Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did this 'Gard' abuse his power?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

k_mac wrote: »
    It gives you a minute not 10 seconds. If that's not enough you can always slow down. Your story doesn't add up. I fail to see how he could have undertaken you if there was a line of twenty cars beside you.

Are you trying to say that 1 minute from a major junction we should get out of the way of a fella in a mad rush while we are in the correct lane for turning right? Well i have to say i would`t, im sure all the fantastic drivers here would of course, at least while they are typing, but while on the road they would in reality be severely annoyed at the idiot speeding up behind them.

So im still waiting for the answer as to how far from the junction the overtaking lane is allowed to be entered even though your not overtaking but turning right, what does the rules say, what distance is it? There are so many perfect full licence drivers here that it should be an easy question to answer. Because a mile does not sound to unreasonable to me thats for sure. Are you going to know your exactly a mile from the junction? You could be closer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭paulosham

cronin_j wrote: »
    No, Just no.

You always keep left where possible.. You only enter the overtaking lane (or fast lane as stupid Irish people call it) if your overtaking a car.
    If your in the far most left lane, you use the middle lane to overtake and pull straight back into the left lane, if you cannot you use the far most right lane to overtake the middle lane, but at all times your ment to drive in the far most left lane.

TBH it sounds like it wasnt even a Garda and some fool trying to scare you.

The Eagles also call it the fast lane.

antodeco wrote: »
    I hate people who can't use the Naas road properly. Sitting in the right lane or middle lane. OP, just because you were doing the speed limit does not give you the right to police the roads and prevent drivers behind from going faster....

Yes so other drivers must obey the drive in left lane rule to suit you, but you cant obey the drive within speed limit rule to suit them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

robbie7730 wrote: »
    Yes so other drivers must obey the drive in left lane rule to suit you, but you cant obey the drive at speed limit rule to suit them.

Exactly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

cormie wrote: »
    60 miles per hour (60 minutes) = 1 mile per minute :)

DOH!

PeakOutput wrote: »
    its not hard to figure out tbh, the cars could be spaced out enough so that the closing speed does not make it worthwhile to pull in and back out but far enough apart for the guy to undertake

you are not expected to be in the driving lane right up until the guy in fornt of you' bumper then pul out overtake and then straight back in so he is at your bumper. if there are cars doing 60 and your doing 70 if they are 100ft away you will be beside them in about 10 seconds. imo thats not long enough to pull back into the driving lane but might be long enough for a guy right on your bumper to undertake you

Exactly, sounds like some drivers here only drive on empty roads.

its not hard to figure out tbh, the cars could be spaced out enough so that the closing speed does not make it worthwhile to pull in and back out but far enough apart for the guy to undertake

you are not expected to be in the driving lane right up until the guy in fornt of you' bumper then pul out overtake and then straight back in so he is at your bumper. if there are cars doing 60 and your doing 70 if they are 100ft away you will be beside them in about 10 seconds. imo thats not long enough to pull back into the driving lane but might be long enough for a guy right on your bumper to undertake you

If there is room to undertake then there is room to pull in and let someone pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

If there is room to undertake then there is room to pull in and let someone pass.

there might be but that dosnt mean you are obliged to do so. you are accusing him of using the overtaking lane incorrectly, i just gave a case were you could be using completely correctly and still have an angry driver behind you.

if im in the overtaking lane overtaking a line of traffic im not going to squeeze back in to let him by, ill overtake the cars i was intending to overtake and then pull in and he can do what he wants after that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Gucky wrote: »
    so, was driving down the Naas road, about a mile from Newland cross when this car (driving right tight behind me, suddenly swerves out from the right hand lane into the middle lane, undertakes me, them goes back into the right hand lane). Quite careless and recklessly tbh.

Cue, a mile down the road at newlands cross, I'm sitting in the tallaght bound lane, and this car is sitting in the other Tallaght lane (anyone familiar with the road will understand) so, basically at newlands cross, two lanes for tallaght coming from naas, I'm in the right lane, this mad driver is in the left.

