Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How Do You Rate Your Intelligence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,619 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Mongo don't know what is this it
    OisinT wrote: »
    Yeah, isn't "mongo" short for Mongoloid?

Mongolians, the fcukers haven't come up with one good idea since the composite bow. I don't care if they conquered most of asia, they'll always be a bunch of mongs as far as I'm concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭sink

I only drag the knuckles on one hand
    messymess wrote: »
    So what option did you choose? :)

It's a public poll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,619 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

sink wrote: »
    It's a public poll.

Just realised that after voting :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

I always find these polls interesting because they clearly demonstrate the common bias of Illusory superiority.

Almost always without fail a far greater number than 50%, often close to 95% of people believe they're of average intelligence or above. While this poll isn't a scientific sample of the population at large it still is effective at showing how common it is for people rate themselves above their peers.

Not necessarily. It could be the case that a preponderance of those that frequent After Hours range from above-average to well above-average intelligence.
    It isn't; but it could be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Average
    I was also on the primary school quiz team!

And the secondary school Irish, science and math quiz teams. :cool:

I cheated in mine tho - had a nokia 3310 under the table and we would text our parents in the audience :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Not as thick as most people
    I used to be a lot more intelligent

Soon as I had my trade papers I literally stopped educating my brain,and along with a healthy penchant for beer for over 15 years, my brain is now a shrivelled up little avocado.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

anniehoo wrote: »
    Either i need to move down a few notches in that poll or you need to explain that a bit better.Ye wha now? :p

Kidding. Just a play on the way your sentence was constructed.
    The way it reads suggests that you ply the conundrum with drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭stevejr

Average
    staker wrote: »
    I used to be a lot more intelligent

Soon as I had my trade papers I literally stopped educating my brain,and along with a healthy penchant for beer for over 15 years, my brain is now a shrivelled up little avocado.

Ah beer...is there anything it can't do!

What's the reason for being reasonable?

Is that an unreasonable question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Pighead wrote: »
    And an alcoholic! Countdown starts at 3.30 in the PM!

Regarding the question at hand, Pighead would describe himself as moderately super intelligent. Definitely the smartest in After Hours and probably in the top five on boards.

Would love to have a brain off with seamus. That's one smart guy. If it were possible, Pighead would make love with seamus to create the cleverest baby this world has ever seen.
    Sorry, Pighead, but I impregnated seamus many years ago.
    While you were still trying to figure out how to pull Miss Piggy, I was dissecting dead transgender people and working out how one could implant a womb into a man.
    I achieved this in 1993 and it was then made into an Arnold schwarzenegger film the following year (Junior).

In the above post, you have further shown that you lack the intelligence be the most intelligent in AH, and you definitely do not make the top 5 on boards.

It's Stephen Hawking, and not Stephen Hawkins.
    Knowing that I'm far below average on the AH scale of intelligence, I selected the lowest choice on the poll.
    I ask that an AH mod add another option for you. One which is lower than the lowest. It's quite clear that you lack the intelligence to post in AH. After all, the general AH user knows how to solve all of the world's problems and you can't even impregnate a man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dunning%E2%80%93Kruger_effect

I'm an exceedingly average human being. I do nothing very badly, but am great at nothing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭SuperInfinity

Average
    I am intelligent, but have a poor memory.

I don't remember things like most people do, for example I don't remember lines from movies or things like that at all unless it goes over my mind a lot of times. I remember the important things and think I hide it fairly well. What worries me most is what I'll remember when I get old... my mom can't remember anything anymore, it's very sad. :(

The reason I mention memory is because I think one way or another, your working memory is going to play a part in your intelligence.... of course there are lots of different types of intelligence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭messymess

It's a public poll.

There's no shame in being average.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Terry wrote: »
    It's Stephen Hawking, and not Stephen Hawkins.
    Knowing that I'm far below average on the AH scale of intelligence, I selected the lowest choice on the poll.
    I ask that an AH mod add another option for you. One which is lower than the lowest. It's quite clear that you lack the intelligence to post in AH. After all, the general AH user knows how to solve all of the world's problems and you can't even impregnate a man.
    Pighead cares not for trivial matters such as the spelling of a puny earthlings surname. Pighead's goal is simple. A complete understanding of the universe, why it is as it is and why it exists at all. It would also be nice to know how to use a toilet brush properly. What do you clean the toilet brush with when you're done wiping the poo from the innards of the toilet bowl?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭sink

messymess wrote: »
    There's no shame in being average.

