Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drogheda Wheelers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

17 Out today in total. We split at clogherhead, and did a shorter 40 k spin at about 20kph. Didn't want to put people off with bigger distances when they are only new.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 kwoods

Hey all - great to see a drogheda cycling thread! Id love to join in, fed up cycling on my own. Did some sportives last year, hibernia, sean kelly, tour louth and getting back in the saddle after the winter hoping to do lots more this year - Id love to try the 930 group if its still going (maybe drop back after a while if not keeping the pace) - is it on next sunday? Also would be good to meet some of you other guys for occaisonal spins etc.

bring it on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

dwacp wrote: »
    Hi lads,
    I'm also trying to get back on the saddle after a break of 21 months.
    My wife had twins, & I never knew there was so much work, so little sleep,
    & no energy to do anything except the essentials.
    I would love to join the 10:15 group, but won't be ready for it for a while.
    In the meantime, are there any riders like myself, or rookies,
    who fancy slightly easier rides from Wheaton Hall out southside,
    in the area from Laytown/Bettystown, down to Balbriggan,
    across to Duleek, out to Kentstown & the Kilmoon Cross?
    Feel free to PM, WLM or Skype me if interested.
    dwacp

@dwacp & kwoods

You should come out on the 10.15 spin, the bunch splits into 'fast' and 'sedate' groups. ;)
    I stuck with the 'sedate' group on Sunday as I haven't been out since October.
    Honestly, its grand you'll be well able for it.

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Zorba

kwoods wrote: »
    Hey all - great to see a drogheda cycling thread! Id love to join in, fed up cycling on my own. Did some sportives last year, hibernia, sean kelly, tour louth and getting back in the saddle after the winter hoping to do lots more this year - Id love to try the 930 group if its still going (maybe drop back after a while if not keeping the pace) - is it on next sunday? Also would be good to meet some of you other guys for occaisonal spins etc.

bring it on!

Yes 9.30 group goes out every sunday. Come down and see what u think, if u don't want to turn up without knowing anyone just pm me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

www.travellingwheelburys.blogspot.com this is all the lads on there trips over the year ,last year was an epic .
    i done spain and italy ,spain was magic.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Zorba

www.travellingwheelburys.blogspot.com this is all the lads on there trips over the year ,last year was an epic .
    i done spain and italy ,spain was magic.:D

Some familiar faces in them pics will read up on it tomorrow, thanks for the link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭granda

will you be doing the shorter 40km 'sedate' spin again this sunday as i'm not quite fit enough yet for much more

granda just go as far as you can then turn off ,if you do the first 20km with the group then head for home at you own pace.wink.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭nosedive

Granda, I'm in the same boat as yourself - I did a bit of cycling last year but haven't been on the bike since August. I was waiting to build up a little fitness before heading out with a group but thinking now I might just go for it.

How bout having someone else there to lean on? I'll be taking it real easy to begin with too and would be nice not to be the only one!

lads can i just say you wont have any problems staying in the group.
    i was looking at most of the riders on the last spin i was there .
    all had water bottles full going out and full coming home ,now whats that all about .you need fuel to keep going you will probably burn up to 2000 kal on a 60km spin so you need to replace it .thats the reason you feel fecked on a spin :D:D
    so next time out fill your bottles with a high energy drink, take some fruit cake and energy bars and a babana and eat and drink, little and often is the secret ;)
    jesus i think i'll write a book :D:D

so sunday it is then
    is there any one i have to make myself known to when i get there

good stuff ,have a look at the link i posted thats the original 10 o clock sunday group.
    dave could break up the group after maybe 10/15 miles, let the faster lads do there own thing but we will see how things go. theres no leaders in this group btw, just lads that's maybe a bit more experienced than others and know's how to ride a bike .
    ah i think you will enjoy the spin and craic ;)

pm me nosedive and we can meet up and ride together and see how we go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭Smithzer

I should be going for a 40-50km easy pace spin on Sat morn prob about 11am. I'll confirm closer to the weekend.

there's a lot of wind forecast for the weekend ,are you lads still on for sunday could be tough going south wast winds and lots of rain .
    but as the man said you don't how bad it is until you get out in it:rolleyes:

Sunday spin is still on, 10.15 at the bike shop, and the group will split again to accommodate different peoples abilities.

Unfortunately I won't make it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭macadam

lennymc wrote: »
    Sunday spin is still on, 10.15 at the bike shop, and the group will split again to accommodate different peoples abilities.