This bloke is giving me daggers through his window, but I'm a big bloke, and can look after myself (I'm no one man army mind!)

I put down my window, ask the guy if he's ok, and that he nearly caused an accident back on the road. He shouted something about me not letting him past and him in a hurry.

Anyway, traffic starts to move as the lights turn green, were both on Belgard road heading towards Tallaght, your man still mouthing off through his car window, to which I start laughing at him (i find laughing at dickheads infuriates them more than shouting abuse at them:D)

Next thing I know, he's holding up some form of id at me, and screaming 'Garda! Pull in!' Now, at this point I hope I have explained that, if he was a Gard, he's in an unmarked car, not using flashing lights, not in the hurry that he seemed to be in five mins earlier, and as far as I'm concerned, the 'ID' he was holding up, might as well have been a libary card for what I could make out!

My reply to his demands to pull in were a not very polite 'go eff yourself' he shouted again 'pull in!' And I blew him a kiss! (he was fuming at this stage!)

I was headed right on belgard road (towards the belgard inn) and he drove straight on in the general direction of Tallaght.

Anyways, that was Wednesday night, still haven't heard a thing from the law, no police arrived at my door, haven't been stopped on the road etc.

My guess, this was a young, jumped up Gard, late for his shift at Tallaght Garda station, bullying his way to work.

Anyone any other suggestions?

I suggest you learn how to use the roads correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭smokie2008

Is this you Gay Byrne?

This is the second time I'll explain this to you.

The Naas road (N7) is not a motor way, therefore there is no 'overtaking lane' on it.

Comments like this actually infuriate me, as does driving like this, learn how to drive OP.

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    I suggest you learn how to use the roads correctly.

Thanks for your kind suggestion sir. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Thanks for your kind suggestion sir. :rolleyes:

Ignorance is bliss isn't it Gucky. Have some rolling eyes for yourself :rolleyes:

Is this your first week driving? Did you ever see drivers swerve in and out of lanes dangerously? So if there is room to swerve from being tight behind the OP`s bumper in a temper and back in right in front of him, then there is room for the OP to move smoothly out and back again? Other cars behind the undertaking one could then move up and then its trying to get back into right lane for turning again, at this stage probably with 20 seconds left.

Again i ask, when is it ok to move into the overtaking lane for preparing to turn right? At what diatance from the major newlands cross junction?

How close do you have to be to the junction where you can now stay in the right hand lane even though you are delaying the speeder behind you?

The fact is its drivers like this undertaking driver who cause the accidents, speeding, losing the plot because others dont clear the roads ahead for him. The flasing of ID alone whether it real or whatever says it all i think. A tool who might have a more appropriate connection with undertaking soon with that type of driving.

smokie2008 wrote: »
    Comments like this actually infuriate me, as does driving like this, learn how to drive OP.

Easily infuriated are we, dont forget, your not driving at the moment, just typing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

There is no defined distance of when you should pull right to get into an approaching right hand lane, it depends on the conditions.

With regards to the cause of collisions, yes, the one who is in a hurry will most likely be the one involved in the collision but my point was that by further delaying and frustrating this driver, it increases their levels of stress and will decrease their levels of awareness and safe driving and therefore delaying such a driver may be a contributory factor to a collision.

With regards the statement saying speeding is the biggest cause of accidents and deaths. I recall reading an Irish based report stating otherwise. Of course the faster you go the more likely death will be, but there are other factors besides the speed of the vehicle.

Is this your first week driving? Did you ever see drivers swerve in and out of lanes dangerously? So if there is room to swerve from being tight behind the OP`s bumper in a temper and back in right in front of him, then there is room for the OP to move smoothly out and back again? Other cars behind the undertaking one could then move up and then its trying to get back into right lane for turning again, at this stage probably with 20 seconds left.

Again i ask, when is it ok to move into the overtaking lane for preparing to turn right? At what diatance from the major newlands cross junction?

How close do you have to be to the junction where you can now stay in the right hand lane even though you are delaying the speeder behind you?

