Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chasing the pack......one step at a time.

• 17-01-2011 5:51pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭

My name is RedB and I am a Tri-slogger.:rolleyes:

After a semi-decent (for me) Training year in 2010 (last year's 1000 mile log here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055722386&page=19&highlight=1000+mile) I managed to improve my 2009 'just-get-around' slogging efforts in the Hell Of The West Triathlon (HOTW) and the Dublin City Marathon (DCM) to a 2010 'not-so-bad' Sub 3 result in the HOTW and a similar 'not-so-bad' 3:42 in DCM10. I'm intending to spend 2011 carrying that effort on to greater heights and chasing the pack to semi-respectable mid-table positions. In particular, the 2011 Lost Sheep HIM in Kenmare beckons. I've completed it (one step at a time :() twice but not with much satisfaction, trailing in very near the end in 7hrs+ both times. 2010 was the first year I trained properly in years and I spent the bulk of my efforts on running and paid the price in Kenmare. This year I intend to balance it a bit more but putting much greater emphasis on the bike. My running endurance is relatively OK now, so its time to improve my cycling endurance. I can swim slowly and badly but I'll get there. Lack of proper training is undoubtedly my main problem and getting the time, energy and motivation elements together is the key to solving that. This log is intended to help with the motivation element which in turn should help turn dead time into useful time whether it be to train properly or to rest properly (I typically don't get enough sleep :o).

My 2011 goals are:
    Limerick Duathlon (20/2/11) - Sub 63 or approx mid-pack. (2010 65:48, 2009 67:48)
    Ballycotton 10M (06/03/11) - Sub 75 (2010, 77:00, 2009, 80+)
    North Tipp Sprint Tri (30/04/11) - Sub 1:25 or approx mid-pack. (First time)
    Wicklow 200 (12/06/11) OR Tour de Burren (TBC)
    HOTW (25/06/11) - Sub 2:45 or approx mid-pack. (2010 2:58:27, 2009 3:26:27)
    Ring of Kerry (02/07/11)
    Sean Kelly Tour 160km (28/08/11)
    Lost Sheep HIM (17/09/11) - Sub 5:50 or approx mid-pack. (2010 7:05:32, 2009 7:07:13).

I have started back training with a few 5M and 10M runs, one outdoor cycle, a turbo session or 2, and 2 weeks of splashing up and down the pool. My weight needs to come down (91.5kg :eek:) and my general fitness needs to go up. I was fairly flaked after yesterdays cycle after a tough weeks work but there'll be more of that this week so I'd better HTFU fairly rapid.

Quick summary of this year to date:
    01/01/11 Run 9.25M, 1:16:28, 8:16/M, Avg HR 145bpm
    02/01/11 Rest
    03/01/11 Run 5.1M, 43:10, 8:28/M, Avg HR 145bpm
    04/01/11 Swim 550m, 4 x 100m off 3min, 1 x 150m. Joined Pool for 3months.
    05/01/11 Swim 800m, 8 x 100m off 3min, 1:40 on Turbo, 45km?, 86rpm, 238w, Avg HR 134bpm
    06/01/11 Swim 1000m, 10 x 100m off 3:05min
    07/01/11 Run 5.13M, 44:46, 8:43/M, 140bpm
    08/01/11 Cycle canceled due to ice :(,Run 10M, 1:24:44, 8:28/M
    09/01/11 Cycle canceled due to ice :(, Turbo 30min, 10km? lost motivation :(
    10/01/11 Long work day (13hr :()
    11/01/11 Swim 1000m, 4x100m off 2:45, 6x100m off 3min. Joined West Lim AC for Track sessions.
    12/01/11 Swim 1000m, 10x100m with 30secs rest (2:07-2:24/100m).
    13/01/11 Long work day (15hr :()
    14/01/11 Swim 1000m, 4x100m off 2:45, 6x100m off 3:00.
    15/01/11 Rest
    16/01/11 Cycle 60km, 2:35, 23km/hr. Banjaxed :(

Still not rightly recovered from last weeks exertions and there's only 2 weeks of training done :(. Its gonna be a long year :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

Good luck with the log Red, if no tidal forces of nature or three punctures you should break 6.50 at Kenmare in a canter. Heres hoping for 3rd time lucky ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭RedB

catweazle wrote: »
    Good luck with the log Red, if no tidal forces of nature or three punctures you should break 6.50 at Kenmare in a canter. Heres hoping for 3rd time lucky ;)

Indeed! Unfortunately (:rolleyes:) its 5:50 I'm aiming for now (Freudian slip on my behalf on original post).

Thanks for the post. We can't interest you in heading to Kenmare this year?

Nah, I am not doing Galway (at the moment) as I thinks it too pricey, but factoring in accomodation costs and travel Kenmare would work out even more expensive for me. Swinford in July will be my outing!

5.50 sounds like a more worthy target.

No marathon this year....but loads of cycling I see. Definite Ironman next year for you I think. ;)

I am trying to get my bike to some type of decent standard myself so I might see you in one or two of those sportives!

Well, it continues to be a slow start to the year with training progressing very slowly. I had a nice 22 week Tri Bible 2011 training plan drawn up peaking initially at the HOTW in June before rolling on again 12 weeks later to the Lost Sheep in Sept. However I feel I need more time in Prep mode before I realistically hit Base and Build periods as what I've done to date feels harder than it should. I'm thinking that I'll spend the next few weeks getting up to speed and reschedule the plan to suit. I've also been traveling an average of twice a week with work this year which I find both tiring and disruptive as there's no routine. Its a long time till June and Sept and I'd prefer to build slowly and steadily. My focus word for this year is sustainability so I'm keen to find the balance on all fronts.

Summary of the last 2 weeks:
    Mon 17/1 - Rest. Very tired with migraine-like headache.
    Tues 18/1 - Travel with work. Headache only went at lunchtime. Still not getting enough sleep :o.
    Wed 19/1 - 5.15M run, 48:33, 8:27/M. 1075m Swim, 75M w.u. + 3 x 200m off 5:30 (4:45+45 sec rest)
    Thur 20/1 - 45min Turbo, Pyramid x 2, 23km (31kph). 1025m Swim, 10 x 100m with 30sec break + 25m W.D.
    Fri 21/1 - 5.27M, 44:49, 8:30/M, 1000m swim, 10x100m with 30sec intervals
    Sat 22/1 - 64km cycle, 2:38, 23.9kph. To Nenagh and back on old N7 due to foggy patches (-4Deg).
    Sun 23/1 - 9.52M, 1:28:57, 9:20/M. Bad run. 2 x 5m loop, Went in damp base layer in freezing fog. Stupid. Cold got deep into my lungs and had to stop after 8M. Struggled home and breathing fecked until morning. Scary.
    Mon 24/1 - Rest / Travel with work.
    Tues 25/1 - 1150m swim. 5 x 200m, 1 x 150, 1 x 50. 30 sec rest.
    Wed 26/1 - Travel with work. 1 Hour Turbo approx 25km steady.
    Thurs 27/1 - 5.1M, approx 45min, 9/M. Battery died on Garmin
    Fri 28/1 - Rest / Travel with work.
    Sat 29/1 - 5.1 M Tempo run. 1m W.U at 8:30/M, 2.5M at 7:15/M, 1.5M W.D. Good run.
    Sun 30/1 - 70Km cycle, 2:55, 82rpm, 24kph. 2x100m + 1 x50m swim with kids. Tired but content.
    Mon 31/1 - 1200m swim, 6 x 200m with 45 sec intervals