Unfortunately I won't make it :(

I wont make it either, over here in Lanzarote weather was very windy on tuesday and wednesday actually it was frightening on the bike, it picked up yesterday fantastic spin up to La santa and back via Timanfaya, looking forward to Femes on Monday see you ll next week, back to the tights I guess.

jasus macadam i feel sorry for ya:mad: only joking enjoy your holiday love to be there.
    i didn't get out today so hopefully in the morn.only thing theres a lot of wind and rain forecast so i'll see how it goes.
    ok looks like tomorrow's spin will be in the direction of newgrange /slane/stackallan/yellow furse /kentstowm around 40 miles how does that sound good spin home from kentstown good tail wind.
    anyway bring wet gear your going to need it :D:D

i looked out the window at 8 it was lashing so i went back to me bed;)
    for those of you who braved it fair play to you.
    ok anyone interested in cycling sun glasses i have 20 pair for sale well a friend of mine has .

i looked out the window at 8 it was lashing so i went back to bed...

Snap...:o

CPL 593H

i felt guilty so i went out this afternoon just did 25 miles ,glad i brought a tail light as it was very dark for the entire spin;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

What speeds are the different groups going at and when? Looking for something around 27-30kpmh.

That's probably around the pace of the 9.30am group.
    The 10.15am is a bit slower.

CPL 593H

yeah the 9.30 would suit you better ;)
    but the group does break up after 10/15 miles the faster lads usually have a go at one another never learn:D:D.
    the slower group will average between 14 and 15 mph.

hopefully we wont get the snow at the weekend,plenty up north.

yeah the 9.30 would suit you better ;)
    but the group does break up after 10/15 miles the faster lads usually have a go at one another never learn:D:D.
    the slower group will average between 14 and 15 mph.

hopefully we wont get the snow at the weekend,plenty up north.

Whats this I hear about "SNOW" Think me stay put.
    Heading for Playa Blanca and Femes tomorrow 24º today.

yip high winds loads of rain snow on the way -4 geg,if i were you i would extend that holiday at least until the end of may;)
    besides after all that sunny cycling you will pull the legs of us aoul fellas:D:D
    btw did anyone go out last sunday.

ok lads i have just been informed by BG that one of the best cycle sportive in the country is happening on june the 8 the Sean K elly tour of sligo;)
    so here's your chance to put all your winter training to the test,
    so anyone interested , not sure yet if it's an overnighter if so get in early before everything is booked up .
    what say you all .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 bill m

howdy lads,
    I'm getting back into bikes and looking for advice.I tried to do a new post but couldnt find a way in.I've around 500e to spend and am bogged down with all the brands.Would it be possible for any of you to nail it down to a top three or four.Im in dunleer and will buy in quay cycles or halfords,when I know which one to go for.The ones i've come accross and seem good to me were dawes, viking,carerra virtuoso,la pierre and boardman (although a little more expensive).Loads more but a bit out of my league.If you know of any more i've missed out on and that you would recommend,id appreciate your advice.Im trying to stay around the 500 mark.
    i appreciate all the help,
    Al the best
    Bill M

bill have you tried bike to work scheme ,all the shops do that now.
    but what are you going to be using the bike for ,touring.racing,around town.
    the thing you find with off the peg bikes is the groupset is usually crap the very lowest end of the scale ,probably get shot for saying that :rolleyes:
    and the wheels are usually not up to scratch.but having said that you could pick up a used bike for your price range, as long as you know what to look for.
    if i were to advise i would probable go with the boardman if your buying new simply because he is still tying to get into the bike market and his bike are well designed ,the few that i seen were nice.
    have a look a wiggle in the uk also www. spa cycles .co.uk and chainreaction up north are brilliant ,you could buy the frame and fork from any of those dealers and build the bike yourself with a bit of help from who ever.

but look at chainreactions site older road frames they have some real beauty s,buy wise bill buy crap and you will be sorry;)

lads just thinking about the 10.15 sunday morning group.
    i think sooner or later this group is going to completely split up .
    the same thing happened before, the stronger faster riders didn't want to be waiting for the slower riders ,ok i can understand that but a group will never gel if you dont encourage the slower rider .
    lads it's not a racing group at least not for me ,so i suggest we split up the times yet again ,the 9.30 group is faster but that has nothing to do with our group .
    SO how about you faster lads leave at ten, us slower riders will stick to 10.15
    personally i'm sticking to 10.15 it suits me better .
    what say you all are you happy enough with the way things are or do you want to change times.;)
    btw the group is splitting anyway because of the increase in speed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 bill m

bill have you tried bike to work scheme ,all the shops do that now.
    but what are you going to be using the bike for ,touring.racing,around town.
    the thing you find with off the peg bikes is the groupset is usually crap the very lowest end of the scale ,probably get shot for saying that :rolleyes:
    and the wheels are usually not up to scratch.but having said that you could pick up a used bike for your price range, as long as you know what to look for.
    if i were to advise i would probable go with the boardman if your buying new simply because he is still tying to get into the bike market and his bike are well designed ,the few that i seen were nice.
    have a look a wiggle in the uk also www. spa cycles .co.uk and chainreaction up north are brilliant ,you could buy the frame and fork from any of those dealers and build the bike yourself with a bit of help from who ever.

