Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brian Cowen, Sean Fitzpatrick, Golf and the Gardai

• Registered Users Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

Seems to be a heave happening against Cowen.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,559 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

• Registered Users Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

Ha, hadn't looked at the previous page

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,559 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

According to various twitterer a/cs, there will be a FF motion of no confidence in Biffo tomorrow:
    http://twitter.com/quiatimet
    http://twitter.com/oconnellbrian

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

evidence or blind assumptions?

what 'evidence' is there to connect a game of golf to government corruption, no member of state would ever go out social outing with leading business men no?

the amount of people on complaining about everybody possible but themselves on here is shocking, until the country realises that the public played a huge part in this, we are doomed to repeat it

Well you have no "evidence" that I played any part in this, but you seems happy enough to imply that I - and many others like me - did ?

Doesn't that make half of your post a "blind assumption" of its own?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,703 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

The main problem I see here is that he knew of serious problems in anglo, yet still let them in on the guarantee.

Also he knew about these problems a month before the golf game, surely he may have thought to himself, "wonder how that all ended up? Might just ask seanie on the walk to the 13th here"

Also this isnt your average local GAA fundraiser, Cowen and Seanie arent going to be selected to play together at random. Im gonna go out on a limb here and say that they were deliberatily put together, at either ones request, to discuss these matters, but its a lot easier to defend a game of golf than an official meeting. This has no proof or anything, just a theory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Wide Road

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Well you have no "evidence" that I played any part in this, but you seems happy enough to imply that I - and many others like me - did ?

It reminds me of poor Richard Bruton's effort to get rid of Enda.

Wide Road wrote: »

How so? On what planet criteria is a Taoiseach who shouted "we're not f**king letting Anglo fail" (inexplicably costing us many, many billions with that outburst) being found out lying about somehow not recalling or revealing a meeting with the owner of said Anglo even remotely like what happened between Kenny & Bruton?

Do explain your rationale (this should be interesting)......

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Biggins wrote: »

Deserves its own thread, Biggins! Drumm obviously did his research on where was the most beneficial to flee to.

Just a pity he didn't put as much effort into running said so-called "bank".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Deserves its own thread, Biggins! Drumm obviously did his research on where was the most beneficial to flee to.

Just a pity he didn't put as much effort into running said so-called "bank".
    True.

Back on topic, I honestly don't know what the truth is about this situation and I don't think we ever will.
    Again being honest, it just racks up as to yet another suspicious event in the life of Fianna Fail and its members.
    And despite my obviously dislike sometimes for that things that are now FF, the record of their party now and in the future does/will still speak loads for its calibre and make-up of an ever growing number of people who are of questionable action or in-action - or just plain incompetence for the position they hold.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Fitzerb wrote: »
    ... Did they discuss the business? I would safely say yes that there had to be some degree of discussion regarding the economy and the general way things were going. However I truly doubt that they discussed this in any great detail and I have no doubt that they did not agree or even discuss the bail out and here’s why I think so. ...

So all that time in the company of the chairman of the third largest Irish bank, which just happened to be freefalling, and they never discussed it's situation ?

That actually shows the taoiseach to be even more incompetent.

In your hard to read posts, you mention witnesses, yet those witnesses happened to be ex Anglo insiders, close friends and personal appointee to the CB.
    Oh and in my experience Garda that are favourable to a party are the ones appointed as the drivers/bodyguards.
    lynski wrote: »
    maybe it has been asked, i have not read the entire thread, but if he did not discuss the banking crisis, clearly looming, why the hell not? he was finance minister, surely if he has this group together it should have been the only topic of conversation? if he had to go golfing with every chairman of every bank to get info then why didn't he?
    it shows deep incompetence that he did not discuss it and even more that he did not manage to come up with a plausible reason for spending 7hrs in the company of bankers if not for work.
    oh who are the 12% who still trust them and how can they be stopped?

Exactly why the hell didn't he discuss it.
    FFS do ffers think w are all complete eejits at this stage.

As other poster has mentioned, we now have conflicting reports as to what the occassion was about.
    Was it a fund raising event, was it just a social occassion or was it a discussion on kicking starting small businesses ?

I away the next revelation that it was to discuss betting on horses ala bertie. :rolleyes:
    FYI he's your leader too :rolleyes:

Ah here comes reinforcements. :rolleyes:

He is leader only in name, he is a disgrace to his office and to the people he supposedly leads.
    Wide Road wrote: »

And another one arrives.
    Unlike Kenny cowen hasn't the strength to survive.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭Spidermany

Jmayo, I know one of Brian Cowen's drivers as he is indirectly related. He has never discussed his politics with the family and in fact pointedly refuses to do so.