January Summary of Sessions / Hours / Distances
    Swim|Cycle|Run|Sessions|Hours
    3/1.5/2,350m|2/2/55km|4/3.5/29.5M|9|7
    3/1.5/3,000m|1/2.5/60km|1/.75/5M|5|4.75
    3/1.75/3,100m|2/3.25/87km|3/3/20M|8|8
    1.25/1/1,400m|2/4/95km|2/1.5/10M|5.25|6.5

Well its five weeks later and not a lot to show for it on the training front. I had a savage work month in February that I don't even want to think about and I was limited to weekends most of the month. I got in some long cycles and runs then just to keep ticking over but practically no swimming :(.

I didn't get to do the Limerick Feb Duathlon but I wasn't in shape for it either so no harm. I did the Ballycotton 10 last week and changed my target to sub 80 from sub 75 as I just didn't have the training done. I ran with that pace in mind and came home in 79:12 so happy enough with that. My buddy BB clocked up 74:27 so I should've been tracking him but he's doing the GLR Marathon which I'm not.

I'm doing a Lenten Training Streak so I'm committed to training every day for the next 6+ weeks :eek:. I've signed up for the North Tipp Sprint Tri on April 30th and the Spiddal Olympic Tri May 21st. I'm still considering doing the Wicklow 200 and I plan on doing a 100km spin tomorrow. I eventually found the Tri club swim sessions and last night was my 2nd session which I was happy to clock up 1,800m in.
    6 x 50M drill W.U, 2X50M off 1:05, 2x100m off 2:15, 2x150m off 3:3?, 2x200m off 4:4?, 2x250m off 5:5? or something like that.
    Fairly flaked at the end but happy to go the distance. Dusted off the Turbo too and trying to fit in the runs as well. MrsB has actually signed up for the GLR Half Marathon so there's a bit of juggling going on with run slots! She's hitting 10km handy now so there's a good running vibe in the house. Kids getting into it too.

Back in form and looking forward to the next few months. :)

The Lenten Training Streak continues in detail here........

1) Ash Wednesday 09/03 - 1,600m Swim. 4 x 400m, 32km 1 hour Turbo with 2 x (10min easy, 20min hard).
    2) Thurs 10/03 - 1,800m Swim with Triclub. 6 x 50M drill W.U, 2X50M off 1:05, 2x100m off 2:15, 2x150m off 3:3?, 2x200m off 4:4?, 2x250m off 5:5? or something like that.
    3) Fri 11/3 - 5.1M Run
    4) Sat 12/3 - 101km cycle with hills. Home, Gallows Hill, Watchhouse Cross, Kyle, Broadford, Bodike, Killaloe, O'Briens Bridge, Dalys Cross.
    5) Sun 13/3 - 1.25M slow run + stretches. Late night playing cards, etc. Not well :(.
    6) Mon 14/1 - Work trip to Carlow but did 5.1M run in the evening. Tired.
    7) Tues 15/1 - 2,000m Swim with Triclub. 400m WU, 6 X 50M Drills, 3 x 400m off 10min, 100m WD. Tired
    8) Wed 16/1 - 39km 1.25 hour Turbo with 2 x (10min easy, 20min hard) + WD
    9) Thur 17/1 - 5.1M Run
    10) Fri 18/1 - 1500m swim. 400m WU, 10x100m off 2:45.

And the Lenten Streak ends in detail here......:o
    Not as young as I used to be and I don't have the base needed to sustain a long training streak. The legs and energy levels just weren't coming back and I decided that I'd be the better off overall by resting :o.

11) Sat 19/3 - 72km cycle. Newport, Rear Cross, Toor, Newport, Boarmans Hill, Murroe, Boher, Home
    Sun 20/3 - Rest
    Mon 21/3 - Rest
    Tues 22/3 - 5.1M run
    Wed 23/3 - 1000m swim. 400m w.u, 6 x 100m. Lane crowded so abandoned it there.
    Thur 24/3 - Rest (Travel with work)
    Fri 25/3 - Rest (Travel with work)

Sat 26/3- 10.5M run at 8:29/M, 1:29, Avg HR 139. Went for a run but didn't know heading out if it was going to be 4-5M or longer. Beautiful morning run towards Castleconnell and just kept going. V happy with this pace as I just wanted a LSR with low HR. Met the tri club cycle group at Dalys Cross just after turning. Felt great after but the stiffness and tiredness kicked in later and it seemed like a bad idea then given my plans for Sunday.

Sun 27/3 - 100km cycle with hills. 4.5hrs. Clocks went forward so met buddy at 7.30am and headed out the N7. Had planned to turn near Silvermines towards Newport via Killoscully but he suggested going over Silvermines instead. I'd never been so said why not. I now know why not :eek:. It was a monster of a climb. Since found mention of it on the cycling forum " the Step (2.6km, 10.8% average, 16% max)...a really great climb but a killer. Seriously steep." I had to stop for a minute after 1km as the lungs were gone. I had to get off and walk after 2.1km as the legs were gone. I'm getting dizzy now just thinking about it. Savage climb. I'm going to have to try that one again :D. Headed back towards Kiloscully/Newport and turned for Toor, Rear Cross. Back towards Newport but turned left to Scrageen. Headed up Boarmanshill from the opposite side and back to Newport. The buddy was thinking of adding another loop but I was watching the clock so we headed for home at high speed (31kph :rolleyes:) with me tucked in behind him. In the door at 12:10, a mouthful of cake, a shower and out to 12.30 mass with the gang!
    Now would be a good time to mention the local 10km run I had signed up for that afternoon with MrsB for a good cause. I was considering how likely it now was that MrsB would romp home leaving me in her wake. (She's in training for the Limerick Half Marathon and is up to 8M long runs as well as 3-4 short runs p.w.) I thought about not doing it but had a bite to eat and said I'd give it a lash. The legs were tired but I figured it'd be like a brick session so needed to be done at some stage :). The sun had come out at this stage and there was a good turn out at the local GAA Club. The walkers had gone off at 2pm and the runners went at 3pm. I spotted a few Tri faces so hid down the back and tried to keep up with MrsB from the off. The first incline held me back but I was determined not to let her get too far away and reeled her back in on the downhill stretch. We were nip and tuck for the rest of the run and there was some tasty hills over the last 2 km (Golf links + Schoolhouse road) which were 'fun'. We were passing neighbors doing the walk at that stage so there was plenty of banter. The route was short (thankfully) so it was just under 6m in 53:37 (9min/M) when we finished together. Plenty of tea and sambos in the clubhouse after so I actually felt the better of it all. The run must have flushed the legs clear as there's no stiffness today, just tiredness :rolleyes:. Slept well last night for a change!