The fact is its drivers like this undertaking driver who cause the accidents, speeding, losing the plot because others dont clear the roads ahead for him. The flasing of ID alone whether it real or whatever says it all i think. A tool who might have a more appropriate connection with undertaking soon with that type of driving.

No need to get personal. No matter what way you want to put it, if there was room for the fella to pull out move forward and pull in then there is a space at least the length of three cars in which the op could have moved into.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

ebixa82 wrote: »
    What's a Gard?

Whats a pedantic pr!ck?
    keithm1 wrote: »
    What a bell end , although I hate super citizens that sit in the
    "overtaking lane" doing the speed limit 'but us you were turning right at new lands you were dead right

Agree with you but in fairness its rare you'l get near the speed limit on the naas road with the amount of traffic. The quantity of traffic also means its necessary for people to use all lanes regardless of whether or not overtaking

No need to get personal. No matter what way you want to put it, if there was room for the fella to pull out move forward and pull in then there is a space at least the length of three cars in which the op could have moved into.

not necessarily safely

If you can't do that maneuver safely in that amount of space you really have no business driving.

Bickering about lanes is way off topic here regardless.

My gripe, was with a garda deciding he would threaten to pull me in just because he thought he could. (i broke no laws whatsoever that day)

Did he abuse his power?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

Did he abuse his power?
    He tried to.
    You ignored him.
    Move on.

If you can't do that maneuver safely in that amount of space you really have no business driving.

thats total bull**** and you know it

changing lanes twice in quick succession under pressure from a tosser behind you in the tight space between two cars you were plannning on overtaking, and doing it in three car lengths or less particularly, is NOT safe and is certainly not as safe as completing your planned maneuvore(sp???) and then moving in and letting the tosser carry on his ignorant way

Bickering about lanes is way off topic here regardless.

My gripe, was with a garda deciding he would threaten to pull me in just because he thought he could. (i broke no laws whatsoever that day)

Did he abuse his power?

Actually you did break the law by obstructing the fast lane. Who knows if he was a real Garda? If he was I'm sure he would have followed it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

....they've been around years!:D

Until one might actually need one ?

Actually you did break the law by obstructing the fast lane. .
    The overtaking lane you mean....:rolleyes:
    Who knows if he was a real Garda? If he was I'm sure he would have followed it up.
    No he wouldnt; if he was a Garda, he was obviously acting the d!ck while off duty, and he probably realises that now.

thats total bull**** and you know it

changing lanes twice in quick succession under pressure from a tosser behind you in the tight space between two cars you were plannning on overtaking, and doing it in three car lengths or less particularly, is NOT safe and is certainly not as safe as completing your planned maneuvore(sp???) and then moving in and letting the tosser carry on his ignorant way

You would only have been under pressure in for the first lane change. You could make the change back at your own pace. Three car lengths is not a tight space by any stretch of the imagination.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Gardaí can put themselves on duty at any time. If he was a Garda, it would have been warranted in the situation you have described. Putting himself on duty to prevent an offence from being committed or to investigate a suspected offence is not an abuse of power.

drkpower wrote: »
    The overtaking lane you mean....:rolleyes:

No he wouldnt; if he was a Garda, he was obviously acting the d!ck while off duty, and he probably realises that now.

The fact he was off duty has no relevance. Gardaí can exercise their legal powers wether they are on duty or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

antodeco wrote: »
    I hate people who can't use the Naas road properly. Sitting in the right lane or middle lane. OP, just because you were doing the speed limit does not give you the right to police the roads and prevent drivers behind from going faster....

As is their right, presumably.

You would only have been under pressure in for the first lane change. You could make the change back at your own pace. Three car lengths is not a tight space by any stretch of the imagination.

you would be under pressure to either brake hard to reduce your closing speed enough or change back into the overtaking lane, still not safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

so, was driving down the Naas road, about a mile from Newland cross when this car (driving right tight behind me, suddenly swerves out from the right hand lane into the middle lane, undertakes me, them goes back into the right hand lane). Quite careless and recklessly tbh.

