe the driver was suddenly taken ill and lost control?

Doesn't look like there was much lying sleet/snow in the picture at the time anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

Jebus lads, are the UL exam results out already ????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭ShiresV2

bazz26 wrote: »
    It is possible the car skidded, who knows though, maybe the driver was suddenly taken ill and lost control?

Or the woman in the SatNav told him to drive into the pond. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

According to these lads it's an Opel (And no, that's not my ignorance in the video :L)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Out of interest if the engine stalled before it hit the water and suffered no damage would the car be ok once it dried out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

that car is fu|||d whether is stalled or not!

johnos1984 wrote: »
    Out of interest if the engine stalled before it hit the water and suffered no damage would the car be ok once it dried out?

Nope, ignoring the engine but when a car is immersed in water like that obviously the water gets everywhere, it will take months if not years for it to dry out from the likes of the instrument panel etc. All interior screws on trim etc that are hidden from view which typically are not stainless steel anyway will rust within a few weeks of the car being flooded. There can be no confidence in anything electrical that works after the car drying out, corrosion can short out anything anytime after the flood. Anything flooded like that should be written off so that it can never be on the road again.

Years back I had to get a specialist on a site I was working on to certify lifting equipment, sound chap who I got on well with. He was telling me how he had a new Rover 45 diesel the previous year which his wife drive through a flood, as luck would have it the engine was ok but water had gotten into the cabin. Luckily enough for them the car was stolen a few days later and burnt out ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭The Snipe

Here is some photos showing more of the damage, and would make what type of car it is easier to ID.

http://xtremegraphics.org/press/accidentul/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

saw the video of that on youtube, and heard about it on the night but was nowhere near it. I'd love to know what they were doing that they ended up going into the pond. they have to have been messing or a very bad driver as that's a straight road there. It's pretty amusing all the people on youtube leaving comments saying "did he die?" or "omg were they drowned" etc, because it's only about 3 feet of water

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Its an auld fella that was pulled from the car so I'd say its a simple case of hit ice and skidded in.

Probably panicked and hit the brakes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭ronaneire

It's an Opel Astra alright, well spotted!

Hope the old man was alright after it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

so its not a focus saloon? :mad:

yes, hopefully he was grand, though he seems to be or it would have bene in the radio etc. However, he must have been going far too fast if he skidded so badly and at such speed as to be able to mount that curb and ge the whoel car over into the fountain. A sensible person would have been going slowly due to the snow falling, and also due to hte fact that it's a university campus with many people walking all over the place and small roads so you need to be careful anyway

andyseadog wrote: »

no

andyseadog wrote: »

feck, posted that twice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭wingnut

_Conrad_ wrote: »
    It's pretty amusing all the people on youtube leaving comments saying "did he die?" or "omg were they drowned" etc, because it's only about 3 feet of water

http://knowyourmeme.com/memes/did-he-died--2

_Conrad_ wrote: »
    no

you've dashed my hopes and dreams :mad:

thats my car spotter career out the window

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭The Snipe

For those asking about it, The old fella hit a bollard, swerved and went up the curb, must have skidded on the ice on the lake for a second before it broke, and ended up inside - he was then rescued by a fire rescue team, where he was put into the firetruck to warm up before an ambulance arrived to check him out.

that must have been terribly unpleasant.

could have been a whole lot worse though