Mon 28/3 - 1000m swim. 400m w.u., 6 x 100m at 2:00 each. Legs tired from w'end.
    Tues 29/3 - 1250m swim. 750m + 500m. Long work day = no 2nd session.
    Wed 30/3 - 2.1M mini-tempo run :o. 1M at 6:30, 1M at 9:00. Another long day so all I could squeeze in :(.
    Forgot to mention previously that I did get signed up for the HOTW last week so the plan is North Tipp, Spiddal and HOTW tris with thoughts of W200 also in between if I can squeeze out some more long cycles.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Whoa you did the Step in the midst of a 100k hilly cycle! Ya mad lunatic ya. Its a savage one alright, I've been up it before and its easily the highest my heart rate has ever been on a bike. And then you headed up Shalee with a 10% ramp of its own and Rearcross too! Mad spin RedB and kudos for getting on with the family life and running a 10k too!!

The W200 will be grand with cycles like that under you belt. Nothing like the step in it

Thur 31/2 - Tri club swim session. 1900m
    300m W.U.
    Drills - 10 x 50m Superman with fins
    Main Set - 9 x 100m off 2.20
    2 x (25m flat out / 25m slow)
    100m W.D.

Main Set was supposed to be 12 x 100m but got held up a bit and the faster lane were finished. Happy to hold the 2.20 though.

Fri 1/4 - Travel with work

Sat 2/4 - Long Cycle. 128km, 4:37, 27.7kph, 86rpm. Tarbert return.
    Happy with this. Went with my regular cycling buddy who keeps me pushing my envelope. I call him YellowDot as that's all I can see of him sometimes :P. On the bike at 6.25am and home just after 11am to allow MrsB get her long run in. A beautiful morning and a scenic route along the estuary. One to remember. Met the tri club heading out past Askeaton on our way home. Seemed to get the benefit of the little wind most of the time. Ended up probably undoing any good I'd done later with several pints at the Munster v Leinster game and a late party after :rolleyes:

Sun 3/4 - Rest

Mon 4/4 - Gen Aerobic Run. 5.13M, 43.32, 8.29/M, 147BPM. Tired :o

Tues 5/4 - Rest / Work Travel

Fair play you are getting the long cycles in, I need to man up and start getting outside. I am nearly finished season 4 of the Wire so I wont download season 5 until the winter.

I still might do the Wicklow 200 but I will probably do this beforehand as its more local to me, Wicklow 200 might be too much hassle as reagars travel etc

:eek: Flat out these days so little chance to update until now.
    Rested on my laurels a bit after my Tarbert cycle but pulled it back in again the week just gone by.

Weds 6/4 - 4.37M Gen aero run, 36:44, 8:23/m, 141bpm
    Thurs 7/4 - 1900m swim with Tri Club
    Fri 8/4 - Cross training :rolleyes: - Tennis (as a favour)
    Sat 9/4 - Brick. 20km Turbo + 2.5M run. Went to Galway with family and kicked the wall :)
    Sun 10/4 - LSR 11M, 1:36, 8:44/M, 135bpm
    Mon 11/4 - Rest, travel with work.
    Tues 12/4 - 5.6M Track session. 1M WU, 8 x 3mins (Avg 6:28/M) with 2min recovery, 0.8M WD
    Wed 13/4 - travel with work.
    Thur 14/4 - 3M aero run, 25:27, 8:29/M, 134bpm. 2100m swim with Tri Club
    Fri 15/4 - Cross training :rolleyes: - Tennis (as a favour)
    Sat 16/4 - Rest. Community Event
    Sun 17/4 - LSR 10M, 1:29:35, 8:57/M, 140bpm
    START OF STRUCTURED TRAINING PROGRAMME
    WEEK 1 BASE 1
    Mon 18/4 - Rest, travel with work.
    Tues 19/4 - 3.54M, 30min, 8:29/M, 140bpm. Travel with work. 1300m swim
    with Tri Club
    Wed 20/4 - Brick. 30min Turbo (100+rpm) + 15min run. Travel with work.
    Thur 21/4 - 1750m swim. Travel with work. Missed bike session already :mad:
    Fri 22/4 - 6.92M, 57min, 8:14/M, 146bpm. Banna-Ardfert circuit. Switched from Sun
    Sat 23/4 - 66km cycle on own. Banna - Camp KOH. 2:35, 25.6kph, 124bpm, 85rpm
    Sun 24/4 - 3.22M, 28:19, 8:48/m, 126bpm. Switched from Fri.
    WEEK 2 BASE 1
    Mon 25/4 - Rest
    Tues 26/4 - 1500M broken Swim on own. No run.
    Wed 27/4 - Brick . 40min cycle (100+rpm) + 15min run.
    Thurs 28/4 - Long Cycle. Banna - Dingle rtn via Conor pass. 120km. Approx 5hrs, 24kph
    Fri 29/4 - Rest
    Sat 30/4 - Nenagh - North Tipp Sprint Tri 1:26:57
    Sun 31/4 - 1700m straight swim on own.
    WEEK 3 BASE 1 (Temp off schedule due to holidays :D)
    Mon 1/5 - Long Cycle :D. 158km, 6:07, 25.9kph, 81rpm, 122bpm. Circuit around Lough Derg. Limerick-Birdhill-Killaloe-Portroe-Nenagh-Borrisokane-Portumna-Scariff-Killaloe-Clonlara-Limerick. Happy with this.
    Tues 2/5 - Travel with work. 5km run, 25min, 141bpm
    Wed 3/5 - Travel with work.

Not doing too well on the old log this time round. Another big gap between posts.

