Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How many people actually own a Skoda Octavia here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

cpoh1 wrote: »
    Obviously ive got the same problem because I think theyre rotten looking too.

Theyre common as muck, plain, they offer a top of the range "sporty" model (i use the term lightly here) thats nothing but a tarted up diesel (with owners thinking theyre driving an M3 - sure its a vRS so its rapid lad).

I really have no idea why someone would choose one of these outside of practicalities like initial price, cost to run and space (massive boot lad). None of which interest me as a petrolhead.

I'm also going to go on your side. It is a car that you chose with your head for the most part. And it's the head that is making my decision for me. I had a deal practically done on a GTI last weekend as I wanted something relatively swift. Turns out I'll now have a long commute and need a comfy, capable diesel. Happened to come across a decent VRS I think so for my purposes this is a relatively swift compromise. They drive well for what they are and make a good all round hack.

I say relatively as compared to the average 1.6 diesel/petrol that powers the majority of cars in this country these days they are fast. But they are not however sports cars (I wouldn't consider the GTI one either). I would reserve that for something that is properly special or excels in a certain area, be it handling, engineering integrity, whatever.
    ThisRegard wrote: »
    Does no compute, you're calling yourself a petrolhead but have no idea what a vRS is.

Goes back to my post yesterday about the problem with the Motors forum.

And this is the reason why I'm not convinced it's a good purchase:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭zt-OctaviaN

vectra wrote: »
    I bought one
    would you seriously call it rotten??
    if so I wonder whee exactly your head is situated LOL

You got it :D

Vectra would you swap that VRS for a Xray XB808?? Ill paint the shell white! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,664 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Vectra would you swap that VRS for a Xray XB808?? Ill paint the shell white! :D

Is she diesel LOL :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭dlambirl

07 1.9TDi - :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭cpoh1

And you being a petrolhead will show us your car and demonstrate what a real car is then?

Not that my cars have any business in an Octavia thread but sure why not. I drive a 2001 DC5 integra typeR as my daily runaround, exhaust (manifold and cat back), intake (filter and manifold), tein coilovers and kpro remap (made 246bhp after the map). My weekend toy is an R32 GTR skyline that has been breaking my heart for the last 12 months but i just cant get round to selling it. Ive posted pictures of both in the past if you want to search.

Anyhow, even if I was driving a yaris I would still feel like this about the Octavia.

EPM wrote: »
    I'm also going to go on your side. It is a car that you chose with your head for the most part. And it's the head that is making my decision for me. I had a deal practically done on a GTI last weekend as I wanted something relatively swift. Turns out I'll now have a long commute and need a comfy, capable diesel. Happened to come across a decent VRS I think so for my purposes this is a relatively swift compromise. They drive well for what they are and make a good all round hack.

I say relatively as compared to the average 1.6 diesel/petrol that powers the majority of cars in this country these days they are fast. But they are not however sports cars (I wouldn't consider the GTI one either). I would reserve that for something that is properly special or excels in a certain area, be it handling, engineering integrity, whatever.

I completely get where you are coming from but would still say go for the GTI over a diesel vRS. I found driving a daily bucket that was cheap to run soul destroying so I bought the honda for commuting. The fun and pleasure in driving a fun car everyday far outweighs what you spend in petrol on it.

Would much prefer the GTI but over 800+ miles a week its not an option. You're talking about 90 euros to 150 (at least) in terms of go-go juice and that's a considerable difference:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Not that my cars have any business in an Octavia thread but sure why not. I drive a 2001 DC5 integra typeR as my daily runaround, exhaust (manifold and cat back), intake (filter and manifold), tein coilovers and kpro remap (made 246bhp after the map). My weekend toy is an R32 GTR skyline that has been breaking my heart for the last 12 months but i just cant get round to selling it. Ive posted pictures of both in the past if you want to search.

Anyhow, even if I was driving a yaris I would still feel like this about the Octavia.

Harsh mate :p ,a friend of my owns a DC5 and quite likes my car.Different strokes for different folks I guess.

Is she diesel LOL :D

:( no so the economy isnt great but on the plus side the engine idles at about 9k rpm and revs out to about 45k to 50k rpm

Runs on Nitro methane and methanol mix let me know if your interested! haha! :D

Nick

Different strokes I guess.
    A pair of cowboycars.
    Grand for Kids but as you probably know I am way beyond DC5's and Liners.
    I will leave the likes of those to my son.
    Feel much more comfortable driving my vRS knowing it is 100% legal.
    Sure when you look at it your DC5 is a tarted up integra aint it?

and all that work and money to pull 246bhp??
    You could buy a bog standard car with more than those figures.. I wouldnt call any of those two Performace machines to be honest.
    More like Boyracers toys.

