Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Darren Bent hands in transfer request

• Registered Users Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Not saying he isn't good, but the only attacking players in the world right now that could justify 24 mil (or more) are Messi, D Villa, C Ronaldo and Eto'o. Would add Torres and Rooney too if they can get past their slumps.

The fact that Capello still hasn't warmed to him at international level might say something too.

This will either prove to be Houllier's trump card or a spectatular miscalculation - will be interesting to see the result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

it was £18m up front, the £24m is if all add on clauses are activated

who cares about international level? i certainly dont, and i doubt villa do. bent scores goals at club level at about 1 every 2 games, and has more in the last 5 years than almost every other premiership player (only 1 behind the top scorer in that period)

i cant get my head around this whole "hes not worth that much" thing. he scores goals for fun. players who do that cost over £15m

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

How do you see yourself lining up with Bent in the team Helix?

All i'm saying is that Bent is at the same level at Jermain Defoe, the man he couldn't relegate to the bench at Spurs - a proven goalscorer but probably not quite worth such an extraordinary fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Doodee

All i'm saying is that Bent is at the same level at Jermain Defoe, the man he couldn't relegate to the bench at Spurs - a proven goalscorer but probably not quite worth such an extraordinary fee.

What is Defoe's goal scoring record at the moment?

Only time will tell if this was a good deal.

Doodee wrote: »
    What is Defoe's goal scoring record at the moment?

Only time will tell if this was a good deal.

Defoe's been out for two months this season in fairness. A 50% goals/games record when he has played though!

how many goals has defoe scored in the past 5 years? whats defoes goals to game ratio? how exactly is bent on the same level as jermaine defoe?

Presuming Wiki isn't bulling with the charts:

Jermain Defoe - Games/Goals 411/147: 35.8%

Darren Bent - Games/Goals 362/153: 42.3%

I know Bent has the better percentage, but remember he spent several seasons in the Championship with Ipswich where it's easier to bang in goals, thus helps bring up the percentage.

Therefore, both men are pretty much on the same level imo!

kryogen wrote: »
    How do you see yourself lining up with Bent in the team Helix?

Psssst......

HELIX!! :)

I know Bent has the better percentage, but remember he spent several seasons in the Championship with Ipswich where it's easier to bang in goals, thus helps bring up the percentage.

last 2 years nobody has scored more than bents 52 in the league

last 5 years only drogba has scored more (by 1)

where's defoe in those charts? and these are premiership goals now, not championship ones

Psssst......

HELIX!! :)

everyone being fit itll likely be

friedel
    walker---cuellar/new cb---dunne----young/clark/new lb
    makoun--reo coker/petrov

adam/young/ireland
    albrighton/young
    downing/young
    bent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

That would be a factor but still his record is class to be fair.

He generally doesnt do well though in a 433-451 type formation though.

to get the best out of him i think ye need to be playing 442, Heskey would be a pretty good partner for him imo

He generally doesnt do well though in a 433-451 type formation though.

to get the best out of him i think ye need to be playing 442, Heskey would be a pretty good partner for him imo

he doesnt really need to do anything except score for us, so he'll be fine

if he gets chances he scores goals for the most part

Xavi6 wrote: »
    That would be a factor but still his record is class to be fair.

Darren Bent did play for Ipswich, came through the youth team into the first team and scored 55 goals in 141 games

EDIT: damn you and your ninja edit!

Helix wrote: »

where's defoe in those charts? and these are premiership goals now, not championship ones

Defoe scored 24 goals in all comps only last season, so clearly he's up there with Bent right now.

Why are you bangin on about the last 5 years? Several strikers haven't kept the form they had around 05 - Robbie Keane and Andy Johnson are two clear examples there.

Defoe scored 24 goals in all comps only last season, so clearly he's up there with Bent right now.

Why are you bangin on about the last 5 years? Several strikers haven't kept the form they had around 05 - Robbie Keane and Andy Johnson are two clear examples there.

yeah but theyre not scoring any more are they, bent is. theyre older, bent is 26:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,793 ✭✭✭✭JPA

You wouldn't be including Defoes 19 goals in Division 2 would you?

JPA wrote: »
    You wouldn't be including Defoes 19 goals in Division 2 would you?

Included their club goals at all levels.

the goals they scored in lower leagues as kids hardly matters does it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,021 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

52 in 2 years?

Are we talking two seasons here or are you including this season so far and the second half of the 07/08 season as well?

eagle eye wrote: »
    52 in 2 years?

Are we talking two seasons here or are you including this season so far and the second half of the 07/08 season as well?

sorry, its 2 1/2 seasons

Well if you are including this season then thats 44 goals in 2 1/2 seasons in the league.

it was 44 in august no?

checked it, your right, its 44

for some reason i had attributed the stat to being from august

it was 44 in august no?
    No I'm talking the least two full seasons and this one so far.

2008/09 - 12
    2009/10 - 24
    2010/11 - 8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,328 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

So have we worked out if he scores goals yet then?

apparently he doesnt, and hes not worth the money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,281 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Bent doesnt score goals for fun at all.
    Had one good league season last year, aside from that his record is very meh.

mdwexford wrote: »
    Bent doesnt score goals for fun at all.
    Had one good league season last year, aside from that his record is very meh.

1 less than drogba in the last 5 years

more than everyone else

i suppose if bent doesnt score goals for fun then the likes of torres must be dirt?

1 less than drogba in the last 5 years

more than everyone else

i suppose if bent doesnt score goals for fun then the likes of torres must be dirt?

