Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did this 'Gard' abuse his power?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

karma_ wrote: »
    Muppets just aren't ruining it for everyone in cities, this happens on all dual carriageways and motorways from one end of the country to the other.

As for distance, there is no excuse whatsoever for sitting in the outside for a mile in any situation. It's piss poor driving, stop defending what is indefensible and maybe we could all learn something from this shocking case of bad-driving.

Nothing to defend. Why are lane markers up well in advance of junctions? And only on reaching the markers everyone should now change to the lane for turning right? After the speeders have taken it up already a couple of miles previous? So the idea is go way faster than everyone else so you can now stay in the right hand lane.

He is well within his rights to drive at the speed limit 1 mile from the junction, what if 100 cars in a line are turning right, all stay in left lane until 100 meters before the turn is it? Id say muppets are the ones speeding around killing people. Id love to see how late you leave it to go into the right hand lane for a junction, and then the rest of us mortals can follow your example. I think there are plenty of imbasils on our roads, but a driver going at the speed limit 1 minute from a major junction in the correct lane for that junction would not be one of them. After all, the great undertaking driver was still beside the OP able to have a chat, so he did not gain a huge amount of time did he?

It all depends on the traffic conditions of the time how soon to be in the right lane for turning right at a major junction, not on a group of expert keyboard drivers here.

Your defending a driver bullying other drivers, sounds like your one of these drivers yourself? Do you think the OP might have been passing cars to his left? If you think thats impossible just because some nutter swerved around him then you should go for a drive and actually look at whats around you, not just at what you can overtake ahead of you

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

Change lanes rather than your story and you'll be fine in future, I'd say you'll get a ticket for driving without due care and attention in the next couple of weeks. €80 and 2 penalty points

Right now, all joking aside..

The OP is correct.

As far back as Baldonnel there are road signs directing Tallaght bound traffic into the right hand lane.

Yes end of arguement right there,

what u were overtaking, if somebody overtook you from the left ?

Look at post #99 carefully, and you might get it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

The OP is correct.

As far back as Baldonnel there are road signs directing Tallaght bound traffic into the right hand lane.

I'm not familiar with that stretch of road, but the OP clearly stated there were 2 Tallaght bound lanes. As such the same rule applies, you stay left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Bosco boy wrote: »
    Change lanes rather than your story and you'll be fine in future, I'd say you'll get a ticket for driving without due care and attention in the next couple of weeks. €80 and 2 penalty points

No I won't.

My license was issued in County Derry.

(won't get the points anyway)

Gucky wrote: »
    No I won't.

My license was issued in County Derry.

(won't get the points anyway)

Actually you do. Northern Licence no longer saves you from points.

I'm not familiar with that stretch of road, but the OP clearly stated there were 2 Tallaght bound lanes. As such the same rule applies, you stay left.

yes, another opportunity to overtake for you there just before the turn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭Amber Lamps

thing with road rage is once the red mist leaves the garda probably realised he was acting the bollix because he was late for work or whatever and forgot about it

I won't even bother correcting you here.
    Classic example of having too much of an opinion on something (you say yourself) your not familiar with. So once again, :rolleyes:

Anyone else familiar with the road will know exactly what I mean.

And what will he get points for? Being in a lane ready to turn right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭james098

too many people drive in the right hand lane too slow its annoying and dangerous if u were turning right was you indicating that if you was there wouldnt be a problem kk:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

What's the story with a badge being flashed like this instance and it turned out he was a real guard,yet the OP failed to stop?What could he be charged with?

I'd be of the mind not to stop either unless he had a blue flashing light.

Your wrong.

(again)

robbie7730 wrote: »

OP appears to be under the impression that because you have a license issued in the North, you are immune from points for offences in the south. Nothing to do with this incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

The points for Northern or English licences havent been implemented yet. still working through the legislation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

There are two lanes turning into two lanes of the Belgard Road, depending on where on the Belgard road your driving will depend what lane you exit the N7.

Same situ when you drive through the same exit towards the city, there are road signs directing traffic into all lanes of the remaining N7, ie M50 South & North, City or LUAS parking.

Traffic volumns on the stretch of N7 from as far back as Baldonnel (heading north) and traffic travelling from the M50 make it impossible for anyone to leave the extrem right lanes clear even if road signs weren't directing driver's into all lanes.

Its a really busy stretch of road in all directions, and in particular the Newlands Cross Junction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Im sure the garda has not given a thought to this incident since. Id say he has better things to be doing while on duty than looking for work while on the way to work.

