Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin West General Election 2011 [Mod note post #218]

• Registered Users Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Pineapple stu

oblivious wrote: »
    British citizens are the largest of the non national population in ireland and may vote at Dáil elections, European elections and local elections. So not that true

From http://www.citizensinformation.ie

I would have thought that there would have been more Nigerians and chinese and eastern europeans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

I'm not advocating that the voting rules be changed, just pointing out that the demographics in certain parts of D15 mean that quite a small percentage of the residents are electing their Dail representatives.

Personally I doubt that those eligible to vote are in the minority. The percentage who actually vote of those eligible is a slightly different subject. You're mixing both things up with how you're asking that.

I don't really how eligibility is relevant tbh. Eligibility is there for a reason.

Whats with this United left alliance? Joe Higgins wanted them to be included in the opinion polls. If you vote for Joe because of the socialist party is it also a vote for the other parties in the alliance who you may not have voted for if they were on the ballot paper? Is Joe trying to pull a fast one here ?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭oblivious

The station is finished, its the roads to it that isnt.

An thats because manor park/Mellony homes fail to compiley with the special zoning of the area,. as subject to the planning premioension. The bright lads drawing up the legislation never thought of a down turn and put into law to demand sufficient bonds to cover development weather the developer was solvent or not.

They fought it in the courts for years, along come a down turn and they are fecked expecting the public to pick up the bill.

The funny thing is if they had not fought the condition of development the station as they built the mostly like would have gotten Barnwell finished, sold with money in the bank.

Of current our good current finance minister you argue that such heft bonds could stifle developments, but that may not be a bad thing as it save the public have to cover these ghost estates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

Sure, everyone would like a school and a train station on their doorstep.
    Why move to an area without a secondary school in the first place if its an issue for you ( not you personally ) ?
    Ask the residents of corduff and mullhuddart where they can catch a train?
    Ongar and Littlepace are inbetween 2 stations and one (unused ) on their door step in Hansfield.
    pondasher wrote: »
    you are listening to too many soundbites to be fair there were three new schools built in ongar alone two primary and one secondary that does not include many other new and estensions to schools built in D15 in the past 4 years. The maynooth line was never meant to be electrified and the metro was not meant to start until 2016 [check Transport 2000] if you are going to preach check your facts.
    dtf wrote: »
    Typical anti FF rant. Blame them for everything and then some.

Lenihan has been Min for Finance for only the last 2 ½ years, two of the toughest years from a financial perspective in the countries history. Most people are saying we need less of "parish pump" politics and more of politians who are prepared to think of the national question and make some tough unpopular decisions.

Besides when you look at the new facilities that Castlekock Hurling and GAA, Castleknock Celtic FC, All the new schools built around the Carpenterstown area, St Francis Hospice, New all-weather playing facilities in Hartstown etc I think we have done OK in the last few years considering.

Bear in mind that Leo dosen’t do any consitiuency clinics, Joan dosen’t even live in the constituency and Joe had barely been elected to FCC for Castleknock and he moved off to Europe replacing himself with someone nobody has ever heard of.

OK, so Fianna Fail have done a great job for Dublin 15.

Just checked the 2006 census and added up the total population for the districts with Blanchardstown and Castleknock in the name. Gave me around 84,000 people living in those areas. That wouldn't include the visible increase since then nor nearby areas such as Clonee, Dunboyne etc.

Limerick City has 52,539, Waterford City has 45,748 and Galway City has 72,414. Dublin 15 does not have the facilities that those cities have. It does not have the money that was spent on Thomond Park, their regional hospitals, their road infrastructure (Galway is poor on that one), their investment in third level or other education.

Yes, we have had a few crumbs from the FF table such as the few schools mentioned and the smallest IoT but on the scale of what D.15 should be getting, we are nowhere.

P.S. When they double-tracked the Maynooth line, they made sure to leave space for the overhead lines for the future electrification so it has been planner for a long time back.

I would have thought that there would have been more Nigerians and chinese and eastern europeans.

Probably locally, but not nationally.

Godge wrote: »
    Yes, we have had a few crumbs from the FF table such as the few schools mentioned and the smallest IoT but on the scale of what D.15 should be getting, we are nowhere.

Also don't forget massive amount of children play are was given for such up school, the two in ongar have approximately 1.2-1.5m sq per children to play.When is well under the accepted guideline. This long results in poorer PE.E facility's too

All because FF could or mostly likely would not put into legislation that lager housing developments must put as sided reasonable amounts of land at a fair price of the public use or interest

P.S. When they double-tracked the Maynooth line, they made sure to leave space for the overhead lines for the future electrification so it has been planner for a long time back.

I wouldnt say its all down to Fianna Fail ( How can you take a party with FAIL in its name seriously ? ) its more to do with Fingal county council . Yes/no?