Are you a parrot or something, enough with the Drogba thing, he was prolific last season, aside from that his scoring record is nothing special.

Torres scoring record is far superior to Bent or Drogba.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭Average-Ro

Are you a parrot or something, enough with the Drogba thing, he was prolific last season, aside from that his scoring record is nothing special.

Torres scoring record is far superior to Bent or Drogba.

HOW?

In the last 5 years, Drogba has scored the most amount of League goals; Bent is second with only 1 less.

How is Torres' record superior then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,362 ✭✭✭OneColdHand

Average-Ro wrote: »
    HOW?

In the last 5 years, Drogba has scored the most amount of League goals; Bent is second with only 1 less.

Cos Torres hasn't been in the premiership for the last 5 years.

Torres started playing for liverpool same time as Bent started playing for Spurs.

Since then, Torres has scored 63, Bent 50
    (info taken from Wikipedia).

Average-Ro wrote: »
    HOW?

Because Torres has 63 goals in 99 games, Drogba has 92 in 185 games.
    Its not rocket science.

Cos Torres hasn't been in the premiership for the last 5 years.

Torres started playing for liverpool same time as Bent started playing for Spurs.

Since then, Torres has scored 63, Bent 50
    (info taken from Wikipedia).

Fair enough, but you also have to take into account that Bent wasn't first choice for Spurs whilst Torres was a mainstay.

Because Torres has 63 goals in 99 games, Drogba has 92 in 185 games.
    Its not rocket science.

Apologies mdwexford, I read your last post completely arseways and picked it up wrong:p

I agree with you there, yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

If Levy is a shrewd operator why didn't he just hang onto Bent and sell him for a profit or, you know, play him, seeing as how they need a striker. And why did he piss away 15 million quid and 65 grand a week on Robbie Keane? Or sell Jermaine Defoe for 6 million and buy him back for 15? On what planet is that considered good business?

piss away 15m on keano:confused: , it was 12m after selling him to pool for 20m :p

he bought lennon for 1m , carrick for 2m and sold him for 18.6m,made a 20m profit on berb , made a 3m profit on mido , sold kevin prince boateng to pompey for 4m and got krancjar for 2.5m....list goes on and on

oh yeah and bought vdv for only 8m :eek:

Are you a parrot or something, enough with the Drogba thing, he was prolific last season, aside from that his scoring record is nothing special

why would i stop with the drogba thing, you dont seem to be getting it

how is a goal every 2 games nothing special by the way?

Didnt spurs make a £5-6m loss on Bent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,622 ✭✭✭✭CSF

What do you base that on, Villa are in a relegation battle
    You clearly know nothing about football :rolleyes:
    Hahahaha top post.

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Didnt spurs make a £5-6m loss on Bent?

banker to get a good chunk of it back from sunderland

BERBA wrote: »
    banker to get a good chunk of it back from sunderland

What?

What?

Bent cost us 16m, sunderland paid us 10m up front with 6m add ons built in to clauses, dont think we'll end up losing much on bent.

thats why sunderland prob built the 18m fee rising up to 24m ..so villa would get caught to carry the bobs sunderland will end up owing us..all good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,043 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Is it OK if I say that I think that he'll be a very good signing for Villa, but that they paid too much money for him?

why would i stop with the drogba thing, you dont seem to be getting it

how is a goal every 2 games nothing special by the way?

As i said Drogba had one outstanding season, thats it.

How about the one before where he had 5 goals in 24 games.

1 in 2 is what id expect from a top class striker.

BERBA wrote: »
    Bent cost us 16m, sunderland paid us 10m up front with 6m add ons built in to clauses, dont think we'll end up losing much on bent.

thats why sunderland prob built the 18m fee rising up to 24m ..so villa would get caught to carry the bobs sunderland will end up owing us..all good

what were the add ons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

what were the add ons?
    You'll do well to get an answer on that one. It seems to be assumed with no need for proof.

There might be a sell-on fee but the idea that Spurs will make 6m back seems far-fetched to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,328 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

what were the add ons?
    yahoo_moe wrote: »
    You'll do well to get an answer on that one. It seems to be assumed with no need for proof.

There might be a sell-on fee but the idea that Spurs will make 6m back seems far-fetched to me.

According to PaullyD from earlier on in the thread
    Paully D wrote: »
    The clauses were:

£1m for every year of his contract which equates to £4m.

£1.5m based on England apperances which I'm guessing he didn't meet.

£1m based on Sunderland reaching Europe which obviously didn't happen.

The £6.5m won't all have to be paid to Spurs.

They've definitely got £1m already as he was here for a year and don't be surprised if we've negotiated for Villa to stump up the cash for the remaining clause which would need to be paid and that's the remaining £3m for the 'each year of his contract' clause.

The rest won't have to be paid, but Spurs will definitely see £4m of the £6.5m.

I don't think they will be due much to be honest, and would have thought any clauses would finish with Sunderland as he did, but I don;t really know to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

Cheers, had missed that.

But PaullyD, I don't see how you can go from saying 'Don't be surprised if' to 'Spurs will definitely see £4m'.

Unless I'm missing something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

yahoo_moe wrote: »
    Cheers, had missed that.

But PaullyD, I don't see how you can go from saying 'Don't be surprised if' to 'Spurs will definitely see £4m'.

Unless I'm missing something?

'Don't be surprised' if we've passed the clauses onto Villa.

'Spurs will definitely see £4m' from either Sunderland or Villa. It doesn't matter to them who pays it as long as they receive it.