Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who would you rather have as Taoiseach? Micheàl or Enda?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

I want the FG number two. The big guy with the beard. He looks hardcore.

I heard once that Premier Sarkozy made a joke about his beard and his come back was so cutting that the Eiffle tower burst into flames with the shear awesomeness of it. True story.

Massive beardy FG man for Taoiseach.

James-Reilly-e1282056822357.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭ORLY?

This isn't a 2 party election ya know.

You don't just have to choose between FF and FG, there are other options!

Go ahead, throw your vote away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

Enda, if only for the fact that Ray Darcy said he'd leave the country if Enda ever became Taoiseach

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Enda, if only for the fact that Ray Darcy said he'd leave the country if Enda ever became Taoiseach

Really? Schishe, I can't decide now.............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭francie82

bearded man,,,hes no joke,,,,,happens to be a doctor. But i cant understand how some people are considering FF.....why?
    Pearse Doherty is very good but da only problem is that hes with sinn fein!
    Only a few weeks after him being elected he seemed to be their most out spoken member....goes to show the quality there.

I have to agree with another poster....there is room for another party....because Enda Kenny cannot seem to capitalise on the oppositions failure....a young party may lack experience. FG seem to be the only option ....realisticly

Michael o leary wudnt even look at da job!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

Inda gets my vote!

Mee-haul Martin introduced our glorious Smoking Ban...........Oh, & He's a FF'er to boot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

someone who is not a politican. might be a bit dificult tho..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭whiteonion

efb wrote: »
    A new (albeit slightly soiled) broom sweeps clean...

I definitely would rather have Micheàl as our next Taoiseach over Inda.

He seems to be the FFer with the least blood on his hands too and the few successes of the recent FF gov seem to trace back to him.

So AH, who would you rather, Micheàl or Enda?
    With the people we have to choose from we'd probably be better off with no government at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭keithm1

Neither tbh,there both gobeens.

I agree but if I had to pick it certainly won't be a fianna failure they've done enough damage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

He seems to be the FFer with the least blood on his hands too and the few successes of the recent FF gov seem to trace back to him.

This is exactly what FF want the public to think. Micheál supported Biffo when he make all those ludicrous decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Berty wrote: »
    Who, other than an Irish person, is going to me able to pronounce Micheál?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,139 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

:eek::confused::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

This is exactly what FF want the public to think. Micheál supported Biffo when he make all those ludicrous decisions.

Which "ludicrous decisions"? The bank guarantee? I think you'll find Enda and company supported that as well. In fact, the Opposition, if we can call it that, haven't covered themselves in glory for a long time. In the 2007 General Election, Fine Gael promised to spend everything they had, and didn't have, in order to get into power. They promised everything, to everybody. Now, their 2007 election manifesto is no longer on the Fine Gael website and they'd like the world to think they've been the party of fiscal rectitude and continuous opposition to Fianna Fáil. Nothing could be further from the truth.

It's most improbable, given Fine Gael's record in opposition, that they're suddenly going to start being any of these when they get into government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I was just thinking if Brian Cowen was a caretaker Taoiseach, he'd be up there with Ian Huntley in terms of bringing the name of caretakers into disrepute...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

Kenny, even though he has a charisma bypass, is a good administrator and that's what we need now. No flash, no b&ll****. Someone who will organise the country.
    I'd have to agree with this. Always in times of economic hardship people are drawn to the charismatic strongman, who invariably loots the country and sets up his friends in positions of power, takes decades to dig the ticks out after that. This is not just limited to Ireland of course, happens everywhere.

I'd sound a note of caution however, Noonan made some cryptic comments in his budget speech about "getting the whole thing started again" in reference to the property bubble, and FG weren't lax in proposing even more expensive policies than FF during the bubble years.

We've no guarantees they won't lead us straight off another precipice.

Still, best of a bad lot and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Favourite fianna failer = Michael Martin. Impressed with how he dealth with smoking ban, not afraid to stand up for things he feels strong about such as the whole hamas thing about a year ago. Have felt he hasnt gotten on too well with top fine failers for last few years. Whenever he seemed to be doing well hed get shifted.

Fine Gaeler = Richard Bruton, wouldnt be impressed with enda. Think brutons always come across as fairly competent. Have always voted fine gael but been unimpressed with them for some time.

Cant see how fine fail could get elected but so long as sin fein dont become part of government and labour arent a massive party at least things arent likely to get much worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

Manach wrote: »
    A certain Mrs. Thatcher might be available.

I hear her memory is almost as bad as Brian Cowen's now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Nameless1

Kenny Dalglish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Id go with Micheál Martin. Always a strong performer anytime Ive seen him on programs like Q&A. Has that rare quality in a politician in that he usually tries to answer a question squarely and doesnt seek to evade from the word go.
    Hes been in foreign affairs for over 2 years now so has a bit of experience dealing with the foreigners! I think he'd have a better grasp of whatever job he was in, Enda is a bit weak on detail and is more of a soundbyte man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

phasers wrote: »
    Run a nationwide raffle. Winner gets to be Taoiseach, runner up gets a new bicycle.