Did he even get the reg of the OP car.

You obviously were not overtaking if a car undertook you. You just completely fail to see what you did wrong in this situation, and if you are unprepared to accept that maybe you should not have been in the outside lane then what is the point continuing to debate the point?

Study post #99 carefully, you might learn something, have a close look, and see how overtaking cars can be undertaken. Its quite simple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

The OP is correct.

Thanks. It helps to have specific factual information regarding the stretch of road in question.

You are the reason why traffic always moves so slowly in this country and queues and build up of traffic are commonplace.

That's just a simplistic and OTT generalisation. There are many reasons for traffic congestion, and it is just farcical to suggest it can be blamed on individual driver behaviour.

OP appears to be under the impression that because you have a license issued in the North, you are immune from points for offences in the south. Nothing to do with this incident.

Well he did nothing to warrent penalty points. if being in the wrong lane warrents penalty points, what about overtaking, or undertaking someone who is driving at the speed limit. They are now speeding.

But I was overtaking.

did you get the reg of his car ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

hondasam wrote: »
    did you get the reg of his car ?

The OP stated he's had a few scoops in Naas, so probably wouldn't remember it, couldn't see it or just didn't want to bring attention on himself.

The Garda Probally just didn't have the time to waste dealing with the op, places to go things to do etc, it's often when your least in a position to deal with someone like that that you meet them, I've a feeling that if the op continues to drive like he does he'll meet a cop who has time to give him the attention he needs! I hope it happens sooner rather than later.

I think you should read the last few posts and you might learn a little about proper driving and road positioning, but usually with drivers with overtake and bully everyone type behaviour or condoning such, there is no learning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

But I was overtaking.

it really is that simple

The OP stated he's had a few scoops in Naas, so probably wouldn't remember it, couldn't see it or just didn't want to bring attention on himself.

probably explains the blowing kisses at men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

tommyhaas wrote: »
    Whats a pedantic pr!ck?
    Moderator! Pull over, now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Ms. Chanandler Bong

...which leads to the question:
    Did this actually happen or did the OP dream about it happening? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

cursai wrote: »
    The points for Northern or English licences havent been implemented yet. still working through the legislation

What about International licences, or do they exist anymore?

k_mac wrote: »
    I think it has already been said that there is no hard and fast rule but a mile from the junction is way too far.
    Is it, i think that has been shown to be wrong. And the OP was overtaking anyway. Its silly you saying that when you were not there.

What relevance is this?

My post about the 101kph being breaking the law was because other posts state people in the right lane are breaking the law, but it seems ok to break the speeding law from whats being posted.

Many people confuse safe with slow. Driving slowly doesn't make you a safe driver.
    Neither does being in a right hand lane to turn right make you a dangerous driver.

Nobody has suggested the "garda" drove safely. What I said was that to complete his undertake he would have had to have at least three car lengths free next to the op. More than enough space for the op to move out of his way.
    Are you reading the posts about signs well in advance of junction? Looks like you dont bother reading some of them, or road signs presumeably.
    Even if the op had a right to be in that lane does it really matter? If someone is driving up your hole is it not safer for you to get out of their way?
    Why should he change his safe driving to acommodate an idiot.
    What if it wasn't a garda but a surgeon rushing to hospital?
    yes what if, what if he was a bomb expert rushing to defuse a hydrogen bomb in tallaght.
    Just because you have a right to something it doesn't mean you have to exercise that right. By not moving in the op did nothing to reduce the danger of the situation.
    What are you talking about, will you now move out of every drivers way on the road in case he is a dangerous driver or a surgeon who forgot he is doing a heart transplant? Even if you are about to turn right in a few hundred meters, no point saying the OP was a mile from it, as the criteria you bring up ar the same. the second someone flashes you from now on you will immediately swerve over to the laybay?