Highlights of the last 6 weeks:
    Spiddal Oly Tri in rotton weather
    Intermitent training.
    8 days in Tuscany in decent weather
    Wicklow 200 cycle in rotton weather

Thurs 5/5 - 1700m Swim - Drills and pyramid (250->50), last session with Tri Club
    Fri 6/5 - 1 hour run, 7.2M, 8:23/M, 141bpm
    Sat 7/5 - Rest (i.e. major housework in anticipation of 1st Communion)
    Sun 8/5 - 2000m straight swim

WEEK 4 BASE 1 (NOT! Heavy on the 'Recovery')
    Mon 9/5 - Rest
    Tues 10/5 - Juggling plan so Brick. 33km Cycle (29.5kph) + 3km Run (7:30/M)
    Wed 11/5 - 1500m Swim. 300m WU, 10X100M off 2:30, 200M WD.
    Thur 12/5 - 5.13M (8.25km) Fartlek Tempo Run, 7:43/M (4:47/km), 147bpm. 2km WU and alt fast/slow km. Trying to switch to km on runs.
    Fri 13/5 - Rest (Prep for 1st Communion)
    Sat 14/5 - Rest (1st Communion )
    Sun 15/5 - Rest (Recovery from 1st Communion. Numb)

WEEK 1 BASE 2 (NOT! Heavy on the 'Recovery')
    Mon 16/5 - Rest (Recovery from 1st Communion. Wrecked)
    Tues 17/5 - Rest (Recovery from 1st Communion. Flaked)
    Wed 18/5 - Rest (Travel with work. Getting feeling back)
    Thur 19/5 - 1000m Swim. 200m WU, 10X50M off 1:15, 300m WD.
    Tri Club 15km Bike TT 27:45, 32.2kph. First time doing one of these.
    Fri - 20/5 5.13M (8.25km) Run, 5:13/km, 138bpm
    Sat - Spiddal Oly Tri, 2:49:11 but swim shortened due bad weather.
    I was on the road early (5:30am) in order to sign on. Over estimated the travel time so I was queuing for Registration to open at the Bolluisce at 7am and the wind and rain were already making a dirty day out of it. Setup the bike at the numbered rack and retreated to the car for a coffee and muffin. Met a few Limerick heads incl MCOS. Got confirmation that the swim was shortened to about 650-700m involving 2 laps of the harbour and a beach trot in the middle. Was a hike back to T1 also so had cheapie sandals ready. Went in the second wave and it was mad seeing the 'rescue' canoe tipping over due to the waves during wave 1. Water wasn't too cold but we had to clear the harbour wall to make the first buoy and that was an experience as it was open seas and the buoy was tiny. Swells were serious and wondered again why on earth I was there. There was a decent current to the second buoy but was dragged off course then on the way back to the beach for the second lap. Half considered sitting that one out :o but a selfdose of HTFU and round we went again. Swim time of 22:53 incls hike to T1. Got through T1 ok but struggled to get arm warmers on as we hit the first early hill (Thks for tips PGibbo :)). Had the wind behind us on the outward leg and made good progress but it was a dirty day and the road was dodgy in spots. Saw one of the Limerick guys down on the return leg. Had to go around again for the Oly as the Sprint guys peeled off and enjoyed the second lap in a weird way. Cycle was 1:27:29 which I was happy with given the hilly course and wet and windy conditions. The run however was not good. I got cramp in my right quad and had to pull up for a few minutes to try and stretch it out / walk it off. It was a five lap course and I averaged 11mins/lap as the cramp hovered throughout. I had to stop again on the fifth lap and was disappointed to hobble home in 55:32 for an overall 2:49:11. I was glad to get out of the weather and eventually got myself back to the Bolluisce for a bit of hot food. Met MCOS again with a Limerick gang and was delighted when he got his podium spot in the sprint :). Home James, and don't spare the horses!
    Sun 22/5 - 5km easy run, 27:30? 5:30/km. Quads stiff and sore.

WEEK 2 BASE 2 (Half)
    Mon 23/5 - Rest
    Tues 24/5 - 1500m swim, 38mins? 2:30/100m?
    Track Session. WU, 12 x 80sec, 1 min rest, WD. 3:20-3:50/KM. Max HR 162. Supposed to be 170ish :confused:
    Wed 25/5 - 1:28:44 Brick. 32.7km 2 x hill repeat cycle (22.1kph) + 1.5km run at 4:33/km
    Thurs 26/5 - Rest
    Fri 27/5 - 8.3km Run, 43:14, 5:12/km, Avg 145bpm
    Sat 28/5 - Cub Scout Camp = little sleep
    Sun 29/5 - Cub Scout Camp.

WEEK 3 BASE 2 (Nope)
    Mon 30/5 - Rest
    Tues 31/5 - Travel to Kerry, Dublin, Italy
    Wed 1/6 - 250m swim until bumped into little old lady and abandoned it there
    Thurs 2/6 - Sun 5/6. Serious rest and carbo loading :D

WEEK 4 BASE 2 (Off plan!)
    Mon 6/6 - Rest
    Tues 7/6 - 750m swim
    Wed 8/6 - Travel home.
    Thurs 9/6 - Travel to Kerry
    Fri 10/6 - 8.3km, 41:53, 5:02/M, 152bpm :eek:
    Sat 11/6 - 1000m Swim 22min+, 500m 11min+ Travel to Dublin
    Sun 12/6 - Wicklow 200 Cycle
    I was a bit behind schedule that morning and only got to register at 7.25am and then decided a bit of bike TLC was required. I got my brakes fixed at the Trek tent as the front were non-existent and the back needed the beejaysus squeezed out of them. I had 'cleaned' the bike for the first time in two years the day before and have previously been known to put diesel engine oil on it so that says enough about my bike care regime. I had splashed out on a brand new set of cleats during the week as I was slipping out using the original ones so I figured I was all set. Just a small matter about gear. I had overshoes but just fingerless gloves, shorts, tri top and a light jacket. Upon mature reflection I decided to opt for the premuim level of comfort given the conditions and also threw on my Boards AC tech top and a pair of arm warmers I'd got for the Spiddle Tri. All set now.
    I hit the road at 7:40am and arrived back at 6:20pm with 8:45 of rolling time on my Garmin plus nearly 2 hours of stops. I was on my own for 99% of it as I just couldn't match pace with anyone around me. I was grand up the Sally Gap and glad of my brakes on the way down as I was unwinding when a marshall appeared on what looked like a good straight stretch. The aftermath of a big spill was evident at the 'hidden' bridge and I had stories in the front of my head of a buddy (Kevin7) who had a bad fall around here a few months back and who's only getting over it now. Needless to say I made good use of the brakes for the rest of the day after seeing that one. Vague memories of cycling around the Pollaphuca Reservoir. Trying to fish out a gel from a back pocket was a joke as my fingers were numb. I was fairly wet and cold at that stage and by the time I got to Donard after about 3.5hrs I had a decent set of the shivers. Queuing in the rain to get a sambo and cuppa wasn't nice but at least we were all in the same boat and I didn't feel as bad knowing that others were feeling it as tough going with the weather. I wasn't dressed appropriately and it as a long day .
    I don't know the area so can't describe it fully as a lot of it is a blur. My granny ring started to act up with the chain coming off and locking the back wheel. I had to stop and sort it about 8-10 times over the day before eventually coping I just couldn't use the lowest gear. Naturally that occured going up decent hills so remounting and clipping in was a challange especially with new cleats and overshoes! Plus getting covered in diesel oil from the chain. Ho humm. At least it was managable and I had no punctures or game-stopping events.
    It pains me to say it but I had to walk for about 400m on each of SM and SE. Not enough training, not enough hills. Great plans but........
    I stopped at the Oasis at the summit of SE that was a coffee van and boy was that €3 Americano value for money and got a snap taken for posterity
    photo.php?fbid=215790345110575&set=a.215784058444537.54931.100000388330434&type=1&theater
    http://www.facebook.com/Wicklow200#!...type=1&theater
    That's me on the right.
    Onwards to Rathdrum by 3:25pm and at least they had the rads on. Still cold and wet but starting to thaw out a bit. Heard a guy laughing about how he'd told a group that is was all downhill from here. Needless to say he was trying to motivate them and being economical with the truth. There were more hills and more hills and even for a change....more hills. W200 just doesn't do it justice. As ever, there's a big difference between X km amd X km up and down mountains (did I not learn that lesson in Kenmare previously confused.gif). Anyways, I'm rambling. Slogged it back to Greystones eventually where the hot shower revealed stinging in places which had been numb for quite a while. I found it hard going but was pleasantly satisfied to hear afterwards that it has harder than usual due to the weather. I'm sure I'd have averaged 30kph instead of 22kph if it hadn't been for that wind and rain. The afterglow is good and while tired I didn't actually feel very stiff or sore compared to long runs / marathons. A small bit of back ache but nothing bad.