Think I'd rather be the fecking runner up ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I am stunned that some people would still like FF to retain power, even under a new leader.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

If only Brian had left his horse, Mary Coughlan, outside... (oh yeah abf that pesky bailout...)
    Ah c'mon, that's a bit hard on the horse.

**** your Irish nation , i've a horse (Coughlan) outside.....

Maybe we should ask Frank Kelly to reprise the role of Fr Jack. He can swear at the EU and IMF tell them to get the f*ck outta the country.

Fr Jack for Taoiseach!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

This thread honestly reminds of of when people choose Barabbas over Jesus.
    (Not towards Edna but the alternatives be it exaggerated or not that they'd choose over FF))

People cant honestly say never again in their lives they will no vote for FF.
    For one a party is not the same over time adn the people change(And if a person says it attracts the same kind of scum bags...Feck off you closed minded idiot).A perfect exakmple is the states.We now see their Republican party as the closed minded conservatives and the Democrats as the fighting for socail equality liberals...yet during the time of slavery it was the Republicans who fought for Equal rights and the Democrats who wished for slavery to remain(Yes I know thats over a longer time but things happen faster now)

With all this commotion FF is definatly going to change..Cowen is trying to hold his place now but as it said on television he is like a wounded animal!Trying to hold it off for as long as possible.

Personally I'm going to vote for either FF/Greens or independent in the nextl elections.Why?Because those three candidates in my area are far more appealing than the local SF/LAB/FG ones.

The Party name is toxic but it does not mean that members of it aren't competent.Sure I don't believe FF have any change of winning and I've heard that they don't wish to either(and I've also heard that of FG as well).If any party was in place this would have still happened.Yes FF were in power at the time so yes it was their responsibility but the view that if FG or labor were in that this wouldn't have happened is ridiculous.

Anyway as I stated you can never say never.

FF are toxic, they have ruined the country and i am never going to forget that fact. I will never give anyone from that party a vote again.

galwayrush wrote: »
    FF are toxic, they have ruined the country and i am never going to forget that fact. I will never give anyone from that party a vote again.

Well said! When they call to your door, cos lets face it they would be that f*cking cheeky have a double barreled shot gun waiting for them, and run them off your property.

Your never going to forget that fact even when there are different people in the party?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

I dont remember any party saying we need to increase taxes, spend less and not rely so much on the construction sector. When fine fail spent more on A all others said why not on B.
    Ive never voted for them in my life but im as likely next time round as ever before. Labour and sin fein would have us in a greater state of ruin in no time. Fine gael have very little politicians that id have much respect for. Its all very depressing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭steo87

Well Enda has a Honda so I might just go with him

Seloth wrote: »
    Your never going to forget that fact even when there are different people in the party?

No, I will never forget or forgive them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

I presume RTE are going to cover the statement.

Alexander Hotel, does that say anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭amacca

Rainbow coalition it is so.

Classic..........where did all the thanks whores go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

I've lost faith in all of them tbh.

Enda, I liked him, but FG have dithered and not delivered sufficient in the way of opposition or clear policies.

Micheál Martin went into his last twenty years with enthusiasm and honesty, he was a bit naive in giving computers to schools and not training and in giving the medical professions billions and they only paid themselves big increases and bonuses ~

Now I see a broken spiritless man who will spew the same diatribe because he is told to, in other words he has changed and has been moulded and is therefore now useless, he'll just carry on the same way.

Can we go back 20 years though and Martin would have been a good choice. He's from Cork and as Taoiseach he'd probably follow Lynch's example.

Anyone following politics long term might note this last bit for posterity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

FF do not have any abilities to get Ireland out from the mess they have caused. If they did they would have started two years ago with some 'tough loving'.

I do agree with others here. The other parties aren't very inspiring. But anything would be better than FF, except for FG. In my opinon they are on the same level.

No, I will never forget or forgive them.

I'm sorry but I cant understand that mentality.Its like blaming the child for something the parent did.

Simple, they are rotten to the core, and any new blood that is attracted to such a toxic party could not be any better .

As I said in a post above that is plainly and idiotic idea.By your logic anyone who joins or votes for SF is in the IRA,Anyone in or votes for the Green party is a hippie and only those that live in towns or citys vote for labor.

So say 35 years down the line a similar situation happens with a FG/Lab coalition,with FF being generally accepted as the better party this time,You would still not vote for them.

Again referring to my earlier in the USA the Republican Party supported Equal rights for slaves and Democrats were against it.Now while the issue is not slavery the party ideals are totally different.