Cue, a mile down the road at newlands cross, I'm sitting in the tallaght bound lane, and this car is sitting in the other Tallaght lane (anyone familiar with the road will understand) so, basically at newlands cross, two lanes for tallaght coming from naas, I'm in the right lane, this mad driver is in the left.

This bloke is giving me daggers through his window, but I'm a big bloke, and can look after myself (I'm no one man army mind!)

I put down my window, ask the guy if he's ok, and that he nearly caused an accident back on the road. He shouted something about me not letting him past and him in a hurry.

Anyway, traffic starts to move as the lights turn green, were both on Belgard road heading towards Tallaght, your man still mouthing off through his car window, to which I start laughing at him (i find laughing at dickheads infuriates them more than shouting abuse at them:D)

Next thing I know, he's holding up some form of id at me, and screaming 'Garda! Pull in!' Now, at this point I hope I have explained that, if he was a Gard, he's in an unmarked car, not using flashing lights, not in the hurry that he seemed to be in five mins earlier, and as far as I'm concerned, the 'ID' he was holding up, might as well have been a libary card for what I could make out!

My reply to his demands to pull in were a not very polite 'go eff yourself' he shouted again 'pull in!' And I blew him a kiss! (he was fuming at this stage!)

I was headed right on belgard road (towards the belgard inn) and he drove straight on in the general direction of Tallaght.

Anyways, that was Wednesday night, still haven't heard a thing from the law, no police arrived at my door, haven't been stopped on the road etc.

My guess, this was a young, jumped up Gard, late for his shift at Tallaght Garda station, bullying his way to work.

So a garda told you to pull over in a civilian car. Would that not have been easier than that drawn out shiite that you just told us? Holy sweet Jaysus..all ya were short of doin was tellin everyone what ya had for breakfast.

The fact he was off duty has no relevance. Gardaí can exercise their legal powers wether they are on duty or not.
    Of course they can; but in this case, clearly he was just acting the d!ck; his attempt to get the OP to pull over seemed half-hearted at best. If he really was intent on prosecuting the OP, he didnt reallly show it. Instead he seems to have shown himself up as a d!ck.

cormie wrote: »
    There is no defined distance of when you should pull right to get into an approaching right hand lane, it depends on the conditions.

No there is no defined distance, therefore why should the OP get out of the way of that tool when he is preparing to turn right, no one here knows the conditions or what was happening, but the keyboard expert drivers of course all know better.

With regards to the cause of collisions, yes, the one who is in a hurry will most likely be the one involved in the collision but my point was that by further delaying and frustrating this driver, it increases their levels of stress and will decrease their levels of awareness and safe driving and therefore delaying such a driver may be a contributory factor to a collision.
    We are not in the frustrated drivers car, his frustrated stressed driving is his failing, not other safer drivers who infuriate him, i get annoyed behind 30mph drivers on open roads i admit, but i dont then bully them or drive in a dangerous manner or flash my passport at them.
    With regards the statement saying speeding is the biggest cause of accidents and deaths. I recall reading an Irish based report stating otherwise. Of course the faster you go the more likely death will be, but there are other factors besides the speed of the vehicle.

This is probably true, but if every car went at 20mph there would be very few deaths, not that i suggest this, but every morning you will see cars on roads as far as the eye can see, and there are always idiots that will try overtake everyone of them to save a few seconds.

Its amazing how posters attack another poster for being in a lane a minute from turning right which is safe driving, and quoting him the rules of the road regarding lanes, then in the same sentence telling him he should get out of the way for others who want to break the speed limit which is also a rule of the road. So lane rules should be obeyed, but speed limit rules dont have to be. So obey one rule to allow you to break another one because it suits you.

And all this while getting bullied by an obvious tool and then they say learn to drive to him, its shocking, it actually shows the driving mentality we see on the roads every day here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

The Garda Probally just didn't have the time to waste dealing with the op, places to go things to do etc, it's often when your least in a position to deal with someone like that that you meet them, I've a feeling that if the op continues to drive like he does he'll meet a cop who has time to give him the attention he needs! I hope it happens sooner rather than later.