Its not up to the OP to look after dangerous drivers behaviour, he wants to just drive to his destination
    In my opinion every driver on the road should do what they can to ensure not only their own safety but the safety of others, even if it means letting a dickhead pass you.
    Yes but to let that dickhead pass would of involved extra danger for the OP, moving into slower traffic, then back into the right lane again. There could be another dickhead behind the Op`s one, so getting back in would be difficult. A bit silly these ideas to be honest.
    Let me ask you this. If you were on a roundabout and a truck illegally pulled onto the rooundabout in front of you would you exercise your right and drive right into him or would you slow down? Rights are all very good but I'd prefer to drive in a manner which keeps me alive.
    And you ask me how my statement that speeding is against the law is relevant and you come out with this rubbish? I dont know any situation where a driver would have the right to intentionally drive into a truck. But you see this as similar to the OP being in the right to be in a lane for turning to tallaght, which is marked as such?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Irishstabber

I have to say the OP was completely right as has been proven over the last 9 pages. Post #99 fairly sums it up. All those "Super Drivers" should really consider keeping shtum when they clearly don't even know the layout of the junction in question and the fact that it has signage to direct traffic into the right hand lane as far back as feckin Baldonnel!

The fact that ye are defending a clear maniac on the road, now THAT is indefinsible. Seriously grow up and stop badgering the OP please.

I have to say the OP was completely right as has been proven over the last 9 pages. Post #99 fairly sums it up. All those "Super Drivers" should really consider keeping shtum when they clearly don't even know the layout of the junction in question and the fact that it has signage to direct traffic into the right hand lane as far back as feckin Baldonnel!

The fact that ye are defending a clear maniac on the road, now THAT is indefinsible. Seriously grow up and stop badgering the OP please.

100%. Its so simple, but for the super drivers it seems confusing.

Post #99 is the best post on the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

this has to be mass trolling by the road safety militia!

At least the op was on the correct side of the road after said scoops, unlike a certain minister.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

100%. Its so simple, but for the super drivers it seems confusing.

Post #99 is the best post on the thread.

The man speaks the TRUTH!
    To the OP:
    The 'Guard' in question was probably just some "£$"head frustrated with life. Lot of them in every job. Only more obvious because hes supposed to be a bit more mature as a Guard (if he was a guard).
    I cant see any Guard following this up. Even in a court your defence could be that he had no recognisable markings to distinguish himself as a guard and didnt flash blue lights or use a siren.
    Hed get some slagging from his mates in work for this kind of thing.

this has to be mass trolling by the road safety militia!

At least the op was on the correct side of the road after said scoops, unlike a certain minister.....

Nice one. Interesting concept. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

If im on a 2 lane motor way, and as can happen quite often the traffic n the inside lane is moving at 90km -ish, i will be overtaking on the outside lane at normally 110- 120, i will continue to use the fast lane and overtake the slower cars until there is an oppertunity to move into the slower lane.

If some speedfreak cnut comes up behind me out of nowhere when im doing the max allowable on a motorway and starts flashing his lights - **** him.

I always move into the slower lane after overtaking whn the first oppertunity arises, but im not getting bullied off the road by some **** with an english reg BMW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

The Naas road is not a motorway, its only a main road, therefore there is no ' overtaking lane on it, (check that out if you doing believe me)

Besides, he undertook me when he was able to, (there were cars in the middle lane that I was driving faster than)

believe me, I am certainly no 'Sunday driver' I like to hurry so to speak.

You are very wrong here. The lanes to the right are used for over taking. There are too many people like you on the road, who think it's ok to cruise in the fast lane while having two lanes to the left of them completely free. I usually put it down to laziness, just can't be bothered to indicate and move a few meters for the sake of safety.

As for the incident, he shouldn't have undertaken you. You were over taking a car, although there might have been considerable room in the middle lane, this doesn't mean you MUST use it to let cars past. You are making a manouver that may take more than a few seconds to make. If assholes want to undertake you this way then they are the ones in the wrong. I just hope you don't sit in the overtaking lanes thinking "I'm doing 60Mph, I am entitled to stay in this lane" because that's very wrong. You're not permitted to make judgements on other drivers, nor are you permitted to direct traffic directly or indirectly.
    cronin_j wrote: »
    If he had time to pull out of your lane, drive down the inside of you and pull back in in front of you then you shouldnt have been in the lane.

You don't drive, do you? If you did, you would recognise this statement as complete bullshít and probably wouldn't have posted it.

Is this you Gay Byrne?

This is the second time I'll explain this to you.

The Naas road (N7) is not a motor way, therefore there is no 'overtaking lane' on it.

Just reiterating above post. Any road that has two lanes or more will have an "overtaking" lane (or two), you use the inside lane when it is free and safe to do so.
    Bickering about lanes is way off topic here regardless.

My gripe, was with a garda deciding he would threaten to pull me in just because he thought he could. (i broke no laws whatsoever that day)

Did he abuse his power?

