Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sub 75min half marathon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

Rest day today and just did 90mins easy on the bike.
    Decisions mmmm regarding race shoes......was actually thinking of that earlier.Love my Mizuno Ronins but more for track work thAn on concrete so maybe wear the Asics Tarther or my Nike Marathoners(little big otherwise they would be the ones)

Regarding a half its up in the air a little as I want to try aim towards some pb's are shorter distances first.I don't think im very far away from a sub 75 half right now but my training is more 5k specific.
    Maybe the half in the race series or the National half.Did Achill last year but very hilly so not a half if aiming for a time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

What shoe would you recommend for a marathon? I'm too heavy for racing flats and need some sort of support. I train in kayanos the majority of the time. I race 10 miles and under in ds racers and was going to consider the ds trainers. Any suggestions?

Tonights session was pure class !!!
    We headed for the polo grounds which was a nice change from the tight track.
    Session was 6 x 800m with 90secs recovery!!!
    Coach wanted us to run them in 2.36
    First rep ran in 2.34 and felt like I was jogging.
    seconds rep felt good and ran in 2.29
    third rep I struggled to stay with the group early but they had gone out hard in 69 first 400m and finished up in 2.25
    fourth rep was last rep for some of the junior runners so they went hard and I folled,had to pick it up a little more than I would have liked and finished with 2.24
    fifth rep was more settled and ran in 2.24
    last rep I let loose a little on the last 400m and finished in 2.18

solid session but would have prefered to run even splits maybe 2.30-32
    2mile warm up and 2mile cool down.
    total miles:8
    shoes:asics gel tarther

The roadrunner there is alot of shoes to choose from,what weight are you?what do you intend to use them for ie races up to the marathon/sessions and short runs?
    Ds trainer wouldn't be a bad choice but if you are under 13stone id be looking at something lighter like mizuno elixer or brooks st5 racer.Best thing to do is to try them on and take them for a spin before you buy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

The roadrunner there is alot of shoes to choose from,what weight are you?what do you intend to use them for ie races up to the marathon/sessions and short runs?
    Ds trainer wouldn't be a bad choice but if you are under 13stone id be looking at something lighter like mizuno elixer or brooks st5 racer.Best thing to do is to try them on and take them for a spin before you buy.

Yeah about 12.5 stone and hope to be down to 12 in a couple of months. I hope to run a marathon in them but would use them for longer runs as well just to make sure they suit me etc. I'll have to drop up to your place in a couple of weeks and have a goo at what you guys have

Same weight as me but alot faster !!!
    Ye pop up some evening and have a look.
    whats the next race?
    was chatting to Eoin about getting a group closer to the marathon but still not 100% if im going to be doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭Abhainn

How many pairs of shoes are you rotating ?
    Must pop down to your place too, not far from my work

Jesus lads don't all come at once haha
    emm let me count trainers:5 racers(for sessions):2 but soon to be 3 :D
    Usually keep 1 or two pairs up in my parents house.

Did a clean out of old runners on Monday and counted 22 pairs haha.

Easy 4.5 miles @ 7.30 pace,couldn't have went any slower which is a good sign.Average heart rate 135 :D

Meeting a mate later for 8-10miles at 5pm

Might treat myself to a double decker later :eek:

shoes:mizuno

lovely 2nd run this evening 11miles in 74minutes.went with a mate who is coming back from injury and finished top 5 int he Frank Duffy 10mile last year,probably the only time I will be feeling better then him on a run for the rest of the year haha.

Saw a race being set up but havn't a clue what race it was,anyone know what race it is?
    Park is closed of in certain areas,bit early for the queen :mad:

total miles today:15.5
    Miles for the week so far:23.5

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Leg it for your liver - I finished 2nd last year. You'd have won it by a country mile!

couldn't get up for training this morning so late runa t 8pm after work.
    3miles easy mile1:7.53 mile2:6.54 mile3:6.45
    2.5miles steady mile1:6.04 mile2:6.04 .5mile:3.12
    2.5mile cool down @ 7min pace
    followed by 10 x 100m strides

total:8.5miles

shoes:new balance 1080

Fri:30mins easy 4miles
    sat:2mile warm up 1200m 3.47 800m x 2 2.28 2.29 400m x 4 68,72,70,69
    nice long cool down
    total miles:9
    total miles so far this week:45