As I said in a post above that is plainly and idiotic idea.By your logic anyone who joins or votes for SF is in the IRA,Anyone in or votes for the Green party is a hippie and only those that live in towns or citys vote for labor.

So say 35 years down the line a similar situation happens with a FG/Lab coalition,with FF being generally accepted as the better party this time,You would still not vote for them.

Again referring to my earlier in the USA the Republican Party supported Equal rights for slaves and Democrats were against it.Now while the issue is not slavery the party ideals are totally different.

Voting FF is clearly idiotic, at least 3 more generations are going to suffer because of them, i would love to see that toxic party dissolved,

Ok I'm going to take the view of don't feed the troll seeing as you clearly have no sense of reason or political knowledge...

*shrugs* but hey this is after hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Why do people vote for Fianna Fail though? Seriously. Is it through Pothole Politics alone?

Because they have bankrupted the country at least twice...so they obviously can't run a country properly. Certainly since the TACA mob took charge in the 1960's and Dev's isolationist policies helped the country similarly to Nehru's in india (i.e. it set the country back decades.)

They were given, essentially, the keys to the kingdom this time around and once again proved they were incapable of properly administring the country.

So why vote for Fianna Fail now or even in 30 years? History has proved that they can't govern Ireland properly.

And there is little indication on their front or backbenches that they have anyone who can really change the party.

Ok I'm going to take the view of don't feed the troll seeing as you clearly have no sense of reason or political knowledge...

*shrugs* but hey this is after hours.

I've read enough and suffered enough, also my kids and grand kids will suffer because of that party. What i experience every day, it's pretty clear to see that they are toxic to the core and always put their party's needs before the good of the country. That is my sense of reason and more than enough 'Political Knowledge' to know that they have to go. It's crazy to think that they deserve any rewards now or in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭keithm1

Were up there with the most corrupt governments in the world something has to give
    I vote for a full on riot get them fianna failures out

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

I REALLY want Boris Johnson

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

I've read enough and suffered enough, also my kids and grand kids will suffer because of that party. What i experience every day, it's pretty clear to see that they are toxic to the core and always put their party's needs before the good of the country. That is my sense of reason and more than enough 'Political Knowledge' to know that they have to go. It's crazy to think that they deserve any rewards now or in the future.

you seem to be cherry picking there mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

Gerry Adams:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭Up-n-atom!

F*ck, if that's the choice we have...it's not really much of a choice - I can see Enda being made taoiseach, so much for change...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Micheal Martin has some fairly tough competition in his constituency, and that's before looking at the non-FF parties.

Running in Cork South Central as well is Micheal McGrath. He's one of the few Fianna Failers to have had any amount of support over the past few months. Especially as chair of the Oireachteas Finance Committee it was him who demanded that and sent their investigations to the Gardaí who have now sent the files to the DPP. He's been the most vociferous member of FF to call for the bankers to be criminally tried if they interfere and refuse to co-operate with the investigation. And he's come across well on TV. Most of all though, he was just elected in the last election, so he'd have far less of a connection to the Fianna Fail old guard.

Then Martin is the most notable Fianna Failer to oppose both Bertie and Cowen. Bertie tried to shaft him in 2000 by giving him health, when everyone thought it'd either kill his career if he didn't restructure the health service because it'd show a lack of balls, or if he did the unions would take him out because it'd cost them. Then he did smoking ban, which apart from the vintners association most people agree is a good thing (myself as a smoker included.) Then he was shuffled around before ending up in Foreign Affairs, a nothing cabinet position where everyone would forget about him, but where he was praised internationally for his stance on Gaza. Now he's made public what everyone knew already, that he has no time for Cowen (or Bertie before him) or that part of their party.

I want to see Fianna Fail wiped out, but it's stupidity to think it will happen. The people who gave them second and third party preference votes last time (me included) won't touch them, the undecideds who voted them first last time won't touch them, but they'll have their traditional familial line's vote and they'll have the few who vote for them because they're "good for the locality." They'll get half as many TDs as last time, they'll spend ten years in opposition (presuming Labour and FG don't tear each other apart) and all of a sudden FF will be challenging for government again. And it's at that point I'd like the likes of Micheal Martin and Michael McGrath to be still around, while Hanafin, Coughlan, Lenihan and Lenihan's brother should all be strung up by their own party's people. Problem is I don't think the Irish people will remember, and Fianna Fail won't change unless someone takes the charge to radically change them. Because they will be back, and they'll be up to the same old ****e they're up to know if Bertie's supporters aren't cut off.

Edit: Oh and, I'd prefer Enda over MM as Taoiseach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Why not add a poll for this thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭gerryk

Why no love for Eamon Gilmore? As well as having politics that aren't either reprehensible in the extreme, or completely unsustainable, he is a good few steps above the other two in the 'credibility as statesman' stakes... I mean, come on... Brian Cowen is barely literate and Enda... well, he might be a grand lad, but he's a bit 'provincial' for the world stage.