The Maynooth line will go electric when the heuston tunnel starts. Inchicore to Hazel hatch will be done first i think. It has also like you said been on the plans since around 94/95.

Who saw Noonan's interview on sky news when the election was called? He was saying that FG will re-negotiate the bail out and said they wouldnt Welsh on it. I know he didnt mean it but its an offensive remark to the Welsh and he said it on sky news as well. He didnt come across as someone who you could have confidence in if in government.
    Therefore thats a lost vote for Leo so. ( not that he was getting it anyway but there was always a chance of a change come polling day ).

I didnt like what Michael Martin said about Brian Lenihan either last week, saying that he is a dead man walking. Its more than likely that he ment as finance minister but considering Brian's illness it was not a good choice of words. Now i like Brian and would vote for him but is a vote for him a vote for Martin as tea shock ( Yes i know its not said like that ) ?
    Joan Bruton is on a meltdown so that her out of it for me,
    Joe Higgins doesnt know what he is at.
    Sinn Fein is a no no.
    Lets hope someone who deserves my vote runs or i will be in the polling booth for a long time :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

said they wouldnt Welsh on it. I know he didnt mean it but its an offensive remark to the Welsh and he said it on sky news as well.

Seriously ? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

http://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/british/welch
    Cambridge Advanced Learner's Dictionary

Definition

welch verb
    /welt ʃ/ v (also welsh) informal disapproving
    to avoid doing something you have promised to do, especially not to pay a debt
    Their competitors' behaviour gave them a great opportunity to welch on their promises.

Was that for mine or Stus benefit Thaedydal ?

If mine, I know what it means, I just think it's a bit crazy not to vote for someone because a party member used a phrase which you think offends the Welsh.

Too funny.

One think I agree with though. Its not decision of who's the best candidate. But the least dire.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭joolsveer

Leo Varadkar seems to be very quiet lately. Is he keeping a low profile? The only political material I have received from any prospective candidate so far is from Kieran Dennison (spelt Dennsion on the reverse) for Fine Gael.

Depends on where you are I suppose, we got a letter from him the other day saying he, Dennison and FG members will be doing house calls in our area on Saturday.

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,305 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

PLEASE READ CAREFULLY

See this?
    I wouldnt say its all down to Fianna Fail ( How can you take a party with FAIL in its name seriously ? )

Now see this from the mod note in post #1 of this thread?
    5. No childish name calling or deliberate mocking of candidates or parties, it's not helpful, big or cool.

Anyone who contravenes these rules may be asked to refrain from posting in this thread again and also subject to infractions/forum bans.

This is the one and only warning that will be given. Any more of that from anyone in this thread about any party or individual and they will find themselves banned from this forum for the duration of the election campaign. We want to continue to have a reasoned debate on the issues in question, and comments like that only serve to antagonise other posters and derail the thread.

Thank you.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

To be fair, after I read that Pineapple thought Noonan said "welsh" rather than "welch", it is now pretty impossible not to smile at his comments so he will never antagonise me. :o

Fecking Welsh! :P

To be fair, after I read that Pineapple thought Noonan said "welsh" rather than "welch", it is now pretty impossible not to smile at his comments so he will never antagonise me. :o

Fecking Welsh! :P

Its the same thing . Google where the saying comes from :)

Zaph wrote: »
    PLEASE READ CAREFULLY

See this?

Now see this from the mod note in post #1 of this thread?

This is the one and only warning that will be given. Any more of that from anyone in this thread about any party or individual and they will find themselves banned from this forum for the duration of the election campaign. We want to continue to have a reasoned debate on the issues in question, and comments like that only serve to antagonise other posters and derail the thread.

Thank you.

It wasnt mocking, it was a fair point.

The fact that you see it as a fair point is irrelevant, such comments are not welcome in this thread.

Fair enough, youre the boss.

• Registered Users Posts: 48 pondasher

Just checked the 2006 census and added up the total population for the districts with Blanchardstown and Castleknock in the name. Gave me around 84,000 people living in those areas. That wouldn't include the visible increase since then nor nearby areas such as Clonee, Dunboyne etc.

Limerick City has 52,539, Waterford City has 45,748 and Galway City has 72,414. Dublin 15 does not have the facilities that those cities have. It does not have the money that was spent on Thomond Park, their regional hospitals, their road infrastructure (Galway is poor on that one),

I said the population in D15 had increased two fold you quote Cork,Waterford etc we in D15 have these facilities as I said but unlike these other cities we have access to the rest of Dublin you can't compare
    Dublin Bus have just launched a new time table that for the first time ever has the terminus beside the Grand canal servicing St.Stephens Green and it works well in conjunction with the train service so there is no urgency for the rail upgrade it's a waste of money at the moment
    you really can't give credit where it is due

Got my first piece of pre-election crap in the door today, and it made me mad. For the last couple of years we've been hearing the opposition parties bleating on about how wasteful the government have been with the public's money, not to mention the government now telling us all to tighten our belts, and yet Leo Varadkar sees fit to send me a letter telling me how great he is and looking for my support in an official Dáil envelope. Now I know that as a TD he is entitled to do this, and I fully expect Joan Burton and Brian Lenihan to do the same, but the outright hypocrisy of these people needlessly spending public money on what is essentially party business at a time like this is unbelievable.

