Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fa cup replay: Leeds Vs Arsenal ko 20:00

• 19-01-2011 6:07pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭

I can see this game being close. Im expecting an electric atmosphere at Elland road and a good performance from Leeds but I expect Arsenal to sneak it.

A guess at Arsenal's line up:

Szczesny

-Sagna---Djourou----Kos----Gibbs---

Denilson----Wilshere

Rosicky

--Bendtner
    Arshavin--

Chamakh

I would prefer to start Walcott/Nasri instead of Bendtner as I think him and Chamakh really dont play well together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

I hope to God Bendtner and Chamakh don't both start. Nasri instead of one of them with Cesc, Theo and RVP on the bench incase.

• Registered Users Posts: 617 ✭✭✭S.R.F.C.

Atmosphere should be great all right, here's hoping Leeds can do them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,567 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

what channel is it on guys? Prob sky but just like to be sure

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    what channel is it on guys? Prob sky but just like to be sure

Terrestrial TV. UTV at 7:30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

S.R.F.C. wrote: »
    Atmosphere should be great all right, here's hoping Leeds can do them.

absolute sell out so the atmosphere will be unbelievable. Really fancy a shock tonight with the crowd behind Leeds.
    Walcott will get a lot of abuse i'd say after his dive in the first game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

I don't think a Leeds win would be that much of a shock depending on the team AW puts out.

• Registered Users Posts: 536 ✭✭✭HyperSkypeWiper

Probable line-up for Leeds,-
    Schmeichel

--Connolly
    O'Brien
    Bruce
    B.Parker--

Howson(c)----Johnson
    -Snodgrass
    Gradel----
    Watt

Becchio

If Becchio ain't fit, Billy Paynter is most likely to start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭Generation Terrorist

Paynter won't start if Becchio is out.

It'll be Somma

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Becchio is a big doubt with a back injury. Would much rather see Somma start instead of Paynter if Becchio doesn't make it.

Looking forward to this, Elland Rd will be hoping tonight. There is usually a great atmosphere anyway but obviously tonight is a little different.

We can definitely win tonight but it's all about our defence, if Bruce and O'Brien can play as well as they did at the Emirates then we have a real shout because we can score goals against anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Not looking foward to this game at all.

Can see Leeds putting the gunners under pressure with a high temp display. If Arsenal match the intensity we'll win it, if not........ hmmmmmmmm

Paynter won't start if Becchio is out.

It'll be Somma

Somma can't start up front by himself, he's not that kind of player. He'll run in behind, not hold it up like Paynter or Becchio, which is what Leeds will need as Arsenal will probably have most of the ball.

shano_88 wrote: »
    I would prefer to start Walcott/Nasri instead of Bendtner as I think him and Chamakh really dont play well together.

If he doesn't start, Wenger needs his head examined. It's Ben Parker's 3rd game since he broke his leg early last season, Walcott would have a field day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

I feel robbed of 5 mins after reading that. It's a big pile of shite, like some weird childish fantasy puked into barely connected text.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

What's a neutral to do...a Leeds win brings out the fantasy of the cup and beats the young Arsenal, but then a Leeds win is....well...it is a win for Leeds - which is never good...:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

dfx- wrote: »
    What's a neutral to do...a Leeds win brings out the fantasy of the cup and beats the young Arsenal, but then a Leeds win is....well...it is a win for Leeds - which is never good...:pac:

A neutral should hope for a good game and that the best team wins - Arsenal of course :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,772 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

I hope Arsenal destroy them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

I fancy a Leeds win. Arsenal are like Jekyll and Hyde, they play crap every second match and guess what, its that time again. 5-1 Leeds (odds btw)

Szczesny: Sagna Djourou Koscielny Gibbs; Song Denilson; Bendtner Nasri Arshavin; Chamakh.

Woj
    Sagna---Djourou---Kosc---Clichy
    Denilson---Song---Nasri
    Bendtner
    Chamakh
    Arshavin

Bendtner and Chamakh both starting again... /facepalm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

From Henry Winter
    Szczesny:
    Sagna Djourou Koscielny Gibbs;
    Song Denilson; Bendtner Nasri Arshavin;
    Chamakh.
    Unconfirmed. Fabregas/Walcott on bench

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭iMuse

Edit: beaten to it :P

Not a big fan of that team, think leeds will gives us a real game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Scheisse, just clicked "bet" before I saw the Arsenal team. :(

iMuse wrote: »
    Edit: beaten to it :P

Not a big fan of that team, think leeds will gives us a real game.

Depends on the attitude of the players. We know Leeds will be up for it, but will Arsenal ?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭shano_88

I expect us to dominate midfield with Nasri and Song in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Can easily see Leeds taking this. Should be a good game.

It's the forward line that's the problem.

Arshavin - doesn't give a shít, not going to put his all in.
    Bendtner - Useless on the wing.
    Chamakh - Won't get any supply from the aforementioned two.

Frisbee wrote: »

Ya that is true. I just hate the fact that Bendtner is out on the wing. Even Vela would be a better option out there.

it's going to be a pretty intense atmosphere there - perhaps that could motivate Arshavin - wishful thinking I know..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,024 ✭✭✭JokerD

Leeds team....Schmeichel Connolly Bruce O'Brien Parker Snodgrass Howson Johnson Gradel Watt Paynter

Subs....Collins Sam Higgs Hughees Bromby Somma McCormack

greendom wrote: »
    it's going to be a pretty intense atmosphere there - perhaps that could motivate Arshavin - wishful thinking I know..

We can hope I guess, I wouldn't hold too much optimism though...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Ah finally time for Paynter to get his Leeds career going.

Big loss with Becchio not playing though

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Don't worry Frisbee, nobody would ever accuse you of being an optimist!

We're in for a tough game tonight but that would have happened with our first team out. Hopefully the fringe players will be up for it for once.

Don't worry Frisbee, nobody would ever accuse you of being an optimist!

I just can't see that forward line working.

Very strong subs bench.

Subs: Fabregas Van Persie Walcott Wilshere Clichy Eboue Shea.

Very strong subs bench.

Hopefully there not needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭blindpilot

Jesus its worst Middlesbrough managers in living memory night on ITV

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Said today that if Arshavin, Denilson and Bendtner were all in the starting 11, I'd be very tempted not to watch it.

Obviously I'm going to - I have to ... but I really wish I didn't. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,043 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Very strong subs bench.

Nice one, good to have just in case. If we're not winning or even only a goal to the good, they really need to be coming on with at least 20 minutes to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,174 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Bendtner on the wing is quite possibly the most pointless thing ever. Wenger what are you doing?

He can work very well out there, 2008-'09 anyone? It's playing with Denilson, Arshavin & Chamakh instead of Fabregas, Wilshere & van Persie that's the problem!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Anybody have a stream?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

BOHtox wrote: »
    Anybody have a stream?

www.livescorehunter.com yer only man

Had to change from watching on Setanta HD because the sound is a full 5 seconds ahead of the picture. Pathetic stuff.

Nasri 1:0

Classy finish

Had to change from watching on Setanta HD because the sound is a full 5 seconds ahead of the picture. Pathetic stuff.

Same, gobshites!

Woo, super Samir. Great finish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭blindpilot

Lovely, cool finish. Nasri has been something else this season.

Its on ITV HD too

M5 wrote: »
    Its on ITV HD too

Me no have.

Stunning save