but look at chainreactions site older road frames they have some real beauty s,buy wise bill buy crap and you will be sorry;)

nice one feck sake lads;-)ill be using it for leisurely rides and a few long rideouts.I appreciate all that advice.Yeh the boardman looked nice but i used to pick up bits and pieces of bikes years ago and put them together so maybe ill check out chain reaction.Another one i came accross was giant.The wife has the back to work scheme going on so i might mention it to her,could break the bank a bit then:D good advice,
    bill

no bother bill ,chainreactions have older models of top end bikes like principea class bikes .giant do bike from 20 euro :D:Dto 10.000:mad: the same with all those big big companys ,just be careful of the gear thats on the bike ,may look all shiny and new ,but if you buy good gear at the start it will last you years trouble free.

lads just thinking about the 10.15 sunday morning group.
    i think sooner or later this group is going to completely split up .
    the same thing happened before, the stronger faster riders didn't want to be waiting for the slower riders ,ok i can understand that but a group will never gel if you dont encourage the slower rider .
    lads it's not a racing group at least not for me ,so i suggest we split up the times yet again ,the 9.30 group is faster but that has nothing to do with our group .
    SO how about you faster lads leave at ten, us slower riders will stick to 10.15
    personally i'm sticking to 10.15 it suits me better .
    what say you all are you happy enough with the way things are or do you want to change times.;)
    btw the group is splitting anyway because of the increase in speed.

FSL, I think we should make a decision of what we we are aiming for as some of the lads in the faster group at 10.15am are training for triathlons and will probably move on as the weather picks up.
    I want to get more time in the saddle and improve my climbing, I would be aiming for a few of the big sportives like the wicklow 100/200 the Sligo SK, the tour of louth and ROK, I would also like to up my average speed to about 25 kph.
    Its very difficult to ride slower especially when the weather is cold.
    Just my few views if they are any good to you.

yeah it can be hard to go with a slower group especially when you have goals for the year,but look if your going to go with the faster lads at least train properly and don't be killing one another ,that's how good groups break up ,so the next thing would be to go racing because no one wants to train with you .and racing aint no picnic you will soon know what speed is and you will be sorry you you didn't do the proper winter miles.
    but each to there own i'm happy enough doing my own thing as i said before i'm more into touring than road stuff much more civilized:D:D

In Manchester for the derby tomorrow lads but hope to see you all on Sunday morning......as long as it's dry and sunny! ;)

CPL 593H

Nice ride today, great to be back in the winter gear, only 4 appeared we headed out around Skreen area some roads in pretty bad state the weather was nice and crisp to start and warmed up well on the return home..

good spin today lads and lassie, i clocked it at 40 miles not bad for this time of year.i surprised myself today finishing with the fast lads ,but i will admit i sat on charli's wheel, god damn motorbike that guy:D:D
    anyway hope you lot enjoyed the route.

FSL, good spin nice pace roads a bit bad but thats to be expected, nice run in from Rathkenny everyone seems to be stepping up or getting fitter.
    Wait till charlie gets the new wheels.

I should be back next weekend with mrs Lenny. Looking forward to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭killalanerr

hi guys i was wonder if any of you guys get out midweek (tue/wen) as as shift worker cant make it weekends

I might be up for a spin on wed morning, where are you based.

i will probably be out tomorrow for a spin
    where are you based

granda pm sent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭killalanerr

im in the north dublin but would drive to a start point if their was a few up for it ,im up to about 50k @ mid 20s kph

Where are you thinking of meeting up..

the forecast is not to great,wed seems best .
    so what's the plan anyone got a good route in mind remember theres a east wind so it could be a tough spin
    so someone please suggest a time and place and we can take it from there.;)
    ok back to the debate on rte.:D:D

the forecast is not to great,wed seems best .
    so what's the plan anyone got a good route in mind remember theres a east wind so it could be a tough spin
    so someone please suggest a time and place and we can take it from there.;)
    ok back to the debate on rte.:D:D

Church in Clogherhead Time TBC, Along the coast Annagassan castlebellingham (tallanstown Ardee Collon)/dunleer and back to Drogheda, I am open to 60 or 80 k.
    I have a meeting on wed not sure of the time yet.

have you just got a motor fitted to your bike :D:D
    if i get to collon with you lads i'm heading home
    and from tallenstown it will be a tough spin only saying;)

have you just got a motor fitted to your bike :D:D
    if i get to collon with you lads i'm heading home
    and from tallenstown it will be a tough spin only saying;)

Only suggesting these routes you can add on or take of as you wish or change I am easy, we could head inland but roads are shiiite, easy pace might even stop for tea and a bun:eek:

i do that route fairly often and if it's an east wind it can be tough going .
    but then again we do live on the east coast :D:D
    but i do like the idea of a cuppa maybe stop in tallenstown great coffee in the spar shop;)
    anyway lets see how others are fixed and seen as i'm unemployed and broke :mad: i might as well get as many miles in my little legs as i can .
    but i ain't going racing.