Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who to Vote for in Laois????

• Registered Users Posts: 22 HAZEMAN

I'll be giving Mr Stanley a big, resounding number 21.
    Sinn Fein's financial policies just don't add up.

I agree, we need a positive plan

• Registered Users Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

HAZEMAN wrote: »
    I agree, we need a positive plan

Such as? A link would be helpful. Of course we need a positive plan !! Are you a bondholder by any chance? They're quite liking the 'positive plans' afoot at the moment......

Endorsed by whom ?

Tasc. I provide links for my arguments. I've already done so above? Tasc are well respected. Although, where a year ago they were respected as a progressive thinktank, even by Fiannafail, suddenly because they say that Sinn Fein's stimulus plan adds up (using latent resources such as 450k unemployed, instead of forcing emigration), they are suddenly being discredited.

http://www.progressive-economy.ie/2010/11/at-least-one-party-gets-it.html

Is it so hard to imagine NOT putting money into ANIB and instead using the NPRF to fund infrastructure projects and therefore employ thousands (and also halt social problems and mental health problems)? That is what government is for!! Government is our collective power. They should spend when we feel not inclined to, should stimulate or incentivise etc. THEY are OUR rainy day fund. Instead, we had Dermot Ahern calling on punters to spend when anyone with a brain in their head would be SAVING.

Why does the 'solidarity bond' in your local Post Office offer a meagre 3% pa whereas EU/IMF bloodsuckers get 5.8%?? Get real, people. Enda Kenny said that no more money would go into ANIB. Do you REALLY believe that? Do you? Enda will be more inclined, as Labour and Fianna Fail and Greens are, to do what the EU expects. Because of groupthink and because it IS a European problem, not merely an Irish banking problem. We are the boil that they are lancing. But they funded our banks, as they could not legally supply their own markets, under EU rules.

Be not afraid, use your heads. Start thinking. Empower businesses and parties that return that power to you and yours, not rape and undermine you.

Wake up before its too late. And that will be Saturday morning. And it will be raining :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭2011abc

HAZEMAN wrote: »
    A vote for Sinn Fein is a big mistake.

Their selfish and blinkered policies would drag the country into the mire. Things are bad enough in the country now without making it worse by allowing Sinn Fein to represent us.

If you are angry and want to make a statement then you can do so without trying drag the whole country into the gutter..

Try to be positive, progressive and altruistic when making your choice on Friday. Consider the next generation.

If I recall Iceland was well and truly down the tubes about 12-18 months ago...they stood up for themselves and by all accounts are out of the woods already!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 padraigb 21

I'll be giving Mr Stanley a big, resounding number 21.
    Sinn Fein's financial policies just don't add up.

Agreed:)

Don't agree, i have no time for any of the partys but they have all said cuts are needed.

But Sinn Fein want to reverse all the cuts so far and no more and don't pay the bonds and cancel the deal with the IMF...........yet not an idea of where all the extra funds needed are to come from.

Thanks! At least some one agrees , you cant just send the IMF and EU packing and reverse all the cuts with no idea at all where the money will come from! Ok they should cut tds pay and pension entitlements (their too high) but that wont yield that much money:cool:

The same could be said for all political parties and politicians.

This is irrelevant and has nothing to do with the current election.

Well why cant he just give a yes or no answer when asked? its not that hard, Martin McGuiness was able to say he was a member why cant Gerry Adams? hes had plenty of oppurtunities to do so.

At leats fine gael labour and fianna fail and the greens are able to say there will be pain and cuts! Thats not what people want to hear!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,665 ✭✭✭✭maccored

Where are they actually going to get the money??( lets just say if they are in government)

I think Feb 13ths A Week in Politics was a big resounding pat on the back for SFs economic policies. Well worth checking out on the RTE player.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,665 ✭✭✭✭maccored

Well why cant he just give a yes or no answer when asked? its not that hard, Martin McGuiness was able to say he was a member why cant Gerry Adams? hes had plenty of oppurtunities to do so.

He has often answered that question, but people it seems don't like the word 'No'.
    At leats fine gael labour and fianna fail and the greens are able to say there will be pain and cuts! Thats not what people want to hear!

That's a fantastic plan! Vote for the parties that just tell you want you want to hear! Personally, I'd prefer to know about the pain and cuts, and SF do outline those.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

An Ri rua wrote: »
    Tasc. I provide links for my arguments. I've already done so above? Tasc are well respected. Although, where a year ago they were respected as a progressive thinktank, even by Fiannafail, suddenly because they say that Sinn Fein's stimulus plan adds up (using latent resources such as 450k unemployed, instead of forcing emigration), they are suddenly being discredited.

http://www.progressive-economy.ie/2010/11/at-least-one-party-gets-it.html

Is it so hard to imagine NOT putting money into ANIB and instead using the NPRF to fund infrastructure projects and therefore employ thousands (and also halt social problems and mental health problems)? That is what government is for!! Government is our collective power. They should spend when we feel not inclined to, should stimulate or incentivise etc. THEY are OUR rainy day fund. Instead, we had Dermot Ahern calling on punters to spend when anyone with a brain in their head would be SAVING.

