Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good Pubs for Trad Sessions

Options
  • 11-01-2011 11:52am
    Registered Users Posts: 9,251 ✭✭✭

I'm new to Galway and, yes, I know this actually on the face of it sounds like a stupid question so apologies straight up but I'm wondering what are the good pubs for trad sessions on a Thursday night and what are your favourites. I was in in Taaffes on Thursday and it was grand, 2 lads with guitars and a lad with an accordian but I'd prefer less songs and more tunes. Somewhere that isn't packed to the roof would be good too. Can anyone recommend somewhere that fits the bill? Thanks!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

A lot suggested here
    http://www.galwaycitypubguide.com/trad-music-galway.html

Some more in this Trad forum thread.

Most will prob suggest Crane and I would too.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭inisboffin

Crane, Tí Coilí and Taffes are the top 3. With the latter (and to a certain extent all music pubs) you would get a tune session sometimes and others songs, all just depending on day and time (the Crane often has blues, bluegrass and singer-songwriters for example). The ballad sessions are becoming more popular again, but usually it's a mix of both. Look for a fiddle ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭SeanPuddin

Western Hotel at the top of Eyre Sqaure have trad not sure when but it's always quiet.

• Registered Users Posts: 108 ✭✭NauP

Western Hotel on Prospect Hill on Thursday nights at 9:30 and Rabbitts Bar, Foster Street also on Thursday nights at 9:30.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,968 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

NauP wrote: »