WEEK 1 BUILD 1 (Who Knows)
    Mon 13/6 - Rest
    Tues 14/6 - 8.3km, 45:02, 5:25/km, 141bpm
    Wed 15/6 - 1800m swim, 42min?, 2:20/100m?. Joined gym for 4months so expect more swimming!
    Thur 16/6 - Turbo - 1hour at 100+rpm
    Fri 17/6 - 1500m swim - 400mm wu, 4 x 100 off 2:20, 6 x 100m off 2:30, 100m wd
    Myself and MrsB dropped the kids at a friends (BB from prev log) and went out for a nice romantic Friday evening together...............to the Bilboa 10k :D. My 'training' has been all over the place for ages so I was curious to see how I'd get on. I was hoping for sub 50 minimum so was trying to keep it below 5:00/km. BB had done it last year so he gave me some good route advice about hammering it for the last downhill 1km. It starts on a hill and so I availed of gravity for the first downhill section before it levelled out and then I tried holding a steady pace. I was gradually passing people and motoring along at 4:50 pace. I hit 5km at 24:06 and resolved to go sub 48 as I was cruising. And then the hills started. My HR cept up to 165 and I had to ease back. There were some drags with rolling sections but I knew that I just had to hold it together until 9km. I was breathing hard by the time I got there but boy was it sweet to just lengten the stride and fall down that hill. I was bombing down as I could see the finish in the distance. I passed several people and with about 500m to go I spotted a pair about 75m ahead and decided to catch them by the end. However I had only clawed back half it by the 200m mark and they were starting their burst for the line. I could see now that they would be tough to pull in but also that they were in their fifties :eek: and I thought "what would Catweazle do now?" ;). BURN THEM I figured! :P So I hit the afterburners and went for it. It was a big ask but I got the old lady with 80m to go and the old guy with 40m to go and nearly blew a gasket trying! :D. 47:40 and happy with that considering :rolleyes:. A feast of hang sandwiches and tea afterwards. Lovely atmosphere. MrsB also happy with 53:55 as she tries to rekindle her HM running days.
    Sat 18/6 - Rest
    Sun 19/6 - 15km LSR 1:20? 5:20/KM?
    1200m swim. 200m wu, 10x100m off 2:30

WEEK 2 BUILD 1 (Off Plan - HOTW Week)
    Mon 20/6 - Rest
    Tues 21/6 - 1500M Swim, 300m wu, 10x100m off 2:30, 200m wd. Travel with work to Wexford.
    Wed 22/6 - Rest. Travel with work Wexford, Carlow. Missed brick

And so the saga continues................will I ever catch the pack? Will I ever get round to doing enough training to improve / maintain. Hopeful at the moment for the next 3 months as the Lost Sheep looms on the horizon :)

Jaysus Epic update RedB! Best of luck for Kilkee tomorrow

Nice one red - show those pensioners no mercy. They are the ones keeping our ranking %'s up

Just not getting a run at updating this log this year. Bad habits :(.

Thurs 23/6 - 1000m swim straight
    Fri 24/06 - 5km easy run, 26:50, 5:24/km, avg hr 147bpm :confused:
    Sat 25/06 - HOTW
    Got down early and registered after a bit of a queue. Saw MCOS flash by on official stewarding type duty. Dropped the car at my 'usual' handy spot and wandered over to setup in good time. Messy weather with misty rain, breeze and small bit of sea chopiness but nothing like Spiddal so no serious worries. Met a few lads from my club slow lane swim sessions and generally relaxed into it. Verdict was to avail of the wind on the outward bike and tough it out into the wind on the way back. Did a short warmup run over and back across the beach and a mini-stretch before locating Catweazle and introducing myself prior to the off.
    Was in the second wave so hung back as they called everyone down to the beach and popped a gel prior to leaving transition. Usual banter heading over and got in the water quickly to minimise the cold impact. Positioned myself midway in the bunch but was really surprised how long the malee went on for after they let us go. Felt longer than 5 minutes which is a long time to be stuck in a crowded washing machine type experience :rolleyes: Bodies everywhere as we headed for the 1st buoy but I was happy with my breathing despite the mini-swell. Generally satisfied with the swim considering my ongoing low level of long term training but probably drifted off line too much due to limited sighting, crowd aversion and tide. Got a few mouthfuls of sea water with uneven water surface too as a result of the wind. I really must try following feet sometime but find it hard when stuck to a single pace. Got a decent exit from the water despite nearly crab running sideways dizzyly into the crowd as I ran up the beach. No probs through T1 and out on the open road.
    I didn't want to bust a gut too quickly so I took the first mile handy especially the uphill section. I was passed by several but I picked off a few too and got settled in after that. A long chain of cyclists stretched out ahead and I worked my way along the route making ok progress. I had a gel after about 20 mins and just worked on keeping a steady effort. I got held up behind some cars for a few secs before passing them which was nice but the turnaround point put an end to such behaviour. A decent headwind meant my big frame was outweighing any weight advantage I had on downhill sections. It was nip and tuck the whole way back with a collection of charactors and the drafting was ongoing with the Referees waving fingers at groups of 3-5 on several occasions. I was grinding away when I remembered to ease back to ensure legs for the run. Saw MCOS again and got a timely '5 minutes to top of last hill'. Got frustrated grinding my way up it though into the wind and did a mad frenzy of an attack over the peak :confused:. Took 3 gels and one bottle water on the bike and felt ok with that. Messed up coming into T2 where I had decided to go for a quicker version of my normal stop and dismount routine. I unclipped my right foot and swung my leg over to coast in the last 20m for a running dismount. Forgot to unclip my left foot however and nearly barreled into the steward and crowd as I realised my mistake :eek:. Note to self - must try that kind of stuff at home first (hangs head into hands) :P .
    Got through T2 uneventfully once I got there and off up the road towards the cliffs and still into the wind. Was taking it nice and handy after previous experiences and babystepped my way up the first few KM. Was skating on thin ice a bit around 3-4km as the dots and dizzy spells said hello but concentrated on keeping the feet moving and came through it. Glad to see the turnaround point and get the wind behind me. Slowly started to feel better until by 7km I was in great form and enjoying the run. Being mainly downhill probably helped too :). Miles 1-3 were at 5:57/km pace, M4 5:26/km, M5 5:10/km, M6 4:40/km and the last 525m was at 4:05/km pace. I was really enjoying the return run in and pushed the pace steadly faster as I realised I wasn't going to crash and burn as per previous races. I crossed the line in good form but this took a wobbly when I saw my time then displayed on a small monitor on the ground 3:00:08 :(. My watch got turned off accidently and I had no idea where I was timewise until I crossed the line. Maybe I could have pushed it a bit more to go Sub 3 but at the time I felt I was on thin ice. After about 10 secs I realised it didn't matter a jot. I had enjoyed the race and finished it without stopping which is a big first for me :D. The weather was a bit of a challange and I was satisfied with my effort.
    Got some grub and water into me and met Catweazle again as he queued longtime for a massage. Stood in the cold sea for 10mins before changing and heading for home. After falling asleep early last year I knew I was definitely out of training for this years afterparty.
    Sun 26/6 - Rest. At County Community Games Finals where No1 qualified for Nationals in Relay. V proud that she's following in her old man's footsteps! Roll on Athlone in August!

