Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

New England Patriots thread (MOD WARNING - #4503)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Blount was never a problem in the Patriots locker room and like many players who had issues with previous teams. Coming to the Pats resurrected his career and he was very grateful for that. Blount was wiling to work hard and Bill treats every player equally because the Pats are a team without divas. And it comes from the very best Brady himself - first in, last out everyday. Blount has been completely classy and high in his praise of the Pats and Bill since he left. Players like Blount have done well because knew they would be treated equally and get their chance. But with Gray having his breakout game, they mightn't be willing to make room for Blount. White (most fans I know don't know what he's done or will bring) seems to be a long term project, so Gray and Vereen will take most of the runs and while Bolden is pretty much useless in the run game. He is very good on ST's and a core member of that unit. I wouldn't mind if we picked Blount up, he knows the system, integrated really well with the team and deep down I think he really regrets leaving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,258 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

TO. wrote: »
    Thing is with Blount his main issue is game time with the Steelers. With Gray and Vereen he will see the exact same amount of game time as he did with Steelers so probably not worth himn being in New England

Blount at Patriots facility now, signing shortly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

Jesus, I had actually typed out a "Not a hope Blount returns" yesterday but decided not to post it just in case. Lo and behold.... :o

Very happy with it though. He cleared waivers, we're getting him dirt cheap, and I love what this means for the run in. Louis Riddick has said it best -

"#Patriots making it clear what kind of football they want to play in November/December/Playoffs. Better bring your big-boy pads..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

@PatriotsSB49
    It will be pretty funny this year when the Patriots use the compensatory pick the'll get for Blount, while he's under contract with them!

Looks like our jerseys are changing ever so slightly next season, and we're moving to the new Patriots text logo (the one that's in our endzone now). There's an article over an Uni Watch about some of the changes. It doesn't mention the Patriots change but if you zoom in on our jersey in the catalog screenshot, you can see it. I can't link to it as the website is blocked here at work.

bos_r_patriots-logo_mb_576.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭BKWDR

Happy to be completely wrong in my assessment and echo back when he was released that he would be missed.

Here's hoping if / when he signs that he gels back into the system, definitely an asset. Real smash mouth back with huge presence, could be exactly what is needed as an option on the December stretch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,141 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

Been reported that Blount is in the practice facility and is expected to sign today

Looks like our jerseys are changing ever so slightly next season

I'd be happy if we brought back our old home kit and kept our current away kit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Like most I'm kinda shocked at the Blount resigning as he can be such a locker-room cancer but maybe he just gels better with the Pats locker-room.

He's an instant upgrade on kick returns.

Gray showed he can carry the load by rushing 37 times against the Colts but its not ideal to have 1 RB carry that amount of the load and not have a relief or backup RB as there was no way Bolden or Vereen would have been able to backup Gray as a between the tackles RB. I don't see him contributing extensively right away in the back field (at least not against the Lions) but he is at worst a more than decent back up to Gray, I think Blount will eventually split carries with Gray.

Also its a 2 year contract (like Gray) so its additional cover for Vereen and Ridley who are in their final seasons.

I'd say Casey Walker is getting cut to make room for him as Siliga is almost back to full health and he has fallen behind Branch in the depth chart. Or Devey as he seems to be a bit of a waste of space.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭TO.

Good to see him back. If he gives us the same effort he gave before happy days. Maybe being around the Pats he will respect the amount of carries he gets and just dig in and get the job done.

Hazys wrote: »
    Like most I'm kinda shocked at the Blount resigning as he can be such a locker-room cancer but maybe he just gels better with the Pats locker-room.

I'm not worried about Blount at all, there was no problems last year and he got on well with everyone. His parting was very amicable and he always spoke very highly of Bill and the franchise after he left. I think it's a very good thing because he's probably thinking to himself. The Pats took him last year and resurrected his career and once again we came for him and snapped him up. I think's he's a guy that will really appreciate and respect that and I think he'll give us 110% on the field.

Some contract details..

6UwmRh.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,924 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Well clearly coming back here is not about money, I think the lad wants a ring and that is the type of person we want right now. He will give his all I'm sure and he is the same type of player as Gray so we can rest Gray when needed and use Blount.

