Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sub 75min half marathon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

4miles 8min miles in phoenix park
    shoes:etonic praya

distance for the week:32.5miles

• Registered Users Posts: 972 ✭✭✭stmochtas

shoes:etonic praya

Tell us more. I had to go to google to find out more. Are they new to the running shoe family?

my shoe family is growing lol
    nice light neutral shoe with very flexible outsole.going to keep for runs upto 10miles.
    ran 5miles this evening in park with clubmate.
    hamstring very tight and felt very run down.lack of sleep and last Sundays run have taken it out of me.If I feel like this by Monday im taking the week of running and hitting the bike:eek:
    shoes:asics sky speed

Miles:5

• Registered Users Posts: 911 ✭✭✭heffsarmy

You have ramped up the miles in the last few weeks, a few days of easy stuff(cycling) or rest will do you all the good, not point in over doing it in the base phase and ending up with a dodey hamstring.

Rest day today,still debating having a run out in the Wicklow 10k tommorow.
    need soem massage ont he hamstring on monday;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Rest day today,still debating having a run out in the Wicklow 10k tommorow.
    need soem massage ont he hamstring on monday;)
    Not sure you would get much out of the 10k tomorrow? if the legs are feeling the recient miles would you not be better getting some easy miles doen then the massage?
    You are in a base phase arent you?

saturday day off
    Sunday ran 10k in a shade under 37minutes.Felt dead after 1st 1k and legs like lead.Pace was averaging 3.40 and switched of last 2k and coasted home.Back to the drawing board,amazing how you can kid yourself you are fit.
    im not sure what to do now,wether to aim or track of marathon.
    My last two 10k races where both 34mins flat after about 10 weeks of training.Wicklow was a slow course but still 37mins aint good.
    last weeks mileage was 55miles

Anyway todays run was 11miles in 75minutes.
    shoes:etonic paraya

• Registered Users Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

saturday day off
    Sunday ran 10k in a shade under 37minutes.Felt dead after 1st 1k and legs like lead.Pace was averaging 3.40 and switched of last 2k and coasted home.Back to the drawing board,amazing how you can kid yourself you are fit.
    im not sure what to do now,wether to aim or track of marathon.
    My last two 10k races where both 34mins flat after about 10 weeks of training.Wicklow was a slow course but still 37mins aint good.
    last weeks mileage was 55miles

Anyway todays run was 11miles in 75minutes.
    shoes:etonic paraya

Jaysus man you're only just getting back into it, go easy on yourself. Not trying to patronise here but Im 100% sure you'll nail 34mins(or better)in your next outing. Patience grasshopper........

4miles am 7.50min miles

3mile warm up
    did 5 x 1k avearge 2.56
    recovery between reps was long 4mins 30seconds as the lads where doing 5 x 2k
    felt fresh and controlled,nice to be doing abit of speed work atlast :)
    cool down was 3miles
    total miles 10
    shoes:mizuno ronin

• Registered Users Posts: 8,082 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

That's a savage pace for those reps - fair play

• Registered Users Posts: 711 ✭✭✭cwgatling

+1 unreal stuff, thirstywork. Well done.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭Abhainn

I thought my 800's average 2:35 was half decent tonight.:rolleyes:

I don't know if I could have even stayed with you on even 1 rep.
    Super quick man

Just used this week as a chilled out week.threw the programme out the window and listened to my body and mainly ran when I had company.
    Wed-sat logged 15miles in total.took rest day saturday and ran 16miles today with big group,Fionulla Britton was there floating along beside us.
    total miles for the week:55-56
    shoes today:Mizuno Rider
    Have a run tommorow at 12 meeting couple lads.
    Going to try get down the club twice a week from now on.

9miles with a mate who lives 25m from my appartment.pace was 6.50 per mile.slight niggle on the hamstring still.The wind was mental out there today:eek:
    Place:phoenix park trails.

4miles am to work.
    did 1mile warm up and 4 x 800m reps on the track with 2mins 30secs recovery. 2.28 felt relaxed 2.26 felt good 2.25 pace was tough now 2.24 went too hard in the middle but happy with effort
    Solid session,very happy.Was thinking 2.30 would be a good target so happy out.
    cool down was extended as I was locked out of my appartment:(
    ran 7miles
    Total miles:15

Savage evening for a run
    Ran 16miles in 1hour 52mins
    felt very relaxed and pace went from 8min miles down to 6min miles.
    Had company for the second half which was great.
    Weighed myself for first time in a month 12stone 12 pounds :D
    easy few days now and long run sunday.
    shoes:puma fass 500
    40miles so far this week.

ran 4miles to work at 6.50 pace.Didnt feel as tires as i thought i would be.probably do short spin on the bike and stretching later .

friday:8miles
    sat:rest(hungover)
    sunday:4miles
    monday:5miles
    tue: 3 x 800m average 2.24 3 x 600m average 1.48 3 x 400m average 69secs total miles:9

I have decided to reduce volume and intesity before my body breaks down.Will go on schedule with coach next week and decide onw hat to race.

wed easy 8miles
    thur 30miles on bike
    fri 9mile very easy as calf tight

sat:did session after work in polo grounds with my mate.
    ran 6 x lap which is 0.94 miles 3.07,2.47,2.48,2.48,3.01,2.41
    cool down for 20mins.
    felt strong and happy with session but too fast for where im at.
    Sun:long hangover run of 15miles

I am familiar with that type of run ;). Nice day for it though.

Any races coming up?

No races for atleast 3 weeks.Really enjoying the sessions down at the club and the sunday runs(even if hungover)
    What you got yourself coming up?
    pace on todays run was 6.50 per mile.

Good stuff - you're flying. Keep it up.

Nothing for me now until the Kildare marathon in 4 weeks.

75mins at around 8min miles in the phoenix park.gorgeous day out.

9:miles
    shoes:puma fass(bistered on my toe)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,016 ✭✭✭Itziger

sat:did session after work in polo grounds with my mate.
    ran 6 x lap which is 0.94 miles 3.07,2.47,2.48,2.48,3.01,2.41
    cool down for 20mins.
    felt strong and happy with session but too fast for where im at.
    Am I misreading this????

0.94 of a mile in 2.41????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

Itziger wrote: »
    Am I misreading this????

0.94 of a mile in 2.41????

0.94km :)

0.94km :)

Thanks for clearing that one up lol :eek:

ran 3.5miles this morning at 7min mile pace.
    cycled home and did 2 mile warm up followed by 8 x 400m with 2min-2min 10 recovery.Times where 69,68,66,65,64,64,65
    3mile cool down
    miles total:11
    shoe:mizuno ronin

12 miles 7.10 pace.decided to use my h/r monitor and average h/r was 148
    miles:12
    shoes:nike vomero

Morning runs god I hate them but today wasn't too bad,maybe it was the sunshine or the extra hours I got in bed.
    Started of slow 1st mile 7.40,7.20,7.12,7.15 after 4miles I had to run 15mins at 75-80%,wasnt sure what pace this would be so just ran steady mile5:6.21
    mile6:6.14 mile7:6.08 mile 8 7.05 mile 9 7.15 and easy half mile at the end.

Total miles:9.5
    shoes:mizuno rider