Enjoy them
    I know I am and will continue to enjoy my vRS without it breaking my heart or my pocket trying to pour fuel into them :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭whippet

Not an Octavia, but I will be the owner of a Superb Estate as soon as skoda can get around to building the thing !!!

I did suffer somewhat from the badge snobbery before, but when looking at a new car over christmas I looked at a good many options. What realisation I came to was, I am going to be spending the next 80000 miles or so sitting in this seat, at an average of about 40mph, that is about 2000 hours ... and regardless of what others were telling me about 'its a skoda' .. why not look at a BMW, Opel, VW etc ...

But in the wind up, the Driver seat of the Skoda ticked all the right boxes, for comfort, space, toys and engine ....

When it comes to a particular car, its all about what the owner/driver really values that matters.

3 years ago it was about buying a hot-hatch with the toys, hence the GTI, before that it was about cheap insurance and running costs, hence the Ibiza ... maybe in three years it will be a V8 7 Series ... because I can? (hopefully!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,400 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Excellent post whippet :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

To me the Octavia is how the Germans do a Corolla. Nothing more, nothing less, little to excite, little to offend, worthy but dull.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Funnily enough I think the Octavia is beating the Golf at its own game.

The Golf used to be many things to many people, a workhorse, a family car, a reliable car, a sporty car and a classless car.

If you think about it the Octavia is fast becoming these things.

While I appreciate how good they are, without the VRS halo model I would view them as a good honest car much like anything from Toyota.

They didn't light my fire when I had them on loan from a garage (I wish it was a VRS I had) and they all just seemed to feel and drive like my old Avensis.

Nice car, a good recommendation generally but just not for me unless its a VRS

To me the Octavia is how the Czechs do a Corolla. Nothing more, nothing less, little to excite, little to offend, worthy but dull.

FYP:D;):p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

To me the Octavia is how the Germans do a Corolla. Nothing more, nothing less, little to excite, little to offend, worthy but dull.

I agree.

Its just a pity Toyota no longer offer good performance cars as they can do them so well

Different strokes I guess.
    A pair of cowboycars.
    Grand for Kids but as you probably know I am way beyond DC5's and Liners.
    I will leave the likes of those to my son.
    Feel much more comfortable driving my vRS knowing it is 100% legal.
    Sure when you look at it your DC5 is a tarted up integra aint it?

and all that work and money to pull 246bhp??
    You could buy a bog standard car with more than those figures.. I wouldnt call any of those two Performace machines to be honest.
    More like Boyracers toys.

Enjoy them
    I know I am and will continue to enjoy my vRS without it breaking my heart or my pocket trying to pour fuel into them :pac:

bitter much :eek:

So you dont consider a 380whp 4wd skyline gtr a performance machine :confused:This car was one of the fastest road cars on the market when it came out. My DC5 is 246hp on 95 unleaded and weighs in under 1150kgs, it'd rape any standard fwd hot hatch out there for any money, epecially on track. And a DC5 IS an integra fella, one of the best handling fwd cars out there for any money.

I dont know why i bit to be honest, anyway enjoy your daysul smoker. Ill stick to my performance cars.

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    On the flip side alot of people dont like Hondas and would feel the same way about your Integra.

I also dont see how a 197hp turbocharged family saloon car is average? Are normally family saloons running over 200hp, no not really.

I was talking about the diesel 170hp model which is nothing to shout home about at all. While were at though, 197hp is feck all in a car that weight nearly 1500kgs without passengers. While 0-60 times are a bit pointless any car that takes a bit over 7 seconds to hit 60 is average in my book.

As for my integra if I bought cars to make other people happy i would have a 318 beemer, the fact that i couldnt give two hoots about my image with others means i get to enjoy a fantastic car in its own right. Again I seem to have struck a nerve with vectra who doesnt like his car being insulted.

My DC5 is 246hp on 95 unleaded and weighs in under 1150kgs, it'd rape any standard fwd hot hatch out there for any money, epecially on track. And a DC5 IS an integra fella, one of the best handling fwd cars out there for any money.

PMSL
    Now that is some boast.
    Your de-catted...Re-Mapped.. Blah Blah..Money pit would beat and STANDARD hot hatch..

ZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.....!!! Boring debate.. :rolleyes:

OH
    DC2
    DC5
    They are integras and all made fromJapscrap.
    Only designed for youngsters.
    my Daysul Smoker..??
    well
    140mph is quite enough for me out of a STANDARD hatch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,400 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

I have to say, for anyone with one or two children the Octavia is a great buy imo. It'll never be a monster on the road (VRS models included) but it's relatively cheap and roomy enough for a small family.

EDIT: and as Vectra says 140 mph top speed is enough for anyone on the road, wtf do you need any more for? The 170bhp diesel model has enough poke for overtaking when needed on dual-carriageways and motorways.
    Again I seem to have struck a nerve with vectra who doesnt like his car being insulted.
    He also seems to have struck a nerve with you. Defensive much? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

PMSL
    Now that is some boast.
    Your de-catted...Re-Mapped.. Blah Blah..Money pit would beat and STANDARD hot hatch..

OH
    DC2
    DC5
    my Daysul Smoker..??
    well

from one Skoda fanboy to another,will ya stop please,you're embarrasing yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Altreab

A very happy owner of a 11 reg vRS sensible diesel :D

I can see Skoda Octavia threads going the way of fog light threads:D

Ouch a few little insults flying here! :(;)

I think the post is about octavias and wanting to generally know peoples experience with em!

Yes the VRS is the sporty model and coming in 2 grand engines putting a nice ooomf to essentially what is quite a well built everyday and family car! which in turn seems to come highly reccomended from what Ive been reading.

The classic hot hatches e.g. Integra or type R etc etc dont fall into everyday cars i.e. wanting large boot, comfortable, family range cars

Why there are comparisons going on in this thread against other cars I dont know?

Anymore peeps with pics of VRS to drool over post em up! I like em! :P jk
    btw saw one this morning on way to work in claremorris anyone on here with that one? last 2 letters on the reg were 67

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭whippet

I was talking about the diesel 170hp model which is nothing to shout home about at all. While were at though, 197hp is feck all in a car that weight nearly 1500kgs without passengers. While 0-60 times are a bit pointless any car that takes a bit over 7 seconds to hit 60 is average in my book.

As for my integra if I bought cars to make other people happy i would have a 318 beemer, the fact that i couldnt give two hoots about my image with others means i get to enjoy a fantastic car in its own right. Again I seem to have struck a nerve with vectra who doesnt like his car being insulted.

what a priceless post !!!!

Over three years of driving a GTI I have met so many heads like yourself on the roads.

Rolling up beside me at the lights, little blondie in the passenger seat with seat belt coated in foundation and fake tan ... you get the same look from the driver .... a pair of little eyes like piss holes in the snow from underneath a tatty american baseball cap or dandruff coated hoodie ... then a blip of the throttle, a bit of revving, the gauntlet is laid down.

..... looking at the lights on the other side of the crossroad, the other lights change from green, to orange .. the revs get higher, then bam ...... we get the green light ... the mid 90's Japmobile screeches off in a cloud of smoke ...

As I check the way is clear and move along at a normal pace, I look in the back seat at my first born and say to my wife in the passanger seat 'If he grows up to be like that I will disown him'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

r3nu4l wrote: »
    I have to say, for anyone with one or two children the Octavia is a great buy imo. It'll never be a monster on the road (VRS models included) but it's relatively cheap and roomy enough for a small family.
    Thats a shallow compliment when you consider kids fit in an M5 is just perfect. Ironically even better than an Octavia as its bigger and more comfortable. Or an Insignia or a Accord etc etc. The ability to fit two children isnt something the Octavia has any particular hold on.
    r3nu4l wrote: »
    EDIT: and as Vectra says 140 mph top speed is enough for anyone on the road, wtf do you need any more for? The 170bhp diesel model has enough poke for overtaking when needed on dual-carriageways and motorways.
    Hehe, yeah, its "enough" to drive in indeed, what would you need more for? Overtaking vRS's I guess... :p
    whippet wrote: »
    As I check the way is clear and move along at a normal pace, I look in the back seat at my first born and say to my wife in the passanger seat 'If he grows up to be like that I will disown him'
    Lets hope you dont pass gross stereotyping off as a trait either!

Over three years of driving a GTI I have met so many heads like yourself on the roads.

Rolling up beside me at the lights, little blondie in the passenger seat with seat belt coated in foundation and fake tan ... you get the same look from the driver .... a pair of little eyes like piss holes in the snow from underneath a tatty american baseball cap or dandruff coated hoodie ... then a blip of the throttle, a bit of revving, the gauntlet is laid down.

