Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda activity at the old Delmege Estate

• 20-01-2011 12:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,341 ✭✭✭✭

Passed there this morning and they were about 8 garda vehicles there and tried passing again about an hour ago and the road is blocked.

Hopefully, it's not another murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,581 ✭✭✭baldbear

I'm not from Limerick but is that near Moyross, excuse my ignorance. :o

I just heard on Newstalk armed gardai have shot a man in Moyross after he robbed a car with a baby in the back seat. Maybe it's linked?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,909 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0120/limerick.html

"Shots fired during Limerick car chase"
    An investigation is under way in Limerick after a number of shots were fired by a member of the Regional Armed Support Unit this morning.
    The armed officer was involved in a pursuit of a stolen car that failed to stop and attempted to ram gardaí. The driver, aged in his early 30s, has been arrested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Always good to see a report like this.

Let's the criminals know that armed units will open fire if they feel it is justified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭rubensni

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭donutheadhomer

wow

The man, who was wearing a bullet-proof vest, was not injured. He was arrested and is being held under Section 4 of the Criminal Justice Act at Henry Street Garda station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭SupraSonic_26

thats nuts more bad images of limerick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Was on the radio that he actually let the child out of the car before he took off in it, so at least he had some semblance of a brain...

Edit: Hmmm. Just read that link above, different story to the way the news told it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭AnCapaillMor

Always good to see a report like this.

Let's the criminals know that armed units will open fire if they feel it is justified.

Yeah just wait for there to be outrage at the firing of a shot and expect a mullti million euro tribunal condeming the gardai for firing shots at a dangerous criminal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,341 ✭✭✭✭phog

Wow, that's a shocking story and must leave an awful mark on the family involved.

• Registered Users Posts: 123 ✭✭TheWarrior

Its a pity they didn't get him with a head shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭munstergirl

Glad all ended well, and kids are not hurt. Well done to the gardai.

Have to say its just stupid to leave keys in car with engine running. Kids or no kids in car. Its like an invitation to car thief, please steal my car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭rubensni

9:15! Is this a record? I don't expect to see scumbags up and around until at least 11:30.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

why do you leave your kids in the car, leave it running, and go into a shop?
    Seriously........:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

seachto7 wrote: »
    why do you leave your kids in the car, leave it running, and go into a shop?
    Seriously........:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Because this is Ireland not USA or Brazil or Africa.The last thing any parent expects is their children's lives to be in danger from a gun yielding lunatic,getting in the car and driving off with any of your children in the car.

Looks like Ireland has no longer immunity from that **** either :(

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,424 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

caseyann wrote: »
    Because this is Ireland not USA or Holland or Brazil or Africa.The last thing any parent expects is their children's lives to be in danger from a gun yielding lunatic,getting in the car and driving off with any of your children in the car.

Looks like Ireland has no longer immunity from that **** either :(

I know that a gun-toting criminal is the last thing you expect to encounter when you pop down to the shop but when was it ever safe to leave kids unattended in a car with the keys in the ignition?!
    Kids are inquisitive and playful and don't realise the consequences of their actions- what if they tried to turn on the car just for the craic and it rolled forward into someone/thing?

I'm not for one minute trying to say that the parent deserved this ordeal but seriously, a drop of cop on would go a long way!

I know that a gun-toting criminal is the last thing you expect to encounter when you pop down to the shop but when was it ever safe to leave kids unattended in a car with the keys in the ignition?!
    Kids are inquisitive and playful and don't realise the consequences of their actions- what if they tried to turn on the car just for the craic and it rolled forward into someone/thing?

I'm not for one minute trying to say that the parent deserved this ordeal but seriously, a drop of cop on would go a long way!

Yeah i am sure she will be thinking that from now on.But yes you can leave keys in car.Parents know how their own kids are and whether or not they will touch the car.I would assume she wouldnt have left them other wise.My sister leaves hers in the car all the time sometimes with keys in ignition for the car to stay heated for the kids.That woman might have literally ran into the shop or to a atm machine.And people dont normally approach cars with kids or people in them full stop.
    She did nothing wrong.If she left the 2 year old and 9 year old unsupervised in the car then thats a different story.

I am happy the children were unharmed thank god.
    And one other thing might come out of that,people wont leave young babies and kids alone in cars.That annoys me,especially when they cant see them.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,424 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

Yeah i am sure she will be thinking that from now on.But yes you can leave keys in car.Parents know how their own kids are and whether or not they will touch the car..

I'm sorry but I don't buy that. My siblings and I were reasonably well behaved as kids but both my brothers had very near misses with my mum's car when she left the keys in it, even though both of them were mostly sensible as kids. Curiosity got the better of them and scared the bejaysus outta them so they never did it again but it happened and it continues to happen, I'm sure.

This is completely off topic and I'm not going to comment any further so I'll finish by reiterating that I find it inexcusable to leave children in a car with keys in the ignition.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

....My sister leaves hers in the car all the time sometimes with keys in ignition for the car to stay heated for the kids....

She might want to rethink that, or perhaps brings the kids into the shop?

I wonder will this incident encourage specialist units to use the MP7 more? They have it so why not use it. No point in risking loss of life by using under-powered weapons.

I presume it was a semi-automatic handgun that was used as the MP7 should have penetrated the body armour, unless it was very heavy armour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

I presume it was a semi-automatic handgun that was used as the MP7 should have penetrated the body armour, unless it was very heavy armour.
    armour and a laminated windscreen? just wondering like, I know eff all bout these things...

True.

Be interesting from a sort of academic point of view what weapon was used.

Here's the spec of the penetrator round for the MP7.
    # penetration at 50 m: mild steel plate 9 mm thickness
    # penetration at 200 m: CRISAT NATO target (1.6 mm titanium plate + 20 layers of Kevlar)

Just a little scary that he wasn't brought down. If he had a gun things could have ended tragically.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I wonder will this incident encourage specialist units to use the MP7 more? They have it so why not use it. No point in risking loss of life by using under-powered weapons.

Maybe they fired and missed, or just shot out the tyres?

She might want to rethink that, or perhaps brings the kids into the shop?

I would say after that,she will be rethinking it for sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

To be honest, I'd say if they hit him they'd serve out the rest of their days filling out forms for the ombudsman justifying the use of the weapon against such a fine upstanding member of the community. They are probably instructed to fire warning or non-fatal shots unless they apply for written permission for a fatal shot.

Another question what was he doing wearing a bullet proof vest for? :confused:

A few of the bogeys wear these routinely apparently.

I would have thought anyone who is a bogey,would have the criminal sense not to rob a car with kids in it.Unless already running away from scene of a crime?

True. Just scary to think some lad could randomly be walking around with body armour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

I would have thought anyone who is a bogey,would have the criminal sense not to rob a car with kids in it.Unless already running away from scene of a crime?

It's a strange crime for seemingly a casual oppurtunistic crime. He must have realised once there was still a kid in the car everything would be done to find the car. Far easier cars to steal you'd think.

Oh well, he'll be going back to prison and off the streets for another spell, hard lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

Status Symbol for Criminals. I reckon they parade about with them
    Probably thinking I'm so hard and dangerous people are out to get me
    and I need to wear this all of the time type of thing.

They're not hard to get when you can buy them legally
    within Ireland. Would love one for absolutely no reason whatsoever
    other than "because I can" excuse :D
    http://gotactical.ie/category.php?id_category=107

~B