At the last election the electorate in Dublin 15 was 52,193. Assuming each of the sitting TDs sends 1 letter to each person on the electoral register at 55c per letter, that's 3 x 55c x 52,193, a grand total of just over €86,000. And that's only for one constituency, there are 43 of them, with plenty of them having 4 or 5 TDs and larger populations. Even taking the €86,000 calculated above and multiplying that by 43 gives a cost to the public of €3.7 million, so it's safe to say that the whole exercise probably costs in the region of €5 million. In the grand scheme of things €5 million isn't going to make much of a dent in our national debt, but on a local level the money saved in each constituency would probably go a long way towards an extra special needs assistant or public health nurse or some other useful service. Certainly more useful than another electioneering letter in my letterbox. It's not as if they won't be dropping plenty of their party pamphlets in the door anyway, so why the need for this "perk"? It's certainly something I'll be asking them in the unlikely event that any of them turn up at my doorstep.

/rant over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

I got one from Leo and it's not to my name as on the register, it's my maiden name, ie the name I contacted him in for advice about our management company. I didn't get one in my married name nor did my hubby so I don't think it's a general mailshot. Also got one from Burton last week, same situation, one letter, maiden name.

BTW each TD & Senator gets an allocation of envelopes per month to be used for whatever purpose within the rules. It's a use them or lose them kinda thing.

Each election candidate gets one mailing to everyone on the register, that's separate again. Expect Litir um Toghachain in your door, to the details as on the register, in the last week before the election.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,931 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Is there a date that all candidates have to declare themselves by? When will we know exactly who's running?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 palmersirs

If you vote for members of the Dail because they've done a good job in the area then you're part of the problem in my opinion.

Rubbish, why would i vote for someone who couldnt give a fiddlers for the area ? They are my representatives in the Dail and is someone i could go to if i have local issues. Im not going to go to them if i have an issue on foreign policy or a problem with the HSE down i cork. I want the best person that can serve me well in my area , and not someone who has great ideas about national issues. Its Dublin 15 issues im more concerned with and thats where my/our TD's come in if a matter cant be resolved elswhere.
    Shoud i vote for a candidate that may not do anything for me when i need then most just because they have great ideas about the national debt or on health care? They can do both once they get elected.

This is just the problem we are in, we have voted in people that we felt could look after 'ME' instead of voting for someone who knows how a COUNTRY should be run. If a Counties national issues are not at the foremost of peoples minds when they are casting their vote, there will be no money there to fix the pothole @ the top of your road, what good is a local TD if he can't get funds or access services to sort out the mess in your local Hospital. This is pure Jackie Healy Rae mentality. Get the right people in that have the experience and knowhow of how to run a country and you wont need to go knocking on your TDs door for services that you are entitled too.

Dublin Bus have just launched a new time table that for the first time ever has the terminus beside the Grand canal servicing St.Stephens Green and it works well in conjunction with the train service so there is no urgency for the rail upgrade it's a waste of money at the moment

unfortunately it brings those buses into gridlock on the southside of the city at peak. The journey times through traffic for the 37 are terrible. 1hr 20min + at peak. Train is about 40 mins, but it crammed solid. So personally I'd prefer the train upgrade to the bus improvements. Mind you its been urgent for 20yrs.

Quick than both most of the time is the bicycle. There isn't a decent cycle route from most of D.15 into town. I'll be asking have any of those knocking at the door tried cycling around the area and to town.

palmersirs wrote: »
    This is just the problem we are in, we have voted in people that we felt could look after 'ME' instead of voting for someone who knows how a COUNTRY should be run. If a Counties national issues are not at the foremost of peoples minds when they are casting their vote, there will be no money there to fix the pothole @ the top of your road, what good is a local TD if he can't get funds or access services to sort out the mess in your local Hospital. This is pure Jackie Healy Rae mentality. Get the right people in that have the experience and knowhow of how to run a country and you wont need to go knocking on your TDs door for services that you are entitled too.

Some didn't even do much for local interests, never mind national ones. They are not always mutually exclusive either.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,931 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Found this on TheJournal.ie

http://www.thejournal.ie/election-candidates-2011/dublin-west/

It lists all the candidates in each constituency.

Don't know if that's the final line up or what.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

FF running two seats here?

Presumably the McGuinness won't fair at all.

Why does FF have Michael Martin's posters all over the place when he isnt standing for Dublin west? Its bad enough with the candidates posters on every lampost without Martin's posters adding to the mess.