Resynching my training plan titles from here-
    Build Week 1
    Mon 27/6 - Rest
    Tues 28/6 - 1500m Swim (400m WU, 10X100M off 2:30, 100M WD). Easy 11Km run with Kevin7 at 6:00/km.
    Weds 29/6 - Manic late late long workday.
    Thurs 30/6 - Long workday. Travel.
    Fri 01/07 - 12.75km run incl 1.5km at tempo. 60-65min?
    Sat 02/07 - Rest
    Sun 03/07 - Brick. 83.6km cycle at 25.8kph (3:14) with 15min run at 4:48/km :eek:

Build Week 2
    Mon 04/07 - Rest
    Tues 05/07 - 1500m Swim (200m WU, 10X100M off 2:30, 3x100M WD).
    Wed 06/07 - 15km run @5:24/km (1:21)
    Thurs 07/07 - 1100m Swim (400m WU, 6X100M off 2:40, 50M kick only, 50m kickbuoy). Tired.
    Fri 08/07 - 15km am run @5:24/km (1:21), 62km pm cycle at 24.7kph (2:30) into headwind to Banna. Buckled wheel sorted by good samaritan!
    Sat 09/07 - Rest
    Sun 10/07 - 62km pm cycle at 28.4kph (2:11) with tailwind from Banna.

Build Week 3
    Mon 11/07 - Rest. Travel with work.
    Tues 12/07 - 1500m Swim (400m WU, 10X100M off 2:30, 100M WD). Track session. 2.35km WU + Stretchs. 5 x 6min (@4:07/km) with 2min recovery. 4.6km WD + Stretchs.
    Wed 13/07 - Brick. 45min Turbo + 15min Run
    Thurs 14/07 - Rest
    Fri 15/07 - 1500m Swim (4 x100m WU, 10X100M off 2:30, 100M WD).
    Sat 16/07 - Cycle 28.4km at 23.7kph (1:12). 2 x Punctures due to bad tyre :mad:.
    Sun 17/07 - Rest. Crap weather, heavy winds.

Build Week 4
    Mon 18/07 - 11km run @ 5:28/km 1:00, 137bpm

Nice bit of consistency these last few weeks, regular swimming as well!

It will be interesting to see how we get on in the half marathon at the end of them as well as our lsr pace are similar. I am working off the hope that if I run enough of them at below 5.30 pace it will see me alright on the day.

That massage was agony, I was shuddering with the pain as nearly everything he did caused a cramp. Yer man who was up after looked awful nervous after seeing what I went through

Build Week 4 (cont'd)

Tues 19/7 - 1500m swim (400m W.U., 10X100M off 2:25-2:30, 100m WD)
    1 hour run with faster mile in middle. 11.29km, 59:41, 5:17/km, Avg HR 142bpm
    M1-4@5:30/km, M5@4:49/km, M6-7@5:10/km

Wed 20/7 - Travel with work. Dublin, Carlow. Tired

Thurs 21/7 - 1 hour run with 7.5min hard at 30min. 11.74km, 1:00:00, 5:07/km, avg HR 148bpm
    M1-4@5:15/km, M5@4:17/km, M6-end@5:15/km
    1300m Swim (4x100m WU, 4X200m on 5Min, 100m WD)

Fri 22/7 - 1500m Swim (400m WU, 10x100m on 2:30, 100m WD)
    62KM Cycle to Banna, 2:06:41, 29.3kph, 132bpm. Glorious evening for cycle into the sunset, no wind :)

Sat 23/7 - Rest

Sun 24/7 - 62.2km Cycle from Banna, 2:06:31, 29.5kph, 135bpm. Another lovely evening.

Build Week 5

Mon 25/7 - Tri Club session. Kilalloe OW training followed by run hillwork.
    Late so missed swim WU, dolphin and race start drills, 2 x pontoon swims 500m?
    4km run WU all uphill, 6:40/km, 150bpm :eek:
    4 x Hill Repeats, 260m, 1:23-1:29, 5:19-5:43/km, 135-147bpm,
    1.6km W.D. Total 7.2km. Tough.

Tues 26/7 - 10km Recovery run, 55:45, 5:34/km, 138bpm
    Travel with work to Clonmel, Bunclody
    1 hour Bike to Birdhill with 3 x (5min hard / 3min easy) after 15mins, 31.2km
    1:00, 31.2km, 134bpm, Hard pace 36kph,35.3kph,35.3kph

Wed 27/7 - 1000m Swim (4x100m WU, 5X100m off 2:30, 100m WD) V. Tired :( Overcooked.

Thurs 28/7 - Rest. Travel to Sligo.