..... looking at the lights on the other side of the crossroad, the other lights change from green, to orange .. the revs get higher, then bam ...... we get the green light ... the mid 90's Japmobile screeches off in a cloud of smoke ...

I don't think cpoh even said he did that stuff and that's a little bit of an over-generalistaion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

EPM wrote: »
    I don't think cpoh even said he did that stuff and that's a little bit of an over-generalistaion

This should be renamed to the stereotype thread :rolleyes:

Was this the guy?

498395686_74bd9674db.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,306 ✭✭✭MrFrisp

I have a 02 Octavia TDi...High milage,,but going great...It's a fab family car..

Would love a vRS,,but have to wait until Biffo and Co. start shouldering some of the costs of the country,then I might be able to afford one...:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

The Octavia is a good car for it class no doubt

I think the problem is that some drivers espically of the "high powered" versions think they are drving rocket ships and assume that this is the perfect car for anyone. It happened to the 1.9tds Audi brigade and the 320d brigade. Anyone with a faster/ better car has wasted money or is a badge snob.

I had never bothered to look up the VRS specs but seeing them on this thread shocked me at how little power they have in ratio to spoiler size,badges, gaudy colours and the smug looks on their owners. Lads a 320d BMW has nearly as much power and half the people in the country have one of them.

They do have a huge boot mind you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Divorce Referendum

The Octavia is a good car for it class no doubt

I think the problem is that some drivers espically of the "high powered" versions think they are drving rocket ships and assume that this is the perfect car for anyone. It happened to the 1.9tds Audi brigade and the 320d brigade. Anyone with a faster/ better car has wasted money or is a badge snob.

I had never bothered to look up the VRS specs but seeing them on this thread shocked me at how little power they have in ratio to spoiler size,badges, gaudy colours and the smug looks on their owners. Lads a 320d BMW has nearly as much power and half the people in the country have one of them.

How much power does one need? Like whats the problem with the power specs of the vrs.(i dont own one by the way) Shur if half the country has a car that is 'nearly' as powerful then its a nice alternative to the expensive beemer.

Lads a 320d BMW has nearly as much power and half the people in the country have one of them.

..and a lowly 520d has more power than the vRS and its not by any means a sports model. It is quite confusing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Divorce Referendum

Matt Simis wrote: »
    ..and a lowly 520d has more power than the vRS and its not by any means a sports model. It is quite confusing.

Yes a car that is twice the price is very comparible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭ltdslipdiff

Well I hate to rain on the parade, but chances are we'll all be driving electric cars in a few years and all this won't matter !!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭ltdslipdiff

No we wont

I hope not too.....

Yes a car that is twice the price is very comparible

Eh.. not it isnt, try checking facts instead of ninja replying.
    The 520d starts at 41k and the vRS is priced from EUR28k to 32k. Its not like they are giving vRS's away. Its actually a lot more expensive than I thought though.

There is also the fact the 520d is a absurdly popular car, raising the "average" performance level. Its 184bhp in the latest iteration vs 170bhp on the vRS.

EDIT: The little 520d is not just more powerful, it also outputs lower CO2 in all models (potentially cheaper to tax pending Tax Bands) as well as offering over 12% better MPG. And doesnt cost twice the price. And presumably holds value better, potentially equalising its higher cost of purchase via lower Total cost of ownership over say 3years. So its perfectly valid to compare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,919 ✭✭✭GTE

No we wont
    I hope not too.....

No hope from LIGHTNING I think. More a statement of fact. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

How much power does one need? Like whats the problem with the power specs of the vrs.(i dont own one by the way) Shur if half the country has a car that is 'nearly' as powerful then its a nice alternative to the expensive beemer.

Well I want more power than that but that's just me. Especially given their gaudy performance styling I would want a bit more than average. Its a heavy car, 170bhp - 190Bhp is very average, and the torque The BMW is more expensive but it better. If you want to save money dont by a top of the range car. (or a new car for that fact, think what 32k would buy on the second hand market....dear lord)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

Matt Simis wrote: »
    Well before the 20 and growning Octavia owners lynch the few speaking against the tide, Ill jump on your side too. I dont find anything about them attractive. They are suggested here too much and oddly family members with them suggest them as options in bizarre circumstances too. There clearly appeal to and exceed at a very limited requirement-set.