Can't even tell you if he was the driver at Druid's Glen as he doesn't discuss work - wish he would!!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Spidermany wrote: »
    Jmayo, I know one of Brian Cowen's drivers as he is indirectly related. He has never discussed his politics with the family and in fact pointedly refuses to do so.

Can't even tell you if he was the driver at Druid's Glen as he doesn't discuss work - wish he would!!

Maybe so, things might have changed, but I do know of a former FG minister had as his driver a Garda whose fmaily were all major FG supporters.
    Perhaps times have changed, but for some reason I doubt it, especially when ff is in the mix.

I would also presume, as you allued to in your post, that Gardaí are not allowed discuss or divulge anything they hear whilst in these roles ?
    Much like the offical secrets act in the UK I expect.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

the irish public took out mortgages they now are defaulting on costing the tax payer huge amounts of money - FACT

there is no evidence to support any shady dealings on a golf course, mere hear say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

the irish public took out mortgages they now are defaulting on costing the tax payer huge amounts of money - FACT
    In fairness, private mortgages are not a really the big cost issue at this stage, nor do many project them to be the big issue into the future, though that is speculation for now, albeit economically (or at least legally) sound in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 688 ✭✭✭lalee17

Brian Cowen plays sports? :confused:

No, golf isn't a sport. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Shea O'Meara

And so...
    The only new information to emerge was that after playing golf with Mr FitzPatrick and his friend Fintan Drury, a number of other people joined them for dinner.
    They were Mr Cowen's garda driver, businessman Gary McGann, who was then a member of the Anglo board, and Alan Gray, who had been appointed to the Central Bank board by Mr Cowen in 2007.
    Mr Cowen said they had not discussed bank matters and again rejected suggestions that he acted improperly.
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0113/politics.html

So in FFail separatist land it went like this;
    Seanie: 'Howya Biffo!'
    Biffo: 'How's she cuttin' Seanie?'
    Seanie: 'Ah sure you know yourself.'
    Gray: 'How's it hanging lads?'
    Seanie: 'Not great, but let's not discuss it as this is a social event/fund raiser/think thank.'
    Gray: 'Too right.'
    Biffo: 'Here, here. Is that the chicken? I asked for the beef, but sure I might have a go at the chicken.'
    Seanie: 'Sure have both. Anyone see Desperate Housewives the other night?'

• Registered Users Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

how do mary, michael martain and brian lenihan view their leader

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

there is no evidence to support any shady dealings on a golf course, mere hear say

Not a fact at all.
    That particular shítstorm hasn't hit this Bankers Republic quite yet.
    The socialisation of private losses hasn't and won't be allowed for the mortgage holder.
    That's reserved for the golfing clique.

goat2 wrote: »
    how do mary, michael martain and brian lenihan view their leader

The silence says more than any throwaway soundbites they might utter.

I just want these FF and GP people to go and let the rest of us get on with trying to rebuild what's left of our country.
    Just go.

• Registered Users Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Fitzerb

gambiaman wrote: »
    The silence says more than any throwaway soundbites they might utter.

I just want these FF and GP people to go and let the rest of us get on with trying to rebuild what's left of our country.
    Just go.

Well since you wont be voting FF who will you be voting for.

I can guess the stock answer

"anybodt but FF"

Well since you wont be voting FF who will you be voting for.

I can guess the stock answer

"anybodt but FF"

I haven't made my full choice yet, ie preferences.

So guess again if it floats your boat.

kbannon wrote: »
    You get disappointed quite a lot on here. Wait until the GE!
    Anyhow, I'm disappointed that my country has been bankrupted, does that make us even?

Yes one can get very disappointed here when one reads some of the populace rubbish................. but you give me a great laugh.

gambiaman wrote: »
    I haven't made my full choice yet, ie preferences.

So guess again if it floats your boat.

Do you think that fence sitting should be a National sport.

Elections are not a team sport to me.
    I would advise not trying to bait posters, the above was a very amateurish attempt.

It always amazes me how people become so defensive when asked straight questions. Do you ever find that ?

Who are you talking to?

On topic - there are now lots of hints on radio etc that a paper will have more revelations of other Anglo Irish-centric meetings Cowen hasn't disclosed either tonmorrow or over the weekend and the expected outcome is that he will be gone by Tuesday next at the latest.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,298 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

More developments tonight, more revelations. I'm not so sure the exact details - Daily Mail has a front page splash - Drum Knifes Cowen.

• Registered Users Posts: 107 ✭✭beanie.

More developments tonight, more revelations. I'm not so sure the exact details - Daily Mail has a front page splash - Drum Knifes Cowen.
    Front page http://yfrog.com/f/gz4mxmj/
    2nd page http://yfrog.com/f/h4a6yhj/
    Click on the images to enlarge.