I would imagine he did, many do. Unless you took his reg and report him to the garda ombudsman then there's not much else you can do.

You could have been done for obstructing traffic or some other bullshít thing.
    psni wrote: »
    Gardaí can put themselves on duty at any time. If he was a Garda, it would have been warranted in the situation you have described. Putting himself on duty to prevent an offence from being committed or to investigate a suspected offence is not an abuse of power.

Unless intoxicated. ;)

In this case, it's certainly an abuse of power. The garda was way out of line, and impatient, he should have left wherever he was a little earlier so he wouldn't put other road users lives in danger. Being a garda doesn't mean you can act with impunity or bully others.

This is a prime example of how somebody can undertake you.

The "If somebody can undertake you, then you are in the wrong" argument is the biggest ball of shít to be used in a debate. It's a joke. It makes those people sound like they have never been in a motor vehicle in their lives let alone been in command of one.

It's disheartening to see how many people really are clueless when it comes to driving and road safety. I mean, these things are fairly basic. Don't drive if you don't have these basics... really. It's no wonder so many are killed on our roads.

Yup, all the self proclaimed super drivers have come on with the predictable "stop hogging the overtaking lane" spiel, when they in fact knew nothing of the layout of the road/junction in question. Aside from that, even if the OP was in the wrong driving in the right hand lane (which he wasn't) did he hold a gun to yer man's head and force him to perform a dangerous manouever?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭The Mad Hatter

He didn't undertake you, he overtook you on the inside. If he wanted to undertake you, you'd have to be dead.

Har har. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,906 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

snyper wrote: »
    If im on a 2 lane motor way, and as can happen quite often the traffic n the inside lane is moving at 90km -ish, i will be overtaking on the outside lane at normally 110- 120, i will continue to use the fast lane and overtake the slower cars until there is an oppertunity to move into the slower lane.

If some speedfreak cnut comes up behind me out of nowhere when im doing the max allowable on a motorway and starts flashing his lights - **** him.

I always move into the slower lane after overtaking whn the first oppertunity arises, but im not getting bullied off the road by some **** with an english reg BMW

Best post in this thread so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,906 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

You are very wrong here. The lanes to the right are used for over taking. There are too many people like you on the road, who think it's ok to cruise in the fast lane while having two lanes to the left of them completely free. I usually put it down to laziness, just can't be bothered to indicate and move a few meters for the sake of safety.

As for the incident, he shouldn't have undertaken you. You were over taking a car, although there might have been considerable room in the middle lane, this doesn't mean you MUST use it to let cars past. You are making a manouver that may take more than a few seconds to make. If assholes want to undertake you this way then they are the ones in the wrong. I just hope you don't sit in the overtaking lanes thinking "I'm doing 60Mph, I am entitled to stay in this lane" because that's very wrong. You're not permitted to make judgements on other drivers, nor are you permitted to direct traffic directly or indirectly.

You don't drive, do you? If you did, you would recognise this statement as complete bullshít and probably wouldn't have posted it.

Just reiterating above post. Any road that has two lanes or more will have an "overtaking" lane (or two), you use the inside lane when it is free and safe to do so.

I would imagine he did, many do. Unless you took his reg and report him to the garda ombudsman then there's not much else you can do.

You could have been done for obstructing traffic or some other bullshít thing.

Unless intoxicated. ;)

In this case, it's certainly an abuse of power. The garda was way out of line, and impatient, he should have left wherever he was a little earlier so he wouldn't put other road users lives in danger. Being a garda doesn't mean you can act with impunity or bully others.

This is a prime example of how somebody can undertake you.

The "If somebody can undertake you, then you are in the wrong" argument is the biggest ball of shít to be used in a debate. It's a joke. It makes those people sound like they have never been in a motor vehicle in their lives let alone been in command of one.