Bosco boy wrote: »
    The Garda Probally just didn't have the time to waste dealing with the op, places to go things to do etc, it's often when your least in a position to deal with someone like that that you meet them, I've a feeling that if the op continues to drive like he does he'll meet a cop who has time to give him the attention he needs!

what ****e

Actually you did break the law by obstructing the fast lane. Who knows if he was a real Garda? If he was I'm sure he would have followed it up.

Not true.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

OP and those defending him over this issue: You are the reason why traffic always moves so slowly in this country and queues and build up of traffic are commonplace.

The fact is that you stay on the left at all times, unless you are overtaking. If a car is able to undertake you, then you are in the wrong and your inability to accept this basic premise of the rules of the road is exactly the reason why so many shít drivers exist.

Ok so, how close to the junction would he have to be in preparation to turn right so as not to be breaking the law by staying in the right hand lane? (fast lane as you call it) You seem well up on it, so tell us now.

Going 101 kph on a dual carriageway is breaking the law, or 121kph on a motorway. Have you ever done this? But thats ok is`t it, because it suited your driving.

Yes you have no business being a safe driver from what i have seen here and previously on boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭Amber Lamps

what total BS being spouted by some here. the OP was well within his right at that distance from newlands cross and traveling at the speed he was to be in the right lane. like another poster said, at what distance would it be ok? he would have been making more of a nuicence of himself trying to cut into the lane of cars he was passing and then having to possible fight his way back into the right lane again.

and the whole thing about if the 'garda' was able to undertake him then he should have been able to do the same, it sounds like, judging by how agressive he was driving, the garda probably pulled into the other lane and floored it and pulled back in front of the OP again. not safe driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭podger456

Be patient op, could take months to be followed up. Was contacted by the guards 6 months after an incident I witnessed.

karma_ wrote: »
    OP and those defending him over this issue: You are the reason why traffic always moves so slowly in this country and queues and build up of traffic are commonplace.

The fact is that you stay on the left at all times, unless you are overtaking. If a car is able to undertake you, then you are in the wrong and your inability to accept this basic premise of the rules of the road is exactly the reason why so many shít drivers exist.

A yea another informed view. I seen drivers undertake into bus lanes, maybe we should move into the bus lane to avoid slowing them down so.

Did you ever drive into a city centre in the mornings, well i would be intersted in your solution to speed up the grid locked traffic. You think its so slow because of someone on the naas road in position to turn right in 1 minute?

Well yet again i will ask this question, you sound like an expert so maybe it will finally be answered, how close should the OP have been to the newlands cross junction to be allowed ramain in the right hand lane? If the OP is going at the speed limit to this junction, how is he slowing the traffic down? He is within the law and the undertaker driver is breaking it.

Its easy to see where the OP could also have been overtaking cars in the left lane, but the bully driver wants him to move into this line out of his way, and so the tool swerves in and out real quick into a gap normal safe drivers would not do. And why should the OP get out of his way when close to a junction he is about to use.

Plenty of roads have overhead lane markers a fair bit back from the junctions, these signs encourage correct lane positions for approaching junctions well in advance of the junctions, and this should be practiced whether the road has the overhead signs or not, even if its at the expense of people who want to pass everyone else out because of their superior driving talent.

A yea another informed view. I seen drivers undertake into bus lanes, maybe we should move into the bus lane to avoid slowing them down so.

Did you ever drive into a city centre in the mornings, well i would be intersted in your solution to speed up the grid locked traffic. You think its so slow because of someone on the naas road in position to turn right in 1 minute?

Well yet again i will ask this question, you sound like an expert so maybe it will finally be answered, how close should the OP have been to the newlands cross junction to be allowed ramain in the right hand lane? If the OP is going at the speed limit to this junction, how is he slowing the traffic down? He is within the law and the undertaker driver is breaking it.