Fri 29/7 - Rest. Collected new bike. Have been using a borrowed bike for 2 years so splashed out on a Trek 3.1 Carbon.

Sat 30/7 - 20km Run, 1:47, 5:21/KM. Went for an easy run around Banna 10km circuit and was feeling up for it so extended it. No HRM.

Sun 31/7 - Small Brick. 45 Min Cycle (20km), 31 Min Run (6km).

Build Week 6

Mon 1/8 - Conor Pass cycle.
    Had to drop No1 to Castlegregory so parked up in Stradbally and did the Conor Pass to Dingle. 20.3km, 50:00. I felt a bit naked heading off as I hadn't a chance to swop over my water bottles, mini-pump or bike bags with tube, gels, etc from the old bike. Was also a bit concerned about the compact gearing on the new bike versus the trusty triple on the old one but no worries there and the bike felt nice and light. Took it handy on the desent. Had a decent portion of fish and chips and a 99 ice cream in Dingle :D and headed back the way I came. 20 km 55:00. Total 23kph, 132bpm, Max speed 60.3kph, Max HR 168bpm.

Tues 2/8 - Noticed a sore right knee just before bed last night after driving home from Kerry so think I may be overstretching my training :(. Cut short my swim and took it handy.
    1000m - 10 x 100m easy.

Build Week 6 cont'd

Wed 3/8 - Long day at work. Travel to Dublin. Tired

Thur 4/8 - 1600m Swim (400m WU, 10X100M on 2:30, 200m WD)
    1 hour bike with 4 x (5min hard/3min easy) after 15min. Birdhill return 31.5km (actual time 1:03)

Fri 5/8 - 1500m swim straight. Got into a relaxed grove in the WU and decided to just keep going nice and easy to clock up a 'long' swim as the slow lane was relatively free. Hadn't looked to the clock before starting so unsure of the time but probably about 38min :confused:. Did the last 500m in about 14min :confused:

Good swimming Red, you are certainly making inroads there. Sorry I didn't stop to chat this morning I had to get to work. Whats up next for you?

Good to see ya, well done on Roth. Great report too :)
    Lost Sheep is next but half thinking of a sprint in Kerry next weekend. Just the cost of entry putting me off and whether it'd be of much benefit for me for at €45+. Might be better putting that towards a set of tribars for the new bike :rolleyes:.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Is the knee okay now? Not sure when you started using it exactly but what strikes me is new bike and knee pain shortly after. Your saddle is prob a diff height than previously i'd guess.

kennyb3 wrote: »
    Is the knee okay now? Not sure when you started using it exactly but what strikes me is new bike and knee pain shortly after. Your saddle is prob a diff height than previously i'd guess.

The twinge is 99% gone but I haven't run on it since last Sat's LSR. I actually did notice it before the new bike and had put it down to an increase in the intensity (:rolleyes:) of my training but it just seemed to flair up more on Monday evening. I'd be more inclined to put it down to stepping up the distance of the LSR a bit too much also (Disjointed training with 12-15kms LSRs followed by a few 11km runs and jumped to 20km).

I do need a proper bike fit though as the shop guy just raised the saddle quickly based on a just touching the ground with tippy toes. The whole setup needs looking at.

Build Week 6 cont'd

Sat 6/8 - LSR Tralee to Banna. 13.42KM, 1:10:47, 5:16/KM, Avg HR 146bpm. V. sluggish run and high HR for most of this which may have been due to liberal partaking of the Mother-In-Laws finest carrot cake :o

Sun 7/8 - Rest. Had brought the bike with me but just didn't make the time. :(. Just dawning on me that I really need to spark up my training with Lost Sheep only 6 weeks away.

Build Week 7

Mon 8/8 - 10km easy run at 6am. 54:22, 5:26/km, 134bpm. Travel to Dublin. Long day. Home 10pm.

Tues 9/8 - 1700m Swim (400m WU, 10X100M on 2:30, 300m WD)

1 hour bike with 5 x (5min hard/3min easy) after 15min. Birdhill return 31.5km (actual time 1:04). Hard splits(kph/bpm) 34.1/148, 35.1/145, 30.8/144, 29.5/142, 31.6/138. Out and back route with small rolling hills and light wind.

Build Week 7 cont'd

Wed 10/8 - 11.5km(?) 1 hour run with 20min easy, 2 x (6 Min hard,4 Min easy), 20min easy. No Garmin

Thurs 11/8 - 1900m AM Swim (400m WU, 100/200/400/200/100 on 2:30/5:00/8:00/5:00/2:30, 500m WD)

Build Week 7 cont'd

Fri 12/8 - Rest. Travel with work to Kerry where I then started 2wks hols :)
    Decided to do the Tri Kingdom Come Sprint Tri in Fenit and rocked up very early to register at the Manor West Hotel. So early, I spent the next 2.5 hours packing goodie bags, etc as a volunteer. Nice people and got sorted once the timing chips were ready to go.

Sat 13/8 - Tri Kingdom Come Sprint Tri
    As it was only starting at noon and was within 10km of our base in Banna, the family decided to grace me with their presence for the first time ever at a Triathlon :rolleyes:. And was I glad they did. For the first time ever I was not at the back of the pack and came home in a respectable (for me) 1:23:20 for 82nd overall of 256 participants and 15th in my AG of 47. Quite chuffed with myself even though I know it wasn't a big event. Nice to be nearer the front for a change and seeing the pack behind me on the out and back sections of the bike and run although part of this may have been due to me being in the first of 2 waves :)

Due to the civilized start time and proximity I was able to have a relaxed breakfast and headed over to Fenit around 10am. Met a few Limerick Tri heads which was a pleasant surprise incl one guy I've been paired up with at the odd training session. We came out of the pool together at Nenagh but he was faster in Kilkee.
    They were quite organised in keeping to their timetable but for some reason this included having us down in the water 15-20mins prior to the start which gave plenty of time for a bit of a swim warm up. I took a gel just before heading to the water. There was a long line of competitors aiming for a triangular course around 2 buoys. I was with some of the Limerick group and thought it'd spread out quickly but it was a fairly rough all the way to the first buoy which took approx 5mins. My breathing was ragged and I wasn't comfortable. If this is what its like in the pack then I'd prefer to be out of it :o I got a kick in the head coming round it and my goggles went askew so I had to sort them out for a few seconds. I stayed a bit wider across to the second buoy and got breathing better. The turn there was ok but the current was pushing us towards the pier for the last section so I just used it to sight my way in. The family had turned up at that stage and I got a nice cheer coming out of the water. I had put down a 14:59 swim estimate deliberately to try to get a decent wave start and I clocked 15:51 which I can't complain about. I was a few seconds ahead of my training buddy but I lost that in T1 (01:34) with a slow wetsuit change and he was gone 30 secs ahead of me.
    The cycle was on a closed road which was a nice touch and we had a tailwind in as far as Tralee where we turned back along the same route. There was a bit of sorting out of places in the first quarter of the cycle and then it settled with clear space ahead and behind me. Took a gel after 20mins. The road was rough in spots and new bottle cages I'd just put on before the race seemed to be making an awful racket. Took it handy on the way back into the headwind and clocked 41:14 for the 20.8km (30.1kph). It was cool heading back at speed towards T2 with no one else coming in at the same time and getting the cheers from the family again and claps from a small crowd. Soaked it up :D.
    The run was ok too and I got into a comfortable pace easily enough. I passed a few on the outward stretch but got chicked by Mrs Wheelworx inside the last km. Thankfully it wasn't on the last stretch and I got to milk the cheers again. Time 24:14. Satisfied with that.

