Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No Sinn Fein candidate for Clare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,470 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

great. not gonna bother voting now.

Clare is an embarrassment, we'll probably return timmy ****in dooley

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭User Friendly

Akrasia wrote: »
    great. not gonna bother voting now.

Clare is an embarrassment, we'll probably return timmy ****in dooley

At this moment in time,i would guess there are more people in clare who dislike Timmy dooley over any other politician,But timmy will get elected again because people like your good self wont vote,Not picking an argument with you,its your right not to vote of course,but If you dont want Timmy elected,not voting for any candidate is the wrong approach to take.

As for no sinn fein candidate in clare,Not a surprise to me really,given their dreadful showing,and the poor quality of candidate they had in the 07 election.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭paky

they should parachute in an outsider like the old days :D
    'send in one of our best'
    Gerry Kelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,680 ✭✭✭golfball37

Big mistake from SF here. Here's 1 person who would have voted for them for the 1st time anyway. You'd imagine Clare with its big FF history would have a sizeable republican vote for SF whilst FF are in the dog house too?

I really dunno who I'll vote for now? If there's any candidate running on debt default & political reform then they get my vote. Doesn't look like it in Clare though, sadly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

I dont think Ive ever felt so deflated and defeated. I give up!! :(

I really thought they would have a canditate. Seems they're not reading the mood of the people either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭Shapey Fiend

Getting themselves established in Clare would make sense during times like this alright. They could have grabbed a lot of disenfranchised voters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

am i missing something here? gerry adams isnt even on that list yet.

Gerry failed to get on the Register of Electors because he wasn't ordinarily resident in the state or the constituency on September 1st, 2010, his decision to stand in the Louth constituency was made in November and until that time his place of residence was Belfast.
    So,he's not in the running.(as far as I know)

At this moment in time,i would guess there are more people in clare who dislike Timmy dooley over any other politician,But timmy will get elected again because people like your good self wont vote,Not picking an argument with you,its your right not to vote of course,but If you dont want Timmy elected,not voting for any candidate is the wrong approach to take.

As for no sinn fein candidate in clare,Not a surprise to me really,given their dreadful showing,and the poor quality of candidate they had in the 07 election.

I am not going to vote for someone I have no confidence in just to give Timmy Dooley his marching orders.

I have absolutely no confidence in FG or Labour to take the required steps to repair our economy or society.

I won't do myself the dis-service of looking at another smug face in the dail for the duration of the next government knowing that I helped to put him there.

If there are any independent or alternative candidates that I will feel comfortable supporting then I will change my position on the matter.

BIT OF AN UPDATE.....

I just heard there is a meeting tonight to decide if they will in fact put up a candidate....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭PomBear

chucken1 wrote: »
    BIT OF AN UPDATE.....

I just heard there is a meeting tonight to decide if they will in fact put up a candidate....

was thinking that, they probably just haven't announced/agreed on one yet.

FF are like pigs to the slaughter with Timmy Dooley as a candidate imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭Kasabian

So no candidate then?

Is my vote going to go to waste on a right wing muppet or a union loving labour head. I may spoil my vote rather than vote for any of this shower of piss poor candidates.

Independants can go sh!te they are useless in the Dail especially as it looks that FG may have a majority ( god help us ). FG / Labour coalition is just as bad.

We need a strong true left wing opposition to keep an eye on the next lot.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭Banbh

I'm with you there. But is the labour guy really
    a "union loving labour head". Would that not make him left wing? I'll have to have a look at his website as there really is no one on the ticket worth a vote and that's with 12 candidates.
    I might have to just tactically vote to keep out the worst sleeveens - thats little Timmy FF and the Green Meaney.

Banbh wrote: »
    I'm with you there. But is the labour guy really
    a "union loving labour head". Would that not make him left wing? I'll have to have a look at his website as there really is no one on the ticket worth a vote and that's with 12 candidates.
    I might have to just tactically vote to keep out the worst sleeveens - thats little Timmy FF and the Green Meaney.