Considering statistical intelligence distribution in a population is usually a bell curve with a low standard deviation, the overwhelming majority are considerably average, so I am in good company even if I am amongst the few that recognize it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

I always find these polls interesting because they clearly demonstrate the common bias of Illusory superiority.

Almost always without fail a far greater number than 50%, often close to 95% of people believe they're of average intelligence or above. While this poll isn't a scientific sample of the population at large it still is effective at showing how common it is for people rate themselves above their peers.
    Pfffffffff... The sound of wind escaping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭eilo1

Iv been told i am of superior intelligence.............
    Following the evaluation I was sitting in pearse street station and tried to txt my mum my results. I couldnt spell intelligence.....................

WHAT IS THE POINT OF BEING SMART IF YOU CANT SPELL:mad:!!!!!

I guess it depends on what kind of assessment you use to measure intelligence. Lots of people who consider themselves superior because they can spell antidisestablishmentarianism would fall rather short in other categories. There's also a lot of snobbery attached to supposed intelligence, while less educated people are often much better equipped for life in general.
    Tl;dr version: Streetwise can trump literacy skills in the right environment.

of course there are lots of different types of intelligence.
    In one. A person might be eloquent and well read but not able to change a standard plug.
    Also, people who consider themselves of superior intelligence and point to their degrees forget that their knowledge is of a particular subject they studied for years, I would consider intelligence to be much more diverse and well rounded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Johro wrote: »
    In one. A person might be eloquent and well read but not able to change a standard plug.

You can just pay some mug to do that for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Average
    9 inches

Hmmmmm. Quite the big bollocks arent we

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

I am intelligent, but have a poor memory.

I don't remember things like most people do, for example I don't remember lines from movies or things like that at all unless it goes over my mind a lot of times. I remember the important things and think I hide it fairly well. What worries me most is what I'll remember when I get old... my mom can't remember anything anymore, it's very sad. :(

The reason I mention memory is because I think one way or another, your working memory is going to play a part in your intelligence.... of course there are lots of different types of intelligence.
    +1. I'm pretty good at math and problem solving but my memory is extremely poor. Getting worse with age too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Pighead cares not for trivial matters such as the spelling of a puny earthlings surname. Pighead's goal is simple. A complete understanding of the universe, why it is as it is and why it exists at all. It would also be nice to know how to use a toilet brush properly. What do you clean the toilet brush with when you're done wiping the poo from the innards of the toilet bowl?
    You clean it with a piss of justice.

stovelid wrote: »
    You can just pay some mug to do that for you.
    Yeah you could. Only your 'mug' knows how to change a plug. :D Or you could do it yourself. I'd find it more satisfying to be independent than to be able to quote from Shakespeare while he did it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭grungepants

I resent the question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Pighead cares not for trivial matters such as the spelling of a puny earthlings surname. Pighead's goal is simple. A complete understanding of the universe, why it is as it is and why it exists at all.
    To paraphrase Descartes; It exists because it exists.
    That's the easy answer.

In all honesty, you are only a figment of my imagination (cue boards rumours that we are one and the same, even though we are because all of boards if a figment of my imagination, just like the entire universe is).

I woke up one morning and was bored, so I decided to create a universe. That's why you exist.

A few people noticed my recent absence from boards. I was spending time on fagd;anwtgsssa9t$^$%&9sotq90wnar.str%^$%$£^£!^ . It's a website on a planet in the Andromeda galaxy. If you were to translate the name of that website to English, it would be "boards.ie". My imagination isn't really good.
    It would also be nice to know how to use a toilet brush properly. What do you clean the toilet brush with when you're done wiping the poo from the innards of the toilet bowl?

Wash the bowl, then use the bleach of your choice to clean it.
    Leave the toilet brush in the toilet as you are cleaning it.
    Then flush.
    You clean both at the same time.

That, or get a woman. Women know how to clean up ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,350 ✭✭✭✭starlit

About High Above Average scale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

I'm smart enough to acknowledge that I know **** all about most things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Average
    I'm lost.

What's the score in the Pighead v Terry match?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

To paraphrase Descartes; It exists because it exists.
    That's the easy answer.

In all honesty, you are only a figment of my imagination (cue boards rumours that we are one and the same, even though we are because all of boards if a figment of my imagination, just like the entire universe is).

I woke up one morning and was bored, so I decided to create a universe. That's why you exist.