Why does the 'solidarity bond' in your local Post Office offer a meagre 3% pa whereas EU/IMF bloodsuckers get 5.8%?? Get real, people. Enda Kenny said that no more money would go into ANIB. Do you REALLY believe that? Do you? Enda will be more inclined, as Labour and Fianna Fail and Greens are, to do what the EU expects. Because of groupthink and because it IS a European problem, not merely an Irish banking problem. We are the boil that they are lancing. But they funded our banks, as they could not legally supply their own markets, under EU rules.

Be not afraid, use your heads. Start thinking. Empower businesses and parties that return that power to you and yours, not rape and undermine you.

Wake up before its too late. And that will be Saturday morning. And it will be raining :D

So 1 group endorse it ? What about the rest ? I honestly haven't heard ANYONE endorse it.

I voted........Mr Stanley got 0 from me.

Fianna Fail 1,2,3;)

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭adser53

Fianna Fail 1,2,3;)
    All the giving out and you gave that shower of sh*tes your 1,2,3??? Sigh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

adser53 wrote: »
    All the giving out and you gave that shower of sh*tes your 1,2,3??? Sigh

Notice the;) the;) again the;) ya got it yet;):D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭**Vai**

Well thats that lads, another vote, another disappointing government to come.

Gaddafi number 1!

maccored wrote: »
    He has often answered that question, but people it seems don't like the word 'No'.

That's a fantastic plan! Vote for the parties that just tell you want you want to hear! Personally, I'd prefer to know about the pain and cuts, and SF do outline those.

He never actually said no,in fact he dosent answer the question, dont know where you got that out of.

Notice the;) the;) again the;) ya got it yet;):D
    "When is a wink actually a twitch?" I asked myself. And you kindly answered :D

So 1 group endorse it ? What about the rest ? I honestly haven't heard ANYONE endorse it.

I voted........Mr Stanley got 0 from me.

Fianna Fail 1,2,3;)

Democracy is wasted on the .... ;-)

Welcome to Stanley Country ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭artful_codger

Welcome to Stanley Country ;)

his first job creation scheme will be to replace election posters with 'sniper at work' road signs.

Ah FFS grow up

• Registered Users Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users Posts: 11,586 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Obaraten wrote: »
    Ah come on lads no more sniping at eachother!
    Did Brian get in?how did Adebari do?

Not yet, but soon. Badly. http://www.rte.ie/news/election2011/results/laois-offaly.html

You'd want to mind your fascist tendencies ;-) Next, you'll be telling you loved ones how to vote or physically abusing them. Slippery slope, that sort of lack of respect for others' wishes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭MickShamrock

Sure, Flanagan can have a big blueshirt march round the town to celebrate his election so.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭token56

Went home on Friday to vote but hadn't been home for a while so didn't really get to see much of the candidates but I was told by my family that Rotimi was actually the only candidate that personally called around to the house and talked to them. However I was also shown quite a slanderous leaflet regarding Rotimi that was put through the post box just a few minutes before he arrived from the SWP. It seemed that this was being handed in to every house before Rotimi got there. I was quite appalled with its content and didn't know such slander was permitted. Does anyone have any more insight into this, and was the same leaflet handed into different estates?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭MickShamrock

Didn't receive any such leaflet.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

Obaraten wrote: »
    This is the leaflet in question allegedly distributed to the doors of voters by the SWP
    http://www.voterotimi.com/Socialist_Workers_Party.pdf

It is indeed, but actually as you imply, no one can be sure who actually delivered them and what their intentions where, it could have been an attack on both in some sense. Either way I'm just wondering is such slander allowed?

I'm not saying the contents are correct as I don't know anything about him but I've heard many times before about him returning to Nigeria for an honour despite being an asylum seeker fleeing persecution.
    If this is actually the case, would that leaflet still be classed as slander as it is in fact true?
    As for the other stuff on it though, that's the first I've heard any of it

adser53 wrote: »
    I'm not saying the contents are correct as I don't know anything about him but I've heard many times before about him returning to Nigeria for an honour despite being an asylum seeker fleeing persecution.
    If this is actually the case, would that leaflet still be classed as slander as it is in fact true?
    As for the other stuff on it though, that's the first I've heard any of it

If all the contents were true and proved as such I wouldn't count it as slander, but that was only one out of 4 points made and the details not provided. I think the key point is that these seem to be points made on observation and hearsay rather than facts and details. If some is making a claim and has the facts to back it up then provide those facts, otherwise if those claims are of a malicious nature and facts and details are not provided it is simply slander.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭artful_codger

You'd want to mind your fascist tendencies ;-) Next, you'll be telling you loved ones how to vote or physically abusing them. Slippery slope, that sort of lack of respect for others' wishes.

you mean, like, bombing and shooting people to further your aims.

...sounds familiar that.