Labour roots are left wing, Labour today is not, they are in bed with the unions which has been detremental to this country also.

Yes union representation is important but not to the degree that it stifles the country and productivity.

I will be fair to McNamara and view his website, it may swing my vote to Labour. There are Labour policies I find hard to swallow.

At this time I remain unconvinced by anyone and I feel we are just going to get more of the same.

Was looking at Jim Connolly's website today and out of the available candidates in clare, he looks like the best option (of a bad lot) for an anti establishment vote. He has similar policies to the SF position and has gone to the trouble of drawing up a manifesto which is more than can be said for the other independent candidates.
    http://www.td4clare.com/pdf/td4clare.pdf

A casino on Loop Head might be good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 878 ✭✭✭rainbowdash

The Limerick Post have an online poll putting Maurice Quinlivan, brother of provo Nessan, on 20.5%.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭CptSternn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,680 ✭✭✭golfball37

The Limerick Post have an online poll putting Maurice Quinlivan, brother of provo Nessan, on 20.5%.:eek:

he's a Limerick councillor, who is brother is and should be is irrelvevant I would have thought?

Is he not the lad Willie spread lies about and had to pay off in compo last year?

Hello? Clare isn't in Limerick.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,593 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

Yet.

Mailed SF asking about the decision on not running a candidate in Clare.

As of yet no response, unless they are calling in person. :pac:

Akrasia wrote: »
    Was looking at Jim Connolly's website today and out of the available candidates in clare, he looks like the best option (of a bad lot) for an anti establishment vote. He has similar policies to the SF position and has gone to the trouble of drawing up a manifesto which is more than can be said for the other independent candidates.
    http://www.td4clare.com/pdf/td4clare.pdf

Independants representing Clare won't be worth a damn to us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 878 ✭✭✭rainbowdash

Never said it was, but if the brother of a provo can seemingly poll well in Limerick you would have thought a SF candidate in Clare would be worth the efffort.

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭pedroThePirate

That's all we need - another restless 1916-ite ready to
    breathe violence into the arena ! ! !

Bloody gangsters, all of them.

Isn't this so-called country already in enough ****e ?

• Registered Users Posts: 141 ✭✭dasium

Never said it was, but if the brother of a provo can seemingly poll well in Limerick you would have thought a SF candidate in Clare would be worth the efffort.

Think he has established his name over a number of elections, both local & general... has a bigger catchment area in a disenfranchised urban area... SF seem to do well in two areas, border rural and large urban poll areas... just my opinion but, not sure jettisoning in a candidate into Clare, a county with a broken party structure would have worked....

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,908 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

That's all we need - another restless 1916-ite ready to
    breathe violence into the arena ! ! !

Bloody gangsters, all of them.

Isn't this so-called country already in enough ****e ?

I don't want to have to post this warning in every thread about the upcoming elections, but ye're leaving me with very little choice here.

Lads and ladies,

In order to keep this thread open, I'll henceforth be enforcing a "no abuse of politicians" rule. I totally understand why people are ridiculing politicians. But, that doesn't mean I'm happy to let it continue. Keep it civil and we'll keep this running here. Continue the silliness and all further political will be directed to the Politics Forum, where modding tends to be a lot stricter.

Thanks. :)

Edit: Link to new Boards.ie General Election 2011 forum: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1431

Maurice Quinlivan is not his brother.

Make a decision on the man himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

My housemate is a member of SF and indeed a Clare man. When they were deciding a candidate for Dublin County South they had some fella from Cork that oversees the selection of candidates, and the housemate made a show of him. Saying even if it was just some random SF member that no one ever heard of, it is better than not putting anyone forward and it shows a lack of respect for the voters of Clare! Fécker had nothing to say back to that, he was caught off guard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

Wouldn't vote for SF myself, but for the people seemingly deriding Quinlivan because of his brother, remember that it's been the dynasties and jobs for relations that have lent to the political system that we have today. It's something we need separate, family and politics.