Sun 14/8 - 1 hour run, 11.3km, 5:19/km, 139bpm.

Build Week 8 cont'd
    Its not really a build programme anymore as its come off the rails but anyway.....

Mon 15/8 - Had to bring No 1 back to Limerick for her training session in UL so did a pool session myself there.
    1500mm swim - 400m WU, 6 X 100m, 3 x (50m Kick,50m back kick), 200m WD
    Back to Kerry again after.

Tues 16/8 - Rest

Wed 17/8 - 70km Cycle with hill repeats (approx 2.5hours)
    Approx 10km WU from Banna to beyond Ballyheigue (Pier junction) (23min)
    5 x 5km climbs up Kerry Head (13:30-14:00 up, approx 8:30 down)
    Approx 10km WD to Banna (27min)

Thurs 18/8 - Birthday :). 17km run, 1:30, 5:17/km, 138bpm

Fri 19/8 - Rest. Brought No 1 to Athlone for Community Games National Finals.

Sat 20/8 - Highs and lows. Relay team won their heat but didn't make it through their semifinal. Good experience.
    12.2km run, 1:04:49, 5:19/km, 142bpm. Nice run around Athlone ending up in the Big Meadow. Gorgeous running through the grass path along the river bank with sun lowering in the sky.

Sun 21/8 - 200m swim in hotel pool.Headed back to Kerry.

Build Week 9 cont'd

Mon 22/8 - 70.82km Cycle with hill repeats (2:32:57, 27.8kph, 138bpm)
    Approx 10km WU from Banna to beyond Ballyheigue (Pier junction) (22min)
    5 x 5km climbs up Kerry Head (13:10-14:00 up, approx 8:15 down)
    Approx 10km WD to Banna (22min)

Tues 23/8 - Rest

Wed 24/8 - 84.1km Cycle with hills. 3:17:27, 25.6kph, 131bpm.
    Cycled into Tralee and out the Killorglin Road over the side of the mountains. Found the 'scenic route' back to Tralee before you reach Castlemaine that involved a magnificent climb up towards the big antenna. Had to stop twice on the way up. Back to Ballyheigue and a full loop of Kerry Head.

Thurs 25/8 - 1700m swim (serious lack of swimming in the past 10 days)
    200m wu, 10x100m on 2:35secs, 500m wd
    15.39km run, 1:20, 5:12/km, 147bpm. Hilly route from Tralee via Listellick. Tough.

Fri 26/8 - Rest

Sat 27/8 - Ring of North Kerry Cycle. 120km, 3:10, 28.8kph.
    Deserves a better report but don't have the time now.

Sun 28/8 - Rest

'Build' Week 10
    (not really :()

Mon 29/8 - 'Rest' - Back at work and travel to Dublin. Long day. V tired. Not enough sleep Sun night. Bad habits :mad:.

Tues 30/8 -'Rest' - Travel to Clonmel. V busy back at work. No training :(

Wed 31/8 - Still busy at work but squeezed out a 1 hour run late in the evening.
    11.45km, 60:04, 5:14/km, Avg HR 146bpm.

Thurs 1/9 - am 1600m Swim. 400m WU, 10 X 100m off 2:30, 200m W.D. Need more water time ASAP:eek:

Fri 2/9 - 'Rest' - Travel to Dublin. Long day. V. tired.

Sat 3/9 - 20km LSR, 1:49:29, 5:27/km, Avg HR 143bpm.
    Happy with this as badly needed a 'long' run. Took a gel after 1 hour. Felt in control and aimed for steady 8:45/M pace throughout.

Sun 4/9 - 64km Cycle, 2:36, 25.5kph, Avg 128bpm. Max 161bpm :eek:
    Took a spin out to Silvermines as I had unfinished business from my first attempt earlier in the year. Handy spin out in approx 1 hour at 29.6kph and then the fun started. Into the lowest gear from the start and took it handy. Its a long tough hill with a couple of spikes on the incline. I made it past my previous 1st stop, round the tough corner, past the viewing point but had forgotton how far past there it was to the top. There was a bit of a headwind and rain at this stage and the rear wheel lost traction once or twice. I struggled big time for an age and made it past my previous 2nd stop but eventually had to unclip and dismount within 200m of the summit as I was going to fall over by then :(. Disappointed not to have conquered it but pretty happy to have gotton as far as I did. It just means I'll have to come back again :). Went down the same route and then headed for Newport via Killoscully. Was a bit wet and windy for good stretches and was glad to get in the door at home.

W/C 05/09/11
    less than 2 weeks to Lost Sheep.....time to get moving :D :rolleyes:

Mon 5/9 - Tried to do a post-work swim session but the UL pool was v busy with the students back and various group sessions.
    1200m - 4 x 100m WU, 8 X 100m off 3min due to unfitness and traffic :( and was kicked out of lane after that. Skulked away :o.
    Ordered up a box of Hi5 Isogels from wiggle for next week.

Tues 6/9 - 11.35km am 60min interval (?) run with 4 x (6.5mins hard, 1.5mins easy) after 15min. Good run and amazed at the effect of taking a Lucozade Recovery Drink after. First time trying it and I'll be back.

1500m lunchtime swim - 2 x 200m WU, 6 X 100m off 2:30, 4 x 100m off 2:40. 100m WD. Lots of poor technique and effort for little reward :(. Disappointing but expected after big gap in swim training and slightly tired legs.

Monday evening in the pool is a nightmare and to be avoided at all costs. BTW Tuesday morning is the direct opposite and I find it best to get some work done alone before work. Otherwise just hop into one of J Dempseys sets on M,W or Friday. In fact a couple of these will recover your swim fitnesss quickly for Kenmare.

Fair play on that climb again, was it the step? Nice 11% ramp at the top of the Shalee hill on your way back to Newport too. The one and only HIM I did was Kenmare and I remember doing reps of Shalee in the run up to it. Looking back on that now I think I'd have been better off doing Gallows hill with Kenmare in mind. Going up the Meelick side and around again to cratloe to go up the steeper side