I would personally really like a Superb Estate 3.6 V6 4x4, Im not against Skoda at all, but the Octavia? Good god no. When I finally sat in a new one 2years ago after reading all the great stories here my jaw dropped. Its simply appalling or at least compared to what I was led to believe.
    I hear you! I'm on the look out for a car at the moment, and have driven a few cars. The petrol VRS was on my shopping list, not the diesel, as I'm buying used and don't trust that 170bhp unit from VW. I test drove one and I have to say I was also disappointed. The amount of hype ruined it I think. The car is fine, seat is quite good, fairly well equipped, practical, and the petrol should be reliable. The performance was OK, nothing more, but the interior I was let down by. I don't really care one way or another to be honest about interiors much, but I do notice them, and for some reason I was believing the hype that the Octavia is an Audi for less. It's no Audi I can tell you.
    It's the budget VW brand, and while it certainly matches the refinement and comfort of it's VW siblings, the materials quality in the Octavia are a little behind. That's to be expected really, but boards fanboys would have you believe that it's the best car since sliced bread. It's not! It is what it is, nothing more, nothing less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

PMSL
    Now that is some boast.

OH
    DC2
    DC5
    my Daysul Smoker..??
    well

Eh.... Not being funny or anything but a standard DC5 would eat your car, just stating fact here. I'm not greatest fan of the DC5's myself. And just have a look at reliability studies too, you'll find that Honda are above Skoda, just saying like. I have have had VAG diesels, while quick they are nothing compared to a car that revs to 9k rpm and is regarded as one of the best handling fwd cars ever made.

You're the second VRs driver I've seen have a poke at Integras today, are you intimidated by a car that really is made to go quickly?

Also I know which car I'd rather drive out of mine and yours and it certainly isn't your yoke

Onkle wrote: »
    Eh.... Not being funny or anything but a standard DC5 would eat your car, just stating fact here.

Yep, in a straight line and on the track, literally eat it.

It's also funny that the Skoda defenders all come out with "how much power do you really need?" when people state that the VRS is only OK on bhp. They'll be the same people squealing with delight if Skoda announced that the next VRS was to be 280bhp!
    So I think the answer to their question "how much do you really need" is : Whatever a VRS has. :D

Ah now! You're bringing sillyness into the debate with comments like that. Sure he could well reply with Skodas are made from German reject scrap!

Ill play Devils advocate here again, but in the same way their is always somebody who states they have Honda that managed to push out 170/180bhp from only a 1.6. As if they are the only car company that can do so and that their Honda is practically a Zonda beater :)
    It's impressive that nearly 15 years ago there were engines with between 181 (Honda) and 197bhp (Nissan) from a naturally aspirated 1.6, which were proven to be fantastically reliable.
    They weren't supercars, but they were class beaters to be fair.
    A 170bhp diesel with teething problems and a 197bhp 2 litre turbo petrol aren't really memorable power plants.
    Whether people compare them to Zonda's or not doesn't really matter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,395 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Over 100 posts in a thread about the Skoda Octavia and no one has yet mentioned it has a huge boot?

Bought one for my mother in law 8 years ago. Huge boot, it fitted my old washing machine yesterday no problem and on the return trip from the shop my new washing machine. Saved me €30 on delivery costs. Massive boot.

Lotus Elan turbo for sale:

https://www.adverts.ie/vehicles/lotus-elan-turbo/35456469

My ads on adverts.ie:

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

I've an 06 1.9TDI Octavia estate 4x4. A workhorse of a car. Massive boot space.

I've nearly 190k kms on it since Jan 06.

I have it serviced regularly. Turbo went last year. Cost nearly €3 grand to fix. CV joint went and cos its 4x4 it wore the drive shaft which needed replacing. Cost around €400 I think.

The problems I've had are a symtom of my high mileage. I still love the car though. It got me around in the snow recently safely too and that was without winter tyres and where I live its hilly.

Very fuel efficient. c 5.0 l/100kms consistently.

Nobody ever said that the powerplants were special or even memorable. You cant compare a Type R/VZR to a Octavia VRS, they are build for two completely different markets/end users.
    Completely agree!

I've an 06 1.9TDI Octavia estate 4x4. A workhorse of a car. Massive boot space.

I've nearly 190k kms on it since Jan 06.

I have it serviced regularly. Turbo went last year. Cost nearly €3 grand to fix. CV joint went and cos its 4x4 it wore the drive shaft which needed replacing. Cost around €400 I think.

The problems I've had are a symtom of my high mileage. I still love the car though. It got me around in the snow recently safely too and that was without winter tyres and where I live its hilly.

Very fuel efficient. c 5.0 l/100kms consistently.
    3 grand for a turbo? Feck... That cancelled out about 5 years of fuel savings!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭Schorpio

I clicked yes even though it's not true.

I've a Superb and it's got an even bigger boot.