Its easy to see where the OP could also have been overtaking cars in the left lane, but the bully driver wants him to move into this line out of his way, and so the tool swerves in and out real quick into a gap normal safe drivers would not do. And why should the OP get out of his way when close to a junction he is about to use.

Plenty of roads have overhead lane markers a fair bit back from the junctions, these signs encourage correct lane positions for approaching junctions well in advance of the junctions, and this should be practiced whether the road has the overhead signs or not, even if its at the expense of people who want to pass everyone else out because of their superior driving talent.

Muppets just aren't ruining it for everyone in cities, this happens on all dual carriageways and motorways from one end of the country to the other.

As for distance, there is no excuse whatsoever for sitting in the outside for a mile in any situation. It's piss poor driving, stop defending what is indefensible and maybe we could all learn something from this shocking case of bad-driving.

But I was overtaking.

As for distance, there is no excuse whatsoever for sitting in the outside for a mile in any situation. It's piss poor driving, stop defending what is indefensible and maybe we could all learn something from this shocking case of bad-driving.

so how far then? three quaters of a mile? half a mile?

But I was overtaking.

You obviously were not overtaking if a car undertook you. You just completely fail to see what you did wrong in this situation, and if you are unprepared to accept that maybe you should not have been in the outside lane then what is the point continuing to debate the point?

drkpower wrote: »
    Of course they can; but in this case, clearly he was just acting the d!ck; his attempt to get the OP to pull over seemed half-hearted at best. If he really was intent on prosecuting the OP, he didnt reallly show it. Instead he seems to have shown himself up as a d!ck.

If he was a Garda and doesn't follow it up then I'd have to agree with you.
    Not true.

Which part?
    Ok so, how close to the junction would he have to be in preparation to turn right so as not to be breaking the law by staying in the right hand lane? (fast lane as you call it) You seem well up on it, so tell us now.

I think it has already been said that there is no hard and fast rule but a mile from the junction is way too far.
    Going 101 kph on a dual carriageway is breaking the law, or 121kph on a motorway. Have you ever done this? But thats ok is`t it, because it suited your driving.

What relevance is this?
    Yes you have no business being a safe driver from what i have seen here and previously on boards.

Many people confuse safe with slow. Driving slowly doesn't make you a safe driver.
    what total BS being spouted by some here. the OP was well within his right at that distance from newlands cross and traveling at the speed he was to be in the right lane. like another poster said, at what distance would it be ok? he would have been making more of a nuicence of himself trying to cut into the lane of cars he was passing and then having to possible fight his way back into the right lane again.

and the whole thing about if the 'garda' was able to undertake him then he should have been able to do the same, it sounds like, judging by how agressive he was driving, the garda probably pulled into the other lane and floored it and pulled back in front of the OP again. not safe driving.

Nobody has suggested the "garda" drove safely. What I said was that to complete his undertake he would have had to have at least three car lengths free next to the op. More than enough space for the op to move out of his way. Even if the op had a right to be in that lane does it really matter? If someone is driving up your hole is it not safer for you to get out of their way? What if it wasn't a garda but a surgeon rushing to hospital? Just because you have a right to something it doesn't mean you have to exercise that right. By not moving in the op did nothing to reduce the danger of the situation. In my opinion every driver on the road should do what they can to ensure not only their own safety but the safety of others, even if it means letting a dickhead pass you. Let me ask you this. If you were on a roundabout and a truck illegally pulled onto the rooundabout in front of you would you exercise your right and drive right into him or would you slow down? Rights are all very good but I'd prefer to drive in a manner which keeps me alive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭teetotaller

But I was overtaking.
    what u were overtaking, if somebody overtook you from the left ?

Tbh, the whole things a bit hazy to me now.

I did have a fair few scoops before leaving Naas, and was a wee bit pissed if the truth be known!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Right now, all joking aside..

The OP is correct.

As far back as Baldonnel there are road signs directing Tallaght bound traffic into the right hand lane.