Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Battlefield 3 to be revealed

• Registered Users Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Has anyone had problems with the release date check when starting the game? Mine only goes to 80% and a few seconds later i get an error message.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

• Registered Users Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Big Knox

KeithAFC wrote: »

Yep the 570's are good cards alright but I would recommend going for a non stock version if possible, older nvidia stock cards have a tendency to overheat.

I'd recommend the following:

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=GX-085-GI&groupid=701&catid=1914&subcat=1010

Better cooling and has a better clock speed for the same price!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Big Knox wrote: »
    Yep the 570's are good cards alright but I would recommend going for a non stock version if possible, older nvidia stock cards have a tendency to overheat.

I'd recommend the following:

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=GX-085-GI&groupid=701&catid=1914&subcat=1010

Better cooling and has a better clock speed for the same price!!
    You got a similar type card to that?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Big Knox

KeithAFC wrote: »
    You got a similar type card to that?

I have an Asus GTX 580, alot more expensive but yeah similar card in terms of it's not a stock built Nvidia it's made by Asus with a custom cooling system.

You can't go wrong with that card mate if that's your budget!!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,017 ✭✭✭Doge

If anyone else is annoyed by the BETA remaining in the games list, heres a shneaky way of hiding it:

Edit "C:\ProgramData\Origin\InstalledGames.xml" in notepad

Search for Game GameID="71171" and change "hidden="0"" to "hidden="1""
    Save
    Restart Origin

• Registered Users Posts: 14,685 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

We gonna have a release night big game on the pc? Get on the boards.ie platoon and lets get it going!!!

I'm sleep deprived and a noob, have only played the beta for a few hours....

but I'll give it a go.

Will ye be using headsets?

I have the non mic verison of the PC 350s, with a mic plugged into me soundcard. Need to try and get the volume right.

Okay so I've applied to become a member of the platoon.

Is there any platoon threads on here I need to keep an eye on or anything?

Edit:

I be installing le teamspeak now.

I'll get to grips eventually...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

This. Game. ROCKS.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

For those getting DC's, this was recommended to me

http://battlelog.battlefield.com/bf3/forum/threadview/2832654347699312679/

reinstall PB

Gonna try it now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Am I the only one not liking it??
    Can't get into it at all,everything just feels so different to BC2,movement,aiming etc.

Even the campaign is boring so far.
    From start to finish that
    jet mission
    was the most tedious bit of gaming I've ever had to endure.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,707 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Jaafa wrote: »
    10 million!? Where did you get that? Blacks ops only sold 6 mill on day one!

10 million indeed.
    http://bf3blog.com/2011/10/battlefield-3-ships-10-million-copies/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Dcully wrote: »
    Jaafa wrote: »
    10 million!? Where did you get that? Blacks ops only sold 6 mill on day one!

10 million indeed.
    http://bf3blog.com/2011/10/battlefield-3-ships-10-million-copies/
    But this is day 3 I think

• Registered Users Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

Not a moments bother for me either TBH....get a tad long loading time but never miss a vehicle at round start. A few little fixes and the game will be just savage across the board.

Well off to bed now lads I have a Garda Motorbike Test in the morning in DUBLIN CASTLE :confused::confused::confused::confused::confused: Otherwise I would be on all night!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 232 ✭✭lemon_remon

Played it there, pretty awesome. Performance is soooooooooo much better than the beta with my 4890. In the beta got 30 fps on low, getting 40-60 fps on medium now with post aa on high :)

• Registered Users Posts: 531 ✭✭✭tiny timy

I found the Campaign mode to be a let down, short, full of glitches, from speech out of sync to doors not opening and soldier models just standing about the place. Glad i've it done so i can put all my time into Mulitplayer. I agree with a few posts, it fells completely different to BF2 in terms of handling, aiming and the like. Still worth the wait though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

enjoying the game so for although it has its problems

mini map is useless
    flags on conquest are to close together
    Choppers and Airplanes are unusable
    auto regen on vehicles is just stupid
    why cant you throw mines and C4 :confused:
    squad play is fcuked, whats all this bull that you can spawn on any squad member

Damn you COD for destroying the BF series

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,707 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Choppers and planes unusable?

Cant agree mate, once you get your unlocks they are a lot of fun and very usable imo.

Auvers wrote: »
    enjoying the game so for although it has its problems

mini map is useless
    flags on conquest are to close together
    Choppers and Airplanes are unusable
    auto regen on vehicles is just stupid
    why cant you throw mines and C4 :confused:
    squad play is fcuked, whats all this bull that you can spawn on any squad member

Damn you COD for destroying the BF series
    How has any of that got anything to do with COD???
    Theres no vehicles,mines or squad play even in COD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

cambo2008 wrote: »

because they changed the Battlefield game mechanics to suit the COD playing style of run and gun

• Registered Users Posts: 6,489 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

Conquest on karkand is terrible on the 360. The map is far too big for the 24 player limit. Spent twenty minutes last night running back and forth, only seeing any activity in the aircraft.

Auvers wrote: »
    cambo2008 wrote: »

because they changed the Battlefield game mechanics to suit the COD playing style of run and gun
    Would that not be the developers you should be damning then??

• Registered Users Posts: 4,844 ✭✭✭shootermacg

OK haven't bought this yet, where's the best place to get the game + addons?
    I've been holding off till now, because I haven't bought a new PC yet (xmas : ()
    But I think I'll give it a shot on this old gal until then.
    So really what I'm looking for is the game + any extra maps.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,092 Mod ✭✭✭✭ktulu123

Conquest on karkand is terrible on the 360. The map is far too big for the 24 player limit. Spent twenty minutes last night running back and forth, only seeing any activity in the aircraft.

Karkand? Really??

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,518 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

The campaign makes so many of the mistakes that CoD does. Tom Clancy nonsense with endless scripted gallery shooting and added Press E to Play Game QTEs. A missed opportunity. At least Bad Company didn't take itself so seriously.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,489 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

ktulu123 wrote: »
    Karkand? Really??

I think thats the name The huge one that's in the desert with burning oil wells in the distance.

Playing the single player on hard, and truly is hard in places.

Did anyone playing on hard
    actually manage to man the LMG on the bridge in Operation Swordbreaker without being killed a few seconds later?

I'm finding it impossible to stay alive if I go for the LMG.

The first walkthrough video i watched on hard difficulty, the guy stayed well away from it!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

I think thats the name The huge one that's in the desert with burning oil wells in the distance.
    Operation Firestorm