Sorry no but "you" are very wrong here.
    If you are overtaking a row of traffic at a reasonable speed and in a line of traffic you don't have to pull in suddenly because someone is in a hurry behind you.
    They must wait until everyone else has moved in for you to continue to overtake.
    The amount of times you can be overtaking traffic and someone trys to undertake in a tiny gap causing the drivers on the left lane to brake and the drivers in the overtaking lane to brake so that they are one car length ahead.
    WAIT until the cars in the overtaking lane have moved back in then overtake and move back to the inside (left) lane safely.
    You are under no obligation to try and keep moving into the left lane when overtaking if you are travelling at a reasonable speed while still overtaking any vehicles in the left lane.

mfceiling wrote: »
    Sorry no but "you" are very wrong here.
    If you are overtaking a row of traffic at a reasonable speed and in a line of traffic you don't have to pull in suddenly because someone is in a hurry behind you.
    They must wait until everyone else has moved in for you to continue to overtake.
    The amount of times you can be overtaking traffic and someone trys to undertake in a tiny gap causing the drivers on the left lane to brake and the drivers in the overtaking lane to brake so that they are one car length ahead.
    WAIT until the cars in the overtaking lane have moved back in then overtake and move back to the inside (left) lane safely.
    You are under no obligation to try and keep moving into the left lane when overtaking if you are travelling at a reasonable speed while still overtaking any vehicles in the left lane.

Hi, i'd like to invite you to read my post properly without any bias or predetermined judgements. Thank you.

I have pointed out the facts that the overtaking lane should be used for just that.

Where abouts in the opening of my post did I mention anything about overtaking?

Driving in the over taking lane is wrong. Treating it like a lane of equal to the other lanes is wrong, they have their purposes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

The overtaking lane is for overtaking.

The worst is when an 18-wheeler decides it wants to go 71 mph when the RV in front of it wants to go 70 mph. The end result is two lanes of traffic bogged down to ~70 mph while this truck driver pretends like he doesn't want to speed. Or the lifeless hall monitors on I-95 that decide they need to 'enforce' the speed limit during your 5 hour drive by doing nothing more than creating an even more dangerous clump-up of cars. Speed kills but so do car orgys. I don't mind shooting 85 if it means I don't have to cruise in a trucks massive blindspot while he struggles to keep his wheels in his lane during a bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

so, was driving down the Naas road, about a mile from Newland cross when this car (driving right tight behind me, suddenly swerves out from the right hand lane into the middle lane, undertakes me, them goes back into the right hand lane). Quite careless and recklessly tbh.

Cue, a mile down the road at newlands cross, I'm sitting in the tallaght bound lane, and this car is sitting in the other Tallaght lane (anyone familiar with the road will understand) so, basically at newlands cross, two lanes for tallaght coming from naas, I'm in the right lane, this mad driver is in the left.

This bloke is giving me daggers through his window, but I'm a big bloke, and can look after myself (I'm no one man army mind!)

I put down my window, ask the guy if he's ok, and that he nearly caused an accident back on the road. He shouted something about me not letting him past and him in a hurry.

Anyway, traffic starts to move as the lights turn green, were both on Belgard road heading towards Tallaght, your man still mouthing off through his car window, to which I start laughing at him (i find laughing at dickheads infuriates them more than shouting abuse at them:D)

Next thing I know, he's holding up some form of id at me, and screaming 'Garda! Pull in!' Now, at this point I hope I have explained that, if he was a Gard, he's in an unmarked car, not using flashing lights, not in the hurry that he seemed to be in five mins earlier, and as far as I'm concerned, the 'ID' he was holding up, might as well have been a libary card for what I could make out!

My reply to his demands to pull in were a not very polite 'go eff yourself' he shouted again 'pull in!' And I blew him a kiss! (he was fuming at this stage!)

I was headed right on belgard road (towards the belgard inn) and he drove straight on in the general direction of Tallaght.

Anyways, that was Wednesday night, still haven't heard a thing from the law, no police arrived at my door, haven't been stopped on the road etc.

My guess, this was a young, jumped up Gard, late for his shift at Tallaght Garda station, bullying his way to work.

Anyone any other suggestions?

I haven't read the other posts but I would say that you handled the situation admirably. He was a rat in a car, nothing more - and you treated him with the disdain he deserved. Good for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,369 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Good man Snyper, spot on post. If some prick tailgates me I just turn on my rear fog lights quickly and he usually jams on thinking I've hit the brakes. Having said that, I just have to add that i fkn despise lane hoggers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Didn't the op say he was drink driving? Yet you still think he was the safe driver? Interesting.

Hi there K_mac. Welcome to after hours :)

I also had a dead body in the boot, gun in the glove department, and was playing Daniel O'Donnell on the 'shee dee' player!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭Amber Lamps

I also had a dead body in the boot, gun in the glove department, and was playing Daniel O'Donnell on the 'shee dee' player!

and you were soliciting for sex with an garda siochana whilst driving your vehhhicle. ya should be locked up :mad: