Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

the stables and non drinkers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 ulguy

i think the guy could get a life ..there are so many people that are losses there jobs in this country and he thinks he can walk in 2 a pub and drink free water .what about the bar staff jobs .if we all walk in 2 the stables at nite just 4 water then the b no stables .get a life put ur money in the till and save irish jobs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭TheProdigy

ulguy wrote: »
    i think the guy could get a life ..there are so many people that are losses there jobs in this country and he thinks he can walk in 2 a pub and drink free water .what about the bar staff jobs .if we all walk in 2 the stables at nite just 4 water then the b no stables .get a life put ur money in the till and save irish jobs

I think you have solidified the embarrassment which surrounds the Irish drinking culture by implying that because he wasn't drinking he needs to "get a life".

Its a sad portrayal you are creating of yourself by posting such views.

• Registered Users Posts: 57 ✭✭Greensout

RGDATA! wrote: »
    right what planet are you on etc.
    You know less than you think you know.

I run a business. Let's say a group of people come into my business together. Let's say only one or two of them is buying. Is that my cue to act like a cnut to the friends that aren't buying? I could, but maybe next time they were going shopping as a group, the ones I offended might influence the ones that bought from me not to come in at all.
    I think most people in business will tell you that if you are only respectful to those customers who are spending money right now, today, then pretty soon you won't have many customers.

Also, it's not particularly hard not act like a cnut, unless you were just born one.

I agree he could have been nice but the original poster here seems to have no understanding as to why the barman might be put out by her "tightness" , i know running a business you have to treat the customer like a king but you really like them being there...
    also only trying to start an argument here...
    also the original poster seems oblivious to the fact that the bar/club/society has overheads and expenses that have to be met to keep it running, what would be the reaction of the stables if everyone even for one week went in and only drank water???

RGDATA! wrote: »
    right what planet are you on etc.
    You know less than you think you know.

I run a business. Let's say a group of people come into my business together. Let's say only one or two of them is buying. Is that my cue to act like a cnut to the friends that aren't buying? I could, but maybe next time they were going shopping as a group, the ones I offended might influence the ones that bought from me not to come in at all.
    I think most people in business will tell you that if you are only respectful to those customers who are spending money right now, today, then pretty soon you won't have many customers.

Also, it's not particularly hard not act like a cnut, unless you were just born one.

also i tink it might be better for you and your business in the current economic climate to be spending more time on paying customers than "speculative customers" you might hav in the future

Right lads im off to the pub for a few pints..... of water.... :D

na maybe guinness :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

TheProdigy wrote: »
    I think you have solidified the embarrassment which surrounds the Irish drinking culture by implying that because he wasn't drinking he needs to "get a life".

Its a sad portrayal you are creating of yourself by posting such views.
    ulguy never said he had to but alcohol. You can easily buy a soft drink, yes i know they're robbery, an dif you wanted something cheaper go for juice or cordial.

If someone walked into a restaurant and sat down with just a glass of free water they'd be out on their ear sooner rather than later!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

SarahBeep! wrote: »
    ulguy never said he had to but alcohol. You can easily buy a soft drink, yes i know they're robbery, an dif you wanted something cheaper go for juice or cordial.

If someone walked into a restaurant and sat down with just a glass of free water they'd be out on their ear sooner rather than later!

Yes but a restaurant serves a different purpose you generally dont go to a restaurant to socialise or watch a game.

And until the pubs/clubs stop charging double the price for the half the amount of soft drink they can shove them up their arse

• Registered Users Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

ulguy wrote: »

you mustn't have read the entire thread (or even all of my posts), sure go do that then come back and try again.
    Greensout wrote: »
    I agree he could have been nice but the original poster here seems to have no understanding as to why the barman might be put out by her "tightness" , i know running a business you have to treat the customer like a king but you really like them being there...
    also only trying to start an argument here...
    also the original poster seems oblivious to the fact that the bar/club/society has overheads and expenses that have to be met to keep it running, what would be the reaction of the stables if everyone even for one week went in and only drank water???

you seem to have made the same mistake as ulguy, its good to digest all the facts laid out before replying, just a bit of friendly advice

here ill even make it easy for the three of you

PeakOutput wrote: »
    1. you will note that i mentioned nothing about free water, if he had of said sorry i gotta charge you 50cent or whatever from now on i could live with that

2. soft drink prices are extortionate and i also did buy soft drinks both nights, red bull which i bought both nights, is 3.60 wereas i think its 2 euro maybe less in a shop

happy to clear things up :rolleyes:

so far the student union seems to agree with me so we will see if anything happens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭TheProdigy

What if someone wanted a water? Not everyone likes to pollute their body with soft drinks and what not.

And the OP was there with friends, so if I went to a restaurant with 5 friends and they ordered and I didn't want anything than I think it would take an individual severely lacking decorum to kick me out.

At the end of the day there wasn't and shouldn't be an issue with giving someone a glass of water, the guy was just acting the c**t.

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭mulner92

I like the stables in general, once or twice during the week i get the lunch time special for 4 euro. The price of minerals is a bit steep compared to the ulsu shop alright. I don't really have alcohal too much either although i enjoy a pint from time to time. I know people who head out 3-4 times per week and that can't be good for the liver or the wallet!

• Registered Users Posts: 455 ✭✭The Little Fella

If we students didn't exist, then these workers would not have jobs. Maybe they should not take this for granted. The Paddocks is the only restaurant/bar in college where i have found staff to be actually nice. Everywhere else you are greeted with ignorant staff who seem to have a contempt for the very people that are keeping them in jobs.

• Registered Users Posts: 477 ✭✭toodleytoo

If we students didn't exist, then these workers would not have jobs. Maybe they should not take this for granted. The Paddocks is the only restaurant/bar in college where i have found staff to be actually nice. Everywhere else you are greeted with ignorant staff who seem to have a contempt for the very people that are keeping them in jobs.
    i've noticed this especially in the main ulsu spar shop. a smile wouldnt go astray!

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭mulner92

In the shop, some of the women are not the friendliest, some of them are fine but others maybe not. The lads working there are sound too. But still a bit of courtesy does make a difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

toodleytoo wrote: »
    i've noticed this especially in the main ulsu spar shop. a smile wouldnt go astray!

The Deli staff are ledgends!But the counter crew seem to 99% of the time depressed.Cheer up and have a sandwich gang :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 EspressobyMAC

I know I'm a little late (actually 6 months late) but anyway I just stumbled across this forum and thought I should let ye know about my experience of being a non drinker (this probably should be in a RAG week forum but oh well!)

So one of the days last RAG week I had an hour off before a lab and decided to the Paddocks for something to eat. So there was a girl doing bouncer outside the entrance to the SU (near the Paddocks entrance) and just before me I saw a lad and two girls being let in, without being stopped for ID, or the girls to get their bags searched. As i approached the bouncer she asked me for my student ID, I handed it to her, she looked at it (held it) and then proceeded to search my bag. As she rummaged through it I asked her why was she going through it and she explained to search for alcohol. So I admitted that I didn't even drink (which is true) and all of a sudden she got sort of offended or something because she found a half empty bottle of water and by aggressively raising her voice started repeatedly asking me what's in the bottle? shockingly I said water (which it was) and she said she'd have to confiscate it because she accused me of having alcohol in it, even though I gave her permission to open it and see for herself but she declined). In the mean time she let through the other people that were behind me (also without ID or bags being checked) and then asked me what year was I in. After I told her I was in 1st year, she asked me for ID, telling me that no one under the age of 18 would be allowed into the Stables that week (even though I had no intention of going there, it was to the Paddocks i wanted to go, and I offered to show her my age card to proove my date of birth but she refused! (I was 20 when that happened) It's like they assume all 1st years are 17/18! This is wrong because one of my friends in college was 40 and he was also a 1st year! So then (as highly embarrassed as I was) I had nearly enough time to run to my lab and she )still holding my student ID) told me not to go anywhere unless I went to the students union and payed them 2 euro for a stamp to go on the back of my student ID! Yeah right! I was so PO'd that i went straight to class! And I have never gone back to get that stamp on my ID!

Now I may be wrong but I thought all along that the 2 euro stamp from the SU was to prove that you are over 18 in the stables if you happen to forget your (age) ID! I've only been in the stables a few times, once in the middle of the day and once around 6 pm (before that incidednt, and not even once after it) and I have never been asked for student ID with a stamp! (or age ID either - probably because I was getting food both times!)

I wasn't doing anyone wrong, just going about my business and that had to happen! It just goes to show how non drinkers are treated! I mean I don;t drink for lots of reasons, mainly to keep healthy and I don't think anyone else should ever be treated like that!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭highlydebased

Well, the thing about the sticker for your ID card is that the stables/javas dont operate as "regular" bars...they are "members clubs". So with the sticker you are then a member of the "club" and can purchase alcohol there. So that's part of the reason for it (along with to prove your age)

• Registered Users Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Skyrim

Must get the sticker for my id card, my friend borrowed it for whatever reason and never gave it back so must get it at the su when i come back. Part of the reason i never get asked in stables is because i might pop in once or twice a week, though i find myself going to the paddocks now, nice food and sound people.

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭joey12

Well its sounds like any other example of the ents crew being tossers! ya wonder who they think they are. Sounds like she was well outta line, most of them haven't a clue but theres nothing ya could do in the situation unless there is a supervisor with them or even got her name and reported her.

But I could be wrong here I dont think the ents crew have anything to do with the SU if my memory serves me correct the SU get on terribly with the stables for some reason.:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

joey12 wrote: »
    Well its sounds like any other example of the ents crew being tossers! ya wonder who they think they are. Sounds like she was well outta line, most of them haven't a clue but theres nothing ya could do in the situation unless there is a supervisor with them or even got her name and reported her.

But I could be wrong here I dont think the ents crew have anything to do with the SU if my memory serves me correct the SU get on terribly with the stables for some reason.:eek:

The Ents crew are employed by the SU I thought???

Dunno anything about SU-Stables relations.