Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Teaching Council

Options
  • 14-01-2011 11:25pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2

just wondering what options are there regarding the Teaching Council. I am a pernament teacher who seriously begrudges giving 90 euro for the honour of renewing membership. like a lot of others, money is tight. what can the council do if i dont renew membership. There used to be a threat of not getting paid but is this true????

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭cucbuc

Yes, for last couple of years, you have to be registered with them to get paid. Other than that bit of persuasion, I haven't, as yet, seen any other advantage to being a member.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Buachaillin Bo

Incorrect to say that you could not be paid if you were not a member of the teaching council. This was one of the many sly ploys used by the TC to scare teachers in to joining their organisation.

I too have many gripes with the TC. I am a fully qualified and probated primary teacher. I am as yet still not a member of the TC and would wish to remain this way. The latest TC tactic I have heard is that summer courses will become mandatory and to register for a course you will need a TC number.

This is only the latest in a long line of bully tactics employs by an unnecessary organisation...i could go on....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭cucbuc

From teaching council website: (F.A.Q.)

17. I am not registered with The Teaching Council. Why do I have to register?