A few people noticed my recent absence from boards. I was spending time on fagd;anwtgsssa9t$^$%&9sotq90wnar.str%^$%$£^£!^ . It's a website on a planet in the Andromeda galaxy. If you were to translate the name of that website to English, it would be "boards.ie". My imagination isn't really good.

Then flush.

Have you ever wondered if you're really the only person that actually exists and everyone around you is created to fill some need you have subconsciously. Even your worst enemy would exist to challenge you physically or mentally, etc.

The reason that people die around you and you cannot know what happens after you die is because it is your world.

Trippy.

Average
    OisinT wrote: »
    Have you ever wondered if you're really the only person that actually exists and everyone around you is created to fill some need you have subconsciously. Even your worst enemy would exist to challenge you physically or mentally, etc.

The reason that people die around you and you cannot know what happens after you die is because it is your world.

Trippy.

Mongo's brain hurt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

I thought I was pretty smart, maybe even above average, but when reading the start of this thread it said the time as "Yesterday at 22:15" and I thought, Jeys I didn't see this thread yesterday.

Took me a while to cop it was past 12pm and that is why it was reading as yesterday, so I have resolved that I am barely even of average intelligence!

I'm lost.

What's the score in the Pighead v Terry match?
    It's a scoreless draw so far. Like watching paint dry.

Average
    Johro wrote: »
    It's a scoreless draw so far. Like watching paint dry.

Needs a good meaty tackle & a sending off to get it going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

Average
    clearly this polls results are wrong, average should be the most filled with a steady decline in numbers heading up towards genius and a more dramatic decline towards mongo.

I'd say im slightly above average intelligence but I am an underachiever as I lack motivation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

I use a rating machine comprised of vodka red bull and olives.

when the olives hit the floor in a squishy mess, i know my IQ has dropped enough to start chatting up the nearest lucky woman.

Then flush.

He shoots, he scores. Finally, a goal...
    Oh wait... Offside.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

lol@the majority thinking they're not as thick as the majority.

SV wrote: »
    lol@the majority thinking they're not as thick as the majority.
    To be fair poll needs an option in between 'Not as thick as most people' and 'I'm a Genius'.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,813 ✭✭✭take everything

Why aren't there any poll options above genius? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

How do I rate my intelligence? I don't know. I like to think I'm smarter than average. But I'm afraid that if I took an I.Q. test I wouldn't be on top form and I'd get a mediocre result. And you can imagine what that would do to my ego.

Thomas828 wrote: »
    How do I rate my intelligence? I don't know. I like to think I'm smarter than average. But I'm afraid that if I took an I.Q. test I wouldn't be on top form and I'd get a mediocre result. And you can imagine what that would do to my ego.
    Same here, I would rate myself pretty smart, but then I do or say something phenomenally stupid.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Carl Sagan

Average
    Can't really rate it accurately but gonna pick above average anyway because that's what everyone's gonna pick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,423 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Average
    I would like to think i'm not a thick as most people, but everyone is stupid in their own little way. How does one quantify intelligence anyway? I might be more intelligent when it comes to, say, gaming. Whereas if you asked me anything to do with sport i wouldn't have a clue. Does that affect my intelligence? As for IQ tests, some people who are highly intelligent do terrible on them, because they're not able for test situations.

I think everyone is super-intelligent, and most people play that fact down. :)

I would have to say average, half the people I know think I'm smarter than them and the other the other half think they are smarter than me.

But then again, it depends on the question!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Lirange

Average. Like most people.

Of course that won't be the "average" response on this poll. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Average
    I'd consider myself relatively smart, or it could be just the fact that I amn't a waster and work hard, so I seem smarter than others.

My social skills are a different story though, I'm fcuked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

About Average...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭whatsamsn

9 inches

And the winner to the best post in this thread hahahahah.

But what is Intelligence?
    Few examples:

- You could have a superior IQ but work in Tesco.
    - You could have a superior IQ but totally gullible with people.
    - You could barely be able to spell basic words. But sharp when it comes to people.
    - You could barely be able to write your own name but great when it comes to making money.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

Me, I'm in the Genius bracket, always have been, it is a painful burden sometimes to know that you are usually the smartest person in the room, modest too I am :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

One night, a British channel did the IQ test with Anne Robinson and Philip Schofield. The test was in a TV guide and then you followed it on TV
    Was good craic, they run these once or twice a year.

Average is 90-110, I got 95

Fine by me, voted average here