Thank you Oakland. A win this weekend and we have a 2 game lead at the top of the AFC :D

Jonas Gray sent home from practice this morning because he overslept. Wouldn't surprise me to see his snaps reduced Sunday

His snaps would have been reduced anyway because we're facing the best run defense in the league. ESPN reported that the battery died on his phone overnight and the alarm didn't go off. Not quite as bad as the "I can't get out of the drive because of the snow" excuse that Spikes came out with last year. It's up to Bill now but hopefully this won't affect his snaps for Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

His snaps would have been reduced anyway because we're facing the best run defense in the league. ESPN reported that the battery died on his phone overnight and the alarm didn't go off. Not quite as bad as the "I can't get out of the drive because of the snow" excuse that Spikes came out with last year. It's up to Bill now but hopefully this won't affect his snaps for Sunday.

Fair play to him, one of the reporters said he was going to come back to the facility later on to meet Belichick to apologize.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

paulie21 wrote: »
    Jonas Gray sent home from practice this morning because he overslept. Wouldn't surprise me to see his snaps reduced Sunday

Could be anything from being benched for a couple of plays to being benched for an entire game!

Hopefully Bill accepts his story and the fact that he was going in to apologise in person will count in his favour. The run game will be toned down a little anyway Sunday you would assume

BB: "THEY CANT FCUKING TACKLE YOU!!" #patriotsporn

Facing the best run D in the leauge to day, so I think we'll go pass happy and line up lots of WR's. I also expect Vereen to be the RB with the most snaps because of his catching ability.

Today's inactives

Easley
    Butler
    Dobson
    White
    Devey
    Jones
    Fleming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,924 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Facing the best run D in the leauge to day, so I think we'll go pass happy and line up lots of WR's. I also expect Vereen to be the RB with the most snaps because of his catching ability.
    Yeah I'd fully expect to see a lot of Vereen tonight.

So you just know that BB is going to prove us wrong and it'll be very little Vereen and lots of success running the ball. :o

We really are eager to end up with most penalties this year.

Cross your fingers lads. I don't like the way La Fell landed after that great catch. So hopefully he'll be o.k. But you know our luck, week 11 onwards is usually when Brady starts losing his targets.

For me, this was the best game for Revis in a Pats jersey. Vintage Revis Island, long may it continue.

Totally agree on Revis.
    What a difference maker.

7 wins in a row; 9:2.
    And we're still not playing to our full capability.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭TO.

Usual NFL Shop Mailer after games.......

2rhsdn5.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Go home NFL Shop, you're drunk.

Wow extremely dirty play by Raiola: https://mtc.cdn.vine.co/r/videos/14E7DD14501148415426972602368_3d257b97367.0.1.6412195218619965828.mp4?versionId=IXN6cEawWCFvclBesoCkisCQqPU1GdTt

Trying to catch the Pats players off guard on a kneel down and diving at Moore's knees...if he injured him, it would have been all out war
    We took a knee, so I cut the nose. They went for a touchdown at two minutes -- they could have taken three knees and the game could have been over. I mean, it's football. You want us to keep playing football? Let's play football. - Raiola

Yeah but ye decided to take a cheap shot on our LS on the FG so thats why they ran in the TD. Be less classy Lions, you can't.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭me89

Hazys wrote: »
    Wow extremely dirty play by Raiola: https://mtc.cdn.vine.co/r/videos/14E7DD14501148415426972602368_3d257b97367.0.1.6412195218619965828.mp4?versionId=IXN6cEawWCFvclBesoCkisCQqPU1GdTt

Trying to catch the Pats players off guard on a kneel down and diving at Moore's knees...if he injured him, it would have been all out war

Yeah but ye decided to take a cheap shot on our LS on the FG so thats why they ran in the TD. Be less classy Lions, you can't.

Idiot. No need for it.

Meant to say it earlier, I thought Browner also had a good day in a Pats jersey. Matched up with Megatron at times and took him out of the game. Can't ask for more than that and hopefully he's now finding his stride.