15mile run 1hour 50mins.ran with nice group in Phoenix park and got a garda escort on a bike for a few miles :D
    Rught hamstring a little tight so booking in for massage during the week :)

total miles this week:60

Nice solid 10mile run today in phoenix park with my mate Aido.
    Weather was crap but just one of them days you plod away.
    Tommorows session is a real cracker but gota do on my own so cant wait.
    Drafting up my races I plan to do now and see what the coach thinks.
    18days to my holidays now and counting :)

miles:10

ROAD & TRACK PBs
    Time
    Season (Year)
    800m
    1500m
    1 Mile
    00:00:00

3000m
    2 Mile

5 Mile
    10 Mile
    1/2 Marathon
    Marathon

100km

Other:

3k steeple
    800m 2.00.81 2006 1500m 4.07 2006 3000m 09.01 2008 5k 15.41 5 Mile26.14 2008 10k 34.02 2010 10 Mile 55.12 2003 1/2 Marathon 00.75.41 2006

I just did up a ist of my pb's there with the years !!!

Was wondering what the phoenix park was going to be like with the Queen in town.got frisked halfway through my run.
    5.5miles easy run
    shoes:mizuno ronin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,531 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Was wondering what the phoenix park was going to be like with the Queen in town.got frisked halfway through my run.
    5.5miles easy run
    shoes:mizuno ronin
    Jaysus. Lucky you tucked that Bazooka into your socks. What were they expecting to find?!
    Superb PBs, by the way.

Where do they think you were going to hide something? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭misty floyd

Jasus, savage times there.
    What was the park like? Is it totally closed off to traffic?

session tonight:
    2mile warm up 12 x 400m averaged 72 per rep(recovery 40-45 seconds)
    4mile cool down
    total miles:10.5
    total so far this week:26

8miles steady with 8 x 100m strides after.Crap day today just wanted to get the run out of the way.
    Total miles this week so far:34

Didn't get out for run till 8.30pm last night :mad:
    20mins easy,didnt feel great warming up.
    Plan was 3 x 1mile @ 5.15-20(cruising)
    first one i though my garmin wasn't working as i was flat out and running 5.30 pace.Second rep i was so annoyed from the first that i hit it hard from the start and 3rd rep the last 500-600m was very tough.
    Mile1:5.28 Mile2:5.06 Mile3:5.13 recovery was 5mins jog between.
    Easy run after work today :D

Miles:10
    Shoes:asics Tarther

Total miles so far this week:44

7miles steady a shade under 7min miles.felt tired and just glad to get it out of the way.never booked in that massage so must do early next week.
    Did 10 x 100m strides on the track after and small jog home.

shoes:nb 1080
    total miles so far this week:52

Tonights session was a mess,was suppose to meet Bazman at 7pm but of course didn't relaise you cant enter the park due to the president(shutdown till tue)
    so instead of my 10min warm up did 15mins.
    so session was 20mins hardish and plan was to keep around 5.30-40 pace
    first mile was comfortable as was very flat and ran 5.26,second mile was slightly up hill in 5.37,3rd mile was gradual incline but nothing too tough but the wind was picking up against me and ran in 5.23.
    My 5k split was 17.38 and covered 3.65 miles in 20mins.Ran 112mins cool down.

shoes:brooks
    total miles so far this week:60

1hour 45mins today @ around 7.20 pace.felt very relaxed today,first few miles around 8min pace.

runners:nb 1080
    Total miles this week:75

Great start to the week,lets hope it's a sign of things to come.
    Didn't get to run till after nearly 9pm but ran 8miles @ 6.40 pace
    10 x 100m strides at the end.Slight twinge in my right hamstring but it never goes away.

Miles this week so far:8.5
    shoes:nb 1080

7am;35min easy run 4.5miles
    6.30pm track session 3 x 800m in 2.32 and 1 x 800m in 2.26
    felt good !!!
    Total miles today 13
    shoes:brooks/mizuno ronin

total miles this week so far:21.5

Are you racing on Saturday? Whats the goal for it?

Well if im to go of my last 10k in the Wicklow Gaol (36.57) then id be around 17.30-40
    But having done that in training last week i can safely say I have come on alot since then.
    I would be very very dissapointed if I didnt run sub 16.30 but hope that I can get as close to 16mins.I won't be putting a huge amount of pressure on myself as this is the first proper race back.
    Also just to point out that the course isn't as fast as soem people on here saying.Lad in the club said last year 16mins would have put you int he top 3-5
    Are you doing it yourself RQ?

Nope I'm still not feeling anywhere near race fit. Hopefully with another 6 weeks or so of consistent training I'll be feeling good again. Probably be helping out somewhere on Saturday though. Hopefully the wind